Reviews

0/10

I usually post only positive reviews on Homestars, but this one is a notable exception. Hometurf Mississauga is entirely uninterested in providing decent lawncare services - they just want to schedule applications and do the bare minimum to satisfy their obligation. The first visit they made in late spring/early summer 2021 was terrible. The young lady missed half the lawn and seemed entirely oblivious to the actual boundaries of my property. I wrote to complain and Hometurf apologized, asking if I'd like them to reapply. No...I don't want a lawn-scorching second helping of fertilizer thank you. However, it seems the partial application trick is established practice because of course it happened again. The crew either missed or just plain ignored entire sections of my property but were more than happy to stick the treatment sign in the grass. The attached screenshots from the full videos should demonstrate that I back up my complaints with actual footage. To make matters worse, anyone with a remote working knowledge of lawncare knows that things should be done in a certain order, or at particular times of the year. For instance, you don't seed a lawn in the baking heat of July. Or that you aerate first, then overseed. But not Hometurf Mississauga - they just schedule their services at any time to check them off the list. If you're not paying attention, don't see their email or happen not to be home, too bad. The work is done, it's off their list and you've wasted your money. They don't care. With Hometurf Mississauga do not assume that just because you see the little sign stuck in your grass that you've actually received the indicated service. Please go check my other reviews. If a company earns my respect and does a great job I take the time to say so here. So I urge you to please heed my warning and avoid Hometurf Mississauga at all costs.

Approximate cost of services:
$300.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dough, we’re sorry that our services did not meet your expectations. Our clients are extremely important to us, and we would like nothing more than to make it up to you. Please help us to improve our services by providing more information on your experience. We invite you to give us a call at 1-888-791-8873 to discuss the situation further and find a resolution to your problem.

10/10

When we look for companies to do any type of work on our home, we do a ton of research. We check all the usual online resources, read countless reviews, talk to friends, neighbours and seek recommnedations from other contractors. Yet even after all the due diligence, once the work begins we often feel a lingering apprehension about how the job is being managed, and just hope that things will turn out as promised. None of that was the case with Michael and Level Up. Right from the point where we were soliciting quotes, they were the only company that offered to come out to see the site in person before quoting the job, and while doing that Michael offered excellent advice about how we should arrange things based on his experience no matter who we decided to hire. When we engaged Level Up, their designer came out to measure the space and she provided a 3D overview of the proposed layout for our review. She was open to any suggestions and changes we had, and turned around the changes on the drawings usually within a couple of hours at the most. Once we settled on our plan, Level Up provided a detailed timeline of the work and honestly, if it weren't for too many major snowstorms during our project, we could have set our watches to the schedule. The project management was outstanding, and things were done exactly as they were planned. The various crews that came in did professional, outstanding work—not once did Level Up send a "guy who does a bit of everything" to do any of the critical work. Even better, Michael was always quick to respond to questions as we went along and always made sure we were up to speed on the status of the work. We couldn't be happier with our decision to choose Level Up and we will absolutely be recommending them to everyone.

Approximate cost of services:
$80,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Doug,
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to post this review about your Basement Finishing experience with Level Up Group. It was our pleasure to work with you!!!

Enjoy your basement for many years...
Thank you
Level up group

10/10

We had a smaller job due to a hole in part of our roof, so we didn't need a complete roof. This was a bit of a concern for us because of the worry about matching colours - the existing roof is over 10 years old. Michael came out to take a piece of the existing shingle to determine what shingle would ensure the best match and his crew returned the next day to install. The match is perfect, the work is excellent and we couldn't be happier. We'd definitely recommend Quality First Roofing to anyone.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,800.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hey Doug
I like overseeing every aspect of the business to ensure a satisfactory result . Thanks for entrusting our company with your project. I appreciate the great review!
Sincerely
Michael

10/10

We needed a replacement for our front door. It was the original builder's door (read: cheap) and it was getting drafty and looked badly beaten up. After reading the reviews, we contacted Michael at Ambia who came out and gave us a number of recommendations. We decided to go with his advice and we ordered a fiberglass door with the wood grain appearance. We were tired of the old door with the giant window giving solicitors full view of the house so we went with a solid door. Are we glad we ever did. It was a bit of a wait between ordering and installation, but it was right in line with Michael's estimate of time. When George the installer was done with the installation, we noticed a couple of things we didn't like. It was probably a matter of personal taste, but we contacted Michael to see what they could do and he opened up a work order. Sure enough, George came back out today to make it right for how we wanted it to look. We're VERY impressed with that level of customer service. Thank you Michael, George and the whole Ambia team. We've dealt with many many contractors in this house over the past few years - some good, many bad -- and you are definitely one that we would use again. Thank you!!

Approximate cost of services:
$3,000.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Doug , we appreciate your feedback and the photo of the door , we are happy that we have earned your trust and confidence. Thank's again for your review and for choosing Ambia


First Review

10/10

On the recommendation of a neighbour, we called Abell to assess our "small" mouse problem. We were finding occasional droppings in the kitchen and other parts of the house and I thought I was successfully taking care of the problem with a solitary electronic trap and the mouse poison from the hardware store. Gary came out and did an inspection and he knew his stuff. He explained to us the life cycle of mice, how and where they like to nest, behaviours etc., and most importantly - that we had a bigger issue than just one or two mice. He also said the store-bought poison was just food for mice in Ontario - they are immune! He placed bait stations in a number of areas in the house and asked us to schedule a revisit in 30 days. When he came back, we discovered many of these bait stations were completely empty - our small mouse problem was MUCH bigger than we knew. He replenished the bait on his follow-up and, for my interest, I set up a camera to watch one of the busier locations. Sure enough more mice came to feed but over a span of 2 weeks the numbers dropped and dropped until eventually there was no activity. I highly recommend Abell not only for the effectiveness of their program, but for their expertise and responsiveness in dealing with the issue.

Approximate cost of services:
$300.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Derrick from SWAT called me when he arrived on site. He was very thorough with his description of the work that had to be done, his recommendations and suggestion plan of action. Being early May, he said the skunks living under our shed likely had babies, so it wouldn't be a good time to install a one-way door. He went ahead and trenched around the perimeter of the shed and installed the screening but left the existing opening free. He will return in 5 weeks to install the door once the babies are mobile. All in all a very professional approach and we couldn't be happier with SWAT!

Approximate cost of services:
$600.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Doug for the great review! Baby season can be tricky especially when you can't actually get a visual on the babies. Thank you for understanding that humane wildlife removal can require patience sometimes! We appreciate you taking the time to write us this review.

10/10

Our brand new furnace conked out two weeks after installation. We called Reliance's main number and had a terrible time with their central support trying to get someone out to service. However, when we finally DID, John Saliba came out again (we've had him before) and he did a great and quick job getting our heat back on. He clearly knows this equipment inside and out!

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Narrow down the service window.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much for sharing your experience Doug. We're glad that John was able to address the issue quickly. RM