Home Appliance Repair Inc

Appliance Repair
1060 Meyerside dr Mississauga ON L5T 1J4
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Appliance Repair
Home Appliance Repair Inc
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

55%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Home Appliance Repair Inc

Average customer rating:
6.4 10 (113 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Mississauga, ON
9/10

Product

I would definitely call Home Appliance Repair again. Scott the technician was very polite and extremely efficient! The office staff were also a pleasure to deal with! Hoping I don't have to call for any repairs any time soon but when I do it will be this company I call!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with our service. We look forward to opportunities to up our performance for you and close friends and associates.

Marie in Oakville
Marie in Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
6/10

Dacor Wall oven

Had a great experience with Scott, one of t heir technicians. He was very knowledgeable about the product, had checked the replacement part before coming, phoned before 8:30am to let us know of the time he would come in at and called again shortly before coming. Scott is courteous and does not leave the job until the customer is satisfied and the equipment is working properly.
If all technicians were like him HAR would be a 10 stars, unfortunately, it is not always the case. Well done Scott!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind words Marie. We look forward to doing better the next time.

Paul in Toronto
Paul in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Repair to Perlick Outdoor Fridge by Home Appliance Repair

I have a Perlick fridge (which I would never purchase again)...I called HAR on June 27th to get someone to look at it....got a voice message saying they would call me back....finally made contact on June 28th and they said the service man would call me to set up an appointment. I requested a morning appointment.
I got the call from the serviceman...he brusquely told me he doesn't work mornings! He told me to call back to the customer service and request a morning which I did the following day. We agreed to meet on June 30th. The technician looked at the problem charged me 169 dollars for the call (despite having been told a service call was $110) and said that HAR would advise me regarding the parts. As of july 7th I had not heard so I called HAR....stayed on hold for 20 minutes...spoke to a person who said she would transfer me to parts where I spoke to a lady who told me that she would have to speak to the technician (parts had not been ordered nor did she know what was required). I asked to speak to the President and or manager and was told that they would call me back...I convinced her to switch me to the mangers line and I got a voice message.

I received a call back from the parts lady telling me that I needed two parts. A temperature probe $100.80 and a Fan motor for $225.
Total $325 CDN
They needed my approval to order the parts....ONE WEEK later...If I hadn't called when would they have ordered the parts?

I asked her to send me the parts number which she said she would....half hour later I am still waiting...

I called a Perlick for parts who put me to Partstown and they were able to connect me to a Perlick technician who identified the parts numbers ....the total parts come to about $225 Cdn.....and that's retail...I am sure HAR gets better break on the parts prices than a guy phoning up would so think about how they are gouging me and taking their time to do so....in fact I would not even had gone this route if they hadn't taken so long...shameful

Good news is that I will have the parts within a couple days and the fridge will be working later next week...

HAR when you phone make a very big deal about their superior customer service and making a great day for their customer....but sometimes a company has to do more than talk the talk...they need to walk the walk to make my day a great one!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Paul, we are sorry about your experience. We would like to set the record straight Perlick had nothing to do with this situation. Perlick is a highly recommended successful brand that we support technically. The problem in this case is with certain elements of our service. It is not uncommon to have delays in communication in periods of heightened demands, and we did respond as soon as we were able to. Concerning your specific time request in the am and the pricing the technicians behavior was inappropriate. This call was created by one of our newer agents who quoted an inappropriate price. As per company policy, the technician should have reported to the office with regard to the incorrect pricing and that he could not accommodate the time request. The office would have provided an alternative. Concerning the parts price I am sure you can appreciate parts mark up and overall pricing is dependent on a number of things including the cost of doing business, it not strange to find different pricing from various suppliers. Home Appliance Repair Inc. does indeed deliver great service if fact we are the recipient of the 2015 Consumers Choice Award for Service Excellence in the Greater Toronto area in the appliance repair category. Heck ! we failed on this one and are truly sorry. We want to redeem ourselves with you please expect a from our duty manage to discuss this.

BA in Toronto
BA in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Kitchenaid Fridge repair

Called HAR today upon recommendation of a friend who said they were great. Best decision I made! Same day professional service at a reasonable price - don't believe the anonymous recent negative reviews!! I noticed fridge section wasn't as cool as usual yesterday, and today was warmer. Got some ice for cooler, emptied fridge and wondered if it was time for a new one (13 yrs old), but never a good time to spend$! Anyway, called HAR, spoke to the owner and he said he'd have someone come later today, and didn't he himself show up exactly at time promised. Anyway, he promptly looked at unit, pulled off back cover, explained to me what he was doing every step of the way, then proceeded to test electrical inside fridge and found problem (defective defrost limiter). He had the part on truck, 30 minutes later my food was back in fridge and freezer. Would use his company again in a heartbeat and recommend to others. Can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you BA in Toronto for sharing your positive experience with our service. As hard as we try, for some reason or the other we do not always get it right, and it is nice to know that we were successful this time. We invite you and all those who are in your sphere of influence to rely on us to take care of your future appliance repair needs.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Oakville, ON
1/10

The worst !!

I contact these guys to repair my fridge on May 24 someone came out on May 27th. The guy was at my house for 10 minutes didn't even open the fridge and provided a diagnoses and paid $120 for that call.

It is going to cost about another $600 for repair. Someone will call me to schedule the next appointment once the parts have been ordered.....well, no, call, no call. So I call - I get a quote on May 30th. I call to say - YES please lets go ahead. well I need to pay for the parts first. I pay $407 for the parts. Well then they advise it is 2 weeks before the parts will come in.

It is June 9th and STILL DO NOT HAVE MY FRIDGE REPAIRED. Called on June 2nd - advised my it should be repaired by the 7th June at the lastest - still no fridge repair!!

I am calling today to get my $407 refunded - and I will go elsewhere. I looked up on line what the issue might be and I have gotten the fridge working (for now). it still needs to be repaired but not with them. I would like to have the call out charge refunded too...but that won't happen.

I will say however I have been speaking with a lovely lady (Joanne) at the company but 1 person doesn't make up for a whole company unfortunately.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Private User in Oakville,
I apologise for your less than pleasant experience with HAR even though our only fault in this case is poor communication by our team that one of the parts required to repair your fridge was on back order from the manufacturer. We cannot fabricate alternate parts or use after market parts to repair your unit, so our only option was to wait on the distributor to supply the parts. Thanks for your compliment towards Joanne who was enabled by other members of the team to assist you. As promised-100% satisfaction guaranteed, and since you have been refunded we hope that that is enough to have you use our service in the future and avail yourself to "THE 2016 CONSUMERS CHOICE" award winning service that most of our other customers experience, while giving us an opportunity to redeem ourselves with you.

0/10

Oven Repair

This company has the worst costumer service I have ever experienced. I had a Dacor wall oven repaired. I called the company for their "Same Day Service" which really means some time that week if you are lucky. The tech comes in, pulls the oven out. Chips my cabinets. Then tells me that one of the control boards needs replacing. Then charges over $200 and says that he won't be back until next week where the part and labor will cost over $700 to replace. Reluctantly I had the part replaced in and in less the 6 months the part burns out again. This time I have another tech (different company) look at the oven. He tells me that 2 of the same boards are available in Toronto. I contact the original company at the end of January to replace the board that is under warranty. It takes 2 weeks to get someone in parts to call me back. Then they tell me that there is no parts available. Then they tell me it is on back order and won't be available until April. Unable to wait I replace the oven. They finally call me to replace the board in May. They then want to charge me to have 2 techs come out and change a board on an oven that is sitting on the floor of my garage. They refused to let me pick up the part and after a month of fighting. The still charged over $200 to have a tech spend 10 min to change a warranty circuit board. This company has demonstrated the worse service I have ever experienced. Please save yourself the headache and multiple overpriced lab our charges and contact someone else.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear MJ Luc in Etobicoke,
I have reviewed your file and the facts in the file do not match up with your claim. There is no report of damage for us to address. We are licensed , Bonded and Insured, and that claim would have been handled by our claims team. What happens to speaking with a manager to get a resolution? Clearly your intent is to malign our company. We have a 100% guarantee with our service and we quote for every step of our process. What prevented you from declining our service and have your unit repaired by a different company? Regarding you picking up the part and having it installed by someone other than one of our representatives-our policy is no different from any other service company/manufacturer--WARRANTY PARTS MUST BE INSTALLED BY AUTHORIZED PERSONEL. Finally, you were not charged for two techs to replace the part. Two techs attended your home (and worked together to finish the repair faster) because other jobs on the route for that day required two techs. We invite you to use our service in future and experience "THE 2016 CONSUMERS CHOICE" award winning service that most of our other customers experience, while giving us an opportunity to redeem ourselves with you.

BB Kleinburg in Toronto
BB Kleinburg in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Maytag Washing Machine - Awful

Called Maytag for repair of washer and they sent this company. I've used Home Repair before and would never have called them had I known. Customer service rep said they would come fix the washer. Provided serial number and model as well as error code and the issue. Specifically pointed out that the issue was with the locking mechanism. Told to be home 8 to 4. At 10am told between 1 and 4pm. Showed up at 3:55pm to diagnose that we needed a new lock, that he didn't have any with him and the company would call to provide a quote and schedule another appointment. This place is has the worst reputation. Who doesn't carry some parts when they know the issue? Quick way to earn $100 from someone for doing nothin is my observation. Do not use.

Was this review helpful?
Gene in Mississauga
Gene in Mississauga
1 review Oakville, ON
0/10

Washing Machine Repair - Aweful!

I called these guys in to look at the spin cycle vibration on my front load washing machine. The tech came by and did a spin cycle and he determined that because my machine was on pedastals that it was the reason why it would rattle and vibrate during the spin cycle and there was nothing I could do but to lower the legs a few mm. I asked him to adjust the legs which btw I did most of the work, crawling under the machine; it just seemed that the tech was done and ready to leave and charge me. Easiest 30 minutes of work! He didn't even open the machine and take a look. HOW DO YOU FIX ANYTHING WITHOUT OPENING THE MACHINE! So fine, I was told the call out and diagnosis would be a $110 + HST, but guess what when he left me the bill it was $159.90 + HST. Evidently, the machine rattle and shakes even worse now! I called customer service to ask for an explaination as to why it costed $159.90 + HST and they said they would get back to me. Well, it's been over a month now and I have not gotten a call back; not a peep! Authorized repair means nothing, do not trust or spend your money here. Whatever happened to satisfaction guaranteed!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jean,
HAR is a reputable company authenticated by several manufacturers both locally and internationally. We are here to fulfil a need and are experts at it. We also provide the best warranty in the industry on our service. We have responded to dissatisfied customers with our money back guarantee as is required and we will do the same for you if we cannot satisfactorily carry out your repair service. I apologise for the no reply you mentioned and would like to have a technician correct the issue. please call 905-670-7579 and ask for the manager to have that arrange because we are not able to identify you from your review.

Christian in Burlington
Christian in Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
0/10

Awful Experience - Washing Machine repair!!

AVOID AT ALL COSTS. NOT AN HONEST COMPANY!!

- They came to my house and told me the error code displayed on my machine. I ALREADY TOLD THEM this error code over the phone when I originally called, why did you come to my house and charge me $150? You added no value to me. They didn't even open the machine and look at it!

- Told me 4 parts where broken. Cost to fix = $1200. How do you know all these 4 parts are broken WITHOUT opening and looking, and what are the chances 4 parts break AT THE SAME TIME!

After these few red flags I took my business elsewhere. Only 1 part was needed to fix my machine ($200).

I opened a dispute with my credit card company and will be getting my $150 back. Do not trust these guys. They'll tell you anything to get your money.

AVOID at all costs.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Christian,
I am sorry to hear about this unfortunate incident. A quick check of our database showed no file on "Christian in Burlington. I would like to apologise in person and arrange a refund for you once I can identify your file. please call my office at 905 670 7579 and let us know name, address or phone number under which the file was created. behaviour like the one you have described has certainly not kept us in the appliance repair business for 20years.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

fix ove fix washing machine

My experience trying to get an oven and washing machine fixed... PRICE...Home Appliance Repair Inc. inflated a part price by 79% on top of the retail price of the first oven part...this is on top of the wholesale discount they already get from the manufacturer...this was on a $428 part ...a 2nd but cheaper 2nd oven part was inflated 47% on top of the retail...a third and the cheapest part, for the washer, a 25% inflation on top of the retail price. Funny how the most expensive part gets inflated the highest percentage.
QUOTES and billing surprises...good luck in figuring them out. Be very aware they do not have an hourly rate even though on the quote under qty. beside the word labour they seem to indicate a time line...extremely high fees for labour that makes no sense
$275 to fix the oven which took 2 hours...$249 to fix washing machine which took 20 minutes.
RELIABILITY...asked twice not to have the same service provider to come back for a third time after he ordered the wrong part then put the original back in wrong...after he left I turned the oven on for dinner and it went nuts when I tried to turn it off it wouldn't go off, the fan started on on its own, then went off on it's own the digital display went nuts I had to turn the breaker off for safety. I was out of an oven for a week. When the technician came back to install the correct circuit board he opened the guts of the oven and said "oh I smell smoke"...he smelled smoke...how about that, he said when he had fit the original part back he bent a wire so it didn't connect properly, good thing I had turned off the breaker.
RELIABLE...I asked TWICE for a different technician to come back and install the correct circuit board, oh ya the original technician ordered the wrong circuit board, I said I was sorry but just didn't feel comfortable with the fist chap back, even though he was very nice my confidence level was not there. Home appliance repair inc. said 'no problem'. Who showed up at my door to do the final installation...you guessed it.
......I am now waiting for the owner to call me. I have asked for an explanation of why the first chap showed up at my door and what they would consider next steps to be....me I am not using this oven until I feel safe using it....for me that means send someone to double check this guys work. We shall see!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,
The events described certainly speaks very poorly of the service you got, and is a stark contrast to the service the customers below your review got. That type of service mentioned below is what Home Appliance Repair Inc. is known for. Would you be incline to call our office and provide the work order number, address, or phone number under which your file was created so I can identify you and address these issues?

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Home Appliance Repair Inc

When your appliance breaks down, we know time is of the essence! That’s why at Home Appliance Repair, we only hire licensed technicians who are trained and experienced in all appliance repairs. They are friendly, courteous and honest experts who will fix your appliance to the highest standards using only quality parts. They are equipped with appropriate diagnostic and repair tools, two-way radios, and in-house technical support.

At Home Appliance Repair, we’ve made it our top priority to minimize the inconvenience of your broken appliance by getting it up and running in the quickest time possible, allowing you to get on with your day.

We are manufacturer authorized to service over 30 leading brands. In addition, we are equipped to service over 50 major brands under extended warranty as well as appliances no longer under warranty.

Our work is fully backed by 90 days warranty on labour and 2 years on parts, and as always when you hire Home Appliance Repair, you can rely on our 100% Customer Satisfaction Guarantee!

CATEGORIES
Appliance Repair
SERVICES
repair/ fix/ install / service fridges repair/ fix install/ service washers and dryers, dishwashers, microwaves, wine coolers/ cellars, gas ranges, electric ranges, stoves, convection ranges, water coolers, range hoods, down draft, induction cook top, window air conditioners, electric fireplace
BRANDS
Fridigaire/ Electrolux Icon, Bosch Thermodor, Dacor, Samsung, General Electric, GE Profile, GE Monogram, Fisher & Paykel, DCS, Gaggenau, Siemens, Eaumark, McClary, Gibson, Tappan, Magic Chef E-wave, Danby, Ventahood, Haier, Cavavin, Delonghi, Faber, Falnac, Bluestar, Greenway, Hotpoint, Huebsch, Calvinator, Premier Range, Simplicity, Avante, Ultraline, Viking, Blomberg, Burtazzoni, Zephyr, Whirlpool, Sub-zero, Maytag, Kitchenaid, Uline, Sharp, Panasonic, Scholtz-Arriston, Sanyo, Kenmore, Jenn-Air, Insinkirator, Capital, Caloric, Best, Asko, Amana, Air King, Admiral
WEBSITE
http://www.hargta.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1995
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
22
RETURN POLICY
100 PERCENT SATISFACTION GURANTEE
PAYMENT METHOD
cash, cheque, MC, Visa, AMEX
LICENSES
G2 Gas License, ODP Certificate
MEMBERSHIPS
Better Business Bureau
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
PROJECT RATE
FLAT RATE LABOR BASED ON DIAGNOSIS AND REPAIR
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
DIAGNOSIS/SERVICE CALL CHARGE 30 DAYS, LABOR 90 DAYS, PARTS 2 YRS (UP TO $200.00) AND 90 DAYS FULL
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.