Reviews

10/10

Where do I begin? My family and I were looking to get a sprinkler system installed in our property at King City. My son was doing the leg work and he came across Green Valley Irrigation Ltd. He had contacted another company but Green Valley were the first to respond to his inquiry. He contacted them on their website over the weekend and immediately got a response on May 2nd, 2022. Very efficient customer service for sure. John whom I think is the owner (correct me if I am wrong here) came per the agreed date and time. This was May 4th. John did offer to come on May 3rd, but my family and I were busy. John walked my son and I throughout the process of the different zones and the best placement for the sprinklers and the type of heads, etc. He even suggested a drip system for our vegetable garden which we never thought of having in the first place. The recommendations and suggestions he gave to us were fantastic. He gave us a price and we were very happy with it based on the zones and the size of our property both front and back. John was very professional in this manner and told us that we can think about it, however we agreed to go ahead with the work within a 5 minute decision between my son and I. He told us that they'd contact us to schedule a date for the installation to take place based on weather, etc. In the mean time we were provided with an invoice/estimate as my son and I would like to see things on paper and the price reflected John's quote. Fast forward to May 25th, 2022 my son received a call from their office for them to come in today (May 26th, 2022) for the work to be done. Their staff/technicians showed up at 7AM EST sharp and started working. They were very professional and organized. Quality of work is outstanding. They did not leave the place messy as they cleaned up afterwards, they tidied up the lawn and were respective of our property as they also had to come into the basement to give the water connection and to install the wifi controller. Once the work was done, we spoke to John over the phone and his son came and met us. His son walked through the app setup process with my son and then we went outside to configure each zones. His son was very professional and took the time to explain each feature of the app, the zones and to provide the optimum recommendation for each zone. He even took the time to answer our questions and explained thoroughly which we really appreciated. Overall we are happy with the work and will recommend John and his team over at Green Valley Irrigation. Thank you John and to your team!

Approximate cost of services:
$5,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Raj, this review makes all of the effort worthwhile. I'm glad you found our services to meet all of your needs. Do not hesitate to reach out for any future needs. Enjoy your new system!

10/10

Our family for the lengthiest period always wanted to add exterior soffit / potlights to our home. We were the only house on the block without it. My son came across Mr.Potlight on HomeStars and also got recommendations through RedFlagDeals. My son sent an email to Mr.Potlight on the evening of March 14th, 2022. John from Mr. Potlight sent an email to him the next day on March 15th less than 24 hours. First of all this is amazing and very rare for an organization to get back to a customer's request within 24 hours, especially given the pandemic. John informed my son for him to contact Hossain. My son contacted Hossain on Wednesday and left a voice mail. Hossain called back within 10 mins and apologized. Again this shows you exceptional customer service. They spoke over the phone and Hossain gave a breakdown of the cost of installation parts included and said that he will visit on the Friday to look at the house along with his coworker/partner - Ray. They both arrived on Friday earlier than the scheduled time and gave a full quote + gave suggestions / ideas. We were happy with the quote and ideas and decided to book the appointment for this coming Friday - March 25th, 2022. However, Hossain texted my son saying that Ray and him will come on Thursday morning at 8:30AM due to the weather on Friday. Hossain showed up 10 mins before the appointment this morning, and both Ray and him got to work. Once everything was done, Hossain showed us a demonstration of the potlights and even assisted in setting up the smart app. We asked them to replace a light bulb for one of the driveway/garage's fixture and they did. Here's the breakdown: 1) Professionalism - 10/10 2) Tidiness - 10/10 - kept the work area clean and cleaned up after any mess 3) Pricing - 10/10 4) Quality of material used (pot lights and smart switch) - 10/10 5) Quality of work - 10/10 Overall we were impressed with the work of both Hossain and Ray. Definitely recommend them for any potligt installation be it inside or outside. Inclusive of any other electrical work as others have also mentioned on here.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,800.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Amazing customer service and overall quality of work. I called on Monday morning to schedule the removal of some bedroom furniture in our household. This consisted of 2 beds and their respective box spring and mattress. Over the phone, I described the items for pickup and was provided an estimate. In addition to the estimate, I was told that the staff member who will be coming on site will look at the furniture and provide the final quote. This exactly fit the estimate. Bruce and his coworker took proper care of the environment and were very efficient and organized. Overall very friendly and would recommend to others.

Approximate cost of services:
$250.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Raj, thank you for your positive feedback about us here at Junk Jerks. We are happy we were able to exceed your expectations and appreciate the time you took to share your experience. We look forward to working with you again .

10/10

I have never dealt with an exceptional company such as OP Group. Ostap and his crew were professional. I had initially contacted Ostap earlier in the summer for an estimate and discussed with him as to what I wanted to get done. He gave his professional advice and opinion, in which I agreed with him. One of the important aspect is that he was able to meet my budget. It was great to work with him. The work started in the middle of September and took 5 days to complete. His crew were thorough in what they were doing and paid attention to detail. They came on time and ensured that the work was done. During the course of the work, Ostap even went out of the way and bought flowers for the two flower beds. He told me that he will do it, to save me time being and from exerting myself, as I am a senior. His crew respected our property and the property of other homes and including the street. They cleaned up the key areas after the entire work was complete. Any questions I had during the work, they were able to answer and even show me what they're doing. The quality of the materials that they used for the entire project is top notch, including the sod for the front and the backyard. I highly recommend OP Group for your landscaping needs and we will definitely consider them for our future projects. Thanks again Ostap.

Approximate cost of services:
$20,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for such a great review,
it was pleasure to work with you!
Enjoy.


First Review

9/10

I was looking to get my 8 year old Craftsman gas lawn mower fixed as it was giving issues when starting up. thick white smoke and so forth. I wanted to hire someone that would come to my house and get the work done. As I was browsing the web, I came upon Cinnamon Small Engines who are based off in York Region and provide a mobile service. They also fix other small engines as well just a FYI. I spoke to the owner Duane and told him of the problem. He said no problem and quoted me a $40 diagnostic fee that he charges for inspection and if any extra parts are required, he will inform me and I will have the final decision and won't be pressured into. I said no problem and booked an appointment. He came on the 29th of July and looked at the lawn mower. He took it to his trailer attached to his truck where he works on lawn mowers and so forth. He then came back and informed me that it was pretty dirty and that the air filter needs to be replaced, the spark plug and the carburetor gasket. He then gave me an estimate of the parts and I found it to be very reasonable. I said go ahead and lets get it done. He took about 1 hour or so and completed everything, including an oil change. He then told me how to properly maintain the lawn mower going forward and even said that come spring next year, he will maintain it again and will even sharpen the lawn mower's blades. Overall, I was very happy with the service, and he even gave an invoice with the breakdown of the work done. The lawn mower is running efficiently as if it were brand new.

Approximate cost of services:
$71.73
Was this review helpful?
9/10

Vladimir the owner of this home renovation company is known through us from our neighborhood. We asked him to install a ceiling fan in the family room, as well as changing the builder's light fixtures to the ones we have bought ourselves. He is friendly, jovial and does the job excellent in a timely manner. You may have to book in advance for him to perform various renovation projects in your house. Other things he does are: finished basements, kitchens & baths, tiles and carpentry, including landscaping work. He is also a certified electrician and plumber. Definitely someone to consider if you live in the Richmond Hill, ON area.

Approximate cost of services:
$150.00
Was this review helpful?
9/10

We were getting rid of our old sofa set from our family room and initially thought we'd store it on our garage. However given the fact its winter and the couch was taking up space, we later thought we'd keep it outside on the curb. Even a worse idea. So we went through the listings, websites and including Home Stars and stumbled upon We-Haul. Based on the reviews, my wife and I called up to get a quote over the phone. We told them it was a 3 piece couch/sofa only. Instantly, they gave us a quote over the phone for $80 which seemed too good to be true. However, as quoted by the phone, when they came over, they took the couch and only charged us what they quoted us over the phone which was $80. They were efficient and very reliable. Friendly with a smile on their faces.

Approximate cost of services:
$80.00
Was this review helpful?
9/10

We have been planning to upgrade the chandelier in our home that came with the house when it was initially built 10 years ago. It looked dreadful and outdated, so we decided its time for an upgrade. My wife and I went shopping and we eventually picked out one that we liked and looked modern. The problem is that, neither of us knew how to install it properly. Given my knowledge of basics, I was still afraid. I went through the local directory, called up a few places and eventually gave the job to HotWire Electric-All based on their reputation and great reviews. The price wasn't that bad either for the installation. This was the most reasonable one as well. The electrician came, took out the old chandelier without making a mess, cleaned up after. Then installed the new one to our liking and did it very efficiently. He even ensured that the wires were grounded properly and turned off the dining room area breaker before starting the work. All in all, I would say its a job well done.

Approximate cost of services:
$120.00
Was this review helpful?
9/10

We were looking to completely renovate our powder room in our 10 year old home. We decided that we would change the faucet, sink as well as the toilet. We contacted Duguay's Works to notify them of our interest and that we would like some pointers. A representative came and we sat down to discuss what work we would like done as well as the different types of faucet and sink combos to choose from. We already made a set decision on the type of toilet however. After a consultation period, a day and time was set and the contractor came on time as per the scheduled date and completed the work promptly and efficiently. Our powder room has never been amazing like before. Our friends and family always ask us how we did it and we simply just said we didn't but a great contracting company did.

Approximate cost of services:
$600.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

When we were selling our old home back in 2010, we decided to add a pull down shutter in one of the guest bedrooms. We were shopping around and decided to visit Blinds To Go in Richmond Hill, Ontario. We were greeted by a helpful staff member and told them that what we wanted based on our budget and what we were looking for exactly. The staff member showed us different varieties of shutters for our budget and told us to take our time and was not pressuring or forcing us at all. We then decided to go with one of the pull down shutters and had placed the order. The staff member was nice enough to waive the in home measuring fees. They set up an appointment with us promptly to take the measurements and within few days time, they came to install the shutter. The job was done thoroughly and they explained to us how to operate the shutters.

Approximate cost of services:
$150.00
Was this review helpful?
8/10

Last year we were looking at purchasing tiles for our kitchen back splash. We had heard of Olympia Tile through our family friend and thought we would take a look and see. One thing to note, is that they should make a better and spacious parking facility on the front side. They do have room at the back, but even that is pretty tight in terms of traffic flow. We had to park on the side of the street during our visit twice. That being said, the place is busy usually on Saturdays, but the one Saturday we went it was barely empty and we had to wait for 30 minutes for a staff member to greet and assist us. We mentioned to the staff member that we are looking for tiles for our kitchen back splash to match the cupboards and granite counter top. Of course we brought in a picture of our cupboards and granite counter top. The staff member then showed us 4 different styles and color that will match our kitchen. We also got the opportunity to take samples of those 4 specific tiles to our house and see if they would match well with our kitchen. Of course there was a small fee, but we did not mind, and once we selected the best tile, we got a refund back for those sample tiles returned. Once we were instructed to pick up the boxes of tiles, we finished our project in our kitchen and had two or three boxes full of tiles to return. We went to the returns in the back, and to our surprise we had to pay a restocking fee in order to return the tiles. We were never informed of that at all from the get go. Nevertheless, despite that, we had great exceptional customer service minus the wait time to be assisted by a staff member. The quality of the tiles is fantastic and we have had no issues with those at all. Definitely recommend this place.

Approximate cost of services:
$250.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

We had made a rock garden in our backyard last year June. We were looking to see which nursery had the best choices for plants and shrubs to be planted in a rock garden. We tried Terra, smaller nurseries in the area and eventually stumbled upon Sheridan Nursery by seeing their flyer. We went there and were greeted by friendly staff. We had asked one particular staff member to assist us. She was very helpful to ensure what we really wanted based on the rock garden environment we had. She gave us an overall idea of what plans and shrubs to have such as cacti, hen & chick, fescue grass, etc. She approximately spent a good 20 minutes of her time with us to ensure we were satisfied and looked after. Everything turned out to be great for our rock garden and we again went to Sheridan Nursery this year and went to the same staff member. She was very happy and appreciated us going back to her and she clearly remembered whom we were. Will definitely go back to this place and recommend it.

Approximate cost of services:
$150.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at our location. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and will pass this along to the Unionville store! We value your business - Thank you.

6/10

We were looking to have California shutters installed at our home for both downstairs and upstairs. The sales rep who had come to our home for the free consultation was very nice and offered us the best choice for the best price, we even had a nice chit chat with that person. When it came for the installation of the blinds, the installers came on the set day, and prior to the arrival, a week before, the receptionist had called us to reconfirm the appointment. ' On the day of, the installers had given us a call to say that they would arrive within the next half hour. This was exactly 30 minutes before the set time frame of 11am to 3pm. So they showed up at 2:30pm exactly. They came and installed the California shutters efficiently and on a timely manner. They were very friendly as well. However some of the shutters would not fit the frame in which the windows could be opened as it conflicted with the window handle. They said they will measure it and call us back for a set date to finish the project. This is where the issue came into place. After receiving a call back from the receptionist at the office (labelled as The Blind Factory on the caller id), she said the installers will come to our house on Wednesday between 11am to 2pm. They did not show up at all, nor give us a call. So we called the next day as soon as they opened and she said she'll send them out again within the same time frame. They never showed up again. We then called the receptionist and informed that the installers did not call nor come to finish the job. The receptionist then mentioned that we have to call the installers ourselves and ask them to see what time they could come, etc. At this point we were pretty unsatisfied with the service and told her that if they don't send the installers the next day i.e. Friday, then we will make noise. It got pretty inconvenient as we had to change our daily schedules and take time off from work which is pretty hectic as it is. Eventually and finally the installers came in the morning at 8am sharp and finished the job properly. There was still some shoddy work present, but its pretty minor.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,550.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
8/10

We had finally resolved the issue by speaking to the owner over the phone to ensure that our needs were met. The owner even offered us to come take a look at the AC unit again over the spring of 2013 to ensure everything is working, even our furnace if we have issues.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,600.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
6/10

My family and I were moving into a new house and we decided to give Appliance Canada a shot when buying brand new appliances from a gas stove, a dishwasher, fridge and oven. We entered and was not even greeted by anyone at all to begin with. The sales reps were not even busy with customers and finally one approached us after 10 minutes of waiting. He showed us the different models of appliances and definitely took his time to explain, and offer us the best choices. In the end we ended up getting Wolfe and Miele appliances. After all the purchases were made, when it came to delivery, they did not come on the set day and they showed up the next day after without any prior notice or telephone call. Their installation staff didn't even do a good job such as hooking up the water connection for the fridge or hooking up the stove to the gas line. They made a mess of the place and didn't even bother to clean up. Their customer service department where they take payments, make purchase orders have rude staff, in the sense they were not communicating properly to us and told us to come another time as they were "busy". Overall I wouldn't recommend this place despite the exceptional service by the regular sales rep.

Approximate cost of services:
$5,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Rajan,

I would like to introduce myself, my name is Marco and i am the sales manager here at Appliance Canada. First and foremost i want to apologize about the staff in my customer service department, although they might be busy they are to show the most respectful and utmost service to our customers.
The installer we use is contracted out and he has been under our umbrella for over 30years and provides great service is what i am told from many customers, however i will speak to him regarding this matter.
Please note that we are here to provide you and all our customers with knowledge and service that i would expect to be over and above what is asked by them.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts and i will ensure it is taken into consideration.

Marco Tamilia