Reviews

6/10

Good sales team and very poor booking team. I had to take unnecessary time away from work due to company faults. On top of that very rude people like T. ..from booking team who asked me if "i wanted broken windows" installed. Very poor service after initial sale. Instead of offering me service enhancement or compensation for my extra time away from work, it seemed like they were doing me a favour for installing the windows

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Zee,
We're sorry to hear that your experience did not live up to the expectations we set for our clients to receive. Unfortunately, things not always go as we wish but we try to resolve it ASAP. Our installation crew detected one defected/scratched glass during the pick up and we did our best to make a new one for the same day. Your project was finished the same day with a delay of a few hours. Thank you again for your understanding & for your business!

WINDOWTECH Team

10/10

I was very surprised by the calibre of technical knowledge and good moral practices. The company representative Mustafa was very pleasant and personable. He was able to understand my needs and did not waste time on irrelevant information. The presentation was tailored to my specific situation. Thanks Mustafa

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Zee, you're review makes us very proud. Thank you so much for trusting your home to us and we will make sure to let Mustafa know how happy you are his knowledge & morality!

3/10

This is just another third class duct cleaning company with all false info on their website. Unlike what the website says. After the first terrible job of cutting a hole in the duct and not closing it in the furnace, I informed the owner and again for second time the same terrible issue. The technician was using foul language. Did not wear shoe covers Look at attached picture for what your house will look like after the job (sharp metal pieces on floor, garbage and tape all over) The equipment mounted on the van was barely starting up properly

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It is unfortunate that you feel that you have received sub par service. We at StrongHouse do our very best to satisfy all customer concerns and in fact I as the owner have offered to visit the Home to correct and inspect all work performed along with offering a full refund if the service was found to be inadequately completed. Unfortunately this offer was refused. I will take responsibility for any customer service concerns but to accuse that our website is misleading and false is simply unfair. We stand behind our service 100% and would have gladly come to some sort of compromise. We wish your family well and have taken your comments seriously and have taken the appropriate action to assist us and our customers in the future. We hope to have another opportunity to work with you again.