City Gas Company Limited

Heating & Air Conditioning
710 Kingston Road Toronto ON M4E 2Y9
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Heating & Air Conditioning
City Gas Company Limited
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

50%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for City Gas Company Limited

Average customer rating:
8.3 10 (28 reviews)

Sort by

Marilyn Lee from Toronto
Marilyn Lee from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

fixing pool heater

I've used this company before to fix my pool heater. They were very responsive and came within a day. I used them last week. Again, they came right away. Their repairman fixed a valve on pool heater but then noted it still wasn't working. He said he "wasn't an electrician" but he by-passed a couple of wires (ie deliberately short circuited them) in my pool electrical panel to get it to work, at least on a temporary basis. However, my pool company was not comfortable with this and asked that I have the panel returned to its original state before they worked on it. When I called City Gas back, they were very unhelpful and said they would not be able to get someone in to reverse their repairman's unauthorized and temporary fix for over a week.They certainly are much faster to come out when they know you will be paying them than when you need their help correcting something they have done. I was very disappointed in them and will never use them again. I would recommend not using them if you want somebody who will stand behind their work once they have taken your money!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The actual account of what happened was that the customer hired us to get her pool boiler working.

We found a flow switch not functioning which we replaced. We also found that the she had an item called an Aqualink that was not working causing the heater to not function as well.

We simply bypassed this piece of equipment and told the customer that she needed to have an electrician or pool company service the aqulink, as our technicians are licensed gas fitters, not electricians and are not familiar with these pool and spa specific equipment. We are licensed to re-wire the boiler pool heater system, not service the Aqualink. which is what we did.

My technician even took the time to carefully show her which wires he passed. All work was done to code and done safely.
The customer then called in saying her pool company didn't want to work on it as they didn't understand the wiring. I told her we are more than happy to come back, but that due to the heat wave in Toronto we are completely inundated with customers with no air conditioning. Most of which are seniors, people with health problems and families with children. I explained that I could not bump one of those appointments to come and help her out with the wiring for her pool.

We unfortunately cannot make it out to every call that comes in immediately. We have to prioritize our customers; first by the order that we received the call, then by severity of the situation. Considering that we had customers with health concerns they needed to take precedence over someone's pool as it is just a luxury item.

Unfortunately this customer felt that she should take priority, got mad and hung up on me. Then wrote this negative review.
We stand behind all our work 100% and completed our job here. The only issue was her pool company not understanding the wiring of a part that was simply by passed to allow the heater to function.

We would be more than happy to come back to assist the pool company in understanding boiler wiring and help them get the pool and spa functioning. If you would like to contact our office again we can schedule you in for an appointment at our earliest availability.

Elisa Alves in Toronto
Elisa Alves in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Instalation of wall mounted boiler, air conditioner & air handler in the attic installed

City gas installed a boiler and hooked it up to existing radiators causing water damage to our living room floors (pipe was not connected properly thus causing leak). They fixed the leak but refused to pay for the water damage. The air conditioner was not hooked up properly and the pipe popped off the unit and caused a flood in the attic, we had to replace the newly installed attic insolation and drywall beneath. Now it has happened again. The company informed me that this happened due to the fact that we did not have it maintained by them. The true reason is the pipe is not installed correctly still, causing the water to remain in the system and back up and thus overflowing. Installation was poor and workmanship awful! There customer service is even worse they blame the paying customer and demand more money for services to rectify poor workmanship. Even worse is the fact that the owner, Chirs, did the work for us. It's been three years and the costs are still increasing. Live and learn!!!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This is a fraudulent account of the work that was done.
When we installed the new boiler system in this old home we recommended that the customer replace all the radiators and piping to them as the system was so old and the original piping was in poor condition.
The customer was trying to save money on a large renovation and did not want to listen to our recommendation. Once the system was connected to the old piping there were leaks. Which were noticed quickly and subsequently repaired immediately; which did not cause any damage. We were not asked to pay for any repairs as there were none.
We also did not try to charge the customer for any further work. Nor did we say that the attic leak was due to the unit not being serviced by us.
We offered to come back to work on the attic if there was an issue. But the customer refused to have us back, just demanded that we pay for repairs (in cash, they said they didn’t want a cheque) without any evidence of what caused the 'issue'. I think they are just trying to scam some money as they spent too much on their renovation.
But it is not right to blame someone for something and not even let them come to document the damage, then demand money and post fraudulent comments. I will be contacting HomeStars to have this removed as it is not accurate.

Mike in East york
Mike in East york
2 reviews East York, ON

First Review

10/10

Gas bbq line bib install

Had City Gas come into install a gas bib for my outdoor bbq line because I was afraid to do it myself. Came on time, quick install, and they triple checked the connections to make sure there were no leaks. I would not hesitate to use them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Mike! We're glad to hear we were able to take care of everything and make sure it was done to code. We look forward to working with you again in the near future!

Regards,
City Gas

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about City Gas Company Limited

City Gas Company Limited is a family owned and operated Heating and Cooling Contractor that has been servicing the GTA since 1982. We pride ourselves on honest staff, quality workmanship and products, at competative pricing. We stand behind all our work and you see that in the warranties we offer ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Heating & Air Conditioning pros in Toronto?