NUSITE Contractors Ltd

3 Whitehorse Road Unit 10 Toronto ON M3J
Write a Review
Write a Review
NUSITE Contractors Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2020 winner 4 timesBest of 2020winner 4 times

Reviews for NUSITE Contractors Ltd

Average customer rating:
9.4 10 (133 reviews)

Sort by

Joel in North york
Joel in North york
3 reviews Toronto, ON

Exterior waterproofing

Second time I used this company. Happy the first time so I called them back to do other parts of my foundation. They were able to do the work within the week and were done in 2 days. It rained right after, and the earth settled in where they buried and they came out within a day to top it up with more crushed stone including additional where I had asked for so it would not get muddy where we walk alongside the house. I would recommend them and use them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Joel!

We appreciate your loyalty and working with us a second time! We are so glad to hear you are happy with the work and beyond grateful for supporting us as a small business during these tough times. Thank you!

Stay safe and wishing you all the best!
Nusite Contractors

1 review Toronto, ON

Basement Underpinning/Waterproof/Buildout

The team took a difficult semi-detached, skinny 16ft lot, dated 1920s house - and completed on budget and on time. Most important, we’re happy customers - and they care. Thank you Nusite!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words!

Nusite Contractors

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON


I worked with Dave to do waterpoofing in my basement.

He responded right away, quoted right after our meeting and his crew got the job done in a few days. I had some follow up questions and he looked after everything and answered all my questions. I would highly recommend their work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for choosing Nusite Contractors Ltd. for your waterproofing job. Our team strives for perfection on every site, and are thankful for our great clients! We wish you the best and hope you are staying safe through these tough times.

Thanks Again,

Dave & the Nusite Contractors Team

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Vaughan, ON

Waterproofing and Foundation Repair

Nusite Contractors Ltd. did a great job waterproofing the exterior of my home. The team was very helpful and walked me through the entire process. I had a few other companies come out to give me estimates, however, Dave (and the man on the phone) were very knowledgeable and kind. He saved me a ton of money and gave great recommendations.

This work was done about 2 months ago, and I have had no issues since. I highly recommend Nusitce Contractors Ltd. as they are very professional and helpful. 10/10 I would definitely use them again. Thanks again!

ps. They were also very respectful with social distancing.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you kindly for your review! All the best!
Nusite Contractors Ltd.

Jonas from North York
Jonas from North York
1 review Toronto, ON

Water proofing, sump pump, weeping tile

During the process of building my home we needed a company to waterproof and install sump pumps. We were referred to Nusite. I called Dave from Nusite and he came by to do a walk around of the property and provide a quote. Dave took the time to explain what needed to be done and the best way to protect my basement from leaks. I spoke to a few other companies and Nusite's price was very competitive and their knowledge was far superior. Nusite's crew was clean while on the job site and efficient. Due to a high water table, Dave suggested solutions that no other company had suggested. Thank you Nusite. I would recommend this company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Jonas for the nice words. It was awesome working for you and your new build.

quintar1 in Bowmanville
quintar1 in Bowmanville
3 reviews Oshawa, ON

Basement Waterproofing/Foundation Repair/Sump Pump Install

I am leaving the original Review.
Once Nusite sent out one of their bosses to evaluate my property and what was done by their one crew. Things changed.
So once he got a lay of the land, they got a new crew out here (George and crew, amazing!)
These guys are taking their time and getting the job done right. They are on day 8 so far. And there's still a fair bit of work to go. They had to dig out under the old work, which is hard. and pour concrete, they have to do all this by hand now. I have no fear that my basement will leak with George and crew out here. He's requested me to check out their work several times. Now they are getting ready to backfill the area they have been working on and moving to a new area. So much hard work! But Nusite came through when they found out the job was subpar the first time. What more can you really ask for than a company that actually backs up their work?

Had George been the original guy they sent out here, it would have been a 10 star rating I'm sure.
***Original Review
So I got quotes, and I liked these guys.
Many people said that from what they could see, it seemed like the foundation was in decent repair.
And the salemans for Nusite said that they have only once not be able to find a line for the weeping system.
(our house is OLD, never had a weeping system, so no line).
(Apparently we don't have footings either . . . )

The promise was to dig down to the footing, install weeping tile, aquabloc and dimple board and all things like that.
all around the house, then either go under our floating backroom, or if the concrete went all the way then they would do it as well (but not expected).

We my wife and I hired them.
I spent most of the 4 days outside with these guys (huge amount of money for us), so I could see what was going on, and I even helped out with grabbing things, and running extention cables, simple things like that)
I used to do contracting, so I have a solid understanding of what they were doing, just no experience with it.

So they showed up with a good size crew on Monday.
Didn't take long and they started digging (and it was hot).
They only worked for about 1/2 the day. (I was over heating just standing outside with them).
They kept the front and side yards clean (well covered in dirt . . . but clean from bottles and stuff). I did tell the site supervisor I had dogs and the backyard needed to be safe for them, every day after they left, I had to clean up their stuff they just left around the yard.

Day 2 (Tuesday).
large crew showed up, they told me during this that the foundation is
one of the worst they have ever seen. they were going to pour a new flat concrete pad on the front of the foundation to give it strength and give them a smooth working area. (huge cost increase but they couldn't do it with the condition of the foundation (it was hidden underground before they started, so no way they could have known)

Since there was no weeping system, they said they would need to put in the sump pump. It never dawned on me that it would need to be inside and through my floor, it really should have, So I wasn't happy about that, but there was nothing anyone could do, the house needed a sump pump.
When this was quickly mentioned, it was never mentioned they would need to get in to the basement, and break the floor (I should have known better, but I didn't think of it). (more on that later)

They had to pop some fence boards and fence sections off, they put them all back (on the last day) They broke boards, they used a shovel to pry the boards off (some where screwed). I asked this day why the excavation was only 40", i was told that on day 2 of a 6 day job (which they did in 4 btw) was not the time to measure, that the weeping system would be at the footer.

So Wednesday (day 3), they show up to build frames.
They did this quite a bit faster then they expected, so we had a lot of time to wait for the concrete truck. They did not brush the old foundation, they didn't pressure wash it, so there is lots of dirt between the old foundation and the new pour. And the "repair" job goes down 40" of the approx 60" it should be at the side of the property . . .

The concrete made a bit of mess against the house in a few spots, I'm hoping it'll wear off over time (took a wire brush too it, still won't come off)
Even the concrete truck driver asked them where the vibration rod was (with out this there will be air pockets, and the concrete will not flow all the way in to the deeper holes)

So day 4, So they pull out the forms (the wood that holds the concrete in place) patched up any not even spaces, give it a bit to dry and start putting the aqua-bloc (smells like gasoline and looks like tar), and they do all their layers. When the supervisor notices me taking pictures of a few spots that aren't fully covered, he makes them put on more. Then dirt and taping the dirt so it's tight packed.
So they never dug out the rest of the depth, so I have a trench around my house (not even all the way around as I was told it HAD to be), from 40-57 inches below my window well.
Trying to talk to the site supervisor, and his boss (over the phone). They never dug it out, so the bottom of the walls never got fixed. . . .
The entire basement smells like the tar they put on the walls. (according to the manufature of AQUA-BLOK new concrete must have 14 days to cure before you apply this stuff)
There was a window open, so we thought maybe just it was a lingering smell from the window. Apparently this is quite common, but hard to find information on. Bought some VOC monitors, levels were approaching unsafe, bought 2 air cleaners, furnace filters with active carbon. Kept the numbers in the yellow zone (long term exposure is bad in this range, so I felt safe enough with these numbers)
Now, they worked in hot freaking weather, happy guys, friendly guys.
I truly liked the workers, and even the site supervisor. We all even shared a meal!
I questioned them about why the weeping system wasn't connected to the sump pump, they told me it was (I thought maybe I missed it), they destroyed my floor, put dirt all over my walls, did a horrible job repouring the concrete, and the pit isn't level so 1 side sticks out of the floor more then the other . . . .

So I left a negative review on here, and the site supervisor came back out, and told me he was going to bring his wife and kids to my home because he was going to get fired. He screwed up a 33,000 dollar job, and came to my house and made me feel VERY uncomfortable, so I took all the negatives out of the review.
While telling some friends and family, they told me I should sue them for how bad of a job they did.
I sent them an email instead, I don't want to sue,

My email to them, which contains everything they did wrong, and I have not heard back from the salesman / office since before I left the review. They have CUT and RAN me.

It has been 2 weeks since the job was "finished".
Let us take a look at all the things done wrong.
A) You said the weeping tile system would be a complete circle around the house, they would go under or around the floating slab, They did not, infact they didn't even do either side of the stairwell, they stopped at the brick and didn't keep going.
B) Foundation repair, since they didn't dig out the entire depth, the entire foundation wasn't repaired . . .
C) they didn't brush or pressure wash the stone, so too much dirt was on the rocks before the pour of the concrete wall.
D) they didn't bring a vibration rod, so the concrete didn't flow in to all the deep holes and still had lots of air bubbles.
E) sump pump installation was a disaster, the banged-up walls, the pit wasn't level, the concrete work is bad.
F) weeping system was installed at depths from 40-57 inches below the bottom of the window wells, the INSIDE floor height is 54 inches the floor thickness was 6-8 inches. What height should the weeping system be below the window well then? (which you promised me during the installation this wouldn't be an issue right?)
My math roughly speaking, 54" to the floor, +6" floor thickness, +6 inches for the weeping system. They couldn't find the footing, but they were only 57 inches deep at the max depth that I watched and/or measured. if my research is correct, they wouldn't see the footing at that depth (that would be at about the 60inches?).
G) according to aqua-blok All surfaces must be sound, dry, and free from grease, dirt or other contaminants and must be reasonably smooth. Allow a minimum of fourteen days curing time on all new concrete. Prior to application, the deck should be blown with compressed air, vacuumed or thoroughly swept with a soft bristle broom. Curing compounds must be removed prior to application of membrane. Joints, cracks, and wall junctions require preparation. Refer to Guide Specification.
My concrete didn't even have 24 hours to cure.
H) also according to Henry Company (aqua-blok manufacturer) it wasn't given enough time to cure before the back fill and that's why my house has a horrible stench and toxic VOC's in it.
To try and combat the VOC's I've purchased 2 activated carbon air cleaners, activated carbon furnace filters, inline activated carbon filter for an exhaust fan, 2 air quality metres. a window fan, I have a large air mover that I have added a carbon filter to, blowing air outside, an exhaust fan blowing air outside, and a window fan blowing air outside. I have been able to keep the TVOC's (Total VOC's) in the yellow zone (long term exposure is not good at these levels, but under the red zone where short term exposure is bad), and it seems like when the heat (or maybe the sun) outside isn't too bad I can keep it in the green zone with all this mechanical ventilation I needed to add.
I) Since there was a 4-5 inch wall poured, there is A LOT of extra dirt on my property now.
J) About 1/4 of the dirt was packed down with that machine, you told me flat out that the dimple board WILL rip if not tapped down. When I asked Carl about this, said it was done. When he came to my house, he told me his guys told him they did it, but he still didn't fix it.
K) When an HONEST (and I even kept it on the nicer side of honest) review of the work done, I had the site supervisor for the job show up at my house, and tell me that if I didn't remove the review, they were going to bring their wife and children to my home, to my home. They were going to bring other people to my home, where my children have to live, I felt VERY uncomfortable and unsafe in this situation. I didn't know what they or the workers might do if I refused, so I took it down.

There is so much wrong with this job I don't even know if this is everything.

This is not okay, you took a lot of money to do a subpar job.

What is Nusite going to do to make this right?
With the nature of this, I would like all correspondence to be written, so email works well.

Review has 2 previous versions
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are currently working with the customer to sort this out in an acceptable way. We will update once we've come to a mutual decision.
Thank you.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON

Basement waterproofing

The NewSite Team were great. Marco and the guys worked with us to manage the soil removal and stage it in a way to minimize impact on our neighbours. The Work was completed ahead of schedule. They worked very hard, were very cordial and polite. Very responsive to our requests and good at problem solving. And they left our property very clean and tidy.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you kindly for the review!

Josh in Mississauga
Josh in Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON

Basement/Exterior Waterproofing

As a recent first-time homeowner, I was very overwhelmed with the amount of companies to choose from when it came time to deciding on a contracting company that was reputable, and one that would provide great value for the work that was needed.

Nusite Contractors came highly referred by a colleague. I spoke with Dave and eventually met his team at my home. The entire experience was very professional, and Dave and his team were a pleasure to deal with.

They provided an accurate diagnosis of the issue, and the job was efficiently coordinated which gave me peace of mind. The job was finished on-time and the clean-up was quick.

I appreciate the efforts made by Dave and his team, and I recommend Nusite Contractors for those experiencing similar waterproofing issues.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Josh! Was a pleasure working for you as you all were wonderful clients!
Nusite Contractors Ltd.

Repeat C.
Repeat C.
12 reviews Newmarket, ON

Basement waterproofing

What terrific service! Based at least partly on Homestars reviews, we called Brad at Nusite for a quote. Brad came onsite, patiently answered all our questions, explained all the various options and the pros/cons associated with each. Nusite provided a detailed written quote specifying the work to be done...and for us this was huge as half the contractors just scribbled "fix basement" and indicated a price on the back of a business card. (Me:."And what exactly do I get for $X?" "Oh don't worry! I make fix!" Nope! Next!)

Brad and the team at Nusite always patiently followed up with us, never to pressure or force us, just to ensure we received the quote and to see if we had any questions. They always followed up. Always polite and never aggressive or rude.

After about 10,000 more questions and some budgeting, we hired Nusite. Eric C, their ops manager, quickly and efficiently took over from Brad the Sales Guy. Eric and the team at Nusite coordinated all the locates for gas, hydro, cable, etc. Once all the locates were done, Eric called to confirm a date for the work.

On the assigned date, the crew showed up right on time. A good sign! The Nusite crew consisted of 8 hulking guys, who were all very kind and pleasant to talk to, all very professional and hard working.

The crew had completely excavated the exterior walls, patched and waterproofed them properly, refilled and thoroughly tampered down the soil in a matter of hours. At the end, they cleaned up all their tools and equipment and left everything clean and tidy (as much as possible for mud and dirt).

Now the test is on to see how well the job stands up, as rainy season is approaching. As much as it was a pleasure and smooth experience dealing with Nusite, I hope the job will outlast the warranty and that I'll never have to call them again. I would gladly recommend Nusite anytime. Top-shelf work for a fair price (neither extraordinarily high nor dirt cheap, they did good work for the money).

I found Nusite to be professional, patient, courteous, and thorough. Quite happy with the work (so far! We'll let the rain put the job to the test!)

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the nice review! I will ensure Eric and Brad read this review and pass on the praise.

Thanks again!

David S.
Nusite Contractors Ltd.

4 reviews Aurora, ON

Underpinning and foundation work

I hired Nusite to underpin and perform repair on the foundation of my garage. My original quote was approximately 30,000.00. After significant delay in starting, an excavation was performed. Geoff, the owner, upon viewing the foundation wall and depth of the footings stated that the work could not be completed as quoted. He then (after much delay) provided a new quote of over 80,000.00. This was cost prohibitive for me. I requested a partial refund of my deposit ($7,000.00). The company eventually returned a partial refund but charged me full administration fees, full commission fees as well as WCB. I found this company to be slow to respond but quick to find expensive alternatives to their original quote. I would think twice before hiring.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We were contracted to fix a garage for settlement issues and priced according to the drawings that we received from the customer. Our crews were about 1 month behind for structural work because of poor weather (heat and rain) we’ve had all summer long and we did our best to work around it.

Before we started the job we went to meet the customer to ensure they understood our order of operations. It was to coordinate a test hole with an excavation team to ensure the drawings match the existing structure. We always do test pits for foundation work to ensure the scope proposed matches the existing. Because of past experiences we did the test hole and discovered the old drawings would not have solved the problem according to the new engineering reports/findings.

This is not the fault of the original drawings, it simply is an unforeseen circumstance where the original contractor from the original build years ago may have gone deeper due to poor soil conditions and the drawings were never revised (no one can know).

It is crucial in any structural work to ensure what is proposed will work. We then had to coordinate the team and foreman to dig it out/fence it off (second visit). Once this was done we went back a third time to coordinate the soil engineer, who then recommended the structural engineer come visit too (this is typical in this business to have both engineers see the job).

The soil bearing capacity was not adequate and the whole job needed to be redesigned by the structural/soil engineer. After the fourth visit to the site (coordinating the structural engineer) we were able to then prepare a proper estimate for the work that now had to be done as per the unforeseen conditions.

The engineers determined the job had to go deeper to achieve proper soil bearing conditions and the current scope of work that customer’s drawings propose would not work. A lot more work had to be done.

Once the reports were completed, we made a quantitative quote based on the new engineer findings. We had to replace more concrete, dig double the depth, underpin at double the depth down and do so in stages. This essentially doubled the entire project and requires proper shoring or step excavation techniques to ensure a safe site. It is a risky, technical and dangerous procedure at this depth especially with poor soil conditions. The new pricing was presented to the owner who then rejected it. They are free to use whoever they want but our estimation was accurate based on our company’s processes and procedures.

It is not anyone’s fault that the unforeseen changes doubled the job. It was a problem that we exposed that no one could have known about without starting. We started the job using the deposit the customer provided, used it to pay for engineering, testing, measuring and assessment. We visited the site over 4 times coordinating everything in order and executed professionally. The deposit only partially paid for the guidance which steered the customer in the correct direction.

We took a deposit of $7,100.00 for the whole project to book it and refunded the customer $3,000.00. We lost money on this project post refund and incurred debt to help the customer to be able to know exactly what to do from here forward. This work had to be performed and engineers had to visit to know what to do and there was no avoiding this.

Pricing jobs, helping sort drawing discrepancies, sending crews and coordinating engineers costs money, time which in turn the customer did not feel we were worth and wrote this review. They did their own math to determine our worth and never factored in many costs associated with running a construction business.

We do apologize if this was taken in a way that any customer would feel like they were under serviced. We went above and beyond to help guide the project in a safe professional manner and we wish the customer good luck with whoever is now executing the work.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about NUSITE Contractors Ltd

We are Toronto’s water damage and foundation repair experts. With Over 100 years of combined experience in Foundation Repair, Waterproofing, Basement Lowering, and Structural Concrete work in the Toronto area, we have the training and familiarity to handle every aspect of your project.

As a locally-owned, family-run business, we offer an array of experience and knowledge in the industry, helping us deliver top quality workmanship and services.

Waterproofing, Concrete Contractors, and Foundations
Residential Basement Waterproofing (Interior & Exterior), Structural Foundation Repairs, Weeping Tile Installation and Repair, Window Well Repairs, Sinking Foundations, Collapsed Concrete, Concrete Repair, Underpinning, Basement Lowering, Bench Footings, Basement Slab and Drain Replacement, Commercial Waterproofing and Commercial Foundation Repair.
We are a dedicated Waterproofing and Foundation Repair Business. Our team has an extensive background in construction management, which allows us to dissect, price, and repair all structural and foundation related issues.
Full Transferable Warranty
We accept all major credit cards and cheques.
Licensed to operate in the Greater Toronto Area since 1990.
BILD, Renomark, BBB, Ontario Home Builders Association, Tarion Home Warranty
We have no Project minimum, in-fact, we offer free, no-obligation estimates!
Our Warranty varies, depending on the scope of work. That being said, our most common warranties last 15-25 years.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.