Toronto Home Comfort

Fireplaces
2300 Lawrence Ave E, Unit 31 Toronto ON M1P
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Fireplaces
Toronto Home Comfort
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

72%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Toronto Home Comfort

Average customer rating:
7.7 10 (35 reviews)

Sort by

Josie Klein from Toronto
Josie Klein from Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Furnace

Toronto Home Comfort are unprofessional and unreliable. We purchased a $5200 furnace (including installation) and it was completely rusted out 2 years later. We were told that although the parts were under warranty, the labor would be over $1000 to fix. After multiple unreturned phone calls trying to set up a visit, we finally called another company, who confirmed what we had suspected: the parts were rusted due to faulty installation (he also found multiple other issues with the installation as well). We have given up trying to contact Toronto Home Comfort to get our money back. What a waste (of time and money)!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Melanie C. from Toronto
Melanie C. from Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

fireplaces and installation

I purchased 2 fireplaces to be installed in my 1960 built house. Alex Chen from Toronto Home Comfort was very professional to guild us how to select right models. My contractor broke the hearth and Alex gave us clear instruction on what was needed to be fixed before the installation. During the installation, we discovered other problems and the fireplaces can't be installed as planned. AH!!! The installation manager, Younes, thought of alternative to complete the installation in another day. Younes would even did the extra work to help to cover up the exposed part of the unit in my basement fireplace. It was very nicely done. I am thankful that I have 2 professional to work on my project. Yeah, I have 2 beautiful fireplaces installed. I can't wait to turn them on in a cold day.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Melanie,
Glad to see you enjoy the Valor G3 gas inserts. Fireplace is not a small purchase and it will be the focal point of the room. We always try our best to assist our customers to make right decision. It’s my pleasure to have this chance to serve you, and thank you for taking the time and writing this review.
Toronto Home Comfort
Visit our Showroom- Fireplaces- Furnace- BBQ's and Outdoor Living
https://www.torontohomecomfort.com/
https://www.instagram.com/tohomecomfort/
416-755-8624

tabinda usmani in North york
tabinda usmani in North york
3 reviews North York, ON
10/10

fireplace

Had a good experience with them. They did a thorough and neat job, and were cooperative. Technically, they are sound. They inspected our existing fireplace, and suggested the most appropriate product as replacement, which we would not have figured out on our own.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Assisting you on your fireplace selection was a joy and we hope you enjoy the Fireplace for years to come. Thank you.
Toronto Home Comfort
Visit our Showroom- Fireplaces- Furnace- BBQ's and Outdoor Living
https://www.torontohomecomfort.com/
https://www.instagram.com/tohomecomfort/
416-755-8624

Jonathan Barrie from Toronto
Jonathan Barrie from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Fireplace Installation

Terrible customer service. Everything was a fight. Had an issue after installation and they would not return my phone calls for 5 days. Took a couple of calls and visits to the store to get a response after they had all my money.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Mr. Jonathan Barrie came to our store to ask us provide labor of installation only since he bought Napoleon gas insert from somewhere else already. We explained to him that we typically don't do just installation because we don't know if that product is in good condition. He said he understood and assured us that gas insert he bought is brand new. So we said yes and stressed that we are not responsible for the gas insert itself.

During our installation, we found that the blower he provided is not right model. He phoned his friend in Napoleon and was told it would take 2 weeks to get blower in. My installer said that we can get parts from our warehouse to modify this blower with extra cost of $200 if he agrees. He said yes. So we went ahead everything was fine. He came to our store and paid balance even praised our service.

Our installer told us about that extra $200. So we called back and was told he never agreed. Two days later he said there is something wrong with our installation because gas insert is not working properly. We said we'll come back to check it out. Our technician will call Napoleon tech support line in front of him to find out what's wrong with the gas insert. If it is installation issue, we'll fix it. But if it is a problem of the gas insert, then there will be labor fee for this extra visit. He couldn't accept this. As matter of fact, his friend in Napoleon admitted that there was one part missing from this gas insert which causes unstable flame.

Toronto Home Comfort
Visit our Showroom- Fireplaces- Furnace- BBQ's and Outdoor Living
https://www.torontohomecomfort.com/
https://www.instagram.com/tohomecomfort/
416-755-8624

Danielle from Toronto
Danielle from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Wood Burning Stove

I did my research when I wanted to install a new wood burning stove and chimney, and that is why I chose Toronto Home Comfort. I chose my fireplace and paid half before the installation was done. The installer was fantastic and paid attention to every detail to make sure the instillation was done up to code, but unfortunately we did encounter an unexpected set back during the instillation. The sales man had mistaken my flagstone wall as non-combustible when it actually was considered combustible, as there was no breather behind it. There was not enough clearance to have the fireplace installed and no other fireplace would fit in that area. By that time I was quite upset as my old fireplace and chimney had already been removed and my options were limited, as I did not want to install a gas or electric fireplace. Within the hour the owner of Toronto Home Comfort, Shora was at my home assessing the situation and looking for a resolution to the unexpected circumstances. The installer suggested the only option was to have a hearth installed and to tear up the flagstone on my floor. I asked Shora if she would be willing to absorb the costs involved with the hearth purchase, and additional instillation labour that was required. In a heartbeat she agreed and even let me choose the hearth that I wanted. Of course I chose the nicest one and probably the most expensive one, which was made of black slate. Yesterday the fireplace instillation was completed and I am 100% happy with the customer service that I received, and professionalism that was demonstrated from the whole team. I definitely will be a return customer in the future as Shora and her team went above and beyond to make sure I was happy and that the job was completed properly to WETT standards. I highly recommend Toronto Home Comfort!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for your detailed review Danielle.
What really makes us, Toronto Home Comfort, different from other company is how we face issues. When there is an issue we take full responsibility. No excuse. We make sure everything is taken care of so by the end we have a happy customer which is the most important thing to us. Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your experience with Toronto Home Comfort

Elaine, East York
Elaine, East York
5 reviews East York, ON
2/10

New gas boiler and new gas fireplace

Everything was a fight with Toronto Home Comfort. The boiler and fireplace eventually worked and everything has been working smoothly for the last almost two years. However it took almost a full year for the boiler to be working properly and nothing was installed properly on the first attempt. It took two or three attempts on the fireplace and well the boiler installer and I were on a first name basis and I knew all about his kids before it was working properly. Also my contact at the company was regularly away from the office so it took forever for him to get back to me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Elaine,
The issues with the boiler were a hassle for you but we did take the time and find the issues and address them. We do apologize for the time it took, but we are confident that the units will be operating smoothly for years to come and will be available to address any future concerns that may arise.
Toronto Home Comfort
Visit our Showroom- Fireplaces- Furnace- BBQ's and Outdoor Living
https://www.torontohomecomfort.com/
https://www.instagram.com/tohomecomfort/
416-755-8624

L in East york
L in East york
2 reviews East York, ON
9/10

gas fireplace installed

I chose to have Toronto Home Comfort convert my wood fireplace to gas after speaking with their excellent salesman Dave on the phone. I was doing research and he answered all my questions without any pressure to buy. And most importantly when I mentioned I'm getting the fireplace for the look of a fire, not to heat the smallish room, he suggested the less expensive gas logs. He saved me $2000 with that suggestion.

This was a great solution because I didn't want to have the small room overheat with a gas insert, and have to reduce the flame to low as a result. Choosing the gas logs I have the best looking realistic fire with a high flame that I can sit beside comfortably for hours when entertaining. It's been the best Christmas as a result.

They followed up the installation to check to make sure all was up to code with another crew. I was not so happy with one of the technicians who came into my house- he was bossy and didn't listen to me. Dave understood when I called to discuss it with him. That's why they got a 9 rather than 10. None the less, my safety with the installantion of the gasline and the quality of the job was the priority at all times.

I've already recommended them to service an existing fireplace to my family, and now many of my neighbours want to convert their wood burning fireplaces to gas after seeing mine.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind words, we believe that one recipe doesn't work for all application that is why given your input Dave was able to suggest to you the Log set which are great product for application like your. Thank you again and we wish you have many Great Christmas and holiday with the Log Set.
Toronto Home Comfort
Visit our Showroom- Fireplaces- Furnace- BBQ's and Outdoor Living
https://www.torontohomecomfort.com/
https://www.instagram.com/tohomecomfort/
416-755-8624

Wayne in Toronto
Wayne in Toronto
7 reviews TORONTO, ON
9/10

Purchase and install of 2 Valor fireplaces

We recently purchase 2 new valor 3 fireplaces. Went to numerous places in Toronto and Scarborough and ended up at Toronto Home Comforts. The sales person was very knowledgable and polite and his team came exactly then they said they would.
The install was clean and I have had no issues.

Based on my experience, i would recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your Review and we do appreciate the feedback and your recommendation. we are more than happy to assist you in any future needs.
Thank you,
Toronto Home Comfort
Visit our Showroom- Fireplaces- Furnace- BBQ's and Outdoor Living
https://www.torontohomecomfort.com/
https://www.instagram.com/tohomecomfort/
416-755-8624

Mona, Markham
Mona, Markham
2 reviews Markham, ON
0/10

Fire Place Door

The salesperson/owner Shora mis-lead us about the delivery time initially stated it takes 1 week when we placed the order it became 3 weeks and it actually took 6 weeks, the factory were amazed at that. The specifications were all wrong when it was sent to the manufacturer the color of the trim is the wrong one. She did not show us the order they just sent it in and I only have the sales slip she says the order form with all the specification is not for us to see. She keep on promising and never deliver (she did say will call the manufacturer and address our questions but never did and kept on brushing us off) until we had to find the manufacturer and call ourselves. They called us to pick it up, they want us to pay the balance without out opening the box and looking at what we are paying for (they refused to open the box until we said then we are leaving. The next day on the phone she was rude and shouting and accusing me of planning this so I don’t pay for the balance. I already paid $500 as a deposit. She will not return the money nor is she willing to help. I don’t recommend them at all.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The fireplace door Mrs Pio ordered was custom-made. We went through all details and filled up order sheet form with her. On the Sales Agreement we put very clear the color of trim(we showed her color sample) and with her signature on it. When picking up the door, she said it's not right color. As matter of fact, it is exactly as same as one on Sales Agreement.

Toronto Home Comfort
Visit our Showroom- Fireplaces- Furnace- BBQ's and Outdoor Living
https://www.torontohomecomfort.com/
https://www.instagram.com/tohomecomfort/
416-755-8624

Jim Kelly in Toronto
Jim Kelly in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
3/10

Napoleon Gas Fireplace Installation

We went to Toronto Home Comfort to get a napoleon gas fireplace installed. We have a relatively small living room so our most significant requirement was that it be a small and unobtrusive installation. I expressed to Alex (sales rep.) several times that we wanted the exhaust installed to the minimum height clearance so that a small mantel could be used. When the installer showed up, my wife re-iterated that we wanted the minimum height clearance. The installer tried to pursuade my wife that we should go for a taller exhaust as this would improve the flame of the fireplace. As the flame wasn't our priority, my wife re-stated that we wanted the minimum height clearance.

After the numerous directions about the height clearance, the installer installed the vent pipe with a clearance of 18" from the top of the fireplace to the centre-line of the exhaust. This is 8" higher than the 10" minimum specified by the manufacturer and requested repeatedly by us. Our house is double-brick construction, so re-drilling the exhaust hole to the proper height can't be done (without creating structural issues and an ugly patch-job on the outside wall).

The 8" difference in height now means that we will have to put in a bulkhead to hide the exhaust. If it was installed as we requested, we would have been able to hide the exhaust under the mantle. This would have given us the small, unobtrusive look we were hoping for.

Simply put: We didn't get what we asked for!

Other annoyances:
1) Alex forgot about our 1st appointment to do the on-site estimate. He initially apologized and then later claimed that we had rescheduled the appointment. We didn't. He seems to have trouble keeping-track of his clients.
2) The installer could have cut into the existing gas line that ran withing 6' of the fireplace. Instead he chose to use an old connection-point (for our old water heater) and snake (sloppily) 25' of yellow flexible gas line across the basement roof. Easier for him but it really makes things look sloppy in the basement.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The venting terminal is on the side wall of shared drive way between two houses. The gas code requires at least 7 feet clearance which means vent terminal has to be 7 feet above the ground.
During installation, installer has to raise venting pipe to get 7 feet clearance.
Installer were very polite and kept talking to customer. However, husband was not at home and wife was only one at home but not very much into tech detail.
Toronto Home Comfort
Visit our Showroom- Fireplaces- Furnace- BBQ's and Outdoor Living
https://www.torontohomecomfort.com/
https://www.instagram.com/tohomecomfort/
416-755-8624

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Toronto Home Comfort

Toronto Home Comfort is one of Toronto's biggest Fireplace, Furnace, Air Conditioner, and BBQ's specialists. With over 3000 Sq. Ft. of showroom, we are sure there is something in our store for you to choose. We take great pride in our great and friendly service provided by our installation crew, and do not subcontract any of our work to maintain our standards. With over 30 Years of History, our location is a well known spot in town for all your Home Comfort needs.

CATEGORIES
Fireplaces
PRODUCTS
Fireplaces, Grills, Outdoor Kitchens, Air Conditioners, Ductless AC's, Furnaces,
SERVICES
Sales, Installation, Service, and Repair
BRANDS
Napoleon, Valor, Town and Country, Montigo, Regency,Davinci, Element4, Flare, Trane, Mitsubishi, Weber, Delta Heat, Hestan, American Muscle Grill
SPECIALITIES
Fireplaces, Grills, Outdoor Kitchen, Furnace, and Air Conditioner
WEBSITE
http://www.TorontoHomeComfort.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
35
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
10
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, Interac, Cheque, Visa, MasterCard
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.