Pioneer Family Pools

Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs
4265 Fairview Street Burlington ON L7L 5R9
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

64%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Pioneer Family Pools

Average customer rating:
6.5 10 (157 reviews)

Sort by

12345678
12345678
0 reviews Burlington, ON
3/10

Everything breaks virtually on the warranty expiration date

We had our pool installed exactly 3 years ago with all equipment carrying a 3 year warranty.
The pump broke 2 weeks before the warranty expiration
Temperature sensor broke 1 week after the warranty expiration
Now the heater has broken (twice), literally 2 weeks after the expiration.
Pioneer may have good pricing - largely due to their sales and installation of highly inferior equipment.
Pioneer does live up to warranty repair (not for the issues after the warranty period), but ALL the equipment breaks - come on, you can do better.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good morning, I would be happy to review this for you. Often so close to a warranty period ending, we would always do what we could for our customers. If you would like me to review further, please reach out cwalychuck@pioneerpools.com

Natasha in Toronto
Natasha in Toronto
0 reviews Hamilton, ON
0/10

STAY AWAY from Pioneer Pools

If there is a level (s) below poor customer service, Pioneer should win an award. Our pool was installed in December 2020. It was scheduled to open early May 2021 but we ran into issues with getting them out to open the pool. The liner was wrinkled and still is - we were told the warm weather and the water level with fix it over time. We have not had a working pool heater since day one. They replaced the first heater without figuring out the root cause. We asked multiple times what the issue was and were told it was a faulty heater. New heater was put in and worked for less than a week and we ran into the same issue. After sending someone knowledgable from Jandy out we found out that its the water chemistry that has been the problem for the heater. We couldn't test the water when everything was fired up to go, because the labs were closed for water testing and we were told to use the strips (which don't detect mineral buildup). We haven't had a heater at all this first season and after waiting for 3 months for Pioneer to rectify the issue, they want us to pay 50% for a new heater which we had no fault in damaging. They've got their money so they don't care. We had referred two other customers to them prior to this as well that they have made their money off of. Please be warned that they don't have pool experts in their service or sales department (at least none that we have dealt with). Choose a different pool company to go with.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Natasha. I believe your husband has been working with Cam on this one. It would be best to deal with him and Jandy directly as going through this many heaters in a short time is often due to improper water chemistry. Our water tests in store are free and phosphates are often the root cause of heater damage. There are ways we can assist, and I am sure Cameron and Jandy are working to do the best option for you moving forward.

EstherK
EstherK
0 reviews Burlington, ON
6/10

Service Call Gone Wrong.

In May, a Pioneer Family Pools crew created a leak during a service call to fix my hot tub panel that had not existed prior to their visit, rendering it unusable. They refused to take responsibility and come back and remedy the situation unless I paid for that visit and could not guarantee that they would be able to fix the leak that they created on the next visit. I was to be charged for that as well.
I did not want to pay for the service call that left my hot tub unusable. I had made many attempts to speak with a senior manager to no avail.

I finally submitted a payment since I was told it would go to collections. I included a letter and today was contacted by head office. The gentleman listened to my story and has destroyed the cheque. He told me he would speak to the employees involved and asked if he could do anything else. This was a better resolution, but it being the end of the summer and when I use a hot tub, I have ultimately lost the use of one for this season.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Esther - just reaching out again - if there is something else I can help to get this to completion, please let me know cwalychuck@pioneerpools.com

Andrew in Stoney Creek
Andrew in Stoney Creek
9 reviews Hamilton, ON
0/10

New on ground pool installation

I had Pioneer (Rymal Road location) install an on ground pool, pump, heater and salt gen system in May of 2021. The sand trowlled bottom was full of divots. Can't recommend.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Andrew - we are still very happy to review the bottom with you to make sure there was nothing missed. Chris I believe has already reached out to assist - we hadn't heard about this prior. Happy to help!

Shelly
Shelly
1 review Hamilton, ON
1/10

Poor customer service

Our pool was Installed. The filters are leaking, left 3 messages to have this fixed. Still waiting 3 days for a return call!!! Sales guys is never available. The girl at the water is rude. Not not helpful at all. Very disappointed

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Shelly, this doesn't sound like our norm and I am so sorry for this delay. Can I put you in direct touch with someone to get what you need looked after? Please reach out directly - cwalychuck@pioneerpools.com - Courtney -
Hi Shelly - just checking that this was resolved?

Count  in Waterloo
Count in Waterloo
1 review Burlington, ON
6/10

Inconsistent service

This location provides good value and many outdoor lifestyle products. The testing area is great add. unfortunately staffing levels are inconsistent creating long wait times and frustration in finding the right product.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the update to the review and we appreciate your understanding. We also appreciate your continued support.

Maz in Toronto
Maz in Toronto
0 reviews Oakville, ON
1/10

In-store poor advise

I visted their Oakville store several times to test my water and buy any required chemicals, and I am under impression that they are employing some seasonal employees with the most basic knowledge whose their guess might not be better than average customers. As soon as the question is getting a bit tricky, they would try to look away or reading the products specification for you. If you need to talk to a pool expert don't go there but for a simple advise you would get some help there.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Maz! We are always happy to improve. Many of our seasonal staff have been with us for a number of years, but we are always teaching and coaching other new team members. My sincere apologies if you need more assistance or guidance I am happy to personally assist. Some diagnosis can be somewhat complicated - but we can always find an answer for you. Please email me direct if I can help more - cwalychuck@pioneerpools.com - Courtney

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Dumped all the cover dirt in the pool, didn't provide warranty info

So disappointed with the quality of service, lack of responsiveness and willingness to fix issues from Pioneer Pools. They make you pre-pay first before they deliver the services as promised, good luck getting your money back or a fix.
We purchased a new filter and opened the pool with them this season; the filter came with no box, no manuals, no warranty information, probably used or returned item.
Tried to get the warranty information for the filter, they said it stays with the company. I called Hayward they said you should ask for it because you need it to register with Hayward. We still don't have it as Pioneer pool refuses to provide it.

Then two guys came to open the pool, no markings whatsoever of belonging to the company, we are pretty sure it was outsourced to other companies. They didn't brush the pool cover as per services provided information when you pre-pay for it and they DUMPED THE DIRT IN THE POOL exactly what the cover is supposed to prevent from happening.
Called to complain about it, nobody picks up. Left a voicemail days ago, nobody called.
Very very disappointed

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good morning, I believe we connected already on Google regarding this issue - if you could please send me your direct contact info - cwalychuck@pioneerpools.com so that we can review any outstanding concerns. Thank you

jeff in Burlington
jeff in Burlington
2 reviews Burlington, ON
1/10

Very Expensive Sloppy Work

I had a salt system and pool pump installed. $418.00+tax is an expensive labor charge for 1 hours worth of work. For example my Electrician charges $65/hour. Plus, after waiting for the glue to dry we started the system and one of the joints starting leaking. I proceeded to spend the next couple of hours working with caulking and tape to stop the leak. My efforts were unsuccessful and after multiple VM's and emails was able to secure an appointment for a technician to return and repair the leak 2 days after the initial install. The repair was finally finished at 8:30pm but the installer splashed glue all over my new pump and patio stones. I've been a loyal Pioneer customer for over a decade. I have had all underground lines replaced, purchased multiple pumps, salt systems, cells, filters, robot, etc and have always been happy. Unfortunately this wasn't the usual experience....and will be my last.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jeff, We have tried to connect with you a few times to reschedule a visit and review all of your concerns, are you able to connect back with us? cwalychuck@pioneerpools.com - Courtney

Jonathan in Toronto
Jonathan in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Terrible service, no communication, unprofessional

Called to get my hot tub fixed. They sent a terrible technician, no follow up, and bad customer service. And have now disappeared for 2 months with no info. Go elsewhere!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

hi Jonathan, just following up on this again - did you have everything resolved on the timeline with our manager? cwalychuck@pioneerpools.com

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Pioneer Family Pools

At Pioneer Family Pools, we are committed to providing family and friends with a better leisure living! Smartphones and the internet have accelerated the way in which we interact, but that doesn't mean you can't take the time to break away. At Pioneer Family Pools, it's all about family to ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs pros in Burlington?