Reviews

10/10

Replacing the cabinet doors and drawers made my kitchen look BRAND new at a fraction of the cost .... the look is great and Paul's work is precision perfect. GREAT value in Paul's work!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review

0/10

Only 2 years ago we purchased a vinyl floor from the Golden Mile location, Toronto, for our condo along with all the trim, appliances etc, spent about 30,000.... this floor alone was 15,000. The transition pieces have all lifted and come away, and the floor itself is buckling everywhere. We sent pictures to our sales rep, Toni . After that we drove out to the location as we felt we weren't being heard. Met with Toni Bianchi, she assures us this floor has to come up, and Rona would be there for us and not to worry. It took a week for them to contact the vendor, who wouldn't do anything. It took another week for them to send out an installer to check it out, he came, and then they wanted to send out another inspector to check the humidity in the unit. Of course it was normal. Rona did everything they could to point the finger at us or the unit to find fault. After a month of debating amongst themselves, they offered us 10 % off to replace the floor. Naturally we balked and now they offer 25%. We insisted that AT LEAST replace it at cost and meet us half way. Nope, no way. We knew this was a result of bad installation. The trim was installed so poorly i sent pics of it to Toni right after the instal and we were refunded the cost of the trim. The installer clearly did not want to be there as he kept wanting to postpone the installation as he had other jobs and was clearly irritated when we insisted he complete it as we had tenants moving in. He made that very clear. I've shown this floor to 3 other professionals and they all realized immediately it was bad install. Getting a reply from Rona Golden Mile when we need this resolved is really difficult. Now we haven't heard from them in over 10 days. When we were buying, i'd get a call back in 5 mins, but not now. I have to give it to Toni, great sales lady, had me roped right in. But LOUSY at customer service. After spending 15,000 dollars surely anyone can understand how a customer feels after 2 years having to rip up this floor. I found a better deal elsewhere even beating the insulting offer of 25% off. I've been a loyal customer of Rona for YEARS.....but I can't imagine setting foot in a Rona store ever again. Just a huge RIP OFF — in Toronto, Ontario.

Was this review helpful?
2/10

I hired Royal Home Imp. about 10 years ago to build a garage and was very happy with their service and product. This year, in late May, I contacted them due to a rotting front porch, and some wood rot issues above it on a small balcony, plus some other small projects. The porch is fairly small, about 16 ft. wide, and about 12 feet deep with 3 porch steps coming up to it. I met with Paul and he quoted, for the job, i thought pretty high but i wanted that same quality and service. At that point he took a 20% deposit, and then another 40 % a few weeks later, but still the workers didn't show. Finally , in July, after a few prompts from me because I was starting to feel ignored, workers showed up and worked on the porch and were done in 1 day, and then a worker showed up to finish it up. The porch was fine but the work above wasn't completed corrtectly so I called yet again and Paul came out and agreed to send back the carpenters to finish that up. At that point , I summarized a few more jobs around the back yard, fix up some rotting wood on flower boxes, and repair a door on a shed, and replace some bent trim on the house with some cedar planks. He quoted 4,200 plus tax for that plus tax and charged the whole amount that day. After all the work was completed the carpenter wanted payment for some parts, and I knew they were included in the price, but i paid him for it anyway, about 140.00 because somehow i felt he would get stuck with the bill if i didn't , and besides i liked him so i agreed to pay it. I brought this up to Paul and after some arguing on his part I was able to prove it was included and he agreed to give me the refund. Well, that took over 3 weeks with a weekly reminder to Paul that I was still waiting, and after spending one huge amount for such little jobs I was irritated I was getting jerked around for 140 bucks. He put the charges on my card that day with no hesitation but getting back a little bit for an overpayment was a task. Also included in this quote was a ramp of ashphalt up to the garage floor from the outside. It wasn't very long, the length of a two car garage, and about 3 or 4 feet from the lane up to the lip of the floor. Well, they poured the ashphalt and said don't use it for a day. I didn't use it for 2 days and it wasn't hardening, in fact my shoe would sink into the stuff and then of course , track with me into the house. I called Paul after about a week or so and advised him of this, he said, well it's been pretty warm lately. Then 2 weeks later, this stuff is still soft, i could make a snowball with it, and my car was tracking tar all over the place and on my paint. Finally he agreed it needed to be done over again, and that took yet another 2 weeks. So the final product? not bad, but for this crazy price of these very little jobs and the hounding I had to do to get the job started, fixed after the job was finished, the length of time it took, and the little refund that I had to fight for , I 'm naturally disappointed. So my options as a disappointed customer are few. But I can post an honest review of what happened, and I can never call them back. Just bad service and no real concern about how they treated me as a customer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Paul,
Thank you for your review and for the time and effort required.
It is customers like you that remind us that ALL of our Projects should be of the highest quality and your comments
help us to continue improving our service.

We understand that the Project was completed, however your complete satisfaction is what we strive for and therefore, please feel free to contact us to discuss any outstanding items and/or other concerns.

10/10

I have two dogs that always panic when we head to the vet - it's so traumatic. A friend recommended Dr. Jane Berg as she operates her vet service as a mobile service. We have been using the service for a year now, as I have a 14 year old dog dependant on insulin. Dr. Berg delivers the insulin, checks out my dog every 6 weeks or so, costing far LESS than the vet clinic around the corner! And my dogs LOVE her - they have no idea that she's a vet and wag their tails like crazy when she comes - she accommodates my availability time schedule too - we, and the dogs, are SO HAPPY with this service!

Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

My garage door was tagged in 6' letters - a double sized garage door - huge and ugly spray paint - i had seen goodbye graffiti vehicles in the city so i googled them and called - they sent me an estimate in email, I agreed - they showed up when they said they would and the clean job is immaculate. They even left me colour match paint in the event i'm tagged again and i can just brush it over - very impressed and very happy

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I had a slight sewage odor coming up from my drains in my furnace room - i called Drainworks and they were there that day, without an "emergency" fee - did a scope of my drains with me watching, and found the prob and was not the nightmare i had imagined ! Fast, honest, real polite - all around just GREAT!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

**Thanks Paulski** We appreciate your review and thank you for taking the time to share this experience here for all to see. It is a pleasure knowing that we could be of assistance and that you were so happy with the quick and efficient service received. Thanks for choosing DrainWorks. We look forward to being the plumbing and drain service providers you will continue to rely on.

0/10

Called Dyson and paid for repair charges up front, an overhaul is what i asked for, they returned my machine to me not working, i called back, they picked it up again, sent it back , still not working - i called in to repair centre and they advised that I was abusing the machine and would have to charge me once again. I got upset with this and now have one useless, big vacuum ….. i hope whoever responds to this review doesn't encourage me to call the toll free number again - no thanks …. dismal experience

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Paulski,

We’re sorry to hear you’re dissatisfied with the outcome of your machine. Our Repair Centres are fully equipped with the best technicians to support machine related issues. What you've been experiencing is quite unusual and consistent with the handling of the machine, outside of the normal wear and tear. We always recommend following the machine user manuals, as well practice proper use to ensure a machine’s warranty and maintain your machine’s overall performance.

Should you wish to discuss this further, please email service@dysoncanada.ca and our experts will be in touch.

Kind Regards,

Dyson Canada Customer Service

10/10

THE BEST - I bought furnace and air con system from these guys 5 years ago - runs great - had them out to service - they were fast, on time, fixed it up jiffy quick for much less than i thought, AND advised I would probably need to top up air conditioner freeon for about 125 bucks, but then advised didn't need it and it was fine - they are honest guys! Can't go wrong here :)

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Really good value, on time, real pros! Repaired left-over messes from a previous contractor - repaired windows and doors and cleaned up our decks, weather-stripped doors, repaired drywall etc, all fast and on time. GREAT!!!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the kind words. We're very happy we could help, and please feel free to call us again at any time.

0/10

Nightmare. Took 2 YEARS to complete. Contractor, LUCA, was part-time at best, ongoing problems with the job keep haunting us, leaks are major with water coming in (none before the job), house-shifting (splits in drywall, widows cracking) , the floor coming apart, the whole reno was AWFUL to endure, and HSC in no way warrantees this service - maybe company is good for small jobs, but DO NOT ENGAGE them for a major project. They don't return calls hoping you just go away. TERRIBLE

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

BEST service ever - WE had a fireplace built for us using an existing 100 year old chimney, we had it inspected twice by wett certified companies, but they didn't scope it. We weren't comfortable with that and after reading homestar reviews we called Magic Touch - good thing we did. Richard found MANY dangers with the rebuild. Had we lit the fireplace we would have surely had a house fire. Richard was here through the week, and on weekends and worked long, hard hours to make our fireplace safe for our home. It was one of his biggest jobs ever, and one of the most dangerous examples of a fireplace that he'd ever seen....... It was a lot or work...He's a dedicated guy and a perfectionist. Great, great work and we are SO HAPPY to have a fireplace that works and is SAFE to use!!! Richard gave us all a good lesson on how to light and prepare fires etc. Great guy and we will recommend Magic Touch to everybody!!!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the review Paul (and the pictures you e-mailed us). Richard was so happy to turn your fireplace back over to you safe and sound. It was nice for him to light that first fire and know you could just sit and enjoy.

Kindest regards,
Marc

0/10

Worst service ever - they are supposed to guarantee the work of their contractors, they DONT. After many many calls to the company a manager or owner STILL WON'T CALL BACK. Project ran over-budget, way over the time quoted, it was a NIGHTMARE . HSC may be ok for small jobs like a leaky faucet or something, but definately not a large project. Any skilled contractor service would have a web-site and customer base of their own. DO NOT USE THEM for a large project - so many others on homestars to choose from and I fully regret ever letting these guys sell me into their worthless guarantee!!!!!!! I should have checked Homestars first to find a quality company!!!!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
0/10

My boiler was making a whislting sound so i called direct energy/ i have a coverage plan with them for the furnace, technician arrived and said he knew what it was but this part not covered under plan, he installs new part and next day , after charging me 375$ , making SAME NOISE - WORSE, on his way to the boiler he tells me my hot water tank not vented to code, and he has to call his supervisor. I advise that 's what technician said last year, i paid 800$ to vent water heater to their specs one year ago and their technician and supervisor approves it, and NOW he says still not to code and have to replace the water heater with different vent system, so what i did last year was WASTED - company will not refund any money. AWFUL and REDICULOUS - i will NEVER Call them again if you have coverage on any product there are LOTS OF THINGS that are not covered at ALL, but you think you have total coverage - not true - terrible

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi,
I'm with Direct Energy's PR team. I'd like to learn more about the situation you describe above. I can be reached at the email address below.

For others reading this forum, I do remind customers and consumers alike to thoroughly review the terms and conditions of any service contract being considered in order that coverage expectations are clear.

Best,
Crystal

crystal.jongeward@directenergy.com

10/10

I hired Mike referred to me by a friend, to build fencing and repair broken gates, he was timely, great job, cleaned up after himself - would recommend this guy to ANYBODY - very happy customer here

Was this review helpful?
10/10

These guys are real pros - Richard, the owner, came out personally and walked me through the whole project, removing and replacing my old furnace, installing new furnace, and humidifier - we were so impressed we bought a central air unit (our first one!) from him also. As soon as the job was completed, and I walked inside i could immediately feel the difference with the humidifier and air flow - great , great job and highly recommend them - sincere and honsest guys.

Was this review helpful?