Harris Plumbing

Plumbing
Head Office: 7-18 Alliance Blvd ON l4m 5a5
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Plumbing
Harris Plumbing
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

89%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2020 winner 2 timesBest of 2020winner 2 times

Reviews for Harris Plumbing

Average customer rating:
8.9 10 (165 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Gravenhurst, ON
10/10

Plumbing services

Jamie and Alex arrived on time, did efficient and neat work, they really listened to us describe our plumbing problem, and came up with an excellent solution. Would definitely call them again if we need plumbing help. Thanks!

Was this review helpful?
lyndsay.badger in Newmarket
lyndsay.badger in Newmarket
1 review Innisfil, ON
10/10

Very professional and was quick

Wednesday evening our house had no water. We were referred to Harris by a friend. Once called, they came out quickly to check our pressure tank. Got the bad news that it was the well pump instead but gave us a price breakdown right then and there and said he could make it back first thing in the morning to replace the pump. Thursday morning he was at our place. Poor guy ended up coming alone and pumps are very heavy and down very deep but he got the pump out and replaced it quickly. Went over everything we needed to do and showed us what valves did what. He educated us and was very patient and professional. We would use them again any day and highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Lyndsay, thank you so very much for your wonderful review of our recent plumbing service. It was our pleasure to assist you with your emergency water issue. (always glad our guys and so strong AND skilled.) We will always be here for you!

Thank you again!
your team at Harris Plumbing

cd.soave in Newmarket
cd.soave in Newmarket
0 reviews Newmarket, ON
10/10

Fixed our sewer back up

I would like to say a special thank you to Harris plumbing company coming to our rescue when we had a sewer back up. Paddy, your guidance and knowledge was greatly appreciated and with out your help and your whole crew, I don’t know what I could of done. Our problem was resolved and well done! I would recommend Harris Plumbing to my friends and family.
Thank you
Cinzia Soave

Was this review helpful?
ashlee in Newmarket
ashlee in Newmarket
1 review Newmarket, ON
10/10

Replacing 3 shut off valves

We had called for shut off valves and faucet installation. Brenden came to our house to replace 3 shut off valves under the kitchen sink. He was polite and was done in about 20 minutes. The faucet installation appointment ended up being cancelled because we couldn't wait an extra 2 days.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Ashlee, thanks so much for this great review of your experience with us here at Harris Plumbing! Brenden, and all of our amazing, highly skilled plumbers are extremely focused on efficiency and quality workmanship..especially on Saturdays when we only assist folks with emergencies like yours. Sorry we couldn't do the faucet install for you as well but we do reserve weekends for emergencies only - and we get a lot of them! Way to go for installing it yourself! Thanks again Ashlee, we really appreciate your business.

L G.
L G.
1 review Newmarket, ON
10/10

Bathroom

A huge thank you to Alex from harries plumbing for taking care of our bathroom faucet so quickly and efficiently. Alex was very professional. Highly recommend them for any plumbing jobs

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Richmond Hill, ON
10/10

Plumbing Repairs

Over the 2020 Victoria Day long weekend I had a need for an urgent plumbing repair. I called Harris Plumbing and they were able to dispatch a plumber to help me by the end of the day. I was grateful that they came during a long weekend and with the pandemic crisis in full swing. Thank you Harris Plumbing for your usual outstanding customer service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there, thanks so much for putting your review on our HomeStars page. We're so happy you called us on the long weekend and we loved helping you! Thanks again!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Barrie, ON
0/10

Sump pump

I am extremely disappointed with Harris Plumbing. I will never use this company again nor will I recommend them. I had a sump pump installed by them that I have had serious issues with. They will not return to fix the issues without a charge! The sump they installed is under warranty but Harris Plumbing wants to charge me to return and look at the pump. Harris Plumbing does not stand behind its work. I would never recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello, is this Jerry? If not could you please call our office to discuss.
If this is Jerry, it is unfortunate that you are disappointed however we were already at your home early May to service this pump for you on a Saturday night when you called...
The actual 4 year old main pump that we repaired for you was past warranty and we replaced the float for you. Is it still not working properly?
The backup system is what my service manager is checking on with the manufacturer for you. He will contact you directly asap.
If we have not responded to you in our usual timely fashion it is due to the fact that all our staff are working from their homes and on cell phones so communications are a bit of a challenge.
For that we apologize. We will contact you to discuss exactly what is happening and of course we will do what we can and what you approve us to do.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Barrie, ON
0/10

Terrible experience !

I bought my house in 2015 - it has 2 bathrooms one above the other.
In winter 2017 the toilets started to give problems of slow draining. I asked around and Harris Plumbing were recommended to me
Their technician came and “snaked” a clump of tree roots out of the drains. He then put a camera through the drain and told me the drains were slow because the 50 year old main sewer pipe made of an asbestos type material had collapsed so tree roots were able to penetrate into the house plumbing. He told me they would need to dig down to the old pipe and replace it with new plastic pipe. Because it would be replaced from the house foundation wall right out to the street It would need a back-hoe to dig down and cost $10,823.14 – but their work carried a 20 year guarantee!!!
I was shocked but as they had come on referral and their assessment made sense I agreed to the replacement. They dug an almost 3 meter deep trench across my front lawn, showed me the old collapsed pipe, supposedly replaced it all and back-filled the trench.
Later that summer we got slow draining toilet issues again and they told me it was probably due to the old toilets. I bought 2 new toilets and they installed them. In December 2018 we had slow drain issues again and then sewage backed up into the basement floor drain. Harris Plumbing came and pulled out more tree roots! The plumber said he “had an idea” what might be causing the problem and would return with a camera “to check it out”. I then got a bill for $725.38. He never returned. I called and spoke with one of the managers but he brushed me off so I wrote to the owner of the company who subsequently called me and I explained my frustrations. He said the tree roots must have been “left over” from before the work was done. I asked why they hadn’t back-augered the house pipes while they had access from the open drain but he couldn’t provide a logical explanation. He agreed to waive their bill on this occasion and “to call again if there were any further problems”.
In January 2020 we had slow draining toilets again so I called Harris Plumbing – they never returned my calls so I asked another company to come. Once again they pulled out a clump of tree roots at a cost of over $500.
In May this year, right in the middle of the Covid-19 situation the sewer drain back flowed into the basement again so I called Harris Plumbing again. The woman who answered promised someone would call but they never did. I hired another plumbing company who came with a remote camera and discovered that a 8-9 feet section of the original sewer pipe was still present and collapsed so much that he was unable to get his camera beyond it. His opinion was this section of drain has been the primary blockage from the very beginning. This again cost me $500.
In the last week, I have called Harris Plumbing several times, sent 2 further letters and a copy of the video showing the problem. They have not responded to my e-mails or voicemails and it seems they now block my calls.
It is clear that for nearly 3 years they have tried to cover up the fact they left a significant section of the old pipe and did not completely replace it with new plastic pipe all the way from the house to the street as detailed in their work order. They have continually billed me for the work they do.
How can this company claim on their website that “OUR FAMILY OWNED AND OPERATED BUSINESS PROUDLY SERVES OWNERS OF RESIDENTIAL, COTTAGE AND COMMERCIAL PROPERTIES WITH COMPASSIONATE SERVICE, THE HIGHEST QUALITY OF WORK AND DEDICATION TO GET THE JOB DONE RIGHT - THE FIRST TIME”
Courteous Care, Incredible Service, 100% Customer Satisfaction…………

My main sewer is still blocked by a faulty 9 foot section of the original old pipe yet this company has refused to fix it which is causing my sewer to back up into the house.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Our service manager Mike is currently communicating with you and we are locating and will provide you with detailed documentation from 2015 an forward. According to our records both Steve Harris (on January 15, 2020) and Rick Harris (on December 7, 2018) discussed the replacement of the under-floor section with you twice and you declined as it was a rental property. As a plan B we offered to auger it for you at a reduced rate when required. We do apologize that during this COVID-19 situation our office and field staff are limited and our phones are currently being answered as best we can. We will be in contact with you again next week.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Barrie, ON
10/10

emergency shower repair

We have been with Harris Plumbing for 30 years and they have always provided excellent, prompt service. This was just a very small job, but we have had extensive renovations done as well and always been completely satisfied

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We graciously thank you for this wonderful review and also for your loyalty for all these years. We will continue to earn your business with honesty and gratitude.

Peggy in Mississauga
Peggy in Mississauga
0 reviews Mississauga, ON
0/10

Problem with water. Silt build up in well

There was a silt build up in well, called Harris plumbing, told them our problem. Asked for cost and was told $69.00. Two men came, checked out the silt in back yard and said our well was compromised and we needed a new well. Their well technicians do not know what they were talking about. We were then charged $100 for a service call, bad advice and bad diagnostics. We contacted office and the lady said she insisted she told us 89.00 plus tax. Very bad experience and waste of our time.
Felt very taken advantage of during a stressful time.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Peggy, i'm so sorry that you have not had a good experience with us.. we are a fully trained, licensed and experienced well contractor however we do not drill new wells. What we specialize in is analyzing the performance of the equipment associated with wells and whether or not a well is compromised - which yours is.
We do record all our phone calls for training and accuracy so i will check to clarify your quoted service fee amount and if we have made an error we will most definitely honour this correction. It has been only $89.00 +hst for many years.
I will speak with our well specialists for their feedback regarding the sludge and silt in your well and his recommendation to you.
We will certainly contact you in the morning to determine if there is anything else we could do for you other than what we did which was to recommend you contact a well driller re repair or replacement which you did not want to do.
We were not simply trying to sell you a new well as Harris Plumbing does not drill wells. This would not benefit us or you. We gave you our professional analysis and recommendation on your situation as you hired us to do and you were charged only our service fee for our site service. We are sorry to hear that you feel this was a waste of your time.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Harris Plumbing

Proudly providing world-class client services and a full suite of high quality plumbing products and services to residences, businesses and industry in York Region, Simcoe County and Muskoka, Harris Plumbing is family owned since 1974.

We invite you to experience the Harris Plumbing difference.

At Harris Plumbing Inc. we offer a complete suite of high quality, professional residential, cottage and commercial plumbing services that really raise the bar in Newmarket, Aurora, Barrie, Muskoka and everywhere in between. We are 100% focused on Quality Workmanship & Customer Satisfaction. Our customers are extremely loyal and delighted with our VIP-style service.

Water softeners, water conditioning, iron and sulphur removal - high quality equipment made right here in Ontario, tank-less hot water plus hot water tanks, drain clearing and camera inspection service, main sewer drain replacement - both excavation and "trenchless". Fixture upgrades like toilets, showers, bathtubs, etc. We are a fully licensed Well Contractor and Backflow Prevention Certified.

Steve Harris, a talented Master Plumber and entrepreneur, is firmly at the helm of this exceptional organization. Steve began his plumbing career in 1978 as an apprentice with his father and Master Plumber Ray Harris in the Richmond Hill area. Ray believed in old-fashioned hard work and perfection on the job. He demanded nothing but the best from Steve and taught him to accept nothing less from himself.

Since 2002 and under Steve's leadership and guidance, Harris Plumbing has grown to encompass a much larger geography to serve more clients, and offers a huge array of quality plumbing services to home owners and business owners who want to feel completely comfortable with the service they receive - from their first call to our amazing Client Service Advisors, to the friendly, uniformed and efficient service appointment by our plumbers, to our follow-up phone call to ensure complete client satisfaction.

Our entire award-winning team is continuously trained in the latest high quality products and services, equipped with high technology equipment and tools and brings a friendly, honest and trustworthy climate to this esteemed trade.

Our reputation for excellence is a reflection of our professionalism, hard work and commitment.

* Your call is always answered by a real person - any day or night even on holidays.
* Our expert technicians are hand-picked, highly trained, uniformed & in fully stocked, reliable trucks.
* Wells & pumps - we are a certified well contractor
* Backflow Prevention - we provide municipality-approved backflow testing, installation & surveys
* Water Quality Professionals - trust your family's water supply to a licensed, professional journeyman plumber. They alone are qualified to access your potable water system.. by law. Softeners, iron filters, chlorine removal, UV, Ozone, Reverse Osmosis, etc.
* Cottage Specialists - seasonal water systems are more complicated. Openings, closings, pumps, upgrades, repiping, winter water - We know cottages!
* Sewer main replacements & repairs - we offer "trenchless" methods for repairs plus full excavations when necessary.

Like most high quality, reliable plumbing contractors we have abandoned time/material/hourly fees and adopted "Up-Front Pricing". After a thorough diagnostic of your situation by our plumbers, we then offer you our professional recommendations with any available options, and pricing up-front so you can make your decision based on actual numbers and facts. We are prepared to proceed with your job immediately or at your convenience.

After-hours emergency services are available throughout York Region and Simcoe County. Professional, reliable services by our own licensed, local and insured craftsmen, we take pride in our work and will always respect your home, cottage and property.

Ask us about our "Harris Home Advantage Plan" - your opportunity to enjoy a limited membership VIP service club offered only to forward-thinking homeowners like you who really love your home and don't have time for unexpected plumbing breakdowns and devastating water damage! See all the details at www.harrisplumbing.ca/about/harris-home-advantage-plan-hhap/ or give us a call today.

Cottage services: water treatment systems, renovations, upgrades, pump upgrades repair & replacement, septic treatments, complete or partial re-piping.
Expert drain cleaning and clearing, repairs and complete main drain replacements.

We are truly "The Plumbers YOU Can Count On!" and we look forward to meeting you!
Call us today to arrange for your quote or service appointment. We're in your neighbourhood.

York Region:
Newmarket 905-853-8520
Richmond Hill 905-884-5882
Aurora 905-841-9211

Simcoe County:
Barrie 705-730-7950
Orillia 705-327-6540
Muskoka 705-762-3811
Huntsville 705-789-5578

CATEGORIES
Plumbing, Drain Services, and Bathroom Renovation
PRODUCTS
Offering 24/7 emergency service, we bring a complete suite of professional plumbing services for your home, cottage and business. We use only high quality products with the best warranties. Our workmanship is perfection and we guarantee everything we do for you. Water treatment - Novo high quality softeners, UV, RO and all types of filtration systems. Navien tankless hot water systems and hot water tank replacement. Quality fixtures + faucets replacements, outside drain cleaning, repairs and replacements. Expert repairs inside and outside your home, office or cottage.
SERVICES
Water treatment products including softeners, chlorine, iron, sulphur removal and custom solutions. Drain clearing and camera inspection service, main drain and water line replacement/excavations. Bathroom, kitchen and laundry room upgrades. Pumps of all kinds - well, jet, submersible, sump, sewage. Cottage services: water treatment systems, renovations, upgrades, jet & submersible pump upgrades, repair & replacement, septic treatments, complete or partial re-piping. Expert drain cleaning and clearing, repairs and complete main drain replacements.
BRANDS
We use only high quality brands with the best warranties. Toto, Grohe, Kohler, Moen, Novo, Navien, Bradford White, Maax, Mirolin, Lukx, Judo, Franke Kindred, Insinkerator, Myers, Hydromatic, BioSmart just to name a few
STYLES
We are clearly identifiable with logo'd vehicles & fully-uniformed plumbers. We answer our own phones when you call - always! We're honest, friendly, efficient and professional.
SPECIALITIES
We pride ourselves on our efficient customer service and quality workmanship - right from your original call to our Client Care Coordinators, to the talented, highly trained technicians, to the birthday card for your hot water tank! As Harris Plumbing, we are.. The Plumbers YOU Can Count On! and we will work very hard to earn - and keep - your business.
WEBSITE
https://www.harrisplumbing.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1974
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
20
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque, cash, visa, m/c
LICENSES
Backflow Prevention, Master Plumbers, Well Contractor
MEMBERSHIPS
Baeumler Approved, Newmarket Chamber, Muskoka Lakes Chamber, Huntsville Chamber
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
Well Contractor, Backflow Prevention,
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
none
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
One year written warranty
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.