Reviews

10/10

After deciding to replace our conventional storage tank water heater we used Homestars to get quotes from the top rated companies. Coretemp was easily head and shoulders above the rest. From the first meeting, Richard was very knowledgeable, personable and very outgoing. Richard wasn't pushy and even offered free DIY advice on my basement renovation re: optimizing the HVAC. His counterpart Eric came a couple weeks before the install to put in the intake pipe for the tankless. Eric was also very pleasant, tidy, organized, and worked diligently. Richard and Eric are great. I will not hesitate to use them in the future. Thanks guys! We love our new Rinnai!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review Shaun. We're happy to hear you are pleased with our services and we appreciate your recommendation. We look forward to working with you again. Enjoy your endless hot water!

10/10

Hired Mohammad to provide advice on removing a couple of walls for a residential basement renovation. Mohammad advised which walls could be removed, and where supports would continue to be required. He provided additional advice on repairing a crack on a 20ft wall and where structural supports would be required to support a modified staircase.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Shaun, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Our goal is customer satisfaction and it sounds like we achieved that goal with you.

10/10

I hired Dryshield to fix a crack in my basement. The reason I selected Dryshield was because of the number of extensive positive reviews on their profile and their 25-year warranty. Dryshield was very responsive from the initial quote through delivery and follow-up, and I definitely don't have any regrets for hiring them. Brian was the individual Dryshield sent to fix my crack, no pun intended. He was knowledgeable and professional and took the time to explain the the process, which requires the homeowner to do some cleanup a few days after. Even though Brian explained the process the job was a lot messier than I expected; the substance injected in the wall formed a large puddle on my basement floor as the crack at some points wouldn't retain the substance. Brian had to use hydraulic cement to finish the job, but the substance continued to flow out for a few hours after Brian left. I notified Dryshield of my situation and Jonathan, the owner of Dryshield, responded within minutes. He let me know that Brian would be back to do the cleanup. Brian contacted me the next day to coordinate timing and worked diligently cleaning it up.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you Shaun for the great review. Our team at DryShield truly appreciates you taking the time to leave one and we value your business. Thanks so much!

0/10

I'll start by saying this review cost me $100. I chose to forgo my refund to enlighten others with the awful experience I had with Convertible Heating and Air Conditioning - in particular, with Sam the owner. A technician, Mike, was sent to take a look at a leak that was being caused by my AC unit. Mike insisted that 99% of the time the issue is caused by a blocked drainage from the plenum. He checked the hose and the connector, and even though there was no clog, he insisted that he must have cleared it. I asked if he could open up the plenum and look at the tray, because I knew there was the possibility that the tray could have been cracked. Mike didn't have any aluminum foil duct tape so he elected not to open the plenum. He insisted that if the leak continued he would come back and wouldn't charge us the $100 service fee again. When we followed-up with the technician 4 days later, we were told that he wouldn't charge the $100 fee, but that he would have to charge $75/hour if we wanted him to open the plenum. He failed to mention this fee on his initial visit. Had Mike mentioned this on his first visit we would have told him to inspect the plenum and I would have purchased the foil and resealed the duct on my own. When I called Sam (the President) to voice my displeasure, Sam was argumentative and kept insisting that I heard the technician incorrectly. His rhetoric was insulting and offensive. It wasn't until I mentioned that I would leave him a raving HomeStars review did he mention that he'd send me a refund, but only after a few days, since, as Sam put it, I may be "vindictive".... I guess you were right...enjoy my $100!!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

There is one fact in your review that I can not deny...you ARE "vindictive". If you have read this review then you need to be aware of the following facts:

(1) This equipment was not installed by our company.

(2) Our service rates are $89 + HST for the first 30 minutes and then an additional $75 per hour for any time following. When our technician realized he would need to make a second trip he let the customer know that he would not be charged the initial $89 for the first 30 minutes on the second trip. He would simply start paying the $75 per hour rate. This is normal protocol for our service people.

(3) The service man did what he should have. He checked the drain line for obstructions that would cause the leak and found it to be clear. Normally we would allow the system to run so that we can test to see if the leak had stopped before we started more invasive and more expensive diagnostic work. Whether we opened up the plenum on the original night or opened it on another night it would still have cost the customer $75 per hour to do so.

(4) At the end of the day we ended up with an unhappy customer. We offered him his money back but he declined and decided he would rather post an undeserved review on Homestars. Who in there right mind would do this? A "vindictive" customer...

Grant White
Service Manager

10/10

Just wanted to share our wonderful experience with Jeremy. My wife was pregnant at the time, with the baby due within weeks. We were on a tight timeline to get all our projects done in our home. Though we originally hired him to paint the upper floor of our home, he ended up delivering so much more. We had him scrape the popcorn ceiling on our upper floor and plaster/paint the ceiling as well as paint all the rooms. While he was working at our home, we ended up getting a nasty leak in our second floor laundry room that was leaking through to our dining room. With Jeremy's expertise, he was able to locate the leak, repair it, and repaint the ceiling in our dining room. My wife went into labor early, and he put in the extra time to ensure everything was ready for when she arrived home with the newborn baby. Jeremy does an amazing job, is very detail oriented, and we would definitely recommend him !

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the great review Shaun!

10/10

Installed crown moulding on the entire first floor of my home. Expert crown molding was on time and performed the work according to our agreement. They were fast and clean, and moved my furniture without damaging it, or scratching the hardwood floors. The finished product looks amazing. I did have an issue with them not correctly positioning my doorbell, as it needed to be moved to install the moulding, but this was an easy fix. I will definitely use their services again.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Had 27 potlights installed by Mr.Potlight in the fall 2012. They were generally clean and used dropcloths where possible. They were extremely accurate in their measurements and alignment of lights across rooms. I had purchased pendant lights to install over my kitchen island, but was advised that the pendants wouldn't provide enough light. I installed 3 potlights overhead instead, and couldn't be happier with the results. Mr.Potlight also installed a chandelier I purchased free of charge, and changed 6 of my switches to dimmers. I would definitely use them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks