Consumers Choice Home Improvements

Formerly Consumers Choice
Windows & Doors Installation & Service
445 Finchdene Square Toronto ON M1X 1B7
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Windows & Doors Installation & Service
Consumers Choice Home Improvements
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

84%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Best of 2019 winner 6 timesBest of 2019winner 6 times

Reviews for Consumers Choice Home Improvements

Average customer rating:
9.1 10 (852 reviews)

Sort by

Adam
Adam
4 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Low quality product with zero company responsibility

In February of 2017 I purchased a new door with the upgraded lock at $450. The lock broke and consumers choice windows said it's not their problem. We were told we had to deal with the US manufacturer. The US manufacturer did not care and are not helpful!

This company will leave you high and dry with a broken door. Nothing makes me feel safe like living in downtown Toronto without being able to lock my doors

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The door & lock were installed March 2017. After one year the products continue to be covered under the manufacturer's warranty. The lock manufacturers warranty is comprehensive and will be able to resolve the issue you are experiencing. I would like to assist. Please call me directly at 416-335-8353, Paul @ Consumer's Choice.

tsalsberg in Toronto
tsalsberg in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Bay window replacements.

Replacement of two bay windows (3, per bay)
My bay windows, four decades old, were obsolete and thus unrepairable. Replacing them with Consumer's Choice was a good move for me. Here's why: 1. I got a great discount from the owner, Stan, and his son, David, largley thanks to my being friends with a close member of their family. This was obviously a privilege and I appreciate it. 2. The rapport between myself and all those I interacted with at Consumer's Choice, not just Stan and David, was very good, never with any significant delays, and the professionalism was high. For example, one expert there explained to me over the phone, when I expressed concern about a Winter installation, how cold weather is no problem with the special all-weather materials they use. The installers, Luca and Alex, were especially competent, kind, considerate and friendly. 3. The quality of the windows installed was and remains great. Some of the features I had never seen nor heard of before, like the easy to install or remove window screens, the hideaway smoothly moving rotating handles for opening and closing the glass part of the screen windows, and the triple glaze centre windows filled with argon gas for energy efficiency. 4. I appreciated the high quality of work done by the re-measurer and installers. It was a wonder seeing the expertly applied caulking; it was like watching a master artist work. On top of doing a job for me as if doing it for their own home, Luka and Alex took extra time to put back in place my time-consuming old-fashioned living room drapes, which are bulky, layered, heavy and held up with dozens of hooks and eyes. The only drawback I feel a bit bothered by was the length of time it took from the day I signed the contract, the 2nd of October, 2017, to the day the windows were installed, the 21st of December, 2017. On the other hand, even though I was told it would be a two day job, Luca and Alex did the installation of two bay windows -- one upstairs and another on the main floor -- all in one day. Installation would have been much more difficult if we had to continue on into the 22nd of December because on that day there was a heavy snowfall. Luca and Alex worked hard, and steadily, with their full concentration on the job in order to avoid that problematic weather.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Tsalsberg. Thank you for the review. We are excited to hear you are happy with new bay windows and our installation team. I will be sure to pass your comments to Luka & Alex. Kind Regards, the Consumer's Choice team.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

Poor Service

They made a mess. The caulking was horrid. They did not clean up properly. They complained. They were horrid. However, the end product - the windows - were not horrible. They broke my bathroom tub, and said that they did not do it. How could I prove it? Ugh.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Private User, I am unable to assist as you have not provided a name to identify yourself. Please contact me so I can look into your installation. Paul 416-335-8353

Lynda  from Scarborough
Lynda from Scarborough
4 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

install rear insulated door

Ordered this door July 24 2018. After many calls and very poor excuses from Consumers Choice this door as of today June 14 2019 is still NOT ready. The delivery date or installation on the contract is November 18 2018. This means nothing to Consumers and tell me they will continue to follow up with their vendor. This company employs the worst business practices I have ever had to deal with. Very frustrating all I want now is my deposit so I can order from another company. Never thought it would take a year to have a door installed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Lynda, please call me directly at 416-335-8353 so I can personally look into your order, Paul

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Markham, ON
0/10

vinyl california window shutters

The vinyl material is not temperature friendly. Throughout the year season, the shutters produce cracking sound. In winter when the heat comes on, they crackling away like toasting chestnut. In summer, with the windows open and when the wind blow in, it crackle. It is very annoying when one is sleeping especially nighttime.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Private User. I am unable to assist you as I don't know who you are. Please call us at 416-335-8323. We would like to investigate your issues. The Consumer's Choice Team.

Lou in Whitby
Lou in Whitby
1 review Whitby, ON
1/10

Replaced 34 Windows with Vinyl Windows

We had a large amount of windows that needed replacing. Their salesman sold us on their vinyl windows because we would never have to worry about painting again, everything is covered under a lifetime warranty. This was the start of many issues dealing with them. There was problems from the start when their manufacturer gave the installers the wrong type window, which led to a 4 month delay, that wound up in court due to their Sales manager making wrongful statements. It was settled out of court. We have now had these windows for 6 years. (installed December 2012). And this winter we noticed all the windows that face east, south and west have all discolored. The vinyl which we were told "will never need to be painted again" didn't last 6 years. The color was their SDT, which is similar to their Sandstone or dark beige. They are now all a shade of light green. The only set of windows that haven't discolored are under the awning or on the north side. Although the ones on the north side are showing signs of discoloration on the sides facing west. These vinyl windows are not worth the money and do not believe their stories of being the best. If your house has any form of sunlight, stay clear of this company. Their customer service is telling me, the manufacturer must have a defect and they will come out and paint them. How can vinyl windows be painted when they are installed? They will only peel off or fade once again because they are poor quality. I have attached 1 photo, I have many since there are 34 windows. The photo shows the color of the windows faded while the wood borders painted around it was the exact color match that was painted in the summer of 2013. Note this pain hasn't peeled and takes the same amount of sun these windows did.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Lou, as per June 13 updated provided to you, the manufacturer will contact you to book an appointment to visit your home to see the windows. As of June 17, we have contacted the manufacturer asking for an update as to when inspection will take place. Paul 416-355-8353

Ali in Toronto
Ali in Toronto
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

There was a minor issue in one of the 5 windows; a technician came and fix the problem: great service and quality. Perfect

There was a minor issue in one of the 5 windows; a technician came and fix the problem: great service and quality. Best price out of 3 other quotes with one custom colour

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Ali. Thank you for the review. Glad to hear you are happy with our product and minor issue was resolved quickly. Enjoy your new windows! Regards, Consumer's Choice Team.

Dorai
Dorai
1 review Toronto, ON
1/10

Very poor customer service

Replaced all the windows, the windows are good, the installing was not so good , but the customer service is horrible. The windows were installed in April of 2017. a couple of windows were not the right size, which they rectified in about a month. One bedroom window they had frosted glass instead of clear glass. Customer service promised to replace it. They have come a couple of times again with frosted glass and a couple of times with the wrong size glass. After numerous calls it is still to be replaced. Now they keep send me demand letters for the balance of the payment and even threatened to put me in collection. Now after
many many calls to the service department the glass still has not been changed. About a month ago the call ed to say that the glass will be replaced they even gave me a time and date today between 9.00 am and 12 pm. the did come at 9.30 but with the wrong size glass. I have called customer service but have not heard from them as yet.

04/16/19
After 6 weeks they came with the replacement and would you know it they again brought the wrong size. to add insult to injury they even
cracked the existing window pane. When Consumers choice is contacted they keep apologizing but now relief in sight. I just hope this time they will bring the correct window pane.

06/25/19
Now after a call inquiring about the glass pane, two months later they call after I called them to say that the glass is ready. At last the pane was replaced today, and immediately the man wanted payment for it. It was only $328.00. they are so slow to give the service but demand payment.
Like I said earlier THE WINDOWS RE GOOD, the installation not so good but the customer service is very very poor.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Dorai. After visiting your home Monday March 25, we determined the reason for the wrong glass being delivered. We have rectified the issue and have new glass ordered. We are also in agreement regarding timing of final payment. Regards, Consumer's Choice Team.

JSK in Scarborough
JSK in Scarborough
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Wrong colour door

Well it's over six months since we placed the order for a new door. Original installation was supposed to be November, then December, finally mid March. The door was kind of installed, when we noticed that the color doesn't match what we ordered. The company has done a poor job at even trying to show us what the origin color was supposed to be. On top of that they removed the door bell, and never put it back. The door lock will not operate will out pushing the door closed. The company is forcing us to take the wrong color. You can right down any color you want on a contract and deliver it. Then just say it matches it. This is your idea of what maybe or may not be right. Then funny enough, your salesman doesn't even work for you anymore. The guy who actually showed us the color we wanted. They refuse to give us the right door, and demanding payment. DO NOT EVER BUY FROM THESE GUYS.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Mr. & Mrs. K I am investigating your concerns. The door bell was not re-installed as the installer was not allowed to complete installation of the door. The colour of the door was written on the contract in two different sections and signed by the homeowner.

monday in Scarborough
monday in Scarborough
2 reviews Toronto, ON
7/10

Project/Rebate

We had 2 bay windows and entry door replaced 10 months ago. We signed a contract in November 2017 and was told that we would get a 5% cheque if we waited until spring. We had to call twice before we received a cheque. We were also told that we would get an eco rebate. I am still waiting for the energy efficiency rebate consumers choice said they would process for me as part of my purchase... I am not holding out hope and I am not convinced that the rebate was processed. We would like to replace a few more windows in the next 2 years but I feel deceived. I have called on several occasions, left emails and never received a response

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi RM. Your Eco rebate was mailed to you upon completion of your project. The cheque was deposited June 13, 2018. Regards Consumer's Choice Team.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Consumers Choice Home Improvements

Categories: Windows & Doors, Siding, Shutters & Blinds, Windows, Doors, Shutters and Blinds, Siding.

Our customers are our best sales people and our business is built on your recommendations, therefore your satisfaction is our primary goal.

Consumer's Choice Home Improvements follows a "High Volume, Low Mark Up Policy", that means the best possible price for a quality job. Consumer's Choice Home Improvements provides the finest home improvement products and warrantees you can find, and always custom made to fit your home.

Consumer's Choice invites you to compare its prices with any other offer for quality products and expert workmanship. Ask about jobs we,ve done in your area and then ask those individuals about our prices, quality and service.

Ask about our Easy Payment Plans". No payments for up to two years with no money down, because we're working harder to serve you. Besides the lowest prices, we offer uncompromising quality and superb service!

When it comes to replacement windows we're the Consumer's Choice, because our windows are simply the best on the market. In just 10 easy steps we can guarantee you an easy installation. In fact our windows are so superior we can't do them justice in this short message. But you can view them in the comfort of your own home by asking our sales department for a demonstration and a Free, no obligation estimate. Do it today!

Consumer's Choice is a select member of the National Window Wise Certification Program. Now you can evaluate the Value and Advantages for yourself! If it's not Window Wise, it's simply not guaranteed!

As Ontario's Leading Home Improver we serve the following regions: Metropolitan Toronto; Oakville; Mississauga; Scarborough; Durham Region; Niagara Falls; St. Catharines; Welland; Brantford; Hamilton; Burlington; and Victoria County.

Consumer's Choice
E-mail:Sales@consumerschoice.ca

CATEGORIES
Windows & Doors Installation & Service
PRODUCTS
Windows, Doors,Patio Doors
SERVICES
Windows, Doors, Patio Doors
WEBSITE
http://www.consumerschoice.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1976
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
40
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, Interact, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
MEMBERSHIPS
BBB, Renomark, SAWDAC, THBA, Window Wise
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Life Time
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.