Reviews

10/10

A broken heating element is a baker’s nightmare! My oven was on the blitz for several months, and finally decided to say goodbye, when I was about to bake a very special focaccia bread :( I called several appliance repair shops, one person said it was the control panel, and the part was no longer available. Our range is six years old, and when I did a search, it was available! How strange is that? The other person thought it was the control panel as well, and quoted me a ridiculous price for the part and labor. After some thought, I decided the repair was not worth the overall cost of the range. My husband and I spent two days looking for a replacement range that would exceed my expectations. We found a few that were okay, but the reviews were horrendous. I decided to look for one more repairperson, and found Ed from Appliance Handyman. Ed thought the problem was the “bake element,” and the part was the same price as what I found on the Internet. He was also able to come the next day. The repair took one hour, and he tested the oven – it worked! I was still hesitant, since my oven had been acting up and was not reliable. Ed instructed me to bake something the next day, when the oven had cooled down completely, to ensure it was indeed working. I could arrange for payment later. If not, he would come back, uninstall the part, and troubleshoot the issue. I was very surprised that Ed was not in a hurry for payment. He said he does not make money on parts, and charges fair prices for labor. I made an e-transfer payment, and have not had any issues since. I am happy to report that I have been baking up a storm! Thank you so much Ed, for your honesty, professionalism, and knowledge of appliance repairs!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Our dryer started squeaking loudly in the midst of a pandemic, and my first thought was whom to call? I reached out to a technician we used many years ago, but I didn't receive a response. I even asked friends and family members for a referral. I searched online, and sent a text message to Top Tech Appliance with the model, serial number and issue. In less than 30 minutes, Mors responded, and said it may be a roller or bearing problem. The parts cost $50.00, and the labor was a flat rate of $100.00. Mors ordered the parts and installed them two days later. He wore a mask, gloves and kept his physical distance. The dryer continued to squeak a bit after he left, and Mors said he could come by that day. Since it was intermittent, I said I would keep an eye on it, and let him know if the noise continued with every load. Thankfully, the noise is completely gone now.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much Ruby for your great review. We appreciate your sincere comments. Customers like yourself are a pleasure to do business with. I truly appreciate your support. We always care our client's satisfaction.Thank you again for your busy time to write this review. Looking forward to hear from you in the future.

10/10

A corner of our basement had water seeping in due to a crack in the foundation. I put this off longer than I should have because I knew the research wouldn’t be easy. I read dozens of reviews on HomeStars before settling on nine companies. Only four called back. I had two estimates booked, and both reps from each company arrived on time. We decided we needed a third estimate and called Mario. I was surprised when Mario answered the phone. I had to leave messages for the other companies, and wait for a call back to book an appointment. Many times, I had to follow up because no one called me back. Mario came the next day and he was on time. He explained everything in detail and provided us with two viable options. The work could be done externally or internally. After weighing the pros and cons, we chose to fix the issue internally. The project would include internal waterproofing on our foundation, and installation of a new drainpipe. We already had major renovations completed, and our biggest concerns were any damage to our new hardwood floors, walls or doors. Mario assured us his team would take all necessary precautions. His company is family owned, so he explained that he or a member of his family would always be onsite. We were still feeling anxious about the project and Mario said he would be at the job site himself to supervise. Five days before the project, Mario texted me to confirm. On the day of, Mario and two of his team members, Tom and Bogdan showed up on time. They worked efficiently and always took care of our home when they had to go in/out. It was a lot of work, and they only took one short break for lunch. Mario was true to his word and stayed on site, making calls from his truck, and always within an arm’s reach if his team or we needed him. He only left once to pick up some materials his team needed. We were surprised when the project was completed six hours later. Mario inspected the work and we had a short discussion before he left. There was a lot of mud and debris left from the project, but when I went downstairs, Tom and Bogdan had cleaned everything up! We were very pleased with the work! We had some other issues outside with our landscaping, downspouts and asphalt driveway. We asked Mario for some referrals. He said he rarely refers even though he is confident, because if we happen to be one out of a hundred with a negative experience, it would look bad on him and may damage our relationship. I have never heard anyone explain it this way, and it really goes to show how caring and thoughtful Mario is. We said we would take our chances, and he provided us with three referrals. Mario said he would even come back to help if needed. We are extremely happy with Mario, his professionalism and the project. What we thought was stressful went very smoothly! I highly recommend MMT Waterproofing. It’s important to seek several estimates; however, we are confident you will hire Mario!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Ruby,
We are extremely delighted to hear such a wonderful feedback. Thank you so much for putting your trust into us, it is our pleasure to have you as our customer and also to hear that we could live up to your expectations and provide you with good service.
Sincerely MMT Waterproofing Team

10/10

We purchased our HVAC system from Dmitri a few years ago, and are so pleased with our decision. We always purchase the fall/spring maintenance package, and like clockwork, Victoria calls us in the spring as a reminder. She is so friendly and helpful; it is always a pleasure to talk with her. Dave serviced our a/c, was very patient, and answered all our questions. He gave us great tips to ensure our HVAC system works at its peak performance. Thanks so much Husky Heating & A/C!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Ruby, thank you for the nice review, it is our pleasure to serve you. The Husky Team

10/10

Our front entrance, closet and powder room were the last phases of our major renovation, and we were looking for a professional and reliable person to finish the work. I found Brett (Call My Handyman) during an Internet search, and he was able to stop by and provide an estimate at our convenience. We waited one month for Brett to finish a project and we were so glad he was able to start on time with ours, as promised (and he was definitely worth the wait)! A few days prior to the start date, Brett called to confirm his start date, explain the timeline for our project, and check that we had the materials required. I was blown away by his organizational and client service skills! We just had hardwood floors installed so we laid down a lot of drop sheets to protect the floors and nosings. Imagine my surprise when Brett arrived with thick, clean protective pads of his own! I have to say, that was a first! Brett removed our bi-fold closet doors, toilet, pedestal sink, and two layers of old vinyl flooring. It was a lot of work and he didn’t take any short cuts when it came to sanding the floor to remove all the adhesive. He screwed down our sub-floor and installed Ditra as we had requested. He redirected the water source for our toilet from the floor to the wall which required more plumbing work than expected. Regardless of this, we were not charged extra. Brett’s tiling was meticulous, and he took the extra time to lay out the tiles one by one, ensuring a beautiful pattern without duplicating any similar tiles in one spot. Our tiles had about six different variations and out of all of them, there was one pattern that looked absolutely horrible. We showed it to Brett and he took extra care to inspect the tiles and use the ones we didn’t like in the closet area. We also wanted to use TEC products and Brett again took his time to ensure the products were mixed properly; he even brought his own measuring cups! Imagine my shock when I heard a timer go off! Brett really followed the instructions for using the TEC products, and I’m so glad that he did. TEC products are excellent and produce great results, but only when used properly! The results as you can see are stunning. I can’t express how relieved we are to finally have our renovation completed. Brett knew we had been through a lot with setbacks and disappointments, and he went over and above to make sure we were happy. Brett’s work ethic, attention to detail and professionalism truly blew us away. He’s punctual and worked tirelessly every day, sometimes not even stopping to take lunch. He was never rushed and we felt he applied the same care to our home as if it were his home. His work style is meticulous, methodical, and he always kept the job site super clean. On top of this, Brett is very friendly, honest, knowledgeable and treated us with the utmost respect. He was extremely patient with all of our never-ending questions! Our only complaint is that we wished we had found Brett sooner. We would have loved for him to have renovated our home when we started last fall. I know we would have been extremely satisfied and the experience wouldn’t have been so stressful! In any event, we were are so happy with Brett and would highly recommend him for any of the services he provides! Thank you so much Brett! We’re so glad to have met you!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Ruby. Hope all is well with you! I am so happy that, despite the issues you experienced throughout your reno, we were able to end it with a positive experience. It was a pleasure working with you and I hope to have the opportunity to do so again in the future. I also want to say "thanks" for taking the time to post a review...it's very much appreciated. Hope to hear from you soon! Brett.

10/10

We were very fortunate to find out that Dean and his team also does installation of stair treads and risers, sanding and staining of stairs and railings, stair finishing, and installation of railings, posts and pickets. To keep costs down, we originally thought we could keep our railing and stain it to match our hardwood floors. However, we found out even before we met Dean that our railing was not up to code so we would have to look at replacing it. This was unexpected and we had a lot of concerns, especially since we were already way over budget. Dean went over and above our expectations by offering us solutions to keep costs down. This would have lowered his quote, and I know there are many contractors who would rather add to the estimate! We really appreciated his efforts to work with us. We decided to replace the railing as it did look outdated and explained to Dean that we wanted to keep the design very simple. We were not used to posts as our old railing had none. Dean took notes on exactly what we were looking for and when he stopped by to take the templates for our stairs, he also brought along samples of posts and pickets. They were exactly what we were looking for, and Dean offered great advice in terms of design and functionality. Our old railing was quite shaky and we were shocked when Dean told us that the original pickets were barely installed to the floor by ¼” if that! Once again, Dean explained the process and answered all our questions and concerns. Honestly, I have yet to meet someone so patient, as we were obviously quite anxious about the results All my calls, emails and texts were answered in a timely manner which goes to show again how committed and professional Dean is. Dean finished the project ahead of time (again) and the results are stunning. As you can see from the pictures, it’s a huge transformation! We’ve had so many compliments and the only complaint we have is that we should have done it long ago! The pickets and railing are solid and secure and the entire project adds incredible design and value to our home. We cringe when we look at pictures of our old stairs and railing! Thanks again Dean for a fantastic job!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Part of our major renovation was building a custom walk-in shower from scratch. We encountered many setbacks during this phase, so we were in a hurry to find a shower threshold and shower jambs at the eleventh hour. I did a lot of research to find white quartz that was not only high-quality but from a reputable company. I visited quite a few places and there were only a few that had the right sizes along with reasonable prices. I found MaxSpace Stone Works on the Internet and spoke to Vanda. What a pleasant surprise - Vanda was so friendly, helpful and genuinely appreciated my call. I was also thrilled when I found out that MaxSpace carries quartz from Caesarstone. Our kitchen counters and bathroom vanity were from Caesarstone so I didn’t have to settle for plain old white. I can’t tell you what a relief that was! Vanda informed me that they had the exact same color pattern that was already in our home, and I quickly made arrangements to visit her. It was freezing cold when I drove up to meet Vanda and place my order. She was so easygoing in allowing me to sit beside her desk while she looked at the measurements I gave her. I was quite nervous because if the measurements weren’t correct, it would be my mistake. Vanda is so talented and she drew diagrams showing me exactly what I needed, and explained where the polished edges would be. I thought she must have some serious design skills!! I felt so reassured that Vanda knew exactly what I was looking for and that the pieces would be cut exactly as I requested. Before I left, Vanda even made me a cup of hot tea for the road. Talk about service! I also brought one piece of quartz that was left over from our kitchen renovation, and Vanda gave me a reasonable price for MaxStone to cut it to size for our shower bench. Since our contractor needed the quartz asap, Vanda worked her magic and I was able to pick up all the pieces within a few days. She called me the morning the pieces were available, just as I had requested. I wanted to avoid rush hour traffic and preferred a morning pick up. Vanda also arranged for me to pick up at another location that was closer to home for me. When my husband and I arrived, we checked the pieces before accepting the order and found one piece that was slightly off. I panicked thinking we’ll never get home in time for our contractor to finish his work. I thought for sure we would have to make another return trip. Nope, the front desk clerk had one of the workers come out to take a look. He measured and it was off a bit, and as Vanda had reassured me, if it’s their mistake, they will fix it. We didn’t have to wait long at all, and a new piece came out perfectly, just like the rest of the order. I’m so glad that the issue was resolved quickly, and without any hassle at all! Our shower looks awesome since the quartz is a perfect match and the cut and polishing is pure perfection! Even though my order wasn’t huge, Vanda still made me feel like a valued customer, and showed such appreciation. I would highly recommend you call Vanda for any of the services that MaxSpace Stone offers. Thanks again Vanda!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Ruby, and thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to help you on your project! I am so happy that you are contented with the workmanship, and service. We always strive to hit 1000% satisfaction with all of our clients. You are very important to us. If there is ever anything else we can do to help you on any future projects, please do not hesitate to contact us. It would be our honor to help you out. From everyone here at MaxSpace, thank you again, and for all of your support.

10/10

One of the most expensive and nerve-wrecking decisions on our renovation list was to replace our carpets with hardwood floors. We started searching in June 2015 and visited almost every store within the GTA. We looked dozens of samples and found the process stressful and overwhelming. We started off with Maple, however we were very specific with our color choice and we wanted classic hardwood, whereas engineered hardwood would have given us more options. Near the end of our search, we narrowed it down to Red Oak or Ash, but we still didn’t find anything we liked. We almost gave up when we found out about Darmaga Hardwood Flooring, and by then we were so exhausted and said it would be our last stop (well it was)!! I can’t tell you how impressed we were when we walked through the doors and met Karesz. Within minutes of telling him what we’ve been through, and that we didn’t think we would ever find what we were looking for, he showed us “two” samples. One was Red Oak and the other was Ash. I could not believe it; they were exactly what we were looking for! We asked for medium/dark brown-grey and that's exactly what Karesz gave us! I also want to point out that many other sales associates pressured us into looking at engineered hardwood flooring, even after we explained we wanted classic hardwood, and I found it very annoying. We didn’t get that at all with Karesz. Before we sat down to talk pricing with Karesz, I asked if the owner was around and Rod Darmaga came over. I was quite surprised because normally owners don’t have the time to come over and chat, or they’re unavailable. Not only did Rod greet us but he “sat” down and chatted with us. I told him how happy we were to be there and that Karesz was amazing. Rod was very appreciative of our visit and our interest in Darmaga. We took the samples home and fell in love!! On the drive home, I kept asking my husband, “How the heck did he know what we were looking for?” It was unbelievable that the two samples he showed us were dead on! My husband said he noticed that Karesz really listened when I was talking to him, and it’s quite obvious that he’s experienced and knows hardwood floors! We really wished we had found Darmaga and Karesz sooner! It would have saved us a lot of time and energy. Even though we knew the hardwood floor installation would be the last step in our renovations, I kept in touch with Karesz, but at no point did he ever call and pressure us to make a sale. I really appreciated that because we were crazy busy with renovations and we already knew, no matter what, we would purchase our hardwood flooring from Darmaga. Our renovations had many setbacks, delays, and disappointments so it wasn’t until early December 2015 that we were ready to purchase the hardwood flooring. We quickly met up with Karesz and purchased our hardwood within minutes. Karesz was fantastic in making sure we could get our order in time, and then booking the delivery in time for the installation. Whew! Throughout this process, we were nervous and anxious. Hardwood floors and the installation were pricey and we had so many questions and concerns. Every time I called or emailed Karesz, he was quick to respond and always willing to help out. He even helped us with questions that were not related to the hardwood purchase! When our order came in, Karesz was prompt in calling us so we could pick up a few planks to give to our installer to match the stain for our stairs and railing. We received a call a few days prior to the delivery and on the morning of. The delivery guys Jason and Corey were on time and did a great job in being careful when coming into our home with the 50+ boxes! As you can see, the Red Oak hardwood is stunning. We’re so glad we chose a premium product, but more importantly, from a reputable company that has been around for a long time. I had several questions even after the installation and Karesz was happy to help out. Believe me when I say this, if you’re looking for hardwood flooring, save yourself a lot of time and hassle and at least visit Darmaga Flooring. You’ll be glad you did. And please say hi to Karesz, he is simply amazing!!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We’ve had carpet in our home for almost 25 years so the decision to install hardwood flooring was not only costly, but one that we spent a lot of time and research on. Dean was highly recommended to us and while we had other estimates, there were many reasons why we chose Dean. He’s a very down-to-earth and friendly guy, very professional and experienced. I had so many questions and Dean answered every single one of them with the utmost patience. Renovations are stressful, and I think there were times when I even asked Dean the same questions! We always wanted a modern baseboard design with no quarter rounds or shoe molding, which we actually hate! Dean and I discussed this at length and he explained that he could do as we wished, but there would be gaps. I was quite disappointed and thought about installing the baseboards without any shoe molding. I have to tell you – Dean knows what he’s doing! During the installation, I was shocked at how uneven our floors were. The gaps were very visible and in every single room! Thankfully we took Dean’s advice (at the 11th hour) and purchased shoe moldings. We were even able to find a design that was very discreet and matched our baseboards. We would have been extremely unhappy if we had just let Dean install the baseboards alone. We’re just glad that we took his advice! We were still nervous right up until the day of installation, but Dean, Jason and Rachel arrived on time and were very focused on their job. They took the time to answer our questions and concerns (and we had many), and we learned a great deal about hardwood floors, installation, and the care and maintenance required. We especially appreciated what an excellent communicator Dean is, to both his clients and his team. We knew exactly what time they would be arriving, what would be done, and the timeline for the project. They were extremely punctual and hard working. Whenever we had a request, it was noted and done, no questions asked, and more importantly, NO attitude! They also did an amazing job on our fireplace area. Our fireplace stones are curved where they meet the floor and we had no idea what the finished result would look like. We had previous suggestions to cut the stone and slide the hardwood planks underneath, but we wanted to leave the fireplace intact and untouched. What Dean and Jason did was scribe the planks. The edge of each plank was cut with small waves/ridges to match the curve of the fireplace stones. We actually watched Jason while he cut the planks and as you can see from the pictures, the result is amazing!! The workmanship which was time consuming and very detailed, far surpassed our expectations! I’d like to add that we were in renovation mode for three months straight when Dean started, and we were anxious to complete everything. So when Dean finished ahead of schedule, we were so surprised. We were also lucky that Dean was able to accommodate us and have our hardwood and stairs done by mid December. This was a very busy time since apparently everyone wanted to wrap up their renovation projects before the holidays! It’s unbelievable what a difference hardwood can make to a home. Our hardwood floors and stairs are absolutely stunning. We actually can’t stop staring at the results and have had many compliments!! Although this review is a little late since we had to finish other renovations, we absolutely wanted to share our experience. Dean and his team did a fantastic job, we loved having them in our home, and we highly recommend Dean for any of the services he provides.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We had our roof completely replaced with Toronto’s Roofing & Contracting Inc. in 2011, so when my mother-in-law needed her roof replaced, we had no hesitation in contacting Terry Butler. It was also such a pleasant surprise that Terry remembered us. We did get other estimates so that my mother-in-law had some options and comparisons, but in the end, we highly recommended she go with Toronto’s Roofing & Contracting Inc. The roof replacement included the same quality workmanship that was done on our own roof, and my mother in-law chose the same color and type of shingles we had used, which were a good match to the exterior of her home. The work included labour and materials to strip off all old layers of shingles, vents, plumbing stack flashings and valleys. Terry and his team installed new ice shields in all valley areas and around the bottom perimeter edges, installed new heavy felts over the balance of the roof area, installed new 30-year self sealing IKO Architectural shingles, installed all new vents, plumbing stack flashings, and pre-painted steel valleys and caulked all necessary locations with quality caulking. Clean up and removal of all old roofing debris was excellent as well! The work was high-quality and again, Terry and his team did a fantastic job! They even took care of some minor issues from the past such as dented eaves troughs. When I called Terry to arrange for payment, he had no problem in delaying it for a few days until it was convenient for me. Incidentally, last summer, our neighbour commented that our shingles looked worn out and I thought a few shingles were missing from the roof line that joined with my neighbours. Terry came out to take a look and explained that our shingles were in perfect condition and the neighbour didn’t realize that our shingles have the architectural design, so they are not smooth looking. Terry even took pictures while he was on our roof to show me. There were no missing shingles either, and it appeared as such from ground level due to the valley where our roof meets with our neighbours. Even though there was nothing wring with our roof at all, I was very reassured when Terry took the time to come out, even though he was very busy with other jobs. We're very happy we chose Toronto’s Roofing & Contracting again. We have referred them to all our friends, family members and acquaintances. The work is top notch and Terry’s rates are reasonable. He’s also a very friendly, easygoing, patient and all around nice guy! Thanks a lot Terry!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We just completed a massive renovation and knew it was time for duct cleaning. I researched several companies and the first one I called went straight to voice mail, and I was instructed to go to their website to leave a message. I’m sure they would have done a great job, but I prefer to speak to a live voice. I didn’t even bother calling the other two companies because the reviews for 416-SO-CLEAN were fantastic, and Adel spent more than 20 minutes on the phone addressing all my questions and concerns. We’ve had many contractors in our home and with brand new hardwood floors and professional painting done; we wanted to minimize any damage. Adel assured me that his crew uses corner guards, rubber hoses and they would wear white booties. I had several more questions before our appointment and Adel answered them all in a timely manner. I received an email confirmation for our appointment and Dino called ahead of time to let us know he was on his way. Both Dino and Hugo were very professional and courteous. They took extra care with our home, and were very thorough in their work; they were not rushed and took their time. After dealing with contractors and technicians with frail egos, abrasive personalities and rude behavior, it was an absolute pleasure to have Dino and Hugo in our home. Dino showed me videos before and after of our ducts, and I could actually see and hear the debris being sucked up by the powerful vacuums. This is not a company that just shoves hoses down the vents and blows air around. Our return vents were properly sealed and scrubbers were attached to the hose to really whip the dust out of the ducts. We had two vents that were installed with flex hose to the kick plate of our bathroom and kitchen vanities, and upon informing Dino and Hugo of this; they made sure to take extra care. Dino also cleaned our furnace and checked our filter, taking the time to even wipe down the furnace cover before putting in back on (as suggested by Adel, we scheduled our furnace inspection and maintenance for right after the duct cleaning service). We also had red duct plugs inserted during our last duct cleaning (in 2007), and they were cheap and easy to pry out. Hugo mentioned that no one used those anymore. The ones that Dino put back in were a lot stronger. A minor detail, but I noticed theirs were not only stronger but were grey colored, so they didn’t stand out as much. When I asked Dino about them, he even replaced all our red ones with the new grey ones! Awesome! An application of Benefect disinfectant was sprayed through our duct system as a final process. Our home is fragrance and chemical free so I like the fact that Benefect is a natural product. The process took almost two hours and our home was not only a whole lot cleaner, but there was no damage to our newly renovated home. We’re so pleased with the work done and glad we chose 416-SO-CLEAN. Their prices are reasonable and they only charge three price points – according to the square footage of your home. We were charged exactly as quoted, and nothing more. We were going to get our dryer vent cleaned as well, but Dino said we could just cut the duct tape off the dryer hose and use a shop vac to clean it ourselves, especially since the ducts did not contain a large amount of dust and lint. I highly recommend you call 416-SO-CLEAN for any service they provide. We’re so satisfied that we plan to call and book Dino and Hugo for my mother-in-law’s home. Thanks a lot Dino, Hugo and Adel!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you so so much Ruby for the very very detailed review and feedback. Thank you so much fro taking the time to write all this and taking the time to also share the pictures and your experience. It is always a great pleasure serving you. We love it when our client also take the time needed to do their research and I was personally very pleased to take the initial call and chat with you. This is what we are here for. I am so glad that Dino and Hugo delivered to our promise to you. Thank you for being a great host.
Congrates again on the new house and we look forward serving you again in the future.
Yours, Adel Majd and the 416-SO-CLEAN Team

10/10

We recently had new windows installed and wanted to get new window treatments. Our mini blinds were over 20 years old and our blackout roller shades were poor quality (store bought), and curled around the edges. We shopped around at several home improvement stores, a popular retail chain, and even online, but we didn’t see anything we liked; the choices were overwhelming and the quality wasn’t that great. ~ I found Budget Blinds of South East Toronto on the Internet, and was hesitant as I always thought an in-home consultation would be too pricey for our budget. I spoke to Karen Tsao-Pemberton, the owner, and she was very helpful. She had Sajee (Design Consultant) call me and we set up an appointment. I still had my doubts but I was very surprised and impressed with the consultation. Sajee was engaging, and extremely patient with all my questions and concerns! ~ We love the look of faux wood blinds and wanted to get them for all the windows in our home, including a sidelight. Sajee gave us excellent suggestions and realized how important it was for our bedrooms to be darkened. She also informed us that 2” faux wood blinds would look too big for our narrow side light. In the end, we went with blackout roller shades for the bedrooms, faux wood blinds for the living room and office, and aluminum mini blinds for the side light. (Karen also pointed out that their roller shades are not made of PVC, as I had expressed health concerns). ~ Because our window frames had ridges, we weren’t sure about mounting them on the actual frames. Sajee returned with Jamie (installer) and we discussed both options (frame mount or wall mount). Sajee and Jamie also measured the windows a second time for accuracy. They took their time and we didn’t feel they were rushed at all. I was really impressed with how detail-oriented Sajee is. It truly felt like she was measuring the windows for her own home! She was just as picky as I was! ~ The blinds were ready in less than 2 weeks and Jamie called to set up an installation date that was convenient for “us.” He arrived on time and the installation went smoothly. Jamie has a very strong work ethic and is extremely polite and professional. ~ The blinds look amazing! We can’t believe how different our home looks, and we also can’t stop staring at our new window treatments. They even look great when they‘re rolled up. Their warranty is excellent; 5 years, no questions asked on their Signature line and SOM series, which is what we purchased. ~ I’m so glad I called Karen and I have already referred her to family members, friends and even the company that installed our new windows. If you need window treatments, save yourself the time and hassle and deal with Karen and Sajee!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so very much for the wonderful and detailed review you provided! It means the world to us to have positive feedback like yours. Our team truly strives for excellence from the moment you call-in to understand your needs - to the in-home consultation and educating you on what the best solutions are for your window coverings and unique situation - to doing a meticulous job on the installation. Beyond that, we are happy to offer you the best warranty in the business. We work hard to earn you referrals and thank you so much for your trust and your business, Ruby.

I love the photos you took as well - your blinds really look fantastic!

10/10

Our house needed vinyl siding, soffits and fascias installed along with replacement of downspouts. I researched companies on HomeStars and met with several estimators. ~ In the end I chose Elle & Co. because they are a family owned business and Elma was very understanding and helpful when I contacted her. Mido provided the estimate a few days later and was punctual, very friendly, professional, honest, and gave us excellent advice. I explained the renovation nightmares we went through and he knew I was under a lot of stress since this was the 4th project we took on in 4 months. I just wanted it done right. Mido told us he would be doing the installation and even though he was extremely busy with other projects, he would fit us in. ~ Mido and Mitch did a fantastic job; they took their time and worked with great attention to detail. They were very respectful of our home, knowing the problems we had before. ~ Elma followed up with me the day after the installation, and I told her my only concern was the team that would be installing the downspouts and eavestroughs. Since we live in a townhouse, I didn’t want the location of the new downspouts to look ugly. She told me not to worry and it would look perfect. ~ Mido returned a few days later to finish some small areas and he told me he spoke to Elma, and to alleviate any concerns I had, he would come back on the same day the team was scheduled so he could be onsite, and he would finish his work at the same time. I can’t tell you how relieved I was! ~ The project is now completed and our house looks amazing! There are a lot of houses in our neighbourhood that showed poor workmanship so we’re happy that we chose Elle & Co. The attention to detail was second to none and this is a company that does not cut corners! ~ I also want to point out that the eavestrough above our garage door was overlapped by our neighbours when they had their siding done. In order to install it properly, Mido even talked to our neighbour and told him he would be replacing their eavestrough (with the same matching color). Mido explained there were gaps between the 2 eavestroughs and he didn’t want our neighbour to complain about the 2 tiny holes that were left when ours was removed. He also mentioned it would look seamless. We did notice that particular area produced a lot of icicles and dripping water so it was great to get it done properly. Mido really went out of his way to ensure we were happy and he takes great pride in his work! ~ Even little things like our house number, which was black. Mitch pointed out that the screws were silver and while minor, it really didn’t look good. We were going to spray paint or buy new house numbers but Mitch offered to paint it for us. He even spray painted the screws to match. Also, while working on the front of our house, I asked Mido if he knew of a contractor that could repair 2 areas where the bricks were crumbling. He whipped out his phone, took some pictures and called his contact. Unbelievable! ~ We are extremely happy and satisfied with the work done by Mido and Mitch. They treated us like family members and we had absolutely nothing to worry about. Their quote was reasonable and I never felt like they were adding anything that wasn’t necessary. All calls and emails were always promptly returned. I strongly recommend Elle & Co. without any hesitation! Thank you so much Mido, Elma and Mitch!!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

CONSULTATION: We needed all the windows and doors in our older home replaced and met with several companies. We were on a tight budget so we had to decide on retrofit vs. brick to brick and sliders vs. casement. We were disappointed with each company we met - the lack of customer service, knowledge and respect, and some that were just downright rude, condescending and dishonest. We almost gave up until we met with Dmitri from Galaxy Windows & Doors. Honestly, he was the last company we met with, and we wish he were the first. His presentation was unlike any other. Dmitri truly took the time to educate us on the manufacturing of the windows, showing us a model of the window and explaining every detail. He listened to the problems we had (birds chirping at 4 am, the 24/7 “yeller/screamer” neighbour, etc.) and gave us options without any hard sell, always mindful of our budget. We had a lot of questions and Dmitri answered every single one with the utmost patience. No question was too silly to ask! We were also in the midst of other renovations and believe in doing our research and taking our time to decide. At the end of our meeting with Dmitri, he asked us to contact him if and when we decided to go ahead and I signed up right then and there, shocking my husband, and even myself. I was confident of the workmanship and service we would receive! INSTALLATION: Alex (the installer) called as Dmitri said he would, and met with us at a time that was convenient for us to measure our windows and doors. He was extremely courteous and very competent. He left us his phone number in case we had any additional questions. Alex also called us back a few weeks later to arrange an installation date. Anyone whose had renovations done can tell you it’s a stressful experience - a few weeks prior, we had contractors and installers in our home for another project. They were arrogant, disrespectful and sarcastic, leaving our home in total disarray and filthy beyond expectations, along with damaging our door frame and handle. They didn’t even bring drop sheets. Thankfully we decided to replace our windows and doors “AFTER” this particular project. Alex, Vlad and their assistant Roman installed 7 windows, our front door enclosure area (front door, storm door, side light and transom) and our back door and storm door. They were in our home for a total of 12 hours and within that time frame, they treated us, and our home with the utmost respect, unlike any other installer or contractor we’ve had or heard of! They answered all our questions, they didn’t mind when we watched to learn what they were doing (we always stayed out of their way), and they constantly cleaned up. I’ve actually never seen a team sweep up and vacuum throughout the process. They were mindful of our home and took care of it during the installation. At one point, we turned on some fans because we turned off our A/C since all the windows and doors were wide open. Alex was very conscientious, even suggesting we turn the fans off, as they would just blow dust around. Even more surprising is that Dmitri stopped by in the afternoon and checked if everything was okay (of course it was), and asked if we had any concerns or questions. There were some very minor details, and Dmitri took care of them right away, no debate, no questions, just reassurance! He checked the condition of the windows and screens, showed us how to operate them, removed the blue tape on each window, and checked the crank handles on the casement windows, tightened and adjusted any necessary screws. He presented us with our warranties, trusting us to just leave the final payment with the installers when they were finished the job, and asked us to contact him if there were any questions or concerns. Dmitri really knows how to run a business. He responds to every call and email in a timely manner, and this visit was what I would describe as “VIP” treatment! We even had several neighbours stop and look at the installation and ask for business cards. It’s been a few days since our installation and we still have neighbours gawking at our gorgeous windows and doors!! We just had a consultant come to our home to give a quote on window treatments and she commented on how beautiful our windows and doors look. Yesterday we had a contractor in our home for a quote on siding and he also commented on the workmanship and quality of our windows and doors. Back to the installation, it started to rain heavily later in the day, and we thought the installation would have to stop, but Alex assured us everything would be ok and they waited it out for a short time. But Vlad was working on our back door and storm door, even during a torrential downpour. He kept working! We opened the back door to check on him and there he was, working away, while the rain was pelting down! He was literally soaked through! We felt so bad and he never once complained, he just kept working and we noticed he wasn’t in a huge rush to get the job done. When the project was completed, the team was still cleaning up, sweeping our garage and driveway and taking away every single item to be disposed of. It was as if they were never there, except leaving us with beautiful windows and doors! It was late and the team was tired, but they weren’t in a hurry to rush off after we gave them the final payment. They thanked us and just wanted to ensure that “we” were happy. We are so glad we chose Galaxy WD, and to have such amazing installers in our home. We are extremely picky and waited a long time to start our renovations because we didn’t want to skimp on craftsmanship. Their prices are very reasonable, and Dmitri will work with your budget, and we were on a huge budget, BUT, we decided to do it right and get brick to brick windows installed. We chose the “Hometech Contour Series” windows; they are THE highest standard in vinyl windows and we wanted the best! We noticed the difference with our casement windows right away. When they’re just inches from being closed tightly, we can hear the suction and any outside noise is literally gone. Unbelievable! This review is very long because I want other consumers to be informed and learn from our experience. Thank you Dmitri, Alex, Vlad and Roman!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Ruby,
We’re glad everything went as planned. Thank you for doing business with us. We really appreciate the time you spent writing this review.
- Dmitri & Alex.

10/10

We had our roof completely replaced with Toronto’s Roofing & Contracting Inc. in June 2011. I had researched and called numerous contractors. I have to say, I was hesitant regarding all the 10 star ratings for Terry Butler’s company, Toronto Roofing & Contracting Inc. I spoke to several contractors and obtained numerous quotes. What I loved about Terry was how quickly he returned my calls; he was very friendly, honest and had extensive knowledge and experience. Some contractors didn’t even bother to call me back; others did a “drive-by” estimate, one was just plain sarcastic and egotistical. Our time is very important to us and we had one contractor who never showed up, despite us taking time off work! Terry arrived for our quote on time and accompanied my husband on the roof (as we requested). He explained what needed to be done and pointed out areas that other contractors did not, including the need for an extra vent, etc. No matter how insignificant or numerous our inquiries were, Terry answered them all with patience and professionalism. He explained the entire procedure to me, as I wanted to know the steps involved, from beginning to end. I had several quotes and it was very clear that we would choose Terry. Terrry’s crew was punctual, they were very friendly, and didn’t even mind when my husband went up on the roof a few times to see how they were doing. They cleaned our front and back yard and did a fantastic job. Later that evening, Terry stopped by for payment and to check on any inquiries we had. My husband forgot to take pictures of the roof after it was completed, and it was not a problem for Terry to get his ladder out and accompany my husband up on the roof. We chatted easily for well over an hour. When a neighbour asked for a quote in the middle of our conversation, Terry was very polite in letting him know he would be right over, as soon as he finished with us! We are very satisfied with our roof, it looks amazing! We’re so glad we made the right choice and we were raving about the great service the next day at work. Another neighbour had also requested a quote as his crew were replacing our roof, earlier in the day. I would not hesitate to recommend Terry and we’re still bragging about our fantastic looking roof, and the wonderful service we received. We plan to move in the next few months or so, and if we need repairs or a replacement roof on our new home, we will definitely call Terry. Do all the research you need, but it will be clear you’ll choose Terry in the end!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
0/10

After doing extensive research, I booked an appointment with this company. The technician that showed up was rude, sarcastic and had a horrific attitude. I placed a drop sheet on our carpet (as we just had it cleaned) and from then on, it went downhill. Apparently, the tech was offended. I asked the tech for his name (he didn't introduce himself), nor did he explain what he was about to do. When I saw him cutting large holes in the vents I was concerned and asked if it would be left like that. He said he would seal them up, after I had paid him! He quoted his price to me twice and reminded me (twice) that he was from "Ontario Power Air Duct Cleaning" NOT Ontario Duct Cleaning. When I asked him about the infrared camera inspection, he said it was "extra." When we showed him the website page, stating it was free, he started a debate with my husband, "Yes, it's OPTIONAL, do you want it, yes or no???" At that point, we'd had ENOUGH. I was angry and upset and told him not to talk to us that way, it wasn't right and I was not comfortable with him doing the service and could he please leave our home. I called the office back to inform them of the situation and was told the owner would like to speak with me. I arranged a time for him to call (9-11 am). At 10:45 am, I had enough and had to leave, so I called the office to tell them. Sure enough, the tech had his side of the story and of course, the owner was siding with him. The most appalling part is that this tech is the most requested??? I'm sure this tech has learned his lesson and smartened up since we "finally" told him off, so I'm quite sure he will be nothing but polite in the future and the owner believes this. Very sad since this company is listed on "Mike Holmes" website! Unbelievable!! I will NEVER refer this company to anyone. In my personal opinion and experience, be WARY and don't bother with the headache and frustration. It was a stressful situation that I won't forget.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?