Reliance Home Comfort Calgary

Heating & Air Conditioning
3953 112 Ave SE, Unit 111 Calgary AB T2C 2Z6
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars
Heating & Air Conditioning
Reliance Home Comfort Calgary
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

78%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2019 winner 2 timesBest of 2019winner 2 times

Reviews for Reliance Home Comfort Calgary

Average customer rating:
8.3 10 (274 reviews)

Sort by

MCarr in Calgary
MCarr in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
2/10

Air conditioner unit not installed properly

Installers seemed to not have a lot of experience installing the unit and it took them 8 hours to install one unit. Thermostat was installed incorrectly. AC technician said they installed the wrong thermostat- it was google nest. Now waiting for a part. This has drawn on for months and the heat is here Just want the unit fixed

Approximate cost of services:
$5,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I do apologize for the poor experience, if you need further assistance please email and I would be happy to help. ncousley@relianccomfort.com Thanks Nicole

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Messy and confusing billing statements

First of all they sat up planes are not what I wanted. Cause me 2 days of calling to solve this issue
Second, each month cycle of billing is different . Some time is only 22 days but charged me a full month of fee.
Third , every time I call billing department, staffs sound like they don’t really know what they are talking about.
Really a confusing company to deal with

Approximate cost of services:
$23.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I’m sorry to hear about your disappointment. Please email me with your account details at gwillson@reliancecomfort.com and I will be happy to follow up on your experience and concerns. - Gemma

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Furnace Troubleshooting

It was a bad experience with the HVAC specialist who came to fix my furnace. He was rude. Didnt like the questions I asked and refused to answer. He was continuously trying to agree us to get the motor replaced without looking in depth to what the issue was. He insisted that the fan motor and capacitor needs to be replaced. When I asked him more, he refused to explain. Taking advantage of the emergency situation. Finally, I just paid him the visiting fee and got another person to look at it the next day. It was just a loose wire. ETHICS is important when providing such service.

Approximate cost of services:
$99.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am sorry to hear you had a troubling experience. If you require assistance please email me with your account details at gwillson@reliancecomfort.com - Gemma

Vernon in Calgary
Vernon in Calgary
0 reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Monthly service contract is a joke

My late husband and I had service contracts with Reliance for about 20 years. During the recent frigid weather (-30), my furnace broke down. Reliance told me I would go on their "list" and they would be out in 3 DAYS' time. Obviously, I couldn't wait that long and found a company that came out that same day. The service fee for that repair was $547.50, which would have been zero with the service contract from Reliance. So I'm out all that money as well as the 20 years of monthly service fees paid to Reliance. DO NOT BUY A SERVICE CONTRACT FROM THIS COMPANY!!!!

Approximate cost of services:
$31.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am sorry to hear about your disappointment. If there is anything I can assist you with please email me at gwillson@reliancecomfort.com - Gemma

Rebecca in Calgary
Rebecca in Calgary
0 reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

WORST service I have EVER experienced

**SECOND EDIT. FEBRUARY, AND THE NONSENSE CONTINUES IN A NEW WAY: Well, submitting a scathing Google review got their attention, and we FINALLY got me added to the account and our AC installed. HOWEVER, the headaches have CONTINUED!! We were meant to have 3 mos free on all three of our services, but we have now received 2 BILLS (it is February - we should not be being billed until April)!! When we received the first bill, we called right away, and the situation was supposedly "dealt with" - we even confirmed that our next billing date would be in April. Then, lo and behold, due to some "mistake" we were billed again this month for NOT ONLY THIS MONTH'S SERVICES (which we don't owe them), but ALSO LAST MONTH'S!! Called AGAIN, and supposedly it's been dealt with again, but I will believe it only once it's done with these people.
In addition, we are still owed the winter cover that was meant to come with the AC. We were told when the AC was installed that it was backordered (which is fine), and that we would be contacted within a few weeks (which would be the start of Feb). End of Feb now, and - surprise, surprise - NO CALL. Called again and - like the bills - I should "expect it to be fixed." Again, I will believe it when I see it. WORST EXPERIENCE EVER. Why do I need to call you multiple times to get you to do WHAT YOU PROMISED?!?!**

*EDIT: And the disappointment continues!! Just called to check to at least make sure the billing for our AC would not start until 3 months after it's installed (per our agreement, regardless of whether the furnace & water tank have already gone in - if we got 3 mos free on the AC, that AC should be in before they start counting) and I'm not even listed on the account!! I literally stood next to my partner and signed the forms with him, but somehow that didn't translate to us both being on the account?! Just wow. So, now he has to call to add me. Such lousy service, I can't even fathom. ZERO stars for a reason.*

I am extremely disappointed in the service my partner and I have received so far from Reliance!
We signed up for a new rental water heater, furnace, and AC unit at the end of 2021 and were told that installation would take one day for all three items. Not only did installation of only TWO of the items (furnace and water heater) end up taking TWO days (which my partner had to take off work to supervise), but now we are being told that our AC won't be installed until SPRING! I don't understand why we were not informed of this when we signed the agreement?!?!?! We will be paying rent on three items - I don't feel that it's unreasonable of me to expect them all to be installed when we do! And of course, we have had to chase people down with multiple texts and phone calls to even get this poor degree of information and service. TOTALLY unacceptable. Truly regretting ever signing on with them right now. Hope they do something to rectify it (and that I don't have to harass them into doing so).

Approximate cost of services:
$18,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am sorry to hear about your disappointment. If there is anything I can assist you with please email me at gwillson@reliancecomfort.com - Gemma

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Over promised under delivered

What a total clown show this company is! Replaced furnace and added an air conditioner. Installed the wrong equipment and had to argue with the installers to get what I am now stuck paying for, not to mention the horrible job installing the outside unit. Have never received a monthly statement but received a call demanding payment despite setting up auto payments. Finally had someone reach out to apologize for all the screwups and offered a credit but never received it. Took another month to get it applied but now have late charges for the missed payments. When I inquired, the customer service specialist refused to resolve it.

I am now stuck with a seven year contract with a company that seems to pride itself in going out of its way to show how little they care about their customers. I regret ever calling them.

Approximate cost of services:
$10,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am sorry to hear about your disappointment. If there is anything I can assist you with please email me at gwillson@reliancecomfort.com - Gemma

Mary in Calgary
Mary in Calgary
3 reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Lien against my property

In 2017 I called Reliance Home Comfort for an air conditioner. The sales person came out and showed me my options. After talking with him he convinced me with going with a rental as opposed to financing because of the perks that come along with a rental. Now 4 years later I am refinancing my mortgage and have found out that there is a lien against my property for the equipment. Nowhere in the conversation did the sales representative say that this was condition to rental. These things need to be made aware to the consumer so that they can make an informative decision. The sales person should go through the contract and indicate section that are of importance instead of trying to make the quick sale. I am thinking that more commission comes with rental that is why he was so adamant about going with the rental option. To top it off I can't even get through to their legal department to get answers as to how to deal with this. their mailbox is full and no response to my email sent as well. DO NOT EVER USE RELIANCE HOME COMFORT FOR ANYTHING! The company is dishonest. How dare they mess with people's livelihood.

Approximate cost of services:
$6,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I’m sorry to hear about your disappointment Mary. Please email me with your account details at gwillson@reliancecomfort.com and I will be happy to follow up on your experience. - Gemma

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
2/10

Service

Absolutely awful service. I was sold a $660 replacement part which did not fix the problem. During a follow up visit by a new Senior Service Technician I was informed that new part that was sold to me "never breaks" and he had never seen one installed in all his years in the business. The problem could not be identified or fixed so he promised to phone me at 9 AM the next morning. He did not. I phoned the company and left 4 or 5 messages over the course of the next 5 days. I never received a return call. Awful. Awful.

Approximate cost of services:
$660.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello, I am sorry to hear that you have had a troubling experience. If you would please email your account details, and a further description of your situation, I would be happy to help. Thank you, Summer – smckay@reliancecomfort.com

Ryan from Calgary
Ryan from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
4/10

Horrible Communication, Disorganzied, Offshore Customer Service

Difficult communication with sales rep, confusion around install date, had to chase them for $200 credit owed. However, Gemma at head office cleaned up the mess super quick once I reached out. Price of the AC install was ultra competitive and a free Google Nest Thermostat was icing on the cake.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,880.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello, thank you for choosing Reliance Home Comfort, I do apologize for the troubles experienced. Thank you - Summer

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Air conditioner

We did not get what we were promised. It took them tow days to install. The installer asked us to contact the sales agent but he keeps saying he is busy. The AC is not working. Was told someone will come but no one showed up. Sad. Very sad. I totally regret this move. Don’t believe what they say.

Approximate cost of services:
$6,900.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Very sorry to hear about this. If you require assistance please email me with your account details. jdeboo@reliancecomfort.com -Jessica

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Reliance Home Comfort Calgary

At Reliance, the safety and well-being of both our Customers and our Team Members is always our top priority. We are actively monitoring the Coronavirus (COVID-19) situation and are taking precautionary measures to aid in keeping our communities safe. We have implemented strict safety protocols to provide both our Customers and Team members with peace of mind during this challenging time. We continue to provide the exceptional customer experiences we are so well known for and want you to know that we are here for you when you need us.

To help with prevention, we are taking the following precautionary measures to protect our Customers.

Our Team Members have been equipped with an ample supply of:

* Hand sanitizers
* Disinfectant wipes
* Masks
* Single-use gloves
* Boot covers

We know that this is a difficult time for all and we want you to know that we will be there for you and are taking all the necessary precautions to keep you and your family comfortable and safe.

Reliance Home Comfort has been delivering high quality home comfort products and services for over 40 years. Specializing in furnaces, air conditioners and water heaters, we provide our customers with peace of mind and are with you every step of the way. When you choose Reliance, you’re choosing one of the largest HVAC providers in Canada, with over 1.2 million customers and growing. You can expect your call to be answered 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.

Furnaces, Air Conditioners, Water Heaters, Air Purifiers, Boilers, Humidifiers, Ductless Air Conditioners
888-837-1451 is a TOLL FREE No., please feel free to contact!!

CATEGORIES
Heating & Air Conditioning
PRODUCTS
Furnaces, Air Conditioners, Water Heaters, Air Purifiers, Boilers, Humidifiers, Ductless Air Conditioners
SERVICES
Protection Plans, Service & Repair
BRANDS
Carrier, Lennox, Goodman, Rheem, Amana, Smart Air, Rinnai
WEBSITE
https://www.reliancehomecomfort.com/Pages/Calgary.aspx
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.