Natural Choice Heating & Cooling Inc.

Heating & Air Conditioning
105 Industrial Drive, Unit 2 Whitby ON L1N 5Z9
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Heating & Air Conditioning
Natural Choice Heating & Cooling Inc.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

97%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2019 winner 8 timesBest of 2019winner 8 times

Reviews for Natural Choice Heating & Cooling Inc.

Average customer rating:
9.9 10 (214 reviews)

Sort by

Joann in Toronto
Joann in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

NEW FURNACE AND WATER TANK

RIGHT FROM THE START, I FELT GOOD. JAMES, THE OWNER, EXPLAINED PRODUCTS AND INSTALLATION TO ME IN DETAIL. THE TECHNICIANS WERE PLEASANT AND CLEANED UP WELL. JAMES DID A FOLLOW UP AFTER THE WORK WAS COMPLETE. I AM VERY PLEASED AND WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY TO FRIENDS AND FAMILY. GOOD JOB!!

Was this review helpful?
Stefan in Toronto
Stefan in Toronto
0 reviews Oshawa, ON
10/10

Service Call

I have been using Natural Choice for air conditioning and heating for the last 5-6 years.

I recently had them come out for an annual service call.

The technician arrived on time.
His work was neat and tidy.
He was able to get my fireplace to start again and I wasn't charged any extra fees.
He was polite and explained all his work.

I have consistently been happy with the service that I receive from this company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Stefan, it has been our pleasure to start with your air conditioning system, service and maintain your new system and your furnace till it's time was up. We truly value our clients new and long term like yourself !

Mike in Whitby
Mike in Whitby
4 reviews Whitby, ON
10/10

New Water Heater

I found them on HomeStars and chose them based on their 98% rating. I'm happy to say I was not disappointed! A great experience all around. Everyone I dealt with at NC was friendly and courteous. James came by to quote the job in the morning and the unit was installed the same day. They were also able to reroute a heat run which was blocking a basement window. Even when a small detail was overlooked they sorted it out the next day without issue. I would definitely recommend and use again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Mike, thank you for sharing your experience and it was our pleasure to get you looked after right away! Hope the rest of your renovations go well!!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Brampton, ON
2/10

Poor Communicators and No Warranty

These guys came out and replaced a gas valve in my furnace in late spring. It wasn't used 30 days then summer came. Upon firing the furnace back up in October same issue. They diagnosed the main board this time. While sourcing the part they tried to upsell me a new furnace and telling me there is no warranty on their parts. Also that the main board could cause the valve to malfunction again yet they didn't turn off the furnace while the board was being sourced. They then source the board and send a tech without making arrangements with me and I was not available at that time. They then tell me there would be additional charges for after 5pm appointment when the last two appointments were evening with no charge. I have text messages with them and they ignored my comments but rather call me again to tell me they are sending someone without an appointment. Very frustrating and cannot be trusted.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Kosta,

We are sorry to hear that you feel we cannot be trusted. We respectfully disagree with that statement since we have hundreds of very satisfied customers in the 15 years we have been in business. Unfortunately, there are some incorrect conclusions you have made in this review and we hope that future clients reading your review can see that perhaps your misunderstanding of the facts has caused your frustration.

On April 26, 2019, you called us to diagnose a problem you were having with your furnace installed by a different company. At 16:00, our technicians arrived at your rental property and we recommended that replacing your gas valve would be the best course of action. We attended the next business day at 15:00 to complete the repair. As your review states, you did utilize your furnace for 30 days however, during summer months your furnace still works in conjunction with your air conditioning system.  Effectively, the repair we did resolved your issue. Six months later your system has a new issue which we determined was your circuit board.

We quoted you the cost of the circuit board on October 7 (at a discounted price because you were a repeat client) and you did not contact us regarding this repair until 14:15 on October 10. You asked if the board could be installed the next day however, as we had already advised you on the 7th, we would need at least 1-2 days to get the part. We also advised you prior to ordering the part, that the unknown reason as to why the circuit board failed may also cause other parts to fail as it is a central item and may affect other components (should it have failed due to a power surge, that surge could affect other components). This is why we offer both repair and replacement and allow our clients to choose which option suits them best. We always explain all options to our clients and never pressure them to repair or replace their appliances.

With respect to your issue about “additional charges”, our normal business hours are from 08:00 to 17:00.  On April 26, our technicians were able to attend at 16:00. On April 29, the technician repaired your gas valve at 15:00. Both of these service calls were conducted during standard operating hours. On October 7th, our service technician attended your rental property after our normal business hours and we did extend you the courtesy of our standard rate because you were a repeat client. On October 15, we advised that we could complete the circuit board repair “first thing in the morning”. You replied that night at 20:53 to say you wanted us to go ahead with the installation the next day. It seems there was a misunderstanding since your text said “Ok will have to coordinate tomorrow”. We read that to mean that you will coordinate for yourself to be available the next morning.  At no time did you say that schedule didn’t work for you, and we knew your tenants were without heat so we tried to work as quickly as we could for you.  Now after reading your review, it appears that your intention was that you would have to coordinate your schedule the next day so that you or your wife would be there and you would get back to us. Requesting an after-hours service call, results in a higher rate. In any event, it is a mischaracterization to say that we are poor communicators. In every exchange with you, we have been extremely responsive and always replying within a few hours. And especially with myself, at all times of day and night. We are very responsive to our clients!

While the failed circuit board was left in your furnace, we do not remove parts from a system without having the new part in hand and never leave the home unsafe, ever.  Safety and diligence are what we are renowned for. Since the furnace was not functioning, we did not have any concerns and did not feel it was necessary to red tag it or decommission it.

We are sorry we couldn’t make you happy and that you felt the need to express yourself here so negatively on Homestars. Best of luck with your new HVAC company.

James

linda.caron
linda.caron
1 review Whitby, ON
10/10

New Air Conditioner

I'm very impressed. Natural Choice did a fantastic job. James came out and did a quote when my old air conditioner died. He taught me way more than anyone should ever know about AC units. I decided to buy from them (reasonable price). Chris and Eric did the installation (the next day!!!). They were on time, very respectful and their work was perfect. You can see they care about your home and their work. Took the time to walk me through what they did. Excellent all around. Highly recommend this company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I enjoyed walking you through your choices of repairs or replacement. We never assume which system or model works for you our clients, so glad you appreciated the explanation of the systems available and picked the perfect one for you! So glad we got it in time to enjoy the balance of the summer. We appreciate your business! Have an awesome year!

Phil in Toronto
Phil in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

AC Installation Plus Hot Water Heater Installation

We have been using Natural Choice since moving to Whitby(1.5 Years) and their service is top notch-10 out of 10!!
Stephen and Ryan came promptly this morning to install a new Air conditioner and noticed our hot water tank was leaking.They called for a new one which was delivered within 2 hours and was installed right along with the AC unit.
The service is the BEST!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We couldn't let you sweat your first summer away! Then not be able to have nice hot showers in your new home! It was our pleasure to look after your hvac needs!

Barb. Peterborough in Whitby
Barb. Peterborough in Whitby
1 review Whitby, ON
10/10

Installation of central air

The whole experience was great. Contact person James returned calls promptly. Very accommodating. Installation guys were friendly and professional. worked all day even in the rain. Explained process. Highly recommend this company

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Barb, we are not sure how you made it without air conditioning before, but glad you have it now to enjoy during this crazy heat wave!! Was our pleasure!!

Karcs from Ajax
Karcs from Ajax
3 reviews Ajax, ON
10/10

Air Conditioner Install

It is quite a relief that I found Natural Choice and reached out to them.

I had a bad experience with another contractor who started installing my furnace and air conditioner combo back in Sep 2018... fast forward to Jun 2019 and I still had the air conditioner sitting in my garage. Not to mention parts of the furnace not being installed correctly.

Getting fed up I called Natural Choice who came out immediately for a quote and to survey the work. They noticed the things that were bothering me and pointed out a few I did not even notice. Right away their professionalism was way above my previous experience - no comparison really.

Within a week of agreeing to the work they were out to do the install that I was waiting months for. They also fixed all the other problems.

I can rest much easier knowing the job was done properly. Matt and Mike were courteous and efficient. And I now have a company I can rely on for my yearly service, and should anything happen in between.

Just wishing I had found them to begin with!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Karcs, it was our pleasure to step in and take away what was a bad experience and show you there are people that not only love what we do but care about you as our client while bringing faith back into HVAC as a trade. Have an amazing summer !

Amy in Bowmanville
Amy in Bowmanville
1 review Bowmanville, ON
10/10

A/C Install

Derek, Ryan & Steve did an above exceptional job on our a/c! From the first phone call to saying goodbye to our dog as they left, we cannot recommend them enough. They were kind, considerate and went above an beyond leaving our furnace room better than before. Ryan and Steve, thank you for your patience in showing us how to use the Nest!!
After years of putting off getting a/c and having unbelievably high quotes from multiple (and annoyingly pushy) companies, we are so glad that we found you and called you based on your solid reviews. Your price was perfect, your time frame of install was perfect, and your professionalism of being just normal dudes that we felt so comfortable having you in our home made the entire experience shareable. Our closest friends and retired neighbours even got theirs done by NCH&C a few days later.
We look forward to your help in the future with our fireplace!!

Amy & Aaron

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We the entire staff really enjoyed reading your experience! We also appreciate you taking the time to share on here, while recommending us to your family and friends! Do have an amazing summer !!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Natural Choice Heating & Cooling Inc.

Did you we are a Lennox dealer? #lennoxstrong We go out of our way to find the best brands available that offer the best warranty/quality available to save you from having to do that research, you are in great hands when you call us !

We are very honoured that Rogers Media did this video of our company sharing how much we care about our clients feel free to copy and paste this link - https://www.facebook.com/RogersForBusiness/posts/1526593684061732

As an owner-operated local company that has been in business for over 16 years, we are proud to accept Homestars ˜Best of” Award for 8 consecutive years in a row. Here’s to a great year, and many more to come.

Starting in the trade in 1995 and working the different sectors learning some amazing experiences while taking annual courses to learn each manufacture James Smith created Natural Choice Heating & Cooling with two things in mind, caring for the client and caring about the employee. With those in mind was the inception and created over a decade and half of the highest quality of workmanship and we rolled out our red carpet treatment. Each employee proudly takes pictures of every installation from a thermostat to full custom ductwork installations, no project is too little. Our team of 10 well trained techs are willing and ready to take on any project you have.

Here at Natural Choice Heating & Cooling it has been our pleasure to offer the highest level of reliable comfort control for the Whitby, Durham, GTA, Kawartha Lakes & surrounding community for over a decade and half. Our foundation consists of efficient, reliable and cost effective heating, furnace, air conditioning, tankless and indoor air quality products. Along with ductless systems offered in Heat Pumps by different manufactures include Mitsubishi, Fujitsu, Samsung & LG's Art Cool system. We are also a leader in tankless systems installing Rinnai's for over a decade and half as an Authorized Service Provider for Rinnai.

From start to finish, our experienced estimators, project managers and technicians provide the expertise to ensure your project is completed on time, on budget and up to code. We understand that service interruptions are an inconvenience and cost you productivity so we focus on providing expedient services to get you back online as soon as possible without risking the safety of your valuable equipment. We are also absolutely committed to safety and provide ongoing education to our personnel to ensure complete compliance with the best practices and standards.

We offer our services to the following areas - Markham, Uxbridge, Richmond Hill, Scarborough, Cobourg, Port Hope, Unionville, Vaughan, Port Perry, Pickering, Ajax, Whitby, Oshawa, Courtice, Bowmanville, Lindsay, Peterborough

To learn more about our company you can visit us by clicking the buttons below:
Website - http://www.naturalchoiceheatingcooling.ca
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/NaturalChoiceHeatingCooling
Twitter - https://twitter.com/NaturalChoiceHC/

We service the following brands Trane, Amana, Rinnai, Navien, Goodman, American Standard, Lennox, NTI, EcoBee, Monessen, Montigo, Napoleon Fireplaces, LG COOL ART ductless, & SO much more!

CATEGORIES
Heating & Air Conditioning and Fireplaces
PRODUCTS
LENNOX, ECOBEE, NEST, FURNACE, AIR CONDITIONER, AIR CONDITIONING, AIR CONDITION ,BOILER, HOT WATER TANK, TANKLESS WATER HEATER ,DUCTLESS AIR CONDITIONER ,ROOF TOP UNIT, FIREPLACE REPAIR AND SERVICE, ALL KIND OF FILTER AND FURNACE REPAIR, BOILER REPAIR, AIRCONDITIONER REPAIR, ROOFTOP UNIT REPAIR . Gas Fireplace Services & Repairs Toronto, residential and commercial heating and cooling, Heating, cooling, furnace, gas fireplace, electric fireplace, air conditioner, A/C, indoor air quality, boiler, hot water tank, tankless water heater, duct cleaning, ductless air conditioner, heat pump, custom duct work, humidifier, thermostats, HRV, ERV, heap filter, indoor air quality, filters, gas line installation, in floor heating, electronic air cleaner, gas stove, service, maintenance, repair, fix furnace, residential, commercial coolng
SERVICES
We service all the products and manufacture's in the market for both Residential as well as Commercial. To learn more about our company you can visit us by clicking the buttons below: Website - http://www.naturalchoiceonline.ca Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/NaturalChoiceHeatingCooling Twitter - https://twitter.com/NaturalChoiceHC/ Repair, Service and Installation, Boiler Repair, Fireplace repair, service, Gas Fireplace Services & Repairs Toronto, residential and commercial, Heating, cooling, furnace, gas fireplace, electric fireplace, air conditioner, A/C, indoor air quality, boiler, hot water tank, tankless water heater, duct cleaning, ductless air conditioner, heat pump, custom duct work, humidifier, thermostats, HRV, ERV, hepa filter, indoor air quality, filters, gas line installation, in floor heating, electronic air cleaner, gas stove, service, maintenance, repair, fix furnace, residential, commercial cooling. Bowmanville, Port Hope, Cobourg, Whitby, Ajax, Pickering, Oshawa, Clarington, Uxbridge, Aurora, Peterborough, Markham, Richmond Hill, Ontario, GTA, Toronto, Scarborough, Vaughan, Peel Region, Durham Region
BRANDS
LENNOX, Amana, Bryant, Trane, Carrier, Rinnai, Goodman, American Standard, Lennox, NTI, EcoBee, Monessen, Montigo, Napoleon Fireplaces, LG COOL ART ductless, & SO much more!
SPECIALITIES
Our speciality is you, providing the Quality and Reliable Care that you expect from your local HVAC Company. Boiler Repair, furnace Repair, A/C Repair, Fireplace repair, Fireplace service,Gas Fireplace Services & Repairs Toronto residential and commercial heating repair, commercial cooling repair, Rooftop unit repair, Hvac repair and installation, Heating, cooling, furnace, gas fireplace, electric fireplace, air conditioner, A/C, indoor air quality, boiler, hot water tank, tankless water heater, duct cleaning, ductless air conditioner, heat pump, custom duct work, humidifier, thermostats, HRV, ERV, hepa filter, indoor air quality, filters, gas line installation, in floor heating, electronic air cleaner, gas stove, service, maintenance, repair, fix furnace, residential, commercial cooling.
WEBSITE
http://www.naturalchoiceheatingcooling.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
16
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
10
PAYMENT METHOD
Master Card/Visa, Cheque, 0% Financing & we can offer Rental
LICENSES
All techs are fully licensed gas fitters and refrigeration
MEMBERSHIPS
TSSA, BBB, ESA, OCOT, WSIB
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
We Provide a min of 2 years on everything we install, our Furnaces & AC's come with 10 years Parts &
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.