Less Mess Enviro Bag

Garden Maintenance
Un Known Vaughan ON L4K
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Garden Maintenance
Less Mess Enviro Bag
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

33%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Less Mess Enviro Bag

Average customer rating:
2.9 10 (20 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

BIG Mess

Ordered garden soil; received contaminated plastics bits, plastic bags, glass, stones, painted wood.Requested switch, received same.
Full refund requested-REFUSED-CHARGED delivery fee of $55+tax.
Manager claimed ALL GARDEN SOIL contained household waste.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there. We apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused. We get our material from the best source and filter the soil multiple times to maintain a consistent and high-quality product. There are times that items will get through but we are sure to abide by all regulations that require us to keep a clean and healthy soil mix. As a measure of good faith, we exchanged your bag for free but will charge a fee if you'd like to return the product.

Clayton in Cambridge
Clayton in Cambridge
0 reviews Caledon, ON
2/10

Poor Quality Soil

I got the Top Dressing Blend to over-seed my lawn. The "screened blend" turned out to be a blend of mulch chip, hard plastic pieces and hundred of fragments of the plastic bags this "soil" came from. By no means was the product screened. I used it anyway and 7 days later have not seen a single grass seed sprout. I hope I did not waste two days meticulously caring for my lawn. The bag idea did cause less mess, however there are other options out there that offer better quality product. This is the third time I have used a bagged soil for over-seeding. It is the first and last time I will be using Less Mess.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Clayton. Thank you for your review. Our soil mixes are screened by our supplier and we also screen them to remove larger objects afterwards. As for not seeing any results in a week's time, this may be due to the weather climate, the amount of water used, amongst other factors. If you have any additional comments and would like to speak to a member of our team, please contact us at orderdesk@lessmess.ca and we will be happy to assist you!

B in Toronto
B in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Vindictive service and poor quality

I'm giving this company a one star rating for a few reasons.

1) the bags were not delivered on the "x", causing me to not be able to park without blocking the sidewalk. See first photo. I called them and sent an email as they said to. 4 business days later, no response.

2) upon opening the garden soil, I saw an enormous amount of plastic in the bag. I eventually stopped picking it out because there was so much of it. See photo 2. I called them and sent a message again. No one seemed to care. No attempt to make it right.

UPDATE: 3) after yet another call, someone FINALLY called back. Only because I left a review on Google. They told me that because I left a one star review, they will NOT help me. What a joke

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello B. We apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused you. Should you have any additional comments, please do not hesitate to reach out to a member of our team at orderdesk@lessmess.ca and we will certainly look into resolving it together.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
1/10

charged a restocking fee after delivery was turned away

I recommended this company to a friend after speaking to a home owner who got a delivery from them. The amounts were way too large even though we used their online calculator. Plus they don't let people know or communicate in advance that they will need to use construction equipment and go across lawns (potentially ruining the lawn). So first time using a service like this how would one know if the company doesn't communicate it. This company should do a better job of communicating how their delivery works and adjust their online calculator as it WAY over estimates the amounts needed. My friend was charged $120 for a restocking fee. In this time where garden supplies are sold out everywhere how can they ethically charge that much money for a restocking fee. Shame on your company!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there. We apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused you. We will take your comments into consideration and see how we can adjust our calculator to better reflect estimates as well communicate the tools required. Thank you.

RyanTheGardener
RyanTheGardener
0 reviews Oshawa, ON
10/10

MushroomCompost

Dropped it right where I wanted it & the product was/is good. The mushroom compost I paid for is composted, dark, smelly (in a good way), & moist. Great Product.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your wonderful review, Ryan! We wish you the very best with your gardening project and look forward to serving you in the future!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
1/10

Less Mess home service delivery soil

The soils was old promising to be top quality.

I don’t appreciate the miss representations since I didn’t wasn’t shredded plastic in my soil bed where I was growing food for my family to enjoy.

Brutal. I believe my experience was not unique as many reviews shared my complaint.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there. Our soil mixes are locally sourced from the top suppliers in Ontario and screened multiple times to filter out foreign objects. If you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to reach out to a member of our team at orderdesk@lessmess.ca

Sylvie in Toronto
Sylvie in Toronto
1 review Mississauga, ON
0/10

Poor customer service

My order was delivered at the wrong place. I was very surprised, inquired about it and was extremely disappointed by their answer. Very poor customer service. A very unpleasant experience.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Sylvie. We apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused you. We will look into this matter and see to resolving it internally. Thank you.

Brian in North York
Brian in North York
2 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Terrible quality

I ordered one bag of top soil and one of cedar mulch. The quality of both was terrible. This is the second time I used them (thought the first time was just a bad batch) but I will never use them again. The top soil is basically compost mixed with plastic, weeds and all sorts of rubbish. Never again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Brian. Thank you for your review. We will have our quality assurance team investigate these products and see to fixing any issues. Thank you.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Premium Garden Blend

I have ordered Premium Garden Blend from Less Mess and their Premium Garden Blend bag of soil does not come with composed of topsoil, compost but it full of sand, stones, plastic, metal and glass.
What a waste of money. I think better to order somewhere else.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there. Thank you for your review. We will have our quality assurance team investigate these products and see to fixing any issues. Thank you.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Oshawa, ON
0/10

terrible quality compost

I called less mess before ordering and asked what their compost is produced from. The rep misrepresented to me it is made from manure. I ordered an enviro bag of compost and found it full of plastic, metal and glass as another reviewer did. This compost is made of household waste, not manure, and the reps are told to misrepresent because nobody would order it if they knew.

When I called to complain about the quality and spoke to Matthew he asked for pictures and when I sent those in I waited a couple of days and had to call again to ask for a refund. I was not offered a replacement or anything. I asked for them to pick up their trash heap. Do not order.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there. We apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused. We will have our quality assurance team investigate these products and see to fixing any issues.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Less Mess Enviro Bag

Whether you need garden soil, lawn soil, special blends or mixes, Less Mess is the ultimate topsoil, mulch, compost, sand and stone delivery solution for less-mess outdoor landscaping and gardening, available in Canada. Rather than have your soil delivery shipment dumped on your front lawn or driveway, leaving a mess ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Garden Maintenance pros in Toronto?