The Bedroom Shop

Furniture
16715 Yonge Street Newmarket ON L3X 3A1
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Furniture
The Bedroom Shop
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

70%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for The Bedroom Shop

Average customer rating:
7.2 10 (89 reviews)

Sort by

Prowe in
Prowe in
1 review Newmarket, ON
6/10

Couch

When we purchased our couch the salesperson "promised" that pick up would not be a problem on Saturday, they would make the arrangements. Now I am told that cannot be arranged and I have to pay for delivery. The salesperson is now gone from the company (no wonder he didn't call me back), I had left 3 messages for the store manager, NO RETURN CALL, 4th call for the manager to call I received a message stating what the pick up times are which do not include Saturday as promised. Now they expect me to pay............
I am very unsatisfied with this customer service, perhaps the owner could let me know how he feels about this and how to rectify the problem. I would like to get my couch!!!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello.
sorry, but our warehouse is closed on weekends as stated in blue print on the back of your invoice.

Please contact sara at customer service and we will do a free delivery for you.

Thanks for your business.

Elaine
Elaine
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
10/10

White glove service for my delivery and excellent customer service all around!

My Decor-Rest couch and solid wood double bed was delivered this weekend. The guys that delivered and assembled the furniture were polite and did a great job putting everything together and taking away all the garbage. Bonnie has been co-ordinating the delivery of my furniture for the last few months and she went above and beyond accommodating my requests and calls. I needed the furniture held for an extra month as our renovations were delayed and she was happy to keep the furniture until I was ready. From the moment I walked into the store with my family I did not feel pressured to buy which made us feel comfortable to browse and think about what we wanted instead of what the sales person wanted us to buy. We are so happy with our purchases we will be purchasing a another sofa to match the couch since the quality is better than we expected. Thanks!

I purchased several items on a Sunday afternoon with my family and Bruce provided additional discounts we didn't know we could have and offered great selection on the items we were looking for. He was very knowledgeable. I made it clear I needed a couch that will not pill and that the cushions would not slip when you sit on them. I haven't received the couch yet, but was assured this would not happen. I will write another review once I receive the furniture I ordered.

We are doing renovations and told The Bedroom Shop that we needed to have our purchases held at their warehouse for a little longer until our renovations are complete. The staff has been incredibly friendly and accommodating.
It's nice to call a company and have a person answer the phone. Each time I have called I have not been put on hold or have I had to leave a message to have someone call me back with my inquiries.

Thanks,
Elaine

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Elaine.
Thanks for the review and we will be sure that your delivery goes perfect.
Thanks for the business

Jeff Reynolds
Owner.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Mississauga, ON
0/10

cratedesign bunkbed

I tried to ask the owner to call me but he did not. I bought a bunk bed tall twin on your Mississauga bedroom shop on March 17,2017. I told your staff ( Mike ) ordered the bunkbed exactly the same as the show room. Only the different are expresso color, twin to twin, extra tall. At the end, I asked him to repeat the order for me at the end to make sure he ordered the right bunk bed. I have a witness with me at that time because wherever I go, I need someone with me.

I called the Cratedesign to clarify my bunkbed 4005T to make sure it is correct one after 1 week . However, The staff working at Cratedesign said 4005T bunkbed ( in invoice) is not the one in the showroom. I called Mississauga bedroom shop, they said they could do anything even though I have invoice #, I have to call Mike (who ordered) at Newmarket sit to locate Mike. He said I have to call Peter ( Manager at mississauga) to correct it. Mike said Peter know the Cratedesign bunkbed catalog better. Instead I have to call , I requested Mike to talk to Peter directly next day to fix the problem. Mike said he would do it. However, I called Peter next day, Peter had no clue what I was talking. I had to repeat the whole story to him. He said he would correct it. He said the bunkbed order should be 4705 tall twin instead 4005T. Mike said he would fix the problem for me. I thought I have no worry and waiting for my new bunkbed delivery. However, I found out that they still ordered the wrong bunkbed for me when I called the warehouse 1 week after. I was very upset and frustrated. The problem was not fixed after so many phone call. I had to call Mike and Peter . They said they cannot do anything. Mike said I had talked with Sara ( warehouse manager) and agreed with the same order 4005T. In fact, I had never talked with Sara before. Mike asked me to talk to Peter. I felt I was pushed around. No one took any responsible. Totally disorganized ! This got me more frustrated. Eventually , I have to call warehouse to find out what was going on. Sara ( manager at warehouse) contacted me and explained the situation that she said she would keep the Cratedesige bunkbed where they already delivered from Cratedesign. She had to ordered something like side rail in order to modify the bunkbed close to 4705T. If they already explained and informed the client, this kind of confusion would have be avoided.
They delivered bunkbed on April 5,2017. However , they forget to bring the accessories, like screws and nail for installation. It was ridiculous, unprofessional, and unorganized. My whole family involved big tragic Multi car accident. My son had several abdominal and back surgery. My occupational therapist already helped to take the old bed away. My son had to sleep on the floor with back surgery x3 days. The bedroom store refused to fix the problem right away even though they had the accessories at the warehouse. I requested to talk to owner ( Jeff) but he did not return my call and response.

They supposed to come to install my bedbunk again on April 8.2017. I was told I would get a call to confirm the time frame next day on April 7, 2017. I have been waiting for the whole day. the bedroom staff did not call me. I called 3 times around 4:00-4:30 p.m. No one answer. Finally, my husband got a call to let us know the time frame of delivery.

I supposed to request the bunk bed trundle and it could be converse to storage. However, I don't see the divider in the package. Also, the bottom drawer of the stair was sliding out without put any clothes on. It is unsafe for my kid. His feet might stuck into the drawer or trip over and fall. I called the warehouse customer serve, Sara ( Manager) said I have to put something underneath stair. The bunk bed is heavy . My family have involved care accident and injured. I needed someone to help for heavy lifting. There is the reason we paid extra fee for the installation. Sara aslo requesed me to take a picture of inside and outside of trundle. I suggested them to call Mississauga site where the right bunkbed would look like instead I have movedall around the bunkbed to take a picture. They did not take any action to correct the problem except to ask me to take a picture. Even though I already explained to Bonnie the situation.
The bedroom shop company is unprofessional, unorganized, irresponsible company. You might need to think twice before you decide.

Response the owner

#1, The delivery staff said I am the last client on the april 5,2017. They can fix the problem if they want to.
#2. They already aware there are " very small issues...a divider for my trundle and I need shims for the staircase to raise the front. But they never come to fix it and deliver the missing part.
# 3. I will keep you guy posted how long they will come to fix the problem.

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Im Glad we get to explain our side of the story.
you had a delivery set up for Wed april 5 we arrived and the hardware pack was not inside box, Human error. Unfortunately you live 1.5 hour away from our warehouse in newmarket and we had many more deliveries that day. We spent 30 minutes on the phone with you apologizing and setting up your next delivery for sat april 8.
We called you fri april 7 to confirm your del time for sat april 8....why would we call you sunday april 9 as you stated??
we came Sat april 9 and installed your bunk!!
Now you have 2 very small issues...a divider for your trundle and you need shims for staircase to raise the front, is why furniture comes with shims.
And yes we need pictures, to help you!

You asked to speak to me............sorry I have good staff that handle customer service issues, and most certainly dont get involved with a forgotten hardware kit.

We thank you for your Business...but a little more patience and understanding would help the situation.

Jeff Reynolds
Owner

Diana
Diana
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Multiple orders and great problem resolution

We have ordered from the bedroom shop twice now. One order was for very nice accent chairs which were significantly cheaper at The Bedroom Shop than at Ashley' s own store. This was a quick 2 week from order to delivery with no issues. The second order was for a Handstone table and chairs. Unfortunately, Handstone made a mistake with our order. The Bedroom Shop employees (the delivery guys and Bonnie) were very apologetic and acted quickly the help solve our problem with the manufacturer. Bonnie did a great job of keeping me updated on the progress as well. We will definitely shop at the Bedroom Shop again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for all your Busines and i will be sure to tell Bonnie in customer service.

Jeff Reynolds
Owner.

judy in Newmarket
judy in Newmarket
1 review Newmarket, ON
10/10

great sales experience and furniture

this store is beautiful and has some of the best furniture I have ever seen. David was very helpful in the selection of décor rest and Mennonite furniture. I will be back for more furniture soon

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for your business Judy.
Hope to see you back soon

Jeff Reynolds
Owner

eric.andrews
eric.andrews
1 review East Gwillimbury, ON
10/10

Bedroom, office and living room furniture

Sue was an amazing and helpful sales woman. Always smiling, making us laugh and knows her stuff when it comes to anything at The Bedroom Shop! We originally ordered one item then kept returning to eventually furnish our entire new home. Sue was quick and always did her best to help us! Thanks Sue!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I will pass this on to susan.
Thanks for you business and taking the time to give us your feedback.

Jeff Reynolds
Owner.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Cherry Wood Wall Unit

I have been trying to find a solid wood wall unit for our living room for a few years. I came across this one, however, it was in Newmarket. Working long distance, I thought would be a challenge but to my surprise...this company was efficient and professional. The unit was delivered early and in perfect condition. The follow-up with the store to keep in touch and ensure my needs were being met was fabulous. I would highly recommend this team for any future needs!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Yes we are more than just bedrooms, we specialize in family room , office Furniture and now even patio furniture.
Glad you found your solid wood wall unit and thanks for taking the time to do the review.
Jeff Reynolds
Owner.

jaycc.sac
jaycc.sac
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Bedroom

From rhe time I went in to purchase my daughters bedroom set to delivery and set up the customer service was amazing. Would definitely return for future purchases.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Glad your daughter is happy.
Thanks for the review.

Jeff Reynolds
Owner.

marco.landolfi
marco.landolfi
1 review , ON
10/10

Furnishing new home

Looking to furnish our new home we were driving by and saw "the bedroom shop". We stopped in to see if there was anything we liked. We were approached by a lady named Susan who was phenomenal.

Wasn't pushy and very helpful for any questions we had. We were only planning on getting our bedroom set from there but with the great service we also bought our whole kitchen and family room furniture as well.

I would definitely recommend to friends and family. Very happy with everything.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the kind words.
Jeff Reynolds
Owner

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Bedroom

I recently purchased a new bed for our master bedroom and the delivery guys Devin and Mike are a fantastic team. When they arrived at the house they asked where the location was that the bed was going into, went and looked before getting ready to take the mattress and bed upstairs. they took them upstairs set it up and without marking the walls it was a job well done. It was on a real snowy day and they where also considerate of any water marks they may have put on the hardwood floor. They had excellent customer service skills and a pleasure to deal with.

My husband and I are very happy with the bed and mattress at this point.

I must say that Sara is a GREAT Manager at the Clearance Centre. Her knowledge and customer skills are excellent. She will always meet you with a friendly smile and give your professional knowledge about any product they carry. It shows that she has a good team of people from the scheduling to delivery. She is a keeper.

Bonnie will welcome you with a friendly smile and is very good
with keeping you communicated with your delivery.

It is a pleasure to deal with the Bedroom Shop

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Wow.....Looks like you had a great experience!!
thanks for the kind words!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about The Bedroom Shop

We specialize in Canadian Made, Solid Wood, and Mennonite Furniture in the Greater Toronto Area, Onatario The Bedroom Shop is a family-owned discount Mennonite Furniture, Living Room, Dining Room, Bedroom, Bunk Beds, Kids Furniture and Mattress store based in Newmarket, ON. Since 1989, The Bedroom Shop has served customers in ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Furniture pros in Newmarket?