General Gas Service

Gas Line Installation
20 Cobham Cr. Toronto ON M4A 1V6
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

95%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2017 winner 2 timesBest of 2017winner 2 times

Reviews for General Gas Service

Average customer rating:
9.8 10 (93 reviews)

Sort by

Bogdan in Thornhill
Bogdan in Thornhill
1 review Toronto, ON
2/10

Furnace not working - no heat

My furnace stopped working (heating) overnight (friday to saturday) in February 2018 (-10 outside temperature). Saturday morning I checked homestars and picked GGS not really knowing anyone else. Keith showed up quickly saturday morning (very soon after talking over the phone).
He is a nice person to talk to, and very respectful. He started working on the furnace doing trial and error type of maneuvers to detect the cause of the problem. He explained that there could be a few possible malfunctioning parts and wanted to find out which one might be the defective one. He narrowed it down to a defective pressure switch. After his trial and error maneuvers the furnace started working again. He said that we were both lucky. True. He wanted to run the furnace a couple times to make sure it works properly. During one of the cycles the furnace stopped again. He did something and got it back working again. We tested it again and the furnace behaved normally. He concluded that it has been fixed. I asked him about the hick-up during the testing cycles and he mentioned that it was normal. I asked him about warranty on the work provided and he said "call me and I will answer the phone". I said fine.
He charged 125 for showing up and 125 for the hourly labor, although he had only spent at most 45 minutes in my home altogether. He said that he charges 1 hour minimum work rate. Fine again. He leaves and assures me that I should not have problems.
After he leaves, the furnace stops working in less then half hour. I call him and he is on his way to the next job. Says he is coming when he finishes the other job, later in the afternoon. I was a little disappointed and started to look around for alternatives. I call this time a larger gas service company and they work on saturdays and sundays. They have an opening on sunday first thing in the morning, and they charge less for showing up (99). I decided to make an appointment with them and text Keith that I am leaving home and that I will call him back if I need his service. He calls me back twice saturday evening, but I could not pick up the phone.
Sunday morning the second technician shows up and from his actions I can see that he knows the furnace inside-out and pinpoints the cause shortly after troubleshooting it and fixes it in probably 20 minutes. After that he takes the time to explain some of the operational peculiarities of the type of furnace I have and gives me advises on how to properly operate it. We spent another 20-30 minutes and he answers all my questions about the furnace. The cost was similar to what Keith charged me, except that the furnace was fixed.
After the second technician left, I texted Keith telling him that my furnace is fixed and that I would appreciate if he refunded some of the money I paid him the day before. I did not mention how much. I never heard back from him.
Keith charged me full price for a poorly done job. And refused to acknowledge it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

When you catch a person in one lie, there are usually others to follow. There were no hiccups. Once the problem was pinpointed(pressure switch not closing), corrections were made without any new parts, and the furnace operated properly after thorough testing. That's why you paid me. When you called and claimed that the furnace had stopped working, I offered to come back after my next job, but you got strange and couldn't commit to be home. I called several times. Most people would want the same person to come back. It's certainly your choice to get someone else, however only a very low person would demand a refund. P.S.-Operational peculiarities? You have a very standard furnace. It's not a Jaguar XE. You turn the heat up, you turn it down. Bogdan, stick to car washing. All the best.

Nancy M from Toronto
Nancy M from Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Prompt gas stove and dryer connection

Based on the good reviews here, I called General Gas to disconnect an old gas stove and connect a new one. Keith did not disappoint. He returned my call promptly and even offered to come on Saturday so we wouldn’t have to be without a stove too long. After the new stove was up and running he clearly explained how to use it, as it operates differently from our previous model. I also asked him to reconnect a gas dryer and he did that too; his work on both appliances was proficient, fast, and tidy. It was a pleasure to have Keith in our home and I will certainly call him again should the need arise for gas service.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind review. Your a class act.

Mark in Toronto
Mark in Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Prompt, Friendly Service

Our furnace wasn't working properly. Keith came over to the house and spent the time to diagnose the problem and fix it. He was courteous, diligent and took the time to make sure what was happening and what had to be done to repair. I would highly recommend him.

Was this review helpful?
Joe from Scarborough Junction
Joe from Scarborough Junction
4 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Disconnecting old stove and installing new one.

Keith was punctual, a gentleman, helpful, and quite knowledgeable of his craft. It was a pleasure to have him work in my home and would therefore not hesitate to call upon him again for any gas-related issues or questions.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Joe for your kind review, and for your business.

William in Toronto
William in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Moving Gas Line

Keith was prompt and fair throughout process. Called in for estimate and availability and got a call back within 30 minutes and appointment for following day. Keith even came on Saturday to finish job!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you William for your kind review. I appreciate your business.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

relocate gas line for BBQ

I phoned General Gas Service and LMTC. Twenty minutes later Keith called and said he would drop by in 30 minutes. We discussed job and Keith went to work, within the hour Keith had completed the work. We are very happy with the work and would highly recommend Keith to any one who requires gas work to be done.

Thanks again Keith for a great job.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I appreciate your glowing review. Good luck with the rest of the reno.

Kris
Kris
4 reviews Toronto, ON
9/10

Defunct gas control valve

We had a defunct gas control valve and after leaving messages and never hearing back from other companies (even one was supposed to show and went MIA), I called Keith, who called me back right away and fixed the issue within hours. He was honest, respectful of the house and wanted to do the job correctly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Kristine for your kind words. I appreciate your business.

Darlene in Toronto
Darlene in Toronto
1 review Simcoe County, ON
10/10

Gas Leak

When my gas regulator pooched the Enbridge tech discovered a leak on my gas line and red tagged me. I called 2 companies listed on HomeStars. Company 1 quoted me $500 just to come to my door and then $200/each leak. They also wanted me to commit to an 8hr timeframe. I said "Thanks, but no Thanks"
Then I called General Gas Service. Keith was able to come first thing the next morning (he was earlier than expected and that's a good thing!) and completed the job in an hour & a half. He was efficient and very pleasant. A real straight shooter. I would highly recommend Keith & General Gas Service!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Darlene for your kind words. I appreciate your business.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Great Service and Good Price

Called General Gas Service to connect Natural Gas Line to my BBQ. Keith was very helpful and got the job done carefully and nicely with a good price too. Highly recommend him to everyone else requiring this service.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for business. It was a pleasure.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about General Gas Service

General Gas Service is a natural gas contractor and we do all things NATURAL GAS. GAS line installation (including underground), GAS leak repair, GAS appliance installation, GAS appliance repair(furnaces, fireplaces, ranges, boilers, pool heaters, water heaters, gas lamps), GAS line testing.
Phone # 416-849-3416
E-mail keith@generalgasservice.com

No matter what type of gas appliances you use, we have all types of solutions available for you.
» We add gas lines for fireplace, stove, dryers, and BBQ's and all other appliances.
» We also repair gas furnaces, gas water Heaters, gas fireplaces, as well as gas ranges.

Adding and Relocating Gas Lines:
» Professionally done
» Installations adding gas lines
» Relocating gas lines
» Removing gas lines
» We work in all gas
» Appliances and lite commercial

Gas Line Leaks and Gas Leak Repairs:
We have the latest Technology used to detect leaks. There are no leaks too small or too big for us to handle. All of our work is done by professional, experienced Gas Technicians. We are able to do a quality job with any gas line repair because of our Technicians strong trouble shooting abilities.

If you take our services, you will be assured of your safety and smooth working of your heating and cooling system. We repair all gas appliances and provide tips to take care of your equipment so that it serves you for a longer period of time.

What is more, various maintenance packages are also available for you. You can choose a package based on your specific needs, or allow our professionals to choose the best package for you.

CATEGORIES
Gas Line Installation
PRODUCTS
Stoves, Fireplaces, Pool Heaters, Dryers, Furnaces, Waterheaters
SERVICES
Gas Line Installation, Gas Line Repair, Gas Code(Red Tag) Repairs, Appliance Repair, Appliance installation. Gas Leak Repair, Gas Leak Repairs No matter what type of gas appliances you use, we have all types of solutions available for you.
WEBSITE
http://www.generalgasservice.com
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.