Pioneer Family Pools

Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs
4265 Fairview Street Burlington ON L7L 5R9
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

69%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Pioneer Family Pools

Average customer rating:
6.9 10 (143 reviews)

Sort by

Micheal
Micheal
9 reviews Milton, ON
0/10

Terrible Pool Builder - STAY AWAY

Contacted Pioneer in May to build an In-ground pool. My wife and I spent the past 3 months picking options and supplies for our 100k+ dream pool. We just received notice from Pioneer they are unable to deliver the pool due to supply issues with the liner we chose - A WEEK BEFORE THE CONSTRUCTION START DATE. They were also unwilling to find an alternative liner in the colour we wanted or come up with any alternative solution to resolve the issue. I would strongly encourage you to STAY AWAY from Pioneer and work with a more reputable vendor. Both Jeremy Snowball and Cameron Brown were completely useless in the process and again would recommend paying a little more and going with a more reputable builder.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

HI Michael, this was a very difficult situation. Due to COVID, we have had many shortages in certain patterns. We did try to find another one, but it was not what you were looking for. You requested a refund for your deposit, which we gave without hesitation. It is not ideal, but we did not have a solution that could satisfy what you were looking for at this time. We have been a reputable builder trusted by thousands of families across Ontario for over 50 years. We apologize that this did not work out, and hope you can find the pool you are looking for with another vendor.

Heather in Toronto
Heather in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
1/10

Definitely NOT the #1 pool company

They have a great sales reps and the initial installation is done well. They have probably the worst customer service ever. We had a liner discolouration which appeared not even after a full season. The customer service rep blamed us stating that it’s because we “shocked our pool” which we actually never did. They said we could have the liner replaced at ‘cost’ but it would be at our cost of over $2000. Why should I have to replace it at my own cost and why would I when they can’t even tell me what actually happened because they clearly have no idea. Getting water samples done at their facility is a way for them to get out of replacing things and make you liable. If you don’t get the samples tested then they it’s your fault because there is no way to know if you’re taking care of your pool because they don’t know what your levels are. On the flip side getting samples done allows them to find an excuse and say it’s because “this” value was out of our recommended range even if it’s just slightly over/under. When I explained the situation to the lab testing reps they even told me our water chemical values are some of the best they have ever seen and that what the service rep said doesn’t make sense and apologized for him.

We also got Pioneer to open and close our pool and that service is a joke. For the close they didn’t lower the water level low enough (below the jets) and they didn’t clean off the cartridges both of which are stated on the website as part of the closing process. When they did the opening in the spring they just folded up the safety cover and bagged it with out cleaning off the algae build up. We have spent an additional 4-5hrs of work to clean up what they were paid to do. Unacceptable. When we spoke over the phone to the customer service they were unable to credit or give any compensation as it was prepaid. They outsource labour to other companies so can’t reassure the quality of work. They offered to come back and clean the cartridges and lower the water level however we had already spent 3hrs cleaning them and it was null and void. I warn you, do not go with Pioneer as they are not the best pool company out there.

Addendum: I visited the store today and spoke with customer service in person regarding the open/close service explaining the situation. He has credited our account $50 plus chemicals for a future open or close and has placed a note on our account to ensure it’s pioneer’s labourers that come out and do the service. He also included cartridge cleaner pucks and gave my 2.5yr old son a pool noodle which was very sweet.

I am still very upset about the pool liner however because it was definitely not our fault that staining occurred and yet their top customer rep was condescending and essentially blamed us for the damage. As far as I’m concerned he should not be in this role.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

HI Heather, I believe you have been working with a couple of our service managers and Bryn. Bryn was going to speak to your husband or yourself again with the situation and see how we can assist. Hopefully we can come to a positive resolution! Look forward to speaking with you.

Robin
Robin
1 review Hamilton, ON
9/10

Awesome pool!

We just recently got our pool up and running from
Pioneer. Our whole family is completely thrilled! From the very beginning we worked with Jeremy snowball who was professional, helpful and very knowledgeable. We knew we could trust him. The different crews that were on site were friendly and professional. The orientation session with Cody was very informative and helpful as well.
The timing was fantastic as the kids are now able to swim for the last couple weeks of summer!
Thank you to Jeremy and the whole team for making our kids dream come true! I would recommend pioneer pools to any family!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Robin! This is so very kind of you to let us know. We are very grateful for your very kind words and for choosing Pioneer Family Pools to help build your backyard oasis.

Maral in Ottawa
Maral in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
2/10

Poor Product

I bought a hot tub from Pioneer, Spring 2020 and since the day of installation it has not been functioning properly. First day of hook up it wan't working, that was a sign. The unit shuts itself off on average every 2 weeks. Thought Pioneer has been great about sending service over to take a look at it, a real reputable company would have replaced this faulty unit as it is under warranty. I regret not going with Jacuzzi, there is no way a jacuzzi would malfunction the way this Hot Springs hot tub has been.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

HI Maral - happy to review with you and with our purchasing manager on the unit. Please reach out to me - cwalychuck@pioneerpools.com

Claude in Richmond Hill
Claude in Richmond Hill
1 review Markham, ON
0/10

Poor service received in Markham

I asked for a replacement for the o-ring for my chlorinator, I had the o-ring with me. They gave me a replacement that did not look the same, but assured me it will work.
I tried it, but it leaked.
I went back to them to get a refund and buy a new chlorinator, the manager told me that they will not take the o-ring back because the package was open. I am not sure how he expects me to try it without opening the package. I would expect that since they recommended this o-ring, that at least they would stand behind their recommendations.
I spent thousands of dollars on this store along the years, I guess they will not see me anymore.
The treatment I received from the manager was very bad, felt like he just did not care.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Claude! I spoke to our owner here and he said we can definitely find a solution. Apologies if this wasn't conveyed initially

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Brampton, ON
10/10

Swim spa

Gavin Lutz is an awesome salesman for the purchase of our awesome swim spa 200. He was awesome and helping us figure out the right spa for us making a perfect deliver during a pandemic. We could not be happier and I would recommend pioneer for that swim spa need and for sure Gavin.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for your very kind words. We are very grateful that you chose us for your swimspa! I wlll relay to Gavin as well.

Nataliya in Toronto
Nataliya in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
2/10

Do not believe good reviews, they are written by family and friends

I am a person that is hard to fool, but Pioneer Family Pools managed to do it. We paid $270 for the pool opening. My expectation was I would swim after they open a pool, instead 2 very young workers, probably students, removed a tarp from the pool, connected a pipe and left us with a box of pool winter chemicals. When I called customer service, they said that company did exactly what I paid for. So, I paid $270 just for the tarp removal because winter chemicals we could not use in June anyway. I was very disappointed. I would not write this review, but Pioneer Family Pools keep sending me emails with pictures of the pools before and after. DO NOT BELIEVE! It is not the truth. They just fool people and make easy money, but with this level of service I am sure it will not last long.

Wa

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Nataliya, yes very sorry but the pool opening does not include a vacuum or chemical treatment. It is the cover removal and reconnection of your plumbing and equipment. Some of our locations offer additional vacuuming services for an additional fee, but not all of them. I am sorry we didn't properly manage your expectations, but this would not have been part of what you had paid for. We would never want you to feel like there is intent for this to be misleading. I will speak to the team to properly communicate this, or communicate this better in the future. You will notice several other companies perform the same services for additional fees.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Vaughan, ON
0/10

linear installation

Last year I contacted Pioneer Pools regarding replacing my liner for my above ground pool. At the time they were very helpful in setting up one of their employees to measure so the liner could be ordered and installed before the 2019 summer. My children were eagerly awaiting the opening of the pool season. Little did we know that the workers Pioneer either contacts out or hires were very incompetent in the installation process. This is where the nightmare began for us. The men instructed my husband to fill the pool that it was all ready to go. As we were filling my husband noticed the walls were bumpy, and contacted them right away, again they reassured him it was good. So not being experts in this we proceeded as we were told by the professionals. A few days past and my husband still felt something was not right, he decided to investigate it further to realize the bumps he noticed were the bottom of the pool that were pulled up through installation process. Right away I contacted the head office in Brampton and spoke to the young lady that helped us order and process the payment. She would follow up and get back to us. When we heard back the workers tried to put the blame on us like it was our fault. They agreed to come back to fix it, but in doing we needed to drain our full pool right to the bottom to fix what was not done properly the first time. The office was willing to compensate me for the water once I brought it to their attention, no compensation was offered prior. Furthermore, we still were not happen with the second installation as we noticed dips in the bottom where the base was being moved. We decided at that point as a family to enjoy the summer because we had wasted summer weeks already. What a mistake that was. As we were doing our best to enjoy our pool with our four children we noticed that the pool required a lot of water to be topped up, but thought it has a lot to do with the hot summer. Well it does not end there for us . We recently (May 18, 2020) opened up our pool for the summer 2020, to run into more problems with the liner. Three days after we filled and opened the pool we began to notice a very big leak. Once again I reached out to the young lady and she was kind enough to direct me to the proper channels to fix it and did mentioned it is only under warranty if the rip is on the seam. Crazy! Considering the liner was only used for barely 1 season. How does a liner rip so quickly. Again not having a choice we dealt with Pioneer Pools, in hopes that they would find the rip in the seam and it would be covered by them, but no such luck. The damage was so bad that I had to drain my pool again, have it completely pulled apart to replace all the bottom for them to locate my rip, patch it and of course to no surprise it was not on the seam. So once again we had to pay out of pocket ($2000.00) to get it fixed and refill with Pioneer Pool not accepting any part in this. I know it is hard to prove that the rip was due to their carelessness and poor installation, but it would of been nice just for an apology for what our experience has been. We have finally opened up this year ( 2020) with the liner being installed 3 times in 1 year, we are still not happen with the wrinkles throughout and know we will probably be looking to buy a new one a lot sooner then we should. I would not recommend anyone to use this company for service or product. My experience was not pleasant.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there! Thank you so much for reaching out. I am digging into this as I type back to you. Would you be willing to reach out to me as I understand Larry was out to your yard on Saturday. I would like to review the wrinkles with you and anything you need further.

Linda/Dave in Hamilton
Linda/Dave in Hamilton
1 review Hamilton, ON
0/10

Not happy with pioneer pools

Pioneer Pool installed a new Liner for our in ground pool ,nothing but a night mare ,within a week developed a stain at the bottom of the pool exactly were they covered the drain,but of course they said it was our fault ,I voiced that I felt small pebbles under the liner and they said they would get in the pool and check it out (of course that did not happen )the following summer the water drained out of the pool right were the pebbles were ,paid $5600 ,IM just out the money and it has been nothing but stress ,no help from Pioneer pools

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Linda, sorry to hear you aren't happy. Sounds odd that staining would occur over the main drain. I would like to investigate and get some photos from you if that is possible. Please reach out to me at cwalychuck@pioneerpools.com.

Mel
Mel
1 review Hamilton, ON
2/10

Nightmare ! Above ground pool installation

Very little communication had no idea how to work salt water still after a week have not herd from anyone no direction or help.
*Showed up with wrong excavators after sending pictures and measurements of entrance ways to yard and paid for small equipment. Pool installation pushed back
*Asked for them to come look at excavation twice we are on a hill.*Rented the size of bin they suggested
*Left with 10 yards of dirt Had to pay another $1000 for someone to remove*role off truck operator said bin was not even full when picked up *Had something stuck in ground
after excavation asked for help from operator to remove he said yes then left without helping.*Had to pay to get a old wheel out of the ground would of took him one min with machine. Pool excavation pushed back again *Received a call to come pay remaining balance. Sales rep told me had $1000 grade fee !! Wait in your book says you supply a quote well that didn’t happen! Then emailed sales agent again asking for detailed bill said “absolutely” never received. 5 days
later I email him asking again. He says he will absolutely
call me in the morning to discuss payment that never
happened still after a week have no idea how to work pool and no word from anyone. Was told in my email sorry we are very busy this year. No communication no support ! I guess if you’re not paying 50,000 for an above ground pool they don’t care!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

HI Mel, I would like to review all aspects with our construction and sales team. Do you mind emailing me to confirm your full contact information please? Cwalychuck@pioneerpools.com - thank you so much!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Pioneer Family Pools

At Pioneer Family Pools, we are committed to providing family and friends with a better leisure living!

Smartphones and the internet have accelerated the way in which we interact, but that doesn't mean you can't take the time to break away.

At Pioneer Family Pools, it's all about family to us. We understand that relaxing in your soothing hot tub, or enjoying a summer barbecue by the pool with our all-new collections of patio furniture and accessories, are the much-needed moments in your busy life - those moments you truly cherish with family and friends.

Give us a call today.

CATEGORIES
Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs
PRODUCTS
Pools, Hot Tubs, Patio Furniture, Maintenance Products, Chemicals, Service
SERVICES
Full Service Pool and Hot tub Options. Safety Cover, Liner and Custom Covers.
BRANDS
Hayward, Zodiac, Polaris, Paramount, Atom, Pentair
SPECIALITIES
Pool, Hot tubs and Patio Furniture
WEBSITE
https://www.pioneerfamilypools.ca/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1965
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
250
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.