Gem Windows and Doors

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
1590 The Queensway Toronto ON M8Z 1V1
Write a Review
Write a Review


InstagramFacebook
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

87%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Best of Award '22 winner 2 timesBest of Award '22winner 2 times

Reviews for Gem Windows and Doors

Average customer rating:
8.7 10 (401 reviews)

Sort by

rebecca
rebecca
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Patio Window

I was very happy with the level of service and quality of work provided by Walter and Chris from Gem Windows. They removed and disposed of my old patio window and installed the new one skillfully and accurately. This was no easy task as I live in an old house and so they had to customize the opening with a special wood frame. I like everything to be neat and centred and Walter and Chris made sure everything was perfectly aligned and to my liking. I would highly recommend this team from Gem Windows and I hope to see them again for my next job! Thank you!

Approximate cost of services:
$3,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Rebecca!

There is an expression that only god is perfect. Undoubtedly true, but our installers come as close as they can to perfection. We're just glad when a customer like you notices the extra effort. Window and door installation has more in common with open heart surgery than with an assembly line. You open the patient and have its life in your hands. Regardless of what you find, you have to find a way to do the job and come out the other end with the patient still alive!

Lynne R.
Lynne R.
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

New windows

Replaced 4 windows in a 100 year old house. Windows had to be retrofitted. Excellent job. Very impressed. The sales rep and installers were a pleasure to deal with. Took the time to explain details. Very quick to reply to emails.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,900.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Replaced 4 windows in a 100 year old house. Windows had to be retrofitted. Excellent job. Very impressed. The sales rep and installers were a pleasure to deal with. Took the time to explain details. Very quick to reply to emails.

Thank you, Lynne. We are glad that you appreciate our knowledgeable sales staff and installation crews. GEM has been selling windows and doors since 1961. I guess we've learned a bit about our products on the way!

Jim and Vilja from North York
Jim and Vilja from North York
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Doors

I needed to replace two exterior doors and I am thrilled with my new ones. The installation was completed expertly and professionally by two very knowledgeable men. I would highly recommend Gem for any door/window project. I have received numerous compliments about my new doors.

Approximate cost of services:
$12,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to let others know that GEM does great work! LOL - We assume you are passing out our phone number. Remember to tell your friends to mention your name when they visit GEM!
Yes, our installers really know their stuff and we're proud of our team.

zak in Mississauga
zak in Mississauga
0 reviews Mississauga, ON
6/10

Replacement of basement widows

The 5 window frames including the windows were replaced. The replacements were as ordered and the work was done quickly and neatly. The exterior caulking was nicely done and suggestions were offered by the installer to protect the windows from the effects of weather (rain and snow). The interior finishing was not done. No moulding or covering of the Styrofoam around the outside perimeter was applied thus leaving an unfinished appearance. I was advised that this was my responsibility. I think that this experience is similar to buying a car, but when its delivered you find that there are no tires- you need to supply you own or its like buying bread at a bakery, having it sliced and having to provide your own bag to take it home. Is this standard procedure at Gem Windows and doors. I have had windows and frames replaced before and the interior gaps were covered. Is this an omission or has it become policyÉ

Approximate cost of services:
$3,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Zak is absolutely correct that he is missing interior trim that he is entitled to have. This was an oversight by the installer as not all windows have trim by GEM. It is unfortunate that we only found out through this posting. As far as we can tell, Zak made no effort to contact his sales rep, who was horrified to find out that the job was not completed. The installer has already been contacted and will be going back to finish this job. We're glad that Zak appreciated the high quality of the work done and hope that he modifies his post after this oversight is corrected and says that everything done is of high quality!

Luana in Toronto
Luana in Toronto
1 review , ON
10/10

Perfect product and service!

We had a perrfect experience with GEM Doors and Windows - start to finish. We got a gorgeous, modern steel door for our side entrance at a great price and seamless installation!

Approximate cost of services:
$1,995.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Luana, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear that you love your new door, hope you enjoy it for many years to come.

Thomas in Toronto
Thomas in Toronto
0 reviews Mississauga, ON
1/10

Disappointed

Hi,

We went with Gem for our front door and spartan screen as a neighbour recommended them. Paul was knowledgable and helped us choose the right door and hardware with spartan screen.

Now here is where it get's bad. Measurements for the door were done when we were not home (outside). The result was that we ended up with a 3 inch step inside our house when going out our front door. Not good for our elderly relatives. It was explained that they do not do masonry work to lower the step-up. My problem is, had we known, we would have had the concrete lowered to have the door flush with the floor. We were quite upset and made our views known. From there things soured.

Our invoice specifies a deluxe, locking, removable spartan screen. When inquiring as to when this would be installed we were ignored. Finally after continued pestering I was told they can install the screen next week. If not, it will have to be in the new year. Obviously we jumped on it.

Unfortunately the screen we received is not what we were expecting. The screen does not lock and is not removable. Furthermore, the handles on the screen are extremely poor quality and fall off whenever anyone opens the screen. We have to tell all of our guests to let us handle opening the screen. That said, the installer was a fantastic guy. Very professional and friendly.

Thanks

Approximate cost of services:
$4,681.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

While we have no record of a customer “Thomas”. We want to respond to points made on a general basis. There clearly was no communication to us by the customer that they wanted to change the height of the sill of the door when they signed the contract, which did not include this project. We measured and made a door accordingly to the existing configuration. On that basis, measurements done, whether the customer was there or not, were correct.

The retractable screens simply do not have locks, and no one at GEM would have suggested otherwise to a customer. Can they have misunderstood the abbreviation “loc” which is for often used for location? We would be interested in seeing any documentation that said “lock” and not “loc”, clearly for a location. Customers sometimes inquire what would happen if a screen was damaged and needed replacement. On that basis, a screen cartridge could be removed, but this in not an operating feature. Once again, we can only guess that this customer didn’t understand the issue.

We aren’t sure what this customer finds not correct with the screen handle. No one has contacted us, that we can determine, or we would look into the issue.
Please give us a call so we can resolve the issue.
416-533-4331

Brent in Toronto
Brent in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Great customer support

Replaced the majority of my windows with Gem windows... did the installs myself.
Years later had an issue with the tensioning springs of one of the windows.
Talked with Jim and he set me up with replacements and instructions on how to replace them, all free of charge.

Can't beat that kind of customer support.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Hwatts in Toronto
Hwatts in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Patio Doors

Replaced patio doors. Installers were very professional, installation went well. Protected floors during work and cleaned up after. Doors look lovely and help keep the summer heat out. Very pleased.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,700.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Always happy to hear from our customers. Our install crews are the best in the city and we are very proud to have them part of our team.

MJE in Etobicoke
MJE in Etobicoke
10 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

complete window/patio door installation

Gem was recommended to us by neighbours and they did not disappoint. Jim was extremely helpful. The written quote was very detailed which helped when we decided a year later to go ahead with the purchase. The prices were comparable to the non-written quotes but it's hard to compare the quality of the materials if the other companies aren't able to provide this in writing. The options for windows (surprisingly, there is lots to consider) was explained thoroughly and the details on the purchase order helped to ensure everything went smoothly. The installation was fantastic! Walter and Chris worked well together installing all the windows on 3 floors, a storm door and a very large patio door. They were careful to protect floors while working and paid attention to even the smallest of details. I can't say enough about the quality of the workmanship. I am very happy with the results!! I would recommend Gem to anyone looking for windows and/or doors. Thank you GEM for all you did to ease our stress during this substantial purchase.

Approximate cost of services:
$10.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you MJE, You are right that buying new windows is one of the most stressful purchases you can make because it is often a once in a lifetime event. GEM has spent years developing its quote forms, training sales people to be truly helpful to their customers and having some of the best installers in the business. If they hadn't become GEM window installers, they might have had to become heart surgeons!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

New windows and sliding door

I had a great experience with GEM Windows and Doors again. I used them for a small job at a prior home and was pleased with the result - changing a window into 3 French doors with access to the backyard. This time I needed to replace 20 windows and a sliding door in my town house.

I still got 3 quotes and GEM was still the best price and Paul suggested an alternative approach which created more cost savings. The installation guys were very professional and cleaned the site as they went along. The job was completed quickly and without a lot of disruption.

I have already seen savings on my heating bill after the first month!

Thanks to Paul and all of the installation guys! If I do this again I probably won't bother with other quotes (lots of less than reputable people out there) and will just call Paul at GEM again!

Approximate cost of services:
$18,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your comments! The key to our industry is repeat business. To accomplish that, a company like GEM respects its customers by providing valuable services, including professional advise.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Gem Windows and Doors

Gem Windows and Doors is Toronto's oldest and most trusted window and door retailer, serving South Western Ontario for over 55 years! Our showroom is designed to offer our customers choices from a wide range of window and door products. We specialize in custom window design and fabrication. We source windows worldwide to meet all of our customer’s requirements.

CATEGORIES
Windows & Doors Installation & Service
PRODUCTS
Today’s vinyl windows are high-tech, ENERGY STAR approved, double and triple glazed, painted with a host of accessories such as brick moulds and interior jambs. Aluminum windows are efficient and thermally broken. They have found their way back to residential homes, in addition to commercial uses. Of course, GEM can also supply wood windows and fiberglass windows. Hybrid windows can be either aluminum clad wood or vinyl or even wood-vinyl composites. GEM is now a distributor for Mastergrain Fiberglass Doors, the leading fiberglass residential entry door. Of course, we carry complete packages of insulated steel doors and wood doors. Don’t forget our fire rated products and commercial doors! Modern homes are utilizing doors that could be considered walls! Lift and Slide Doors can be built in sizes only dreamed about, as can Bi-fold doors and multi-track stacking doors. We must not leave out a full complement of patio doors which GEM offers! A great door requires a great screen and GEM has the pleated retractable and roll-away screens you need. GEM has storm doors to meet your custom as well as standard requirements. Quality Window coverings include a host of blind and shade styles. These are not only the hand operated types but include both hard-wired and solar powered units that raise and lower at the push of a button. GEM also offers interior partitions, interior doors, shower enclosures and glass enclosures inside your home. GEM can manufacture and install railing, canopies, solariums and porch enclosures!
SERVICES
Come to GEM for the best selection for window and door sales and installation. We are fabricators of aluminum windows and sub-fabricator of selected products. We can provide your custom products for new construction and renovation.
BRANDS
Our brands include Pella, Armor, NanaWall, Cardinal Glass, Royal Plastics, Energi, Synergy, Spartan, Windspec, Everlast, Old Castle Glass, Emtek, EntryGuard, Dorplex, Palma, Sunview, Novatech, Mastergain, GEM Transitional and GEM Contemporary. These cover the full range of styles such as modern, traditional, transitional, new constructions, custom, renovation and urban.
STYLES
GEM is able to provide all the architectural and construction styles you require. We carry modern windows and doors. Traditional will always have a place. Transitional products bridge the gap between modern and traditional.
SPECIALITIES
GEM is your one-stop problem solver. Is it getting noisy when you want to sleep? We are experts at soundproofing windows to reduce sound transfer into your home. We invite you to visit our showroom to speak to our professional sales team, to learn more about our high quality custom products.
WEBSITE
http://www.gemwindows.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1961
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
15
RETURN POLICY
All products made to order
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, Cheque, Visa, Mastercard, and Financing Available
LICENSES
GEM is a licensed contractor and maintains a manufacturing license. We are WSIB participants, member
MEMBERSHIPS
SAWDAC, BBB
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Manufacture Warranty plus 5 years of GEM installation
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.