Premi Air Heating & Air Conditioning

Heating & Air Conditioning
147 Bentworth Avenue Toronto ON M6A 1P6
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Heating & Air Conditioning
Premi Air Heating & Air Conditioning
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

90%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Premi Air Heating & Air Conditioning

Average customer rating:
9.2 10 (84 reviews)

Sort by

Leon Steiner from Vaughan
Leon Steiner from Vaughan
1 review Vaughan, ON
10/10

A/C Unit

From the word "GO" you know they are on top of their game. They are extremely sensitive to your needs and concerns. Friendly, efficient, knowledgeable, clean and easily accessible after the job as well. From Bob the service man to Dan and Mendel the installers- it was smooth effective service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

WOW LS! Thank you for the glowing review. We all work very hard as a team to make our customer experience as good as can be. All of our team members are focused on doing their part yet they know that we must all work together for best results.
All the best to you and your family.
Shan Tova!

Cheryl in East york
Cheryl in East york
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Heat Pump Problem

I had a new heat pump installed by another company. It did not work and they said they couldn't do anything. I called Premi-Air and spoke to Bob about my problem. He was very understanding and sent Mitch out who solved the problem quickly. Mitch was wonderful. I highly recommend this company and I will only use them in the future.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Firstly, I apologize for taking this long to respond to your kind review. I usually get an email when a new review is left but I did not get notified.
Cheryl, you are very kind to acknowledge Mitch who we are so very proud of. Mitch joined our company as an entry level employee and is an incredible overachiever. His calm, focused and positive attitude coupled with his smarts and charm makes for an incredible diagnostician. We trained him in troubleshooting and problem solving and he thinks out of the box to find the best solution to any problem he encounters. We are very proud of Mitch's achievements and what he has learned from our company.
All the best to you and your family!

GuyW from Toronto
GuyW from Toronto
5 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Installation of new heating system

I began working with Premi-Air several years ago, after reading the many positive reviews on Homestars. They have consistently exceeded our expectations. Their techs are knowledgeable, very professional and always take the time to explain what they are doing. In several instances, they have diagnosed small problems on the phone, and guided me to resolution - at no charge!
This year, we finally decided to replace our 20 year old heating furnaces. A thorough analysis was carried out (including looking at our home plans), and a clear proposal was made, including several alternatives. The installation team were excellent - well organized, polite, very experienced.
During the installation, a manufacturer's fault was uncovered. The team were excellent in proactively resolving the issue - following through until they were certain that everything was resolved.
Based on my experience to date, I highly recommend Premi-Air.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi GuyW,
Firstly, I apologize for taking this long to respond to your kind review. I usually get an email when a new review is left but I did not get notified. We work very hard to consistently deliver great service and it means the world to us when fine people like you are kind to acknowledge it. Of course, you can only have a good relationship with a good customer who is astute, sophisticated and reasonable and we are fortunate to have this relationship with you.
All the very best!
Joe Simon

Rob in North york
Rob in North york
6 reviews North York, ON

First Review

10/10

Air Conditioner Repair

I was having issues with my air conditioner and I called up Victor at Premi-Air. I thought for sure I was going to need a new system. Recognizing that I was handy. Victor suggested a simple solution saving me hundreds of dollars. Thank You

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much, Rob, for this nice review. We like to provide service that offers value to our customers so we always explore what the customer might feel comfortable doing on their own so that they can save money. When necessary we are happy to send a technician.

undercover from Toronto
undercover from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

heat pump

I have a condo heat pump that was not working I called premi-air and paid $500. for two visits and my heat pump still does not work properly the fan on the unit does not shut off.. I find it impossible to get an honest and trust worthy company to fix any thing so I tried homestars. I am so disappointed in both Premi-Air Heating & Air Conditioning and homestars. Premi-Air got good reviews but I wonder who was writing them. If after two visits a company can not fix a simple heat pump they are either incompetent or dishonest? What am I supposed to think if after two visits my unit does not work. I think they want to come back and then charge me for something else.

This is my rebuttal to your company response. I was NOT looking for a quick cheap fix I was looking for a honest reliable repair company.
When I called you for the first time I told you I had paid 300 dollars to the company that is associated with my condo it worked briefly and they wanted me to pay again which I refused.
On your first visit you say” Our technician diagnosed your problem that the compressor relay was not wired properly and not allowing the compressor to come on.” So your technician was obviously wrong because it only ran for a few minutes after he left. He did NOT watch it operate for ½ an hour as you say.
After your first visit you left me with a 353 dollar charge and the heat pump did not even work for 5 minutes. You say “we told you we will return "FREE OF CHARGE" to diagnose the problem.” Why would I pay you again after paying 353 dollars?
I paid 75 dollars to have a thermostat installed. You say “I am very familiar with your thermostat and the hidden functions that it has that you might be unaware of.” Why did your technician not program it correctly while he was here? I thought 75 dollars was high cost for a 5 minute job but hopefully for such a high fee you could program it correctly the first time. Even after I shut the unit off from the thermostat it continued to run I had to shut off the main switch to make it stop.
After your second visit I noticed your technician was manual turning the main switch on and off. So that I would think it was cycling but I was not sure what he was doing until he left and I realized it would not shut off.
I did write this review because I am rightfully disappointed and after 510 dollars my unit is still not operating properly. And other people have the right to know. If you are truly trying to satisfy you customers you would have called me but instead you wrote a rebuttal. If you had fixed it right the first time you would of had a customer for life and I would have recommended you to everyone I know. Instead I have called someone else and will have to pay even more. Outrageous!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good Day Mr. R.,
I feel very bad that you are unhappy with our services but even worse that you took the liberty to write this bad review that does not accurately present the facts and the reason for your disappointment. This is troubling to me specifically because we have company policies that were followed meticulously to ensure customer satisfaction.
For the sake of all the fine people on Homestars, I will relate what actually happened.
We responded to a service call at your condominium unit on Thursday. You told us that your heat pump had not worked for more than a year and you did not want the building contractor to service you because they wanted to charge you $300 to return after their first visit. We charged you a flat rate of $139 + HST which we clearly explained includes a diagnostic service. This means we will send a technician who will identify the problem with your unit and the cost to repair it. Our guaranty is that if within 30 days any additional problem occurs with your unit that our technician may have overlooked, we will return to your home FREE OF CHARGE to diagnose your unit again. We have this warranty to protect our customers. Many times there are layers of problems where a problem is not apparent until the first layer problem is corrected.
In your case, we found the system not working at all. Not cooling and not heating. The compressor would not come on at all. Our technician diagnosed your problem that the compressor relay was not wired properly and not allowing the compressor to come on. We quoted you, in advance of any repair that we performed, $99 to repair the wiring in the unit. We did this repair and the compressor ran. You were delighted because the unit had not run in over a year and we had successfully "revived it". Then you asked us to install a new thermostat that you had purchased. We quoted you $75 for this work which you approved in advance of the thermostat installation. When we left Thursday, our technician confirmed that the compressor was running properly within the amperage and pressure ratings of the manufacturer. He watched it operate properly for 1/2 hour.
Later on Thursday, you called to tell us that the compressor stopped working. We told you that we would return on Friday and YOU WILL NOT BE CHARGED OUR DIAGNOSTIC CHARGE as per our company policy. When we arrived, we found that after the compressor runs for a while, it trips out on its internal overload protection. This is a sign that the compressor bearings are getting worn. We suggested the installation of a "HARD START KIT" which will allow the compressor to operate properly under these conditions. Although your compressor was worn, this would extend the life of your compressor and would allow you to defer the large expense of compressor or unit replacement. Before we did this work, you approved the cost of $139 for the purchase of this hard start kit. You were upset that this was costing so much. I also feel bad that your unit was worn and required these repairs, but I was happy that we were able to restore the heating and cooling that you had not had for over a year.
So far, you had incurred the expense of $139 Diagnostic, $99 for wiring repair and $139 for hard start kit. The total for this repair was $377 + HST. There was an additional charge of $75 for the replacement of your thermostat.
None of these costs were surprises and all were pre-approved. Additionally, your system now works in both heating and cooling.
Friday late afternoon, you called us back and reported that although your cooling is working, the fan never shuts off. Again, we told you we will return "FREE OF CHARGE" to diagnose the problem. I am quite sure that the fan is running constantly due to the programming of the new thermostat that you supplied and asked us to install. I am very familiar with your thermostat and the hidden functions that it has that you might be unaware of. Regardless, we offered to return this week, and adjust our schedule to come after hours to accommodate your schedule so you are not inconvenienced to stay home from work. I want you to know, that when my technician was on site on Friday, as per our policy for second visits, he called me to discuss his findings in detail and I personally was involved in the diagnostic and recommendation. I deeply care about all my customers and do everything in my power to solve their problems quickly and accurately. I am available to my technicians 24/7 to ensure our recommendations are correct. Your case was no different and the fact that your unit is cooling nicely proves it.
Clearly, you are upset because you were hoping for a cheap fix which is not realistic. Any of our customers would have left us a glowing review that we were able to revive their unit and saved them the expense of replacement. They would have complimented the fact that we stand behind our diagnoses and do not charge to return if anything else goes wrong. They would appreciate that we would come after hours with no charge to accommodate their schedule.
You mention that you wonder who writes our reviews, in fact, they are grateful customers who appreciate the hard work all our team members exert to satisfy each of our dear customers. The proof to this is your review and other few negative reviews that we have received. The proof of the validity of our reviews are the fact that I care deeply about pleasing my customers and take the time to respond to each of their comments whether good or bad.
Mr. R.,it is clear from your review that you don't consider us honest or competent. I guess there is no longer a reason for us to continue doing business. I do feel terrible about this but some things are out of my control. I respectfully request, that in the event that you reflect on what happened and how we have helped you when no one else was able, and when you realize that we are a sincere, honest and competent company, you call us back so that we can show you how to program the thermostat to allow for your preferred method of fan control.
Sincerely,
Joe Simon
Good Day Mr. R.,
Once again I'd like to thank you for your comments. I am very interested in your concerns and appreciate you expressing them. You suggest that I should have called you rather than respond to your comments on this forum. I always respond to my customers in the arena that they select. I find it strange that you wrote your original review without even reaching out to me with a phone call or email to express your dissatisfaction. Rarely does a customer leave a poor review without even expressing any dissatisfaction to us directly through an email or phone call. You never called to complain and we only learned of your extreme dissatisfaction on this forum. If your goal is to speak with us, and try to resolve your heat pump problem, why didn't you simply call me? I feel responsible to the fine people of Homestars and it is to them that I am speaking when I communicate the actual facts of our interactions. The following facts are quite clear from our conversation. The heat pump is cooling properly and all of the charges were pre-approved with you before any work was done. You say that "the heat pump did not even work for 5 minutes." This is clearly not true because you would never have let our technician leave site if the unit was not running when he left. Even if he left your apartment, he would not even have reached his vehicle within 5 minutes. Had you called our office, our technician would have come right back. In fact, the heat pump worked all afternoon until you called us back much later. It is unfortunate that you are misrepresenting the facts. Regarding your thermostat, the fact that the fan is running is not a malfunction nor is it a mistake in programming it is merely one of the features that allow the user to select different modes of fan operation. This thermostat was selected, bought and supplied by yourself so I assume that you understand how to use the product you bought. We do not warrant any equipment that we did not supply. Our technician installed and set up the thermostat properly. I personally reviewed this with him. The fan scheduling is a USER" preference and is designed to be setup by the user. As I said in my first response to your comments, "I respectfully request, that in the event that you reflect on what happened and how we have helped you when no one else was able, and when you realize that we are a sincere, honest and competent company, you call us back so that we can show you how to program the thermostat to allow for your preferred method of fan control."

Yogendra from Oakville
Yogendra from Oakville
2 reviews Oakville, ON
10/10

Geothermal

I was referred to Premi-Air by a Geothermal system manufacturer after my unit kept freezing over and making knocking noises. After calling a few companies around the GTA I kept getting the same answer of "schedule a service call and we will come out". Luckily before a service request was filled the Owner of Premi-Air, Joe Simon, answered my call. Being new to geothermal systems Joe took the time to explain what is causing the problem and actually diagnosed the problem over the phone after regular work hours. Being an engineer, I was really impressed with Joe's knowledge and diagnostic skills. This company is not looking to make a quick dollar and run off, they want your future business. I would recommend Premi-Air hands down. Thank you Joe!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much Yogendra for your kind words and for taking the time to leave this review for me. I must tell you what a pleasure it is to speak with an informed and sophisticated customer like yourself. I only like to incur a service call when it is necessary. For some clients, any little thing is out of their comfort zone while some feel comfortable getting involved in their system. We are happy to provide the level of service that each of our customers' require.
WateFurnace Geothermal systems are very reliable and most often any problems they have can be associated with external issues that are usually quite easy to rectify.
I am glad we were able to help you!

s.e. from Toronto
s.e. from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

HVAC repairs

suffering from a case of unscrupulous developer installing an inaccessible heat pump unit that is prone to breaking down, i was desperate to find a reliable, responsible and effective company that would look into it. plenty of others looked at it, with no results, until, thanks to my neighbour, i got the info for Premi-Air, and thanks to their professional and extremely competent service, the unit was fixed for now, with a proper assessment of what my options are so i can plan and budget. their agent, Pretesh, was punctual (who can ever say that??), professional, and most importantly, actually figure a proper way of accessing the unit without breaking his neck. i am so thankful, and would recommend them happily...

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi S.E.,
Thank you so much for your kind words about our company. Pritesh is truly a gem and we are so fortunate to have him as part of our team. Always on time, always calm, always professional, always soft spoken and always with a warm and friendly smile. He isn't just a highly skilled technician to us, rather he is a dear friend and a true inspiration.
I want to thank you so much for taking the time to acknowledge our effort and express my personal appreciation for this. We have built our company one customer at a time by treating each one as our family. We are blessed to have many fine clients like yourself and are grateful for this. Please feel free to call us whenever you need our help.
Best Regards,
Joe Simon

kidpower
kidpower
25 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

furnace repair

I called Premi-Air for some information and to come and see a problem with my furnace. The owner Joe Simon called me himself and gave me great information on what happened and what to do. I was very impressed as he was able to direct to me and get my furnace going! Thanks Joe you really know your stuff and all the good info came in handy . Keep up the great work!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi KP,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review. I apologize for not responding earlier. I usually get an email from Homestars notifying me of a review received so I can respond right away. I just noticed your review today while responding to S.E. above. In our field, we often find mistaken diagnosis leading to the replacement of parts that were not necessary. Most manufacturers test the failed parts that are returned from the field and report data of over 25% of failed parts were misdiagnosed and were NOT FAULTY. At Premi-Air we have a policy of proof before replacement. This means all our technicians must perform specific tests to confirm 100% of a part failure before we will recommend replacement. Most "failures" are in fact just internal safety switches doing their job. Once the condition is corrected, the furnace will work fine.
I am so glad that I was able to help you and really appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge us on this review board.
Best Regards,
Joe Simon

Bill from Old Toronto
Bill from Old Toronto
1 review Old Toronto, ON
10/10

Furnace maintenance

I called Prem-Air to do a routine furnace maintenance and discuss several issues with the system. After technician performed maintenance, he went through the system with me and I was given a quote to correct the A/C problem. He was very knowledgable about how my system functioned and knew immediately the design issue with my brand of coil.
I had been told by a previous service contractor that I no longer had a warranty on my system. After investigating further, on the advice of the Premi-Air technician, it turned out I did in fact have warranty coverage on my system. Unfortunately, Premi-Air are not an Amana Asure warranty shop, so I've had to go with someone else to do the repairs.
So, I only used Premi-Air for maintenance and a quote, but was extremely impressed with the technician as well as Bob Painter in the office. Bob was very patient and knowledgeable with all questions about my system and was very helpful with regard to tracking down a reliable warranty shop. All this even though I was having to take my business elsewhere.
With so many contractors out there hawking essentially the same products, it's nice to see these folks realize it is service that makes the difference.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for your kind words about our company. We are proud of our company culture including the attribute integrity. We insist on doing what is best for our clients and treating their air conditioners with the same care as our own. We are glad to have been of help and truly appreciate your acknowledgement.
Best Regards, Joe Simon

Chaim in North york
Chaim in North york
2 reviews North York, ON
10/10

Very happy customer

We hired Premi-Air to install a new furnace and air conditioner in our
home. Eytan was very friendly and knowledgeable when he came to discuss
our needs and suggest the best system for us. It was nice to work with
someone who listened to our concerns and addressed all our concerns. We
had met other people who seemed to just want to sell us their furnace
without actually taking the time to assess our needs.
The installation happened exactly as Eytan said it would. The team
arrived on time on the scheduled ay, in clean clothes and neatly
groomed. They used sheets to cover our floors and were very careful not
to damage anything in our home. The new system works perfectly and even
saves us a bundle on our gas and hydro bill.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Chaim for that nice review. We have found that the best way to satisfy our customers is to actually listen to their requests so that we know exactly what the customer wants. Thank you for acknowledging this point.
Best wishes for a wonderful spring.
Enjoy the Afikomen!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Premi Air Heating & Air Conditioning

Heating & Air Conditioning

Hello, thank you for visiting our company profile.

PLEASE VISIT MY BLOG WITH THE LATEST TRENDS IN HOME COMFORT. The address is http://blowinghotandcold.wordpress.com

My name is Joe Simon and I am your contact for any Geothermal, Commercial or Construction related issue. Please call me at the office or email me at joe@premi-air.ca and I will be happy to help you.

If you require EMERGENCY SERVICE, please call our 24 hour service department and we will be glad to assist you with prompt, friendly and professional service.

For Residential Installations, please contact Eytan at Ext. 25 or by email at eytan@premi-air.ca.

We service and install all brands of heating, air conditioning and indoor air quality equipment. Our service and installation departments are staffed with highly skilled and trained technicians with Refrigeration licenses 313A & 313D, Sheet Metal, Gas Technician Licenses G1, G2 and G3, and Oil Technicians OBT1. We are also licensed by the CGC as Certified Geothermal Designers and Installers.

We are members of HRAI (http://www.hrac.ca/pages/), carry $2,000,000.00 liability insurance, WSIB, and are licensed by the TSSA.

Whether you know exactly what you need or if you want our help with the design and application of any HVAC (heating, ventilation & air conditioning) or IAQ (indoor air quality) related product, our specialized design team will help you select the right system for your needs and budget. Please review some of the products and services that we offer.

CATEGORIES
Heating & Air Conditioning, Fireplaces, and Green Products & Services
PRODUCTS
Air conditioners and chillers, Geothermal Heat Pumps, Gas furnaces and boilers, High efficiency wall mounted condensing boilers, Heat Recovery Ventilators (HRV) and Energy Recovery Ventilators (ERV), Hydronic Radiant Heat, Snowmelt Systems, Sprayfoam Insulation www.airseal.ca
SERVICES
Maintenance Service Contracts, Complete system installations for new home and renovations, Design build or bid/spec, Commercial service contracts, retrofits and new installations, Sprayfoam Insulation, and Residential high-rise service and retrofit
BRANDS
Coleman, York, Carrier, Lennox, Trane, Goodman, Water Furnace, Keeprite
STYLES
Service with a SMILE
SPECIALITIES
Design and install of High Efficiency Forced Air and Hydronic Systems for both conventional and Geothermal Applications. We will create the most efficient system possible to reduce your energy costs.
WEBSITE
http://www.premi-air.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1994
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
20
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, Cheque, Visa, MasterCard
LICENSES
Gas Technician, Refrigeration
MEMBERSHIPS
HRAC
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
CGC Geothermal Design, CGC Geothermal Install, Gas Technician, Refrigeration Technician
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
No Project Too Large, No Project Too Small
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.