The Bedroom Shop

Furniture
16715 Yonge Street Newmarket ON L3X 3A1
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Furniture
The Bedroom Shop
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

70%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for The Bedroom Shop

Average customer rating:
7.2 10 (89 reviews)

Sort by

darren
darren
1 review Newmarket, ON
10/10

Product

We are Buying furniture for our renovation. Susan was very helpful. And made extra time for my wife and I.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank for the review, and your business.
Susan and all our professional staff take our time to try and find exactly what you are looking for.
We take pride in finding out our customers needs, and work in a NO pressure sales environment

Jeff Reynolds
Owner.

wtw
wtw
1 review Toronto, ON
9/10

Sofa bed

We bought the sofa bed but found that it had staples sticking out of it they replaced it without a problem the guys were courteous and quick and they were did not do any damage

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We take damage at customer service very seriously.
We try our best to be quick with replacement pieces.
Thanks for the review.

Jeff Reynolds
Owner.

k.doner
k.doner
1 review Newmarket, ON
8/10

Dining room table

We are excited for the gorgeous dining room table and chairs - love the solid wood and finish

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the Business and we happy you love your new dining room set.

Jeff Reynolds
Owner

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews , NB
0/10

Don't do business here

One word. Terrible. Didn't delivered what I ordered. Still waiting for that "correct" delivery. Several months no phone calls. I suspect it's not coming. No one cares about your business there. Sales staff is unmotivated and incompetent. Management has the worst attitude I've ever encountered in the retail business. Stay away from here. This isn't an ethical business.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello private user again.
There is no way your comments can even be close to accurate.
Several months no phone calls ??
We have 2 full time customer service lady's , Katherine and Sara at 905.895.0773 that are there to help you.
It would help if you gave me your contact info and or invoice number so we can help you.

Jeff Reynolds
Owner

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Delivered a broken bed

This place is a joke. They delivered a "new" broken bed to my house. After pointing it out to them, and telling them I didn't want it, they told me there was nothing they could do and to call the manufacturer because it wasn't their fault. 1 month later and nothing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello private user.
If we delivered a broken bed we Would 100% fix or replace your bed.
If I had a name or invoice number I could help you.
Please call customer service 905.895.0773 and they will be happy to help you.

Jeff Reynolds
Owner.

Jasin  in Newmarket
Jasin in Newmarket
1 review Newmarket, ON
0/10

Custom King Bed

This place is a joke! Purchased a king bed and was told 4to6 weeks delivery-5weeks in we called and was called the factory.... well I didn't buy it from the factory. 8 weeks later the bed shows up the take it upstairs to install it and it wouldn't go togther because it was made "wrong" we are now 2 weeks after the scheduled deleivery date and they wanted to send it back to get it fixed. I don't want a fixed new bed and am not waiting any longer. Asked for my money back and was told they will not refund anything. Sara told me she was the owner and she isn't!!! Do not buy anything from this place.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi jasin
You certainly have a reason to be upset and we do apologize for the inconvenience.
However after looking into what happened.

First off your invoice says Aprox 8 weeks delivery.
And we have 3 very large signs by the desk area in the store that also say all Canadian made product is 7-9 weeks approximate delivery and it's also indicated on your invoice.
We actually delivered your bed in 7-8 weeks and yes the manufacturer sent the wrong hardware kit, and we were unable to install the bed.
We have returned the head board to the manufacturer for the correct hardware to be fastened.
I will personally call customer service and have then call you to find out when we will be back to deliver your bed.
Thanks for your business.

Mlando5 in
Mlando5 in
2 reviews Caledon, ON
1/10

Kitchen Table, coffee table & Bedroom Set

Buyers beware!
I purchased several pieces from the store in Newmarket. Susan was amazing to work with she was extremely informative and helpful! Upon purchasing I was advised 6-8 weeks, we asked for preferred delivery date and as that date approached which was 9 weeks later no one contacted me. I called the warehouse and was told they don't have the shipment it would be another week. I advised them I was waiting on this and no one informed me, Sara from customer service was able to split the order.

Upon delivery of the kitchen and coffee table the delivery guys unwrapped my table on the road and brought it inside (I live in a new subdivision therefore it's a construction zone). The table has a deep scratch on the leg, which I contracted customer service about. After a week of no response I called customer service back and was advised they would look into it. The following day we got a call they would be delivering the remainder of our order the bedroom set and picking up the table to get repaired. When I asked if I was getting a new one Bonnie said no we are repairing it and we don't know how long will take to fix. I asked for a loner table and she said we don't have one. I'm not sure how any company expects to take your kitchen table for weeks without providing a loner table, despite the damage was caused from ignorance of the delivery guys. I demanded them not to take my table unless I was getting a new one or loner, after complaining enough to the sales associate I finally got a very rude call back from Bonnie telling me it will be delivered on there schedule not mine if I'm not home we'll have to take time off work or wait till there is a free Saturday.

When the delivery guys came to bring the bedroom set the warehouse sent the wrong slacks for the bed and said they would have the warehouse notified on Tuesday and bring them for next week. Now this is 12 weeks after purchase and I still don't have all the pieces of what I ordered and can't even sleep in my bed because the slacks are for a queen and we have a king. In addition to this the handles on a piece we got were incorrect.

I again called customer service and advised them, I spoke with Sara again and advised her I don't want them to pick up my table as this would mean transporting it another 4 times and who knows what damages can conspire in those transitions. All my wife and I wanted was to purchase 2 additional chairs at a discounted cost and be provided a stain marker to colour in the marked areas on the table. Sara's price was 20 bucks cheaper than what we originally paid for the chairs, which to me is not discounted in my eyes!

I emailed the owner and have yet to hear it back which I think is pathetic after the continuous issues I have been having. I am not asking for the chairs free although I should I am asking for them half off because I believe I deserve to be compensated for the inconvenience they have caused me. I have yet to receive the stain marker and I was told it would have been delivered last week. When I contacted Sara she than told me she had to order it- when earlier in the week she said we will deliver it Wednesday. Another lack of communication once again at the customers expense!

I will admit the sales associate was extremely helpful and the furniture is beautiful the problem with this company is the lack of customer support and the very rude individuals who work for customer service (Bonnie). I didn't want to have to write this negative review but when I didn't get a response from the email I sent to the owner I'm not sure how help to get their attention!.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello and sorry for your issues.
My understanding after speaking to customer service is we did 2 deliveries because you wanted product ASAP and yes it took 1-2 weeks longer than our estimated del time.
Note we did not charge you for the extra delivery.
Yes there was a part missing from your bed and a scratch on your table base. We came back a couple days later with part for bed and offered to repair your table in home and or return to manufacturer for repair.
Bonnie who is always an angel on the phone with customers did offer you a loaner table. After all was said and done you requested a stain marker which has now been mailed.
So for compensation you wanted 2 free Mennonite chairs valued at $499 each?? We did offer them to you at our cost and also offered a gift certificate and really feel we have been fair with you.
I do not get involved with customers for small issues like this, as we have a great/polite customer service team, is why we have employees.

Thanks for your business
Jeff Reynolds
Owner.

Rose in Toronto
Rose in Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

2 Full bedroom suites and 1 partial bedroom suite

I was very impressed with the sales person in the Mississauga store, Mike P. whom asked what our budget was and he met our budget with some very impressive solid furniture. We were able to furnish our 3 bedrooms with Canadian made furniture. Delivery was amazing. Yes, they ask for full-payment prior to off-loading the furniture which I thought was not fair to the client because now you're stuck with the problem, if applicable. We had white glove service and it was worth it. Our customer experience with Bonnie was also very positive and timely. Hard to find good service now-a-days! Thanks to the Bedroom Shop staff!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the Business.
We do need full payment prior to entering the house as we have had issues in the past with cards being declined.
If there are any problems after payment we certainly will address the issue at customer service.

Jeff Reynolds
Owner.

Tom--disappointed customer in
Tom--disappointed customer in
1 review Newmarket, ON
0/10

Buyer Beware

Buyer Beware. First sign of trouble—The Bedroom Shop (TBS) demand--pay before offloading the goods. That way the customer owns the problems and the company pockets the money worry free.
After payment, they proceeded to gouge my wall delivering the loveseat. Numerous phone calls over multiple days and an email including a description of the damage and photos went unanswered. I would have had more success trying to contact the dead.
Five days later (including weekend), after no response, I did the repairs and painted the wall myself. Shortly thereafter, Sarah, the Customer Service Manager called. I told her I could not wait indefinitely for a TBS response, and I already repaired the wall earlier in the day.
She asked what TBS could do to compensate me for their damage and my expenditures and repair efforts. I suggested TBS delete $100 from my bill and refund it to my credit card. I told her I did not want a gift certificate. I was not asking for a favour. I wanted compensation for damages caused by their sloppy work.
She indicated it seemed a reasonable request, but she needed the owner’s agreement. She would get back to me quickly, but true to form, I received no response.
More emails and phone calls only resulted in more dead silence.
Finally, 12 days (8 days excluding weekends) after damaging my home the customer service manager called back. The owner would only provide $100 gift certificate. Why anyone would accept a gift certificate from this company is beyond me. They have nothing worth buying for $100. Anything you buy over $100 means TBS makes even more profits from your misfortune caused by their company. Crazy. I declined the gift certificate.
She told me because I repaired the wall they never had an opportunity to see the damage in person. How long did TBS expect me to wait for a simple acknowledgement that they were dealing with my problem? Is this the great TBS customer service?
She already saw the photos before our first conversation. The issue of me repairing the wall was never an issue during our original conversation. Now they needed to see the damage personally. More obfuscation. What did they expect to see that the photos did not show? If seeing the wall was so critical why did she wait so long to contact me? I only repaired the wall because it was obvious service was of no concern to TBS. I had given up hope of a reply and needed to get on with my life. Am I the bad guy here?
Also, she said she could have found a contractor who could do the work for less than a hundred dollars. Right. Paint costs $25-30 plus tax. What quality of painter would spend a few hours travelling to my house, repairing a wall, and matching the paint with the rest of the wall for that price? If they cannot deliver furniture properly, which is their job, could not provide a timely response, why should I trust them to provide a skilled painter for less than $100? They are worried about saving nickels and dimes when the issue is they damaged my home, inconvenienced me, and could not care less.
They also ignore the fact that I would have had to arrange a time for the painter to come and wait around until he finished. Obviously, TBS puts no value on customer time and inconvenience.
Maybe their motto should be service ends with payment for the goods.
The best service this company could offer the public would be to go bankrupt.
If you want a company with incompetent delivery and phantom customer service this company is for you. Personally, I will never deal with them again.

In addition to my original posting, I need to reply to your glib Company Response and state the real facts. You seem to be stating “alternate facts” like Donald Trump.
1) I did not have a small “scuff”. I had two “scuffs” which required sanding and repainting to keep the finish the same as the rest of the wall. I had one gouge that required drywall compound. After waiting for it to dry, it required sanding. Then I painted the area of the wall where they were located. This was part of a larger wall. As anyone versed in painting knows, I needed to paint a large enough area with colour matched paint so the damage caused by your delivery people would not show, and the damaged area would blend with the remaining wall and not look like some cheap patch job.
2) You never offered me a painter because, as I stated, I waited 5 days before your customer service person even bothered to respond to my numerous phone calls and email. By that time, I repaired the damage myself because I gave up even expecting a call. I had better things to do than wait around indefinitely for your person to do me the favour of responding to my many requests for service. Your customer service person knew I repaired the wall the first time I spoke to her. Why would you offer a painter after I already told you I repaired the damage myself?
3) You state the job could be done in 20 minutes. That shows how little you know about painting. You just assumed you could slap any old paint onto the damaged area and you are done. This is my home. I expect the damaged wall to look as close as possible to what it did before your people damaged it. Something not possible if you hired someone to do the job in twenty minutes.
4) I never asked for $100. I had already written your company off before she called.
Your person asked me, after I told her she was too late and I already repaired the damage, what would be appropriate compensation to make amends for your damage. I said a $100 credit would offset my expenses and time and would show me your good faith response after the delay in even responding to my many requests for service. She said it was a reasonable request, but she needed the owner’s approval first. The eight days had nothing to do with the time it takes for a busy painter to come over to do the repairs. The further delay was waiting for the owner to decide if he would authorize the $100 dollars reimbursement.
5) You do not think I am treating you fairly. Start with real facts. Trivializing my damages and falsely stating this repair could have been done in 20 minutes is ludicrous. Is this your definition of responsible customer service?
6) What is not fair is the fact you wrote this post defending your actions after you inconvenienced me so much, and not once did you even apologize for damaging my home. Let me remind you, I am the victim, not you.
I posted my comments in HomeStars so other potential customers could understand my shopping experience with your company. After this dialogue they now have both sets of “facts” about my experience. I will leave it to them to judge which most accurately reflects the truth. I never wanted $100 or a gift certificate. I wanted some service on a timely basis. I will not deal with your company again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Tom
thank you for your review and your business.

I understand customer service has been in communication with you a few times regarding your small scuff on your wall.
I also understand we offered to have our painter come and do the repair, I'm sorry it takes longer than eight business days to have someone come over, as contractors are busy.
I see you took it upon yourself to repair your wall without out notifying us , and are now asking for $100 cash.
I truly don't think this is fair when we offered to come and fix your wall at our expense, that looks to be a 20 minute job.
We are however still offering a $100 gift certificate, that can be used on many items that cost less than $100, like lamps, artwork, linens , pillows and much more.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about The Bedroom Shop

We specialize in Canadian Made, Solid Wood, and Mennonite Furniture in the Greater Toronto Area, Onatario The Bedroom Shop is a family-owned discount Mennonite Furniture, Living Room, Dining Room, Bedroom, Bunk Beds, Kids Furniture and Mattress store based in Newmarket, ON. Since 1989, The Bedroom Shop has served customers in ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Furniture pros in Newmarket?