Gem Windows and Doors

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
1590 The Queensway Toronto ON M8Z 1V1
Write a Review
Write a Review


InstagramFacebook
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

86%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Best of Award '22 winner 2 timesBest of Award '22winner 2 times

Reviews for Gem Windows and Doors

Average customer rating:
8.7 10 (400 reviews)

Sort by

Grant in Toronto
Grant in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Sliding doors

The guys at Gem did an amazing job,couldn’t do the job on the day they said but called and rescheduled it do to weather.They called again apologizing about delay and gave me a 200 dollar discount.I will be calling them back for future work.Very satisfied.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,200.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank Grant, for the kind words. We hate delays as much as our customers. We know that rescheduling can be a costly inconvenience for you as well as GEM. Unfortunately, sometimes there are good reasons for a delay and we try to work closely with our customers to minimize any pain. I'm glad we were successful with you!

T. B.
T. B.
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Window Replacement

The current windows we had were only 10 years and the builder put in cheap windows. Therefore, they did not last and all our seals were done. I decided to approached Gem and Seymour came out the next business day. We were happy with the quote and Seymour knowledge of windows and doors.
The install took place over 2 days and the Team of 3 were very efficient. The installers told me my windows had no insulation, especially the back 2 doors where it was always drafty and the doors were not level.
We went from white exterior to dark charcoal and I cannot tell you how it changed the look of the house ( 100% better). Again my original builder pushed for white or it would slow the build down by 6 weeks.
Instead of 2 doors at the back of the house we switched it to the most amazing sliding door with a 3 locking system.
It was great experience for us and Im inlove with my windows!
My before and after picture had not uploaded to my computer. Hopefully I can add later.

Approximate cost of services:
$21,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks T.B.

Our staff, like Seymour, know their stuff and can take advantage of our wide range of products, to our customer's benefit. We're sure you'll enjoy all the light that new sliding door system brings into your home!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Great Job

Needed blinds installed right for a large bay window in my living room and trusted these guys to get it done. Communication with them was great and they were in and out in a breeze.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,800.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to post! It is appreciated when a job goes smoothly and the customer takes the time to tell others. This happens a lot, but generally goes unmentioned. For every job that went smoothie and is posted, there are probably another 100 not posted.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Window and Door

DO NOT ORDER FROM THESE PEOPLE. They are amateurs only interested in your money and not offering a satisfactory product/service. They never came to measure the opening of the door which then required the bricks to be cut to accommodate the door "they" ordered. The installer is rude and took our original doors and hardware which we wanted to sell privately. Also, we did not get the colour we wanted. Save yourself the time and hassle of dealing with these amateurs - I am sure there are more professional door/window providers.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,000.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

In summary, "Wrong size" is his responsibility, "wrong colour" is customer responsibility and "wanting to sell original" is no problem for the panels. We were not told Mark wanted to sell the original door. The panels are available to him but the frame was destroyed in removal.

The door was the wrong size for the opening, however what Mark fails to say is that the size on which the order was based came from Mark's wife. As a good will gesture, we provided a credit for the customer to have their brick cut to fit and the wood opening adjusted. When our installers came to put in the door the second time, the wood was still wrong and we corrected it at no additional charge in order to get the install done then and there. Re colour, this is a case of the customer not reading the contract before signing it. If the colour was not what they wanted, there was ample opportunity to correct it. Mark wanting to save the original door was not told to his sales person. If we had known we would have tried to get the frame out whole. The frame of the original door was unsalvageable, but the two panels are here and are available. Mark knows this but fails to say this in his “review”. In summary, "Wrong size" is his responsibility, "wrong colour" is customer responsibility and "wanting to sell original" is no problem for the panels.

Brenda T in Etobicoke
Brenda T in Etobicoke
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Replace Sliding Patio Door Handle

Our sliding patio door handle broke after installation 18 years ago. Have been searching for a replacement for almost a year with no luck at the big box hardware stores which were too small by 1/8 of inch. Didn't want to replace our sliding patio doors because they were completely in good working order.
As I was driving by GEM Windows & Doors on The Queensway; decided to stop in and ask about replacing the handle which I've had in my car for all this time. So happy I did! Spoke with Jim; he went in the back of the store and returned with exact size and colour handle.
Jim explained the size of sliding patio door handles have changed several times over the 18 years and GEM had this one from a recent sliding patio door which was replaced. Recycle and reuse at its best.
Went home and installed it and works perfectly.
Thank you very much Jim!

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Brenda,

We love being able to take advantage of our knowledge and inventory of parts to help homeowners! After all, we've been in business since 1961, so we have accumulated a lot of otherwise unavailable parts inventory. Add in Jim, one of our owners, whose knowledge base on the details of product changes in almost unbelievable at times, and GEM solves problems where other companies might try to simply sell something new.

Joe in Toronto
Joe in Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

New windows installation.

My wife and I needed our windows replaced in our house. We went to a few different places and came across GEM. We met with a gentleman named Seymour. What an amazing, knowledgeable, patient and helpful man. He took the time to understand what my wife was looking for and by chance came to our home the same day. Offered his expertise and helped us get the most bang for our buck. Couldn’t be happier to deal with someone that cares about what people want and are excellent at what they do!!
The installation team came a few weeks later. Igor, Peter and Yuri came in, covered up the floors, explained the process and started work. I was blown away by how fast the windows came out and went in. There experience and knowledge showed throughout the installation. Igor and his team were well mannered, efficient and Hard working. It took two days to replace 16 window! My wife and I are so pleased with the installation of our beautiful new window.
I would recommend GEM windows to anyone who’s looking for a great experience. We can’t thank Seymour, Igor, Peter and Yuri and the team at Gem enough. Great people and a great experience!! Thank you.

Approximate cost of services:
$16,700.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you, Joe!

Seymour has been in our industry for... well, a long time. he has accumulated a lot of practical knowledge that he enjoys sharing with our customers. In fact, as Ontario's oldest window company GEM has a lot of knowledge that our customers benefit from every day! Igor and team are typical of a GEM installation team. Our installers are experienced and courteous as they deliver efficient quality.

Paul in Toronto
Paul in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
8/10

Excellent workmanship and quality above all else

I am overall very happy with this company. This is the 2nd time that I have used them at my rental property and the one thing I am happy about is the quality of the product, but also the professionalism of the installers and their workmanship. I am also happy that the company agreed to fix a frame for me and fix another screen for me at no extra charge considering the amount of my order. The only thing that I was not happy about this time around was that there was some confusion with the person who was supposed to come and do the final measurements for the windows. It was difficult to schedule a time that worked for both of us and I felt that the amount of orders this gentleman was dealing with was overhwelming... overall, my windows were as such delayed and it took 3 months from initial quote to final installation, whereas I had hoped that it would be maximum 2. OTHER THAN THAT, I am happy with the quality of the workmanship and the product itself. I still plan on using this company in the future for any other window or door requirements.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,400.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Paul for your kind words on our quality and good work! Yes, sometimes getting the job done correctly takes a bit longer. Would you rather wait for quality or call a company that has no referral business and is sitting around, waiting for your phone call? LOL - WE both know the answer!

J. D. in Etobicoke
J. D. in Etobicoke
3 reviews Etobicoke, ON
10/10

Casement Windows

Gem Windows are well known in Etobicoke. Paul was honest and reasonable with quote compared to other dealers. Zygy and assistant installed 6 windows in one day. They took care of the floors and were good at their job! Windows look great! 6 weeks from order!

Approximate cost of services:
$7,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you J.D. Being honest and reasonable is a requirement for being in sales at GEM. After 58 years in business selling windows, it is our key to the next 58 years!

Mary P.
Mary P.
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Replacement of 3 windows.

Richard who did the measuring and installed the windows was fantastic. He is an excellent works, very professional and curtious.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,100.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Mary,

Yes, everything you said about Richard is true. He understudied the best installers to learn his craft. Who? Our older installers, of course.

rebecca
rebecca
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Patio Window

I was very happy with the level of service and quality of work provided by Walter and Chris from Gem Windows. They removed and disposed of my old patio window and installed the new one skillfully and accurately. This was no easy task as I live in an old house and so they had to customize the opening with a special wood frame. I like everything to be neat and centred and Walter and Chris made sure everything was perfectly aligned and to my liking. I would highly recommend this team from Gem Windows and I hope to see them again for my next job! Thank you!

Approximate cost of services:
$3,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Rebecca!

There is an expression that only god is perfect. Undoubtedly true, but our installers come as close as they can to perfection. We're just glad when a customer like you notices the extra effort. Window and door installation has more in common with open heart surgery than with an assembly line. You open the patient and have its life in your hands. Regardless of what you find, you have to find a way to do the job and come out the other end with the patient still alive!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Gem Windows and Doors

Gem Windows and Doors is Toronto's oldest and most trusted window and door retailer, serving South Western Ontario for over 55 years! Our showroom is designed to offer our customers choices from a wide range of window and door products. We specialize in custom window design and fabrication. We source windows worldwide to meet our customer’s requirements.

CATEGORIES
Windows & Doors Installation & Service
PRODUCTS
Today’s vinyl windows are high-tech, ENERGY STAR approved, double and triple glazed, painted with a host of accessories such as brick moulds and interior jambs. Aluminum windows are efficient and thermally broken. They have found their way back to residential homes, in addition to commercial uses. Of course, GEM can also supply wood windows and fiberglass windows. Hybrid windows can be either aluminum clad wood or vinyl or even wood-vinyl composites. GEM is now a distributor for Mastergrain Fiberglass Doors, the leading fiberglass residential entry door. Of course, we carry complete packages of insulated steel doors and wood doors. Don’t forget our fire rated products and commercial doors! Modern homes are utilizing doors that could be considered walls! Lift and Slide Doors can be built in sizes only dreamed about, as can Bi-fold doors and multi-track stacking doors. We must not leave out a full complement of patio doors which GEM offers! A great door requires a great screen and GEM has the pleated retractable and roll-away screens you need. GEM has storm doors to meet your custom as well as standard requirements. Quality Window coverings include a host of blind and shade styles. These are not only the hand operated types but include both hard-wired and solar powered units that raise and lower at the push of a button. GEM also offers interior partitions, interior doors, shower enclosures and glass enclosures inside your home. GEM can manufacture and install railing, canopies, solariums and porch enclosures!
SERVICES
Come to GEM for the best selection for window and door sales and installation. We are fabricators of aluminum windows and sub-fabricator of selected products. We can provide your custom products for new construction and renovation.
BRANDS
Our brands include Pella, Armor, NanaWall, Cardinal Glass, Royal Plastics, Energi, Synergy, Spartan, Windspec, Everlast, Old Castle Glass, Emtek, EntryGuard, Dorplex, Palma, Sunview, Novatech, Mastergain, GEM Transitional and GEM Contemporary. These cover the full range of styles such as modern, traditional, transitional, new constructions, custom, renovation and urban.
STYLES
GEM is able to provide all the architectural and construction styles you require. We carry modern windows and doors. Traditional will always have a place. Transitional products bridge the gap between modern and traditional.
SPECIALITIES
GEM is your one-stop problem solver. Is it getting noisy when you want to sleep? We are experts at soundproofing windows to reduce sound transfer into your home. We invite you to visit our showroom to speak to our professional sales team, to learn more about our high quality custom products.
WEBSITE
http://www.gemwindows.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1961
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
15
RETURN POLICY
All products made to order
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, Cheque, Visa, Mastercard, and Financing Available
LICENSES
GEM is a licensed contractor and maintains a manufacturing license. We are WSIB participants, member
MEMBERSHIPS
SAWDAC, BBB
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Manufacture Warranty plus 5 years of GEM installation
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.