The Bedroom Shop

Furniture
16715 Yonge Street Newmarket ON L3X 3A1
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Furniture
The Bedroom Shop
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

70%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for The Bedroom Shop

Average customer rating:
7.2 10 (89 reviews)

Sort by

Brent
Brent
1 review Aurora, ON
10/10

Couch, bedroom suite, stools, dining table

Top notch service coupled with stellar communication from the ownership right down through the chain. The white glove service was worth it. Not only did everything go together smoothly but they took all the garbage away afterwards. A terrific experience.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Appreciate the Business.
And yes we always recommend our white glove service.
Hope to see you back soon.

Jeff Reynolds
Owner.

elizabeth8miller
elizabeth8miller
2 reviews Coldwater, ON
10/10

furniture purchase

My wife and I have recently moved in to a newly built home. As such, we wanted to purchase a new harvest dining room table and 6 chairs , TV stand and 3 kitchen island stools. As we had moved in to a new area of Ontario, we were not familiar with local furniture retailers. Much to our disappointment , several stores with a lack of interest and knowledge really left us cold.
We were really looking for someone to help us in the task of purchasing the right items based for our home.
We mentioned to several of our new neighbors ( who had recently moved in as well) where had they shopped. Interesting enough, they all pointed out to us we must go to The Bedroom Shop in Newmarket. Turns out that numerous recommendations were circulating around the development. Based on the great comments made by all, we drove to Newmarket and met with David Green, Sales Manager - The Bedroom Shop. He is very professional , knew all the details of the products he sold and MOST important .................. he took the time to listen. Very refreshing !
David very much helped us find exactly the right pieces that would compliment the layout of our new home.
We very highly recommend David Green and his staff . Don't be fooled by the name ! They sell much more than just bedroom furniture. Very high quality at a fair and reasonable price.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Elizabeth
Wow! Thanks for the great review, I will be sure to show David my Manager.

All our staff truly try and take the time to listen carefully to the customers needs, and then suggest products that will work for you.
We fortunately have the privilege of dealing with Great Canadian made manufacturers that offer different wood and stain samples and even do custom work. ( it takes a bit longer then import product but is worth the wait ).

I want to thank you for your large order and hope to see you soon.

Jeff Reynolds
Owner.

eric from East Gwillimbury
eric from East Gwillimbury
2 reviews East Gwillimbury, ON
10/10

Amazing New Home Furnishings

The Bedroom Shop is an amazing store. There is so much to choose from and offers a high quality product than many big box stores. We will definitely do more business with The Bedroom Shop.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Eric.
Yes, we definitely try to be different then the big box stores.
Solid wood Canadian made furniture is 70-80% of our sales.

Thanks for your Business.
Jeff Reynolds.
Owner.

Craig  in Toronto
Craig in Toronto
1 review Aurora, ON
0/10

Sofa

I purchased a couch from the newmarket store on Jan 16th 2017. I placed $400 down on the couch. I was given a 4 -6 week delivery time. After calling the manufacturer I was told they ran out of fabric and was given a estimated arrival date of April 28th . My wife and I asked for our money back and was told it wasn't possible. They store offered us a $100 in store credit and a loner couch . I feel as though I'm at the mercy of the store now . All we wanted was our most deposit back not a loaner couch or pitiful in store credit . I would never do business with bedroom shop . I absolutely neveright recommend anybody to purchase something from them that isn't already made.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Craig.
There must have been some sort on miss communication at time of sale, because your invoice clearly says Aprox 8 weeks and you are calling us just 4 weeks after you bought your sofa.
It is true your fabric is on back order, which unfortunately is out of our control.
We have over 400 other fabrics you can choose from if you want to choose another fabric, and we would be able to make our 8 week delivery time we told you.
If the new fabric you pick is more expensive we can absorb that expense with the $100 gift certificate we gave you.
If you choose to wait the 12 weeks /April 28 we can give you a loaner sofa at no expense to you.
Unfortunately we do not offer refunds when product is delayed, only if we can not get the product, then of course we would offer you a refund or re select.
Our no refund policy after orders are placed is clearly written on the back of your invoice.
I will have bonnie in customer service call you and see if you would like to pick another fabric.
Thanks for your business.

Jeff Reynolds
Owner.

Adriana Montesano  in Bradford
Adriana Montesano in Bradford
2 reviews Bradford West Gwillimbury, ON
0/10

Bedroom furniture headache

As mentioned below, they work with you while trying to make a sale and once you agree they go back on their word. They forgot to deliver an entire piece Of furniture and then we waited months to locate missing hardware. A very small coupon was issued for our trouble and we agreed to purchase matching night tables after being offered a "special price" with promos to use coupon. At pick up "special price with coupon " was not honoured. Very disorganized and unprofessional.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Adriana.
Want to apologize for the missing knob on your 1 dresser you bought.
I know it took a few weeks for the part, and for that we gave you a $100 gift certificate which in my opinion is very generous.
Not sure how you say we forgot to deliver your furniture.??
As for the special price and gift certificate/coupon.
Not only did we give you a sale price and take $50 off each night stand and give you no tax.
We also then took another $100 off for your gift certificate.
Price on night stands were $500 each plus tax or $1130.
You received sale price of $900 including tax and then we honoured the $100 gift certificate , so your final price was just $800 tax included.
We tried explaining this to you in the store but for some reason you could not understand the math.

Hope you enjoy your furniture.
Jeff Reynolds
Owner.

Private User
Private User
1 review Uxbridge, ON
10/10

Purchase and resulting follow-up

Delivery within a specified time period was rather awkward. Lady staff member in Customer relations worked tirelessly to accommodate.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

happy we could accommodate, I will pass on your comments to Bonnie in customer service.

John D
John D
7 reviews Vaughan, ON
10/10

Excellent Service and Quality Products!

We went into the Bedroom Shop on the weekend and were extremely pleased with the service we received. Susan was our sales rep and she never made us feel pressured to buy anything. She was most helpful, giving us different options to consider without ever rushing us even though the store was closing. The quality and selection is amazing and we are very excited to get delivery of our bedroom furniture and dining table and chairs that we ended up purchasing. We will most certainly be back and will without hesitation recommend them to our friends and family! In fact, the only reason we knew about this store was because of a friend's recommendation.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We take a no pressure approach to all our customers. Thanks for your purchase and look forward to serving you in the future.

Jeff Reynolds

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Kettleby, ON
0/10

Spend your money elsewhere

If I could give it 0 stars I would. Horrible customer service. While they're trying to sell it they're great, after that you're in big trouble if you have a problem. They don't tell you about the no refund policy. It is disclosed on the back of the invoice once you pay and they print it. We purchased a mattress from them and paid in full. According to their website you can get a full refund on anything within 24 hours. I went into the store to request a refund since we hadn't taken possession of the mattress and I was refused a refund, thrown out of the store and threatened with a call to the police. The day after I went in they changed the wording on the website to exclude store purchases. Thank goodness for screenshots I took of the original wording and the changes they made and Visa for refunding our money. Beware!!

UPDATE: I'd like to respond to the owner: Refund policy is indeed in bold letters on the back of the invoice. You do not receive the invoice until you have fully paid for the item and therefore there is no option to read the company policy until you get the invoice. I have screenshots of the company's return policy from your website on September 14 and with a clear change on September 15, 2016 which was incredibly valuable to us when we submitted our dispute to visa. If you would like a copy I can certainly provide you with a copy. We didn't feel we were mislead - we were mislead. We also have a video of your staff screaming at us for demanding a refund. There are many reviews online where your staff have threatened to call the police. In all these instances there is one common denominator - your store!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Unfortunately we do not process refunds, we do how ever offer in store credits towards other product.
All this information is disclosed on the back of our invoices in bold letters.
We ask our customers to read all company policy's at time of purchase.
No wording on our website has been changed?
Sorry you feel you were mislead.

And yes, we will call mall security and or police when we feel our staff and or other customers are being threatened.

Jeff Reynolds
Owner

Faez in Toronto
Faez in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Stay away from the store

Very bad experience with this store, I will never ever buy anything from this company. Stay away from them, bad quality and service. I paid $3600 for my sofas and waited 3 months for the delivery only to receive them damaged with poor quality work. So please be aware of this store!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello faez.
I looked into your issue and understand you bought Brentwood sofas which are Canadian Made and take 10-14 weeks as per your invoice.
I also understand there are a couple small flaws on 2 of the cushions and customer service has arranged to pick them up tomorrow and return to you ASAP.
Sorry for your inconvenience.
I will arrange to send you $100 gift certificate for your problems.

Thanks for your busines

Jeff R
Owner.

suzi724
suzi724
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
10/10

bedroom set

the bedroom set is beautiful and Mike Devon and John are great - the install went smooth as a bell - it's all about the install! Susan in sales is also wonderful - AND Bonnie, too! THANKS!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

From the beginning to the final delivery, we want all customers satisfied and happy.
Thanks for your business.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about The Bedroom Shop

We specialize in Canadian Made, Solid Wood, and Mennonite Furniture in the Greater Toronto Area, Onatario The Bedroom Shop is a family-owned discount Mennonite Furniture, Living Room, Dining Room, Bedroom, Bunk Beds, Kids Furniture and Mattress store based in Newmarket, ON. Since 1989, The Bedroom Shop has served customers in ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Furniture pros in Newmarket?