Reviews

10/10

We signed our contract in the fall to lock in a good price and had the work done in the spring. During the winter our roof leaked quite a bit and Avenue road Roofing--especially Kaz was there for temporary repairs. We needed to have the work done in a short time so a double team came and worked from very early until late in the day. There was very little noise so the neighbours did not really notice the replacement except for the blocked driveway. The team --Roberto, Daniel, Victor, Joaquin, Nally and Uziel--worked around our requests and left the place clean both days. Their dumpster damaged our driveway interlock and they fixed it to more than our expectations. Our garage door stayed open for a long time and the battery ran out, so the team helped us break into our own garage to repair it. They did it without causing any visible damage after a very long and hot day's work. Avenue Road Roofing has been our roofers for the past 20 years and their workmanship is excellent.

Approximate cost of services:
$150,000.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for the detailed review Pat. We also thank you for choosing our company for your project.
Avenue Road Roofing

10/10

I called Sunday evening for service on Monday and they telephoned in the time frame promised (before 10:00). After describing the challenge: clogged drain and very dirty fan. Ranel, the technician, was at my place by 11:40. He cleaned the clogged vent outside--even removing a bird's nest that had managed to get in there-- and spent a considerable time cleaning the fan and the drain pipe. He was a very clean worker and meticulous, checking several times to ensure everything was in order. Ranel will be back to take care of my AC needs as he has done a far superior job than the previous company. Thanks Ranel for your superior workmanship.

Approximate cost of services:
$320.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Pat,

Thank you so much for using Maple Air Inc for your Heating and cooling services and repair and leaving us such a positive review. We loved working with you and are so happy you appreciate our service. Don't hesitate to reach out for any future projects, we hope to hear from you soon. Have a great day.

Customer Success Manager
Maple Air Inc
www.mapleair.com

10/10

Signed a contract for a new roof last fall and they promised to take care of the roof it leaked. It did copiously. The first time they came the team did not bother to speak with me, nor refer to my diagram of where the leaks were. They did not get it right. The next day it rained again, and I needed my buckets again to catch rain on the inside! This time Kaz came and he spent 3 hours on a Sunday afternoon working solo on a windy roof, covering all the spots. As an added bonus he noticed that my solar skylight was not working because squirrels had chewed on it. IN a few days he was back with the new piece and had it installed in a jiffy. The following Sunday, the roof leaked again in a different spot and Kaz was once again to the rescue. and remediated the situation. Thanks Kaz for your excellence in work and going the extra mile. 5 stars for Kaz!

Approximate cost of services:
$100.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are happy to hear you were serviced well.
Thank you for the review. We will pass your praise along to Kas.

10/10

Our dishwasher was suddenly stopping in the middle of the cycle. and When I called this company at 11:30 am, I was asked what time I wanted a person there. He gave me the 2:00 to 4:00 window and Neil showed up at 2:00! He quickly discovered the problem was a block line outside the dishwasher--something I had not thought of checking--but I will in the future though! It seems to be working quite well, and a much cheaper fix that changing the motherboard as I feared. I find it hard to believe that we can still get same day service at home! Congratulations to Canada Appliance Repair for coming to the rescue a second time.

Approximate cost of services:
$300.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you,Pat for your kind words. We appreciate you for choosing our dishwasher repair service. Was a pleasure to help you. Have a good day!

1/10

My air conditioner was dripping so I called for service as a diagnostic. They said I needed a repair: a cleaning to stop the drip so it cost me 100$ but it came back in less than 2 months. They came again and only charged me "half price" and to say that I needed a deep cleaning, taking the machine apart. They also detected some mold and said it would take about 1-2 hours to take the machine apart. After booking an appointment for a thorough cleaning, the technician just opened the ductless air conditioner and sprayed it with a foam cleanser several times and wiped down the machine. He did not address the clogged pipe saying the foam cleaner will do the trick. Not sure why the other two technicians wouldn't have done that. I asked what did he do to remediate the mold and he showed me a piece of toweling he had used to wipe down the interior. If it really was mold, then was wiping mold all over the interior of my machine! He did not use any disinfectant for it as he had wiped it off. How I wish, mold could be removed by wiping down with a paper towel! Cleaning woudl be so easy.......... if that worked and companies woudl go out of business with all their mold destroyers becoming unnecessary. The technician was ready to charge me 500$ for the 20 minute cleaning consisting of a foam spray and wipe down.

Approximate cost of services:
$250.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Update - Nov 2/20 - Today the customer updated their review from 3 months ago when they provided negative feedback then. Why would they invite us back if they weren't happy with us at the last visit? We have no record of having attended this customer's home since mid-summer.

Hi Pat. Thank you for the feedback you have provided. We take it very seriously and use it to make ourselves better. One of our senior managers is investigating this and will contact you shortly.

10/10

Nash was punctual, reliable and effective in his work: He arrived at the time and day he said: he accomplished what he promised to do on time and with perfection. We highly recommend his services.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Pat. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review.🙏

3/10

I called a company (not Alpha Tech) for a repair, but the other company sent this person saying they were business partners. Too gullible! Ariel gave me a verbal quote for what was wrong with the dishwasher and said it woudl take 2-3 hours work to repair and do maintenance. Miele is hard to get parts for so it took more than a week to order the part. He called back and we agreed on a time to come. He came the next day 90 minutes late, but very polite and seemed authentically apologetic. He did the work in 30 minutes. For an exceptional reason I did not supervise him as I always do, but it was impossible this time round. He used a credit card system to collect my money, but he did not give me a receipt. I h ave been asking for several days to get a receipt but it is not forthcoming. I also realize that he did not send me a written quote which is required for repairs of this size. I was too gullible and his courtesy fooled me. If you call him, make sure you get a written estimate first and a bill before you pay iwth your credit card.

Approximate cost of services:
$500.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

I was getting desperate because my regular electrician had been making me wait for 2 weeks to install a light, and kept putting me off. I used Homestars to locate an electrician close to me and found Essence Electrical. I called Friday morning at 8:30 and Jerry was able to juggle his schedule to fit me in during the day as I needed my light fixed for the following day. Jerry showed up exactly on time and replaced one under the cabinet fixture in my kitchen. He was able to fix the other light so that it did not need replacing. Jerry was totally on task and took little time to fix the lights. He did a great job. I will be asking Jerry back soon for more work.

Approximate cost of services:
$150.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much.

10/10

Valentin showed up 15 minutes ahead of the promised time. We made a quick review of the problems and he concluded that the 5 problems I showed him were only 2 clogged showers. He explained the solution to 2 of the problems that I could remediate myself easily, which I did. He explained the problem another plumber had left, so I know how to claim a repair for the poorly done job. While he worked, he explained what he was doing, and left everything impeccable. His manner is very professional, respectful and cheerful. He will be coming back to more repairs at my place.

Approximate cost of services:
$280.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you

5/10

They pitched a good price and lifetime warranty. They did quote competitively with another best of 2018 company. They did install on time and cleaned up well. BUT they were vague on detals of the warranty and when I received the actual paper with the warranty I was hugely disappointed. I bought the window from them on the basis of the price and the warranty, and they failed big time on explaining the warranty . Their verbal explanation contradicted the written one. I will not be buying another window from them.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,200.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Have taken cars several times for body and he charges anout half what dealers charge. Viele is quite amd always goes the extra mile. As a family business, Victor takes pride in his work. Highly recommendable.

Approximate cost of services:
$600.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

The bottom plastic runoff piece of my shower door broke, so I headed to this store to get it replaced. I was so happy they are open until 5:30 pm daily. The fellow took my broken piece and cut me a new one in less than 5 minutes. So grateful for such speedy service.

Approximate cost of services:
$20.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

So nice to hear Pat ... glad we could satisfy your needs

9/10

Chose Avenue Road Roofing over two other companies that bid to install a solar powered Velux skylight because Avenue had already done my roof. They were a little slow in ordering the window but it was partially because I was out of the country. They did install it on the day and time requested and it was done in about 4 hours. They left the place impeccable. The installer did not know how the machine functioned but he had Tyson call me before the end of the day and he forwarded the entire manual to me within 12 hours. Before the bill was sent, an inspector came to verify everything was in order. He pointed out another problem with the eaves troughing and arranged to have an estimate for it. They are a little more expensive than other places, but they are very reliable.

Approximate cost of services:
$5,000.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review of our services. We appreciate the continued business and are happy to hear you are satisfied with our work.
Avenue Road Roofing

10/10

My power head was not working and I took it in to see what was not working. The fellow who attended me, realized I was using the wrong head for my carpet and explained what each head was for. He also diagnosed that the power head was not the culprit, but the shaft with the electrical line. So I had a much cheaper repair--and on the first trip there! The people there are so friendly with everybody and qive quick acknowledgement to each one who enters the store. It makes me feel right at home there.

Approximate cost of services:
$50.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You for taking the time for writing the review. We hope to see you again soon. From your AAA Vacuum Superstore Team

9/10

I bought the Harman microfibre table cloths and napkins that are advertised as spill resistant. Before opening the table cloths, I tested a napkin with ketchup, mustard and tomato sauce and let it sit for 15 minutes. Then I tried to wash the stain out, but I could not get it to come out. Bleach might do it, but that cuts short the life of the table cloths and only works on white. Definitely not a good buy.

Approximate cost of services:
$180.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Was this review helpful?
10/10

The contractor who built my house made custom made filing drawers. However, my files would not fit, so I needed a little piece to make the size of the files adjustable. It is so annoying ot have drawers that do not hold hanging files properly. I went with a piece from another drawer in another location and asked for it at the showroom. The receptionist could not find the piece, but when she called the salesman, it took it all of 5 seconds to give her the number. It took longer for the stockroom to pick it off the shelf though, as there were 5 or 6 people ahead of me. The pieces were perfect and very cheap. Well worth searching them out so I coudl use my filing drawers more effectively.

Approximate cost of services:
$10.00
Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

If you want to buy cutlery by the dozen, you can have a great choice at a good price. Everything in the store is restaurant quality so you can pay at much or little as you want. Pots and pans are superb quality as are the knife selection. I recently bought the Browne Ellipse which looks very nice, but the dishwasher leaves them spoty (not it is not a shortage of rinse). When you handle them, they also mark easily, since there is no design to hide spots. There are no soup spoons to match but I did find a copycat version in Chinatown - Spadina. The plates --also by the dozen--are excellent quality, as are the glasses. It is worthwhile seeing what is there so you can ensure you have a good quality if you decide to buy elsewhere.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,000.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

I dropped in trying to replace the water deflector on the bottom of the shower door yesterday, expecting to be there for quite a while, but I was out of the shop within 8 minutes of my arrival, custom cut product in hand. I didn't even have time to take a good look at their showroom of doors. |I like their no-nonsense approach. The previous time I had gone, they did not want to sell me a piece because I could not describe it adequately enough to ensure I woudl receive the precise part I needed. Thanks for resisting! It taught me to look better at what I wanted. This time I came armed with a good picture and the exact size. I really don't like it when somebody is ready to sell me a piece, just to sell it. It is a little tricky to find because it is hidden within a complex of small commercial shops. It shows up on your phone map APP though.

Approximate cost of services:
$25.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the great review ... Put a smile on my face. Thx for businesS

9/10

Tap Phong is the best place to buy dishware when you have a short budget. They sell stainless steel serving ware, and a multitude of utensils, baskets, gadgets for the home, Chinese dishware, glassware, and so on. I was not happy with the table linen I bought there but you can find copycat versions of the Browne Elipse cutlery. It was the only place I could find matching soup spoons. Staff is fairly helpful, but not always as there is sometimes a language barrier if you do not speak Chinese. But there are lots of staff who are fluent. Don't be dismayed by the rows and rows of items. You can find what you want.

Approximate cost of services:
$300.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

I regularly use this store to buy household items. The staff is always very knowledgeable about items and go the extra mile to get you what you want. Prices are great, and you can order online with free delivery. They have so many kitchen items that you can choose the quality you want. Dining table cloths are especially good here and very easy to maintain. Be sure to check here before you buy elsewhere.

Approximate cost of services:
$100.00
Was this review helpful?
5/10

This store is on my way to work, but I generally do not get helpful service when I am looking for items. Sometimes staff send me to the wrong place in the store instead of asking somebody else. However, the auto shop has better service. I had to change my windshield wiper but arrived the day computers were down. I expected to be sent away but the man at the counter offered to go and look visually for the piece. When I pulled into the garage, the manager was not happy but the salesman came out and took my windshield. he came back in 3 minutes with the right one and installed it for me. In the meantime 2 mechanics came over to ask if I needed help. After paying cash, I got into my car, and a young fellow offered to turn my car around since it was a tight spot--which I accepted. He was delighted to show his skills off, and he 10-point turn saved me a lot of turning! So generally I go to Laird and Eglington when I need something since service is regularly better.

Approximate cost of services:
$20.00
Was this review helpful?
9/10

Every time I go into this Canadian Tire I always come out with what I want. The employees there are helpful and point me in the right direction. They are usually very good in answering questions and in finding that special item needed for a repair. Staff is easy to find in that store and they give the impression they are interested in helping their customers, not like some other Can. Tires stores that just wave their arms in a vague direction when you need something.

Approximate cost of services:
$100.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

I needed bags for my central vacuum and the person took less than 1 minute to get me the right ones. While I waited another lady was having a problem with her warranty so the repair man took the time to call the company and argue on her behalf! There was a line of up people bringing in vacuums and each one was dealt with courteously and professionally. I never say such efficient service and everyone went out the store/repair shop happy.

Approximate cost of services:
$50.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You for taking the time to post a review. We are always here to help.

10/10

Any time I need accessories to make the home more accessible for people with special needs, I always go here first and I always find what I need. Staff are knowledgable and helpful.

Approximate cost of services:
$30.00
Was this review helpful?

First Review

4/10

Took in a silver candlestick that had dropped and bent about 30 degrees. Birks sent it out and it came back straight but 1 1/2 inches shorter because they pushed the stick down. Birks said they could do nothing....and it was impossible to undo the error. Luckily I had taken a picture prior to the repair to prove the error so it was sent back to the silversmith twice to get it right. It took about two months to have the candlestick re-repaired properly Birks gave poor service on calling be back, keeping me informed and on the follow up. Birks did not take ownership for the error and lacked professionalism in making sure the error was properly corrected. I was given a run around which required 5 or 6 visits in person to the store so that they had to give me an answer. I will never take anything to Birks for repair again.

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

We bought this from another company in 2004 and we called the dealer for a service call because the battery was dead. That company took 5 days to return the call. In the meantime I called HME and the call back came within the hour. The technical was here the same day. He not only changed the battery that I knew was dead, he also made adjustments and explained another challenge we were having with the chair that the other company could not figure out. Stair lifts need quick responses and HME delivered. They will be taking care of the chair form now on.

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
2/10

I bought a kitchen faucet at Lowes and was told that they could install it in 24-48 hours which made me happy because I had to water. Later turns out that the 24-48 hours was to get a call for an appointment! I bought the faucet on Thursday evening, so the 48 hours turned into a 48 hours business days.... making it Monday 7:00pm. The install office closes at 5:00 so I coudl only call on Tuesday. When I did, the department did not pick up the phone, and then they dropped the call. I was at 5 days with no water in my kitchen, so I called a plumber and he had it installed by noon. Lowes did return my money. The staff involved in selling it, did not clearly answer my question and mislead me. My several calls were not productive as staff was defensive, now that they had my money.... I will never ask Lowes to install something again because I expect clear and honest answers to questions. Customer service is quick to take your money, but service was defective.

Approximate cost of services:
$140.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Jason appeared within three hours of call. He installed a new faucet, repaired a leaky pipe in another and inspected 2 other drippy faucets--all within 60 minutes! Jason's advise on the last two saved me money as another plumber had been here and had suggested replacing the cartridges. This saved me about 200$. I have called Shanks many times for repairs and have always been satisfied with the results--never needing a call back to touch up a job incomplete for some reason. Shanks gives speedy and efficient service, and the person manning the phones has excellent recall of customers.

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
5/10

I have old pipes and the kitchen drainage system started leaking in my basement. They came to flush it out. As week later I had to call them back and they charged me another 400$ to re do the same job. ON the way out, they commented that I migth need to change the piping for a 4 digit cost! Not impressive! They did a poor job even when I asked the second them to bring a better snake to clean with.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Chris has just taken on maintenance of the building and he diagnosed the problem with the industrial kitchen exhaust system. The building was reallynoisy as a result since it made the vents vibrate. He followed up with an estimate and a prognosis of what would happen if the repair was not done. He did the work and now the system is quiet again. Chris was able to give give an explanation for the uninitiated. The repair has made the building quiet again so we can work peacefully. Thanks Christ!

Approximate cost of services:
$800.00
Was this review helpful?
8/10

I often go to Staples to buy all kinds of stationary and especially to see compters and printers. Recently, I bought one of each but I am disappointed at the poor quality of them. I know I wanted an inexpensive one, but I ended up with a printer that sends funny messages, and the computuer coughs because too many people are logged on simultaneously. Staples do have the better price for a lot of things, but I am disappoitned that the comptuer staff are not more upfront on helping customers get what they really need.

Approximate cost of services:
$900.00
Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

I have gone to this store for almost 20 years, asking them to fix a variety of vacuums, coffee pots and so on. They have always been reasonably priced, often thrown in a bonus, and have been clear when it can no longer be fixed. They have even fixed vacuum hoses so that I do not need to invest in a new one. They are also very knowledgeable about all the appliances they sell, so I trust them a lot. It is so good to be able to rely on what the staff say and it is saves me a lot of time not having to research so much because I know they carry good quality appliances.

Approximate cost of services:
$50.00
Was this review helpful?