Reviews

10/10

We hired Viktoria to move our household goods including piano from Mississauga to Courtice. Maria came to house to prepare quote and provided useful information. We chose to do our own packing, and have them disassemble and pack the larger furniture. We ultimately chose them because they were focussed on completing the move in one day. They were also willing to move some large house plants, although without any guarantees. Original quote was 4 crew, two trucks and 13 hours. Crew arrived on time on moving day, but with 6 persons. They were polite and professional, and followed Covid mask precautions. Final cost was 6 crew, two trucks and 9 hrs, and was about same as quote due to less hours and lower rate per person for 6 crew. We were told at payment time that the reason for the 6 rather than 4 crew was that it was a cold day (which it was!) and because we had requested a one-day move. The latter was true, but an odd reason for the crew change since that was actually the Viktoria proposal from day one and not something we had insisted on. Anyway, work was completed to our satisfaction. Maria called to check in one week after the move. We've found a few small scratches but nothing major. One ding was in our old home, which we only noticed during our final inspection and were able to quickly repair. We would use them again.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

As part of a home inspection before selling our house, we had identified that we needed a GCFI outlet installed in kitchen. Small job but we wanted to make sure it was done by an electrician. Tony responded to our Homestar posting, and came by within a week to install. Work was done quickly and cleanly.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You Paul!

10/10

We found suspicious black shading on part of our attic inside roofing as part of a pre-home-sale inspection. We wanted this remediated before we were on the market. Found Templar on HomeStars, and called them up. Robert came by the next day and gave us a quote. He was able to schedule us one week later. Work was done in a half-day. We are happy with the results.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Nice working with you Paul. Glad to hear of your satisfaction with our work. Good luck with the sale of your home.
Robert

10/10

We've been in this house for 30 years, and thought the exterior could benefit from a cleaning, the soffit in particular was looking somewhat grimy and was out of our reach. Called up Shack Shine for a quote for various external cleaning from windows to soffit. They were on site within 3 days and work completed. Courteous staff, no problems.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We had a 30-year old central vac that had stopped giving much suction, even after the bag was emptied. Javid came within a few days of our call and checked the pipes, clearing out some debris with his equipment. He listened to the old motor and recommended replacing it. We agreed. Job was done quickly and cleanly.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you

10/10

We hired Marc to install an electric car charger, and to upgrade our electrical panel at the same time. Marc was punctual, worked with us to ensure the timing for the panel power outage and ESA inspection was convenient, and the job was done very professionally. We asked for a routing of the power cables for aesthetics reasons that was somewhat less convenient for him, but Marc was very obliging.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you guys for the great review. It was a pleasure to work with you. I'm glad you were happy with the service and install.

10/10

We had a persistent damp spot develop in the concrete slab floor of the garage, after 26 years of living in the house with no issue. We were unable to identify the cause. Gemil from Nu-Site came within a few days of our call and diagnosed the problem. He gave us a range of possible solutions, including Plan A which required some labor on our part but no costs and might be sufficient. We very much appreciate the diagnosis and honest advice from Gemil. We are going to try Plan A, but if it does not work we will definitely follow up with Nu-Site.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the review!

10/10

Shower faucet cartridge broke. Not a DIY repair job. Called Mister Plumber as we have used them before on another small job. They were able to come within a few hours, which was fine as it was not an emergency. Repair was completed promptly and cleanly (within the time and budget estimated) and is working fine.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review. It is very important for us. The problem you had with your shower faucet was caused by broken cartridge. Shower faucet consists of body, cartridge and trim with handle. Cartridge is the main part that controls mixing and switching "on" and "off" position. Because water contains different minerals and chlorine, cartridge gets older that eventually causes malfunctions. Changing of cartridge is less expensive compared to whole faucet replacement. It is often when manufacturers improve the core of the cartridge and new cartridge, serves longer than old one. Thanks, Mister Plumber team.


First Review

10/10

The stain we had applied ourselves to our recently updated cedar deck did not survive the winter. So it needed to be sanded down and re-applied from scratch. This time we thought we'd use a professional. Although there are many deck installers who will also stain, we were looking for an outfit that focused on the staining rather than the carpentry, and would provide a guarantee. We found Sina Deck Staining on the internet and asked them for a quote. This is a small outfit. The owner, Selim, came by promptly and we liked what we heard. The work was completed within two weeks (the weather was cooperative) and looks great. We recommended him to a neighbour, who has since also contracted with him.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

Our 21-year old cedar deck needed some upgrading. Roy replaced what was needed, and kept what was still good. He gave us advice on what was currently in style with railings, which we accepted. Work was very professional and high quality. Roy is a pleasure to work with.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We discovered a leaking hotwater pipe Friday supper time. Plumber arrived within two hours of our call and fixed the pipe. We were charged exactly what was estimated over the phone. Plumber was courteous and clean.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Paul, thank you for taking your time to write a review on HomeStars.

10/10

We called the company to clean our fireplace chimney. First time we had done this since we had the fireplace insert installed a year ago and started to use it. The Tech came on time. He was knowledgeable and courteous. Pointed out two other issues that I was not aware of, in particular a problem with the chimney top tile breaking. He gave me a detailed explanation of options, we accepted the work and the repairs were completed. Looks good.

Was this review helpful?
8/10

Silver Cross installed a stair lift system at my parents house two years ago. They offered a used system, which saved considerable cost and looks fine. It involved two stair lifts to cover the full flight of stairs. Installation was on time, work was good quality, and work area was cleaned up. The stairlift stopped working within one week of installation. Technician came out promptly once called. He said that we had drained the battery down and it had to be replaced, for an added cost. Fixed the problem, but I was never clear what exactly was wrong. Stairlift is still working fine after 2 years.

Was this review helpful?
4/10

Work was agreed with Don in April, to be completed within a "couple of weeks". Don was professional and courteous, price was within my expected range, and timeframe was convenient. However, I then heard nothing from company for several weeks. After several calls I was finally given date of 8 am, Saturday July 2 (long weekend, date was given to me on Thursday at 4 pm). This is my parents house. I assumed work would take couple of hours so arrived about 8:30. But they had come with large crew and work was all done. I briefly inspected and the big ticket items had been done and all nicely cleaned up. So I paid the foreman and they left. But then I went and checked more carefully and found several places where they had missed items. At that point, I did not want to deal further with company.

Was this review helpful?
9/10

Standard job to remove old shingles and install new shingles on a relatively uncomplicated roof. Quote and information was provided by Allan, courteous and informative. Work was undertaken within two weeks, we were called ahead about dates and were able to delay it for our schedule. Work completed within one day. Looks good. Site was cleaned up nicely. We had some simple plastic eavestrough leaf guards that were lost during the process, but C&C came back within a day or so of our call and installed an equivalent system.

Was this review helpful?