Reviews

10/10

Len, the owner is always quick to respond and resolve any concerns . Tempasure has installed my furnace, water heater and April air and has repaired by Ac. Technicians are very knowledgeable and honest

Approximate cost of services:
$5,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Cindy!! Really appreciate your loyalty all of these years.We are always available to help on short notice.
Stay safe
Len Minuk(Owner)

10/10

I called John on Tuesday afternoon and he came Wednesday morning. The job is small . Cap a faucet In the basement that we did not need. He came on time, did the job quickly and thoroughly, and is very nice and polite. He even wore bootees to protect my floor. What else do you need? A job well done as promised. And right on quote. Now I have a plumber in case I need one.

Approximate cost of services:
$200.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Cindy. Your review is much appreciated. Our purpose is to serve you with affordable prices for better quality jobs.
Regards John Dima.

8/10

Staining our deck. As agreed upon, we did all of the prep work. Mark the painter was efficient and tidy. And the deck looks good for another year

Approximate cost of services:
$700.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review! All walked on deck surfaces will require touch ups. Looking forward to your next painting project!


First Review

10/10

We are very pleased with the work that Alex from Black Bear Design did designing our primary bathroom. Easy to work with, and flexible, she is a good listener yet not hesitant to share her suggestions. She had a lot of great ideas and input in the ideation and design elements, including selection of materials. She found some fabulous tiles and fixtures, and developed colour schemes that blended together very nicely. We are very happy with the final outcome, and can definitely recommend Black Bear Design without hesitation.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Cindy, Thank you so much for the amazing review! It should be known the amount of work you put into the project yourself. You found some beautifully unique products and really put focus on quality - Those choices are clearly seen and felt when you walk into this truly custom ensuite. You and M were an absolute pleasure to work with. You knew what you wanted but were open to my ideas; and together we designed a luxurious space with every detail accounted for. You two should be very proud of what you accomplished.

3/10

I normally only put in the effort to write reviews if I am happy with the contractor. My criteria for complete satisfaction are simple. Show up for the job when you say you will, do the job as discussed and keep within the estimate. I hired Stonehenge since they had a good reputation for work in the beach. The job involved flagstone installation and granite in my backyard. My initial main problem with the company involved the appointment coordinator Eleanor. She is unfortunately the owner's wife, so good luck complaining . I work nights and had to wake up early to ensure that my dogs were out of the way prior to Stonehenge coming that morning as arranged. Then i sat and waited to meet with them to confirm final details. They did a no show. When I called to ask where they were , Eleanor tore a strip off of me and it turned into a big argument. She refused to agree that perhaps if they couldn't come that day , that they Should call tolet me know. Seems basic to me. She was yelling at me that they were so busy that they don't have time to even call. Ie my time and sleep is worth nothing to her. The next summer i did my entire front lawn (a job at cost about 25,000). I got 5 estimates but did not even call stonehenge to submit an estimate because of my terrible experience with Eleanor. The job they eventually did in my backyard was fine. The guys were ok to get along with. No problems there. The next problem was with the aggregate sand put between the flagstone. Right away it started bubbling up and cracking every time it rained. Paul came back and said it was normal. I wasn't buying it , but I let it go . Each year more of the aggregate would break off and now 3 years later , it is mostly gone and grass us growing up between it. The crew was working at another house on my street so I asked Paul to look at it again since it now looks terrible. He said that the aggregate was breaking apart because it is too wet in my yard. The flagstone is is full sun and the area that actually is in the shade under my hose is the only area not in bad shape. Again I wasn't at all convinced. I was implying that this should fall under my 5 year warranty and they should absorb the cost of repair. Instead he said that he will do it for a fair price. It took a while to get this estimate. $600 to repair work that I think was not done right the first time. I tried to get the other estimate that Paul said he would prepare that involved me digging out the old aggregate and they put in the new one instead of them doing the entire job. I never got this estimate. I started this process in early August. Then Eleanor went on holiday so it took 3 more weeks to even try to get more info.turns out Paul is not allowed to make any comments on an estimate if Eleanor is not around. After2 e mails and 3 phone calls, I finally was told that they were too busy to do the job in 2013 and it would have to wait til 2014. She offered to sell me the aggregate sand and I could do it all myself. I have had 2 hip replacements (which I told Paul about) so I wasn't interested In this option. I watched the video on u tube to see how the product is supposed to be installed. That's when I realized why it had failed. It is supposed to be the entire thickness of the stone or at least 1 inch. The areas that failed were only 1/4 inch thick in a lot of places. I spoke once to Eleanor directly who reluctantly said she would discuss it with Paul and call me back that day. She ever did. I left 3 more messages and received no more response from them. I realize now that I have been dumped and that they have no intension of even responding to my complaint. My opinion is that it was never installed correctly and should be repaired at their cost, not mine. I have lived in the beach for 20 years and even though most of the work was done correctly , I would never recommend this company. Maybe if they read my review, they will be more motivated to actually finally call me back Cindy Balsam ave,beaches

Approximate cost of services:
$5,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Cindy:
You called this summer with a concern about a flagstone walkway installation we had performed 3 years ago. You said that on part of the walkway the jointing sand was “bubbling up and flaking off”. I, Paul Adamson, owner of Stonehenge Design Build, came out and met you at your home as soon as possible. I discovered an unusual situation; the failure of part of the jointing sand. The product we often use for the joints is a polymeric jointing sand which is the most leading edge product of its kind. This product normally performs exceptionally well. We have never known it to fail. The affected area of your walkway seems to drain slowly due to grading challenges with the tree/driveway/deck steps and grade to the south. I stopped by several times to monitor and investigate what was happening.

I explained to you that it is our opinion that the jointing sand is failing due to the moisture conditions. This is not a warranty issue. You may also remember that our best solution was to offer to re-apply a different sand at an “our cost basis only”. This is the same as your original invoice which we also did at cost only. You also asked if we could just supply the sand so you could do it yourself to save money. I said we certainly would in this case.

Some time passed again and then you said that you decided that this should be considered a warranty issue and insisted we re-install jointing sand for free.

Although we do sympathize with your situation, we do not feel obligated to repair work that is damaged by these conditions. Our original offer stands that we would perform the work at cost only. I am still willing to perform the work this Fall and if we can to it for even less I most certainly will. We cannot offer a guarantee on the re-installation of the sand but would perform the installation with hopes that it would at least hold another few years.

Customer satisfaction is and always has been paramount to us. It is a large part of the foundation of building our business over the last 25 years. When you engaged us to install your walkway originally, you were very cost conscious. We did our best to accommodate your needs and help you out. We installed the sand at cost only. When we were on site, upon your request; we did other work for no charge; i.e.: installing fence sections and temporarily repairing your failing front step free of charge. (as we could not guarantee repairs on previous work by others)

In regards to all your other comments and complaints; Eleanor and my recollection of events and job notes differ from yours. I will not however, go” tit for tat” on what you have said and prefer to respectfully disagree.

Paul Adamson
Stonehenge

10/10

giant oak tree needed major pruning and a support wire, advanced tree care showed up when promised, kept within the quote, did a very thorough, professional pruning, kept the job site clean, were careful not to damage any other structures ie our new deck and fence , and were nice guys(although our dog did not like the guy in the tree that kept appearing in the 2nd floor window) They were recommended by a top arborist as a company that prunes appropriately.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Your accolades are appreciated Cindy. The crew deserves an extra pat on the back for working through poor weather and a series of flu/cold bugs.

For them it was easier to perservere with a rewarding and fullfilling project such as yours. At ground level the diameter of your tree must exceed 3 meters. A massive, old Red Oak. Due to its age it has some imperfections that need to be managed. The routine retrenchment pruning program prescribed for your tree will help it bear wind and weight loads and extend the life of this 200 year old veteran for decades to come.