Pioneer Family Pools

Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs
4265 Fairview Street Burlington ON L7L 5R9
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

67%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Pioneer Family Pools

Average customer rating:
6.9 10 (147 reviews)

Sort by

Nataliya in Toronto
Nataliya in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
2/10

Do not believe good reviews, they are written by family and friends

I am a person that is hard to fool, but Pioneer Family Pools managed to do it. We paid $270 for the pool opening. My expectation was I would swim after they open a pool, instead 2 very young workers, probably students, removed a tarp from the pool, connected a pipe and left us with a box of pool winter chemicals. When I called customer service, they said that company did exactly what I paid for. So, I paid $270 just for the tarp removal because winter chemicals we could not use in June anyway. I was very disappointed. I would not write this review, but Pioneer Family Pools keep sending me emails with pictures of the pools before and after. DO NOT BELIEVE! It is not the truth. They just fool people and make easy money, but with this level of service I am sure it will not last long.

Wa

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Nataliya, yes very sorry but the pool opening does not include a vacuum or chemical treatment. It is the cover removal and reconnection of your plumbing and equipment. Some of our locations offer additional vacuuming services for an additional fee, but not all of them. I am sorry we didn't properly manage your expectations, but this would not have been part of what you had paid for. We would never want you to feel like there is intent for this to be misleading. I will speak to the team to properly communicate this, or communicate this better in the future. You will notice several other companies perform the same services for additional fees.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Vaughan, ON
0/10

linear installation

Last year I contacted Pioneer Pools regarding replacing my liner for my above ground pool. At the time they were very helpful in setting up one of their employees to measure so the liner could be ordered and installed before the 2019 summer. My children were eagerly awaiting the opening of the pool season. Little did we know that the workers Pioneer either contacts out or hires were very incompetent in the installation process. This is where the nightmare began for us. The men instructed my husband to fill the pool that it was all ready to go. As we were filling my husband noticed the walls were bumpy, and contacted them right away, again they reassured him it was good. So not being experts in this we proceeded as we were told by the professionals. A few days past and my husband still felt something was not right, he decided to investigate it further to realize the bumps he noticed were the bottom of the pool that were pulled up through installation process. Right away I contacted the head office in Brampton and spoke to the young lady that helped us order and process the payment. She would follow up and get back to us. When we heard back the workers tried to put the blame on us like it was our fault. They agreed to come back to fix it, but in doing we needed to drain our full pool right to the bottom to fix what was not done properly the first time. The office was willing to compensate me for the water once I brought it to their attention, no compensation was offered prior. Furthermore, we still were not happen with the second installation as we noticed dips in the bottom where the base was being moved. We decided at that point as a family to enjoy the summer because we had wasted summer weeks already. What a mistake that was. As we were doing our best to enjoy our pool with our four children we noticed that the pool required a lot of water to be topped up, but thought it has a lot to do with the hot summer. Well it does not end there for us . We recently (May 18, 2020) opened up our pool for the summer 2020, to run into more problems with the liner. Three days after we filled and opened the pool we began to notice a very big leak. Once again I reached out to the young lady and she was kind enough to direct me to the proper channels to fix it and did mentioned it is only under warranty if the rip is on the seam. Crazy! Considering the liner was only used for barely 1 season. How does a liner rip so quickly. Again not having a choice we dealt with Pioneer Pools, in hopes that they would find the rip in the seam and it would be covered by them, but no such luck. The damage was so bad that I had to drain my pool again, have it completely pulled apart to replace all the bottom for them to locate my rip, patch it and of course to no surprise it was not on the seam. So once again we had to pay out of pocket ($2000.00) to get it fixed and refill with Pioneer Pool not accepting any part in this. I know it is hard to prove that the rip was due to their carelessness and poor installation, but it would of been nice just for an apology for what our experience has been. We have finally opened up this year ( 2020) with the liner being installed 3 times in 1 year, we are still not happen with the wrinkles throughout and know we will probably be looking to buy a new one a lot sooner then we should. I would not recommend anyone to use this company for service or product. My experience was not pleasant.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there! Thank you so much for reaching out. I am digging into this as I type back to you. Would you be willing to reach out to me as I understand Larry was out to your yard on Saturday. I would like to review the wrinkles with you and anything you need further.

Linda/Dave in Hamilton
Linda/Dave in Hamilton
1 review Hamilton, ON
0/10

Not happy with pioneer pools

Pioneer Pool installed a new Liner for our in ground pool ,nothing but a night mare ,within a week developed a stain at the bottom of the pool exactly were they covered the drain,but of course they said it was our fault ,I voiced that I felt small pebbles under the liner and they said they would get in the pool and check it out (of course that did not happen )the following summer the water drained out of the pool right were the pebbles were ,paid $5600 ,IM just out the money and it has been nothing but stress ,no help from Pioneer pools

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Linda, sorry to hear you aren't happy. Sounds odd that staining would occur over the main drain. I would like to investigate and get some photos from you if that is possible. Please reach out to me at cwalychuck@pioneerpools.com.

Mel
Mel
1 review Hamilton, ON
2/10

Nightmare ! Above ground pool installation

Very little communication had no idea how to work salt water still after a week have not herd from anyone no direction or help.
*Showed up with wrong excavators after sending pictures and measurements of entrance ways to yard and paid for small equipment. Pool installation pushed back
*Asked for them to come look at excavation twice we are on a hill.*Rented the size of bin they suggested
*Left with 10 yards of dirt Had to pay another $1000 for someone to remove*role off truck operator said bin was not even full when picked up *Had something stuck in ground
after excavation asked for help from operator to remove he said yes then left without helping.*Had to pay to get a old wheel out of the ground would of took him one min with machine. Pool excavation pushed back again *Received a call to come pay remaining balance. Sales rep told me had $1000 grade fee !! Wait in your book says you supply a quote well that didn’t happen! Then emailed sales agent again asking for detailed bill said “absolutely” never received. 5 days
later I email him asking again. He says he will absolutely
call me in the morning to discuss payment that never
happened still after a week have no idea how to work pool and no word from anyone. Was told in my email sorry we are very busy this year. No communication no support ! I guess if you’re not paying 50,000 for an above ground pool they don’t care!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

HI Mel, I would like to review all aspects with our construction and sales team. Do you mind emailing me to confirm your full contact information please? Cwalychuck@pioneerpools.com - thank you so much!

Mark  in Burlington
Mark in Burlington
0 reviews Burlington, ON
10/10

Pool Opening

I had Pioneer Pools (Burlington) open my pool.
I was extremely impressed with the customer service.
Monty and Mitch were great to deal with.
I would recommend them 100%.
They were efficient and went above and beyond their duties. What a great experience !!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for this!! Sooo grateful and I will make sure to let Monty and Mitch know.

Kevin in Mississauga
Kevin in Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

pool

We had Pioneer family pools install our pool. Bryn was excellent from the first meeting with him. The crew that did the work did a great job. We would recommend Pioneer family pools to any one..

Kevin

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Kevin! We are thrilled to hear this - happy we could help!

M in Mississauga
M in Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

Liner Replacement

Thank you to Ian and crew for a great job installing our new liner! Looks great and they went above and beyond. Appreciate the time they took to do the job right.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much! This is great to hear! I will let Ian know!

The Roman’s in Mississauga
The Roman’s in Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

6 stars

How can we start this Pioneer Pool review...... can we give 6 stars out of 5? Unfortunately not, but trust us they DESERVE 6 STARS.
From the beginning, this company showed a truly professional costumer services. After Bryn came to our home to asses our backyard and asked us few questions about our dreamed pool( that we had no idea at that time what we want except an inground pool) a very quick appointment at the office was seated up. At that appointment, a date to start the project was already decided and all our questions were answered in a professional matter. An estimate fee was also discussed and a 3D plan followed shortly after. After doing a research, Pioneer Pool prices are the same with all other big pool companies.The estimate fee was exactly what we end up paying.....no surprises. We did some changes to the first project we made but never felt any pressure from Bryn when taking a decision. Contrary, he always answered all our questions and guide us within our best interest only. Pioneer Pool will design your pool and also gives you idea about landscaping around the pool. Richard was helping us with that, and we have only good things to say about him too. Unfortunately our start date was delayed by the city but once again Bryn guided us with all the necessary paperwork and also represent us in front of the city in order to get the approval. When the project date came, Bryn promised us that our pool will be done in a week time......hard to believe when you deal with contractors. Well, Pioneer Pool, Bryn, and his workers started the project Tuesday morning and they were done by Saturday lunch time including the cement around the pool. Was amazing, and we do not have enough words to thank to all this professionally, organized, well trained people that helped us during this project. As a conclusion, from our point of view, Pioneer Pool is a trustable and reliable company which is run by professionally, devoted and trusted employees. Many thanks to Bryn, Richard, Rick and all other workers that helped us to achieve a wonderful backyard.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Wow this is an incredible review! I'm so sorry I'm late to getting back to you. We are so very grateful! Not sure if you noticed that HomeStars actually allows for 10 stars! You gave us 6/5 which is amazing! But 6/10 we would always want to aim higher Hahahah.
We are privileged to have built your pool and so happy you are thrilled with the end result! Thank you again!

Nilanthi in Milton
Nilanthi in Milton
0 reviews Milton, ON
10/10

Outdoor pool

They did a nice job. Their staff is very knowledgeable. Due to weather condition in early spring, job could not finish as we planned. I think price is reasonable. We do recommend them for any one who likes to build a pool.
But, for landscaping better to get quotations from few people/companies and go.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for the feedback. The weather is always unpredictable but we aim to work through as many weather conditions as we can to stay on track with your installation. Have a great upcoming season - let us know if you need anything!

Jenny in Burlington
Jenny in Burlington
0 reviews Burlington, ON
10/10

Professional efficient just amazing

We could not be happier with the service we got with pioneer.. Jeremy (Burlington) was beyond patient and professional, it was nice to have all our questions were answered by phone or email without a long wait time!! Ryan over looked the whole project from start to finish and was amazing!! Everyone that took part ( gas and electric company) were all so great!!! No problems at all. It’s a nice change dealing with professionals!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Jenny. We are so happy you have taken the time to share your experience with us. I will make sure to relay this to Jeremy and Ryan. Enjoy swimming.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Pioneer Family Pools

At Pioneer Family Pools, we are committed to providing family and friends with a better leisure living!

Smartphones and the internet have accelerated the way in which we interact, but that doesn't mean you can't take the time to break away.

At Pioneer Family Pools, it's all about family to us. We understand that relaxing in your soothing hot tub, or enjoying a summer barbecue by the pool with our all-new collections of patio furniture and accessories, are the much-needed moments in your busy life - those moments you truly cherish with family and friends.

Give us a call today.

CATEGORIES
Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs
PRODUCTS
Pools, Hot Tubs, Patio Furniture, Maintenance Products, Chemicals, Service
SERVICES
Full Service Pool and Hot tub Options. Safety Cover, Liner and Custom Covers.
BRANDS
Hayward, Zodiac, Polaris, Paramount, Atom, Pentair
SPECIALITIES
Pool, Hot tubs and Patio Furniture
WEBSITE
https://www.pioneerfamilypools.ca/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1965
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
250
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.