Reviews

10/10

We returned from vacation to find that we had no water service in our home. Preferred Plumbing has done work in our house before, and we called Raphie late on a Saturday night. He was here until after midnight. He worked tirelessly and quickly found the burst pipe. Raphie also discovered that the reason for the pipe burst was insufficient insulation surrounding the pipe, and also determined that the shutoff valve to our outside faucet had been drywalled over. Without this information, we risked having this problem again. Raphie not only got our water running again, he also recommended a restoration company to clean and ensure that the area was mould-free and insulated properly to prevent this issue from recurring. He came back to re-inspect the pipe once the first phase of the restoration work was complete and relocated the shutoff valve to a more accessible place. Raphie also followed up the next day to ensure that all was well. Raphie is knowledgeable, trustworthy, and explains everything very clearly. He is an excellent plumber and he helped us immensely. He and his workers have always left our workspace clean and in great working order. Thank you, Raphie!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review!!! We are lucky to have customers like you!!
Thank you very much for your continued business and loyalty!!

6/10

We ordered California shutters from this company for my daughter's room. We wanted a roller blind behind the shutters to keep the light out. We have an old house and the window in my daughter's room was an irregular shape, but they did a pretty good job of installing the shutters and the blind. We started this project with enough lead time such that we weren't pressed for time when the product was ready. It was a pretty good experience in all, but the reason why I would not give this company a higher rating is because just over a year after the shutters and blind were installed, the cheap, flimsy plastic chain that they supplied us with which to raise and lower the roller blind snapped right in two and although they had previously sent us joiner clips, the chain was totally broken. I found their customer service to be not the best because they charged us for the installation of a new chain (had to pay for the chain as well) and only provided us with a replacement metal chain after I insisted that the plastic one was not acceptable. It wasn't the best experience. We had the blinds for just over a year and although we were happy with the overall quality of the shutters, the blind chain issue was really disappointing. In my opinion we should not have been given the cheap beaded chain to begin with as it was of very poor quality and was not made to last very long at all.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This comment raises an excellent point so thanks for your feedback! The reason why we don’t recommend the sturdier, metal chain relates to one of the key safety features. Plastic chains were specifically designed with a breakaway mechanism that activates once a certain pressure is exceeded. This protective measure is necessary for children and animals, to avoid serious harm should they get caught while playing with the cord. As all of our products have a lifetime guarantee, we always replace the chain free of charge. We also offer free in-home service calls for one year after the date of purchase. If an issue occurs after the one year mark, we do charge for in-home maintenance visits, as is standard protocol with most household installed products. But again, there is no charge if the product is brought to us. Safety is always our first priority, so we hope that this explains our recommendation, and apologize for not clearly explaining it in the first place.

10/10

We moved into our home three years ago and we didn't think that the previous owners had ever had the ducts or dryer vent cleaned during the time they lived in the home. I wanted the job done right and in my opinion there is no company better than Capps to do the work. Paul and Joe were professional, friendly, knowledgeable, and extremely passionate about their work. They explained what they were doing at every step. I could not believe the things they pulled out of the vents - the highlight was a lottery ticket from 1988! Gross! When they were done, Paul showed me the finished product and I could see that the ducts were pristine. They looked their best in years. There was a dramatic difference in the air flow through the house. Paul also took the time to explain how the air flow in our third-floor loft could be drastically improved, and we are looking forward to working with Capps again in this regard. One of the best customer service experiences I've had in regards to home-care services in quite some time. Thank you, Capps!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Tori sorry I some how missed this review when it originally came into this site. We do appreciate you taking the time to do a review for us, and we look forward to being of service again sometime in the future.

Your comments have been shared with our staff.

Thanks Again, Mike Skelton

10/10

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

I have never had a better cleaning lady than Joanna. She is hands-down the most conscientious, thorough, and hands-down best cleaning lady we have ever used. When I came home to our house after the first time Joanna cleaned it, I could not believe how beautiful our house looked. Our sinks sparkled, our floors gleamed, our carpets looked brand-new, and there was not a speck of dust to be seen anywhere. It almost seemed a shame to make dinner in our immaculate kitchen that night, as I knew it would not be that clean again until the next time Joanna visited! Joanna’s cleaning practices are far superior to anyone else we have had over to clean our house. Joanna was vigilant about getting the job completely done. With other cleaning ladies, there was always a task or two that I would have to re-do when I came home or things that were overlooked that I had to point out. Joanna is the complete opposite; she did not overlook anything and she works hard to make sure every detail is perfect so that you arrive back to a totally cleaned home. I would recommend her highly to even the pickiest customer. My only regret is that we did not hire her sooner.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much, I really appreciate the kind words. It is my pleasure and I am very happy that you are so happy with my work.

10/10

This winter, we discovered that we had several unwanted houseguests in the form of mice in the kitchen. We called Cain that night, and Carlo himself answered the phone and was there, on time, the next day. Carlo was knowledgeable, kind, and very calm. We did require follow-up, as our home is semi-detached and the mice were not just contained to our home. Carlo sent one of his employees the same day and happily our problem is now on the mend. The mice traps used by Cain are not spring traps, so there is no mess to deal with. We were so happy with this company.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We bought our home in downtown Toronto and moved in just as some of the city's services, including garbage collection, went on strike. As the colder weather set in, we noticed droppings inside our home and based on positive reviews from other Homestars members we called Cain right away. Carlo was knowledgeable and we knew we were in good hands from the beginning. He had Tony, a member of his crew, out at our house the very next day. Not only did Tony show up on time; he was early. He found the entry point where the rat had been making its way into our home and sealed it up so that there could be no further entries into the home. He answered all of my questions and the rat was caught right away. Cain's work comes with a one-year warranty and they also offered suggestions for other steps we could take to further protect our home from unwanted guests. We plan to put these measures in place right away.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

9/10

The previous owners of our downtown Toronto home had taken interim measures to cover the main floor windows, and the overall result was not attractive or practical. We knew we wanted California shutters on all of our downstairs windows, as we were quite close to the street and needed some privacy. The staff in the Queen/Yonge location were extremely helpful and Jessica, our sales rep, got in touch with me very quickly. She always returned my calls very promptly and answered all of our questions perfectly. The installer visited our house and took the time to confirm the measurements taken by the sales rep, which was great, because no two windows on the main floor of our home are the same. The shutters were ready in about 4 weeks' time, and they made arrangements to do the installation within that time frame as promised. When the shutters were installed, they made a huge difference - our house looks amazing. I've also noticed that the shutters do a great job of keeping out the cold. The installer, Tony, was quite busy and did a good job of keeping us informed as to when he'd be able to make it in the case of delay. The shutters come with a limited lifetime warranty. We're really happy with this service!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?