Hometurf Lawn Care Service

Weed Control
7123 Fir Tree Dr Mississauga ON L5S 1G4
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Weed Control
Hometurf Lawn Care Service
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

90%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Best of 2020 winner 5 timesBest of 2020winner 5 times

Reviews for Hometurf Lawn Care Service

Average customer rating:
9 10 (2716 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Avoid at all costs

Retaining this company this season was the biggest mistake. Avoid them at all costs. They do not come when promised, to the point that I had to call to get the treatment rescheduled. Then when they finally arrived they failed to apply the additional compost with seed that I paid extra for, even though the service sheet they dropped off wrongly says they did. Additionally, I called twice in advance of the visits to ask that they comment on the type of weed grass we’re overwhelmed by and advise how to address it. I was told by customer service that this information should be automatically part of the process and again today that part of the service form was totally blank.

It seems that the goods reviews of this company are historical and something has clearly changed - the online complaints and negative reviews this year are legion.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We’re sorry that you are unhappy with the services you have received. In order to prioritize getting this situation resolved for you in a timely manner, please send us a note to contact@hometurf.ca and we will redirect this to our customer service manager who will reach out to solve the issue.

Carol
Carol
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Home turf Lawn Care Service

I have been a customer for several years and every year my lawn continues to improve. They have great customer service and I would strongly recommend them to anyone looking for lawn care.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We’re thrilled to hear that you've enjoyed the services our team provided you over the years, Carol! We understand the difficulties in achieving a healthy green lawn, and we’re very happy to assist you. Thank you again for sharing such a positive experience. It means the world to us!

Larry
Larry
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Destroyer of my lawn!

My lawn had lush thick green clover. The technician came by and put Fiesta weed control PCP# 29535. It basically destroyed my lawn. If I could I would rank their service as -1 stars, but zero is as low as I'm allowed to go.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Larry, we're sorry to hear you had a less than satisfactory experience with Hometurf. In some instances following the fiesta application, your lawn may appear dark/black if weed infestation is heavy, but fear not as the product will not harm your lawn and the coloration will disappear within 7 to 10 days. Please let us know if anything changes after this time period.

Marky Mark
Marky Mark
0 reviews Toronto, ON
3/10

Bad initial experience but they mad good

Did a terrible job but when called to complain, they did come back and made good on the work. It took a while for them to come back, but they did. It would have been nice if things were done right the first time, but at least it is done.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Hometurf, Mark! Your insight into your experience with our company helps us to grow and improve our business. We always welcome feedback from clients, so feel free to contact us if you have any suggestions or concerns.

Vivek in North York
Vivek in North York
1 review Milton, ON
1/10

Poor Customer service

I had requested for liquid lawn aeration to be done in spring. I confirmed this over a phone call (prior to even signing up for the program). After signing up, I sent an email in March, just to remind them. When the aeration was not done after the first application, I again reminded them. In all cases, I received a standard reply that "it has been noted in the account.". At no point Hometurf informed me that there are certain constraints even for liquid aeration and that it can be done only between June-Oct. Only after 3rd email reminder and another phone call to the customer service, I was told this information.
If there were constraints, then I should have been informed earlier so that I would have made another arrangement. Even on phone calls they dont try to fully understand the concern and give a standard reply.
Hometurf management should take a note of it and understand that customers are not lawn experts. They need to be made aware of things that impact certain lawn applications.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Vivek, we’re sorry to hear of your less than satisfactory experience and hope you will accept our sincerest apologies.  We are committed to providing great customer service and we would like to make things right. Please feel free to send us a message at contact@hometurf.ca to determine how we can provide you with a solution. We value our customers’ opinions and would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Hamilton, ON
10/10

Lawn Maintenance

Have provided excellent service for the past 2 years. Have suggested many great tips regarding my lawn care. Have responded quickly any time I have made contact with their head office.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, we appreciate your business and that you took the time to share your experience with the community! We look forward to another great season by your side.

Dave Panucci from Brampton
Dave Panucci from Brampton
4 reviews Brampton, ON
10/10

Lawn Care

- Quick and efficient. They arrive, open the gates and close after they leave.
Great service, I was very pleased with their service.
I would recommend them to anyone.
I have been with them for many years.
Thank-you

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the services our team provided you, Dave! We understand the difficulties in achieving a healthy green lawn, and we’re very happy to assist you. Thank you again for sharing such a positive experience. It means the world to us!

Jeroo in Hamilton
Jeroo in Hamilton
3 reviews Hamilton, ON
10/10

Service

Hometurf has provided me with excellent service for all the time that I have been with them. I would recommend them to my family and friends with no hesitation Period

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, Jeroo! It means so much when our customers share their experiences. We’re thrilled we were able to meet and exceed your expectations!

Sophia in Toronto
Sophia in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
8/10

Lawn Maintenance

I have used Hometurf for many years now. They are competitively priced and their service is excellent. I just haven't seen a significant difference in the look of my yard in terms of weeds. The herbicides that they are able to use are ineffective.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, Sophia. We’re sorry you had a bad experience with our weed removal service. We’ll strive to do better. Please feel free to leave us a message and we will contact you to understand the situation better and create a solution together.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Aurora, ON
10/10

lawn care

We have used Hometurf Lawn Care for a number of years and we are completely satisfied with their service and the products they use. Our lawn has never looked better!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are thrilled to have you as part of the Hometurf family! Thank you for sharing your kind words with us. It means the world to us and to our entire team! We look forward to working with you again!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Hometurf Lawn Care Service

At Hometurf Lawn Care, we have been treating the lawns of our loyal customers for over 30 years. As a family-owned and -operated business, we have grown by delivering lush, healthy, green lawns while using only the highest quality products applied by professional lawn care technicians. Let us help you make your lawn look its best this season!

Our season-long lawn care programs take the guess work out of which products to use and when. Applications are scheduled to be applied four to six weeks apart throughout the season for optimal turf care. We strive to ensure everything your lawn needs is included in our programs. No telemarketing or sales calls pushing unnecessary extras.

Our services include: lawn care programs, lawn maintenance programs, fertilizer, weed control, insect control, aeration, grass seeding, dethatching, top dressing, chinch bug control and grub control.

CATEGORIES
Weed Control and Lawn Maintenance
PRODUCTS
Lawn Care Programs, Fertilizer, Weed Control, Insect Control, Aeration, Grass Seeding, Dethatching, Top Dressing
SERVICES
Lawn Care Programs, Fertilizer, Weed Control, Insect Control, Aeration, Grass Seeding, Dethatching, Top Dressing
WEBSITE
http://www.hometurf.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1988
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
50
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque, Visa, MasterCard, Online Banking
LICENSES
Ministry of Ontario Landscape Exterminator, Ministry of Ontario Pesticide Operator License
MEMBERSHIPS
Landscape Ontario, Professional Lawn Care Association of Ontario, CNLA, OIPMA, PLANET, PLCAA
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
No project too small
BONDED
Yes
PROJECT RATE
Varies based on property size.
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.