NUSITE Contractors Ltd

Waterproofing
3 Whitehorse Road Unit 10 Toronto ON M3J
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Waterproofing
NUSITE Contractors Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

93%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2020 winner 4 timesBest of 2020winner 4 times

Reviews for NUSITE Contractors Ltd

Average customer rating:
9.4 10 (135 reviews)

Sort by

Repeat C.
Repeat C.
12 reviews Newmarket, ON
10/10

Basement waterproofing

What terrific service! Based at least partly on Homestars reviews, we called Brad at Nusite for a quote. Brad came onsite, patiently answered all our questions, explained all the various options and the pros/cons associated with each. Nusite provided a detailed written quote specifying the work to be done...and for us this was huge as half the contractors just scribbled "fix basement" and indicated a price on the back of a business card. (Me:."And what exactly do I get for $X?" "Oh don't worry! I make fix!" Nope! Next!)

Brad and the team at Nusite always patiently followed up with us, never to pressure or force us, just to ensure we received the quote and to see if we had any questions. They always followed up. Always polite and never aggressive or rude.

After about 10,000 more questions and some budgeting, we hired Nusite. Eric C, their ops manager, quickly and efficiently took over from Brad the Sales Guy. Eric and the team at Nusite coordinated all the locates for gas, hydro, cable, etc. Once all the locates were done, Eric called to confirm a date for the work.

On the assigned date, the crew showed up right on time. A good sign! The Nusite crew consisted of 8 hulking guys, who were all very kind and pleasant to talk to, all very professional and hard working.

The crew had completely excavated the exterior walls, patched and waterproofed them properly, refilled and thoroughly tampered down the soil in a matter of hours. At the end, they cleaned up all their tools and equipment and left everything clean and tidy (as much as possible for mud and dirt).

Now the test is on to see how well the job stands up, as rainy season is approaching. As much as it was a pleasure and smooth experience dealing with Nusite, I hope the job will outlast the warranty and that I'll never have to call them again. I would gladly recommend Nusite anytime. Top-shelf work for a fair price (neither extraordinarily high nor dirt cheap, they did good work for the money).

I found Nusite to be professional, patient, courteous, and thorough. Quite happy with the work (so far! We'll let the rain put the job to the test!)

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the nice review! I will ensure Eric and Brad read this review and pass on the praise.

Thanks again!

David S.
Nusite Contractors Ltd.
416.622.7000

laura
laura
4 reviews Aurora, ON
0/10

Underpinning and foundation work

I hired Nusite to underpin and perform repair on the foundation of my garage. My original quote was approximately 30,000.00. After significant delay in starting, an excavation was performed. Geoff, the owner, upon viewing the foundation wall and depth of the footings stated that the work could not be completed as quoted. He then (after much delay) provided a new quote of over 80,000.00. This was cost prohibitive for me. I requested a partial refund of my deposit ($7,000.00). The company eventually returned a partial refund but charged me full administration fees, full commission fees as well as WCB. I found this company to be slow to respond but quick to find expensive alternatives to their original quote. I would think twice before hiring.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We were contracted to fix a garage for settlement issues and priced according to the drawings that we received from the customer. Our crews were about 1 month behind for structural work because of poor weather (heat and rain) we’ve had all summer long and we did our best to work around it.

Before we started the job we went to meet the customer to ensure they understood our order of operations. It was to coordinate a test hole with an excavation team to ensure the drawings match the existing structure. We always do test pits for foundation work to ensure the scope proposed matches the existing. Because of past experiences we did the test hole and discovered the old drawings would not have solved the problem according to the new engineering reports/findings.

This is not the fault of the original drawings, it simply is an unforeseen circumstance where the original contractor from the original build years ago may have gone deeper due to poor soil conditions and the drawings were never revised (no one can know).

It is crucial in any structural work to ensure what is proposed will work. We then had to coordinate the team and foreman to dig it out/fence it off (second visit). Once this was done we went back a third time to coordinate the soil engineer, who then recommended the structural engineer come visit too (this is typical in this business to have both engineers see the job).

The soil bearing capacity was not adequate and the whole job needed to be redesigned by the structural/soil engineer. After the fourth visit to the site (coordinating the structural engineer) we were able to then prepare a proper estimate for the work that now had to be done as per the unforeseen conditions.

The engineers determined the job had to go deeper to achieve proper soil bearing conditions and the current scope of work that customer’s drawings propose would not work. A lot more work had to be done.

Once the reports were completed, we made a quantitative quote based on the new engineer findings. We had to replace more concrete, dig double the depth, underpin at double the depth down and do so in stages. This essentially doubled the entire project and requires proper shoring or step excavation techniques to ensure a safe site. It is a risky, technical and dangerous procedure at this depth especially with poor soil conditions. The new pricing was presented to the owner who then rejected it. They are free to use whoever they want but our estimation was accurate based on our company’s processes and procedures.

It is not anyone’s fault that the unforeseen changes doubled the job. It was a problem that we exposed that no one could have known about without starting. We started the job using the deposit the customer provided, used it to pay for engineering, testing, measuring and assessment. We visited the site over 4 times coordinating everything in order and executed professionally. The deposit only partially paid for the guidance which steered the customer in the correct direction.

We took a deposit of $7,100.00 for the whole project to book it and refunded the customer $3,000.00. We lost money on this project post refund and incurred debt to help the customer to be able to know exactly what to do from here forward. This work had to be performed and engineers had to visit to know what to do and there was no avoiding this.

Pricing jobs, helping sort drawing discrepancies, sending crews and coordinating engineers costs money, time which in turn the customer did not feel we were worth and wrote this review. They did their own math to determine our worth and never factored in many costs associated with running a construction business.

We do apologize if this was taken in a way that any customer would feel like they were under serviced. We went above and beyond to help guide the project in a safe professional manner and we wish the customer good luck with whoever is now executing the work.

CE
CE
2 reviews Burlington, ON
10/10

Waterproofing

David was great to deal with. We thought we had a waterproofing/foundation issue after seeing some efflorescence appear in the basement. David assessed the situation and determined the issue was not a foundation/waterproofing issue. David took the time to walk around my property and offer solutions to best protect my property in the future. Will definitely recommend and call David when the time is needed

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Chris it was a pleasure giving you the advice needed. It is hard for homeowners sometimes when trades leave quotes that are not as per the situation at hand. Once you get the eaves replaced and sort the grading you should be ok! Look forward to helping plan you overall foundation project when it is an actual basement leak or you want to proactively complete the whole job.

Thanks again!

milynch05
milynch05
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Basement exterior waterproofing

My husband and I were very pleased with the efficiency and professionalism that we experienced with Nusite. David was great to deal with during the assessment and we would definitely work with them again on any project that may arise.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words! We are glad you are happy with the work performed and appreciate any referrals that come about as a result of the good work. The crews worked really hard to execute on a short timeline as to not disturb the neighbours!
Thanks again!

David S.
Nusite Contractors Ltd.
416.622.7000

Denis
Denis
1 review Oakville, ON
10/10

Basement waterproofing

I had let the basement water leakage go on too long and Nusite came in and they did a tremendous job, on time when they promised to do it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Denis! Glad to have been of service to you and solve your water problem!

David S
Nusite Contractors Ltd.
Www.nusitegroup.com
416.622.7000

Serafin
Serafin
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Foundation waterproofing

Milton the sales guy is great... fast to respond, knowledgable, and super responsive.

The crew was just as wonderful. They took care to minimize damage to my garden, dealt very kindly with a crazy neighbour, and were unfailingly polite and cheerful. The job was done in 3 days, 2 days ahead of schedule, and they left things looking beautiful clean and tidy.

I highly recommend these guys. J was dreading to upheaval and mess and hassle, but were fast, precise and diligent.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the amazing review! It was a pleasure to work with you on your project!

Milton
Nusite Contractors Ltd.
www.nusitegroup.com
416.622.7000

Andrew Lowrie from Toronto
Andrew Lowrie from Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Underpinning and Waterproofing

Clean and quality are the first two words that come to mind. Crew was fantastic to deal with and completed the full basement lowering and waterproofing. their expertise even brought our attention to a load bearing wall that was not properly keyed in and ultimately Engineer said it was a must to replace. We could have had a collapse but David and his knowledgable crew SAVED us! Literally. Thanks to Nusite there is now a beautiful usable full height basement with no water.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Andrew it was a pleasure working with a diligent general contractor such as yourself. We are truly allowed to perform at our best when the contractor we are working with supports us with a properly staged site, timely inspections and really understanding the change orders that happened when they were unearthed. Thanks again and look forward to the next projects together.

David S
Nusite Contractors Ltd.
http://www.nusitegroup.com
416.622.7000

Cory from North York
Cory from North York
1 review North York, ON
10/10

Foundation waterproofing.

I Had water in the basement. I called Nusite they came gave Me a quote and started the work a few days later. Very professional and great pricing. Must hire for basement waterproofing!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words Cory! Enjoy the dry basement.

David
Nusite Contractors Ltd
www.nusitegroup.com
416.622.7000

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews North York, ON
2/10

Cleanup and Backfill

Waterproofing was done okay. However, the cleanup afterward was hap-hazardly done.
The salesman showed me pictures of CLEAR cut driveways and neatly back filled areas where cuts occurred. This did not happen. Driveway instead of being clear cut was butchered. Back Fill was Insufficient do to settlement, with the understanding that the following year this would be looked after. David was here in spring time, took pictures and promised repeatedly to take care of it. He set up 3 appointments to do cleanup, nobody showed up and no one called. Most recent was Monday July 15 NO ONE came. I would not recommend this company.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hey all!
This project was a small waterproofing job completed a while back. There are no reported leaks and nor is it a mess. The customer wanted their driveway cut with a gas saw to make a clean line vs a jackhammered one, as they should expect. We went to see this in March and the cutting was dispatched to the the crew that was on site for the original repair who did not do it at the time of the project. The crew was since replaced and the customer had not let us know it was not done until last week. Hearing this was not completed last week from the homeowner (this was an honest mistake in the back office which was apologized for) , we jumped on it and the repair was booked for Monday the 15th of July. The service crew lead for us who does the post job cleanup, sign offs and inspections got into a car accident Sunday (literally a Jeep flipped) and did not come in to work because he is at the hospital.

This was explained to the customer but they believe we are making up excuses and wrote this in lieu of not arriving as planned. We are not a large office with an excess in manpower. Every other cleanup we re-scheduled understood the issue and wished our staff member well. In this case the customer chose to write a negative review. Despite the unkind words, we are still going to make sure the job is cleaned up this week as per our promise.

(The cutting procedure and why it wasn't completed immediately was a training/system issue that we have since dealt with internally) We are always trying to improve our staff and delivery of service at our company.

Nusite Contractors Ltd.
http://www.nusitegroup.com
416.622.7000

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Oshawa, ON
10/10

Underpinning basement in Toronto

Nusite was absolutely incredible. The team from day 1 was on time and very tidy. Jacob and his crew were available to answer all of my questions. At the end of each day the crew made our basement clean enough to eat off of the floor. They were professional and courteous. They knew we had children living in the home and went so far (and were not obligated to do so) to purchase new filters for our furnace and changed them almost daily. They would also ask us before making loud noise if the baby was sleeping etc. These guys are awesome. Our basement turned out to be perfect and the job was done on time as contracted.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the awesome review! Glad you are now enjoying your new proper height basement and no more hitting heads on ductwork! We always appreciate the kind feedback.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about NUSITE Contractors Ltd

We are Toronto’s water damage and foundation repair experts. With Over 100 years of combined experience in Foundation Repair, Waterproofing, Basement Lowering, and Structural Concrete work in the Toronto area, we have the training and familiarity to handle every aspect of your project.

As a locally-owned, family-run business, we offer an array of experience and knowledge in the industry, helping us deliver top quality workmanship and services.

CATEGORIES
Waterproofing
SERVICES
Residential Basement Waterproofing (Interior & Exterior), Structural Foundation Repairs, Weeping Tile Installation and Repair, Window Well Repairs, Sinking Foundations, Collapsed Concrete, Concrete Repair, Underpinning, Basement Lowering, Bench Footings, Basement Slab and Drain Replacement, Commercial Waterproofing and Commercial Foundation Repair.
SPECIALITIES
We are a dedicated Waterproofing and Foundation Repair Business. Our team has an extensive background in construction management, which allows us to dissect, price, and repair all structural and foundation related issues.
WEBSITE
https://nusitegroup.com/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1990
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
20
RETURN POLICY
Full Transferable Warranty
PAYMENT METHOD
We accept all major credit cards and cheques.
LICENSES
Licensed to operate in the Greater Toronto Area since 1990.
MEMBERSHIPS
BILD, Renomark, BBB, Ontario Home Builders Association, Tarion Home Warranty
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
We have no Project minimum, in-fact, we offer free, no-obligation estimates!
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Our Warranty varies, depending on the scope of work. That being said, our most common warranties last 15-25 years.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.