Reviews

10/10

Let's start with "would i recommend Avenue Road Roofing"? Absolutely, this is actually my third time working with them and a review is overdue. This project was a replacement of an existing eaves system. Upgrading to the Rainpro system. Communication with Elias to get a quote, Jason to book the work and Tony to supervise the work; was professional from beginning to end. They considered not only the functionality but the aesthetics. Making sure the new eaves looked great and performed exceptionally. Great decision to go with Avenue for this job!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for the review Stephen. We appreciate the continued business and are very happy to hear you are satisfied with our work.

10/10

I had a tree that on windy days was hitting the fence and was causing it to lean. Primarily two posts had become loose and needed to be replaced. Yurii came out to provide the quote and all interactions were very pleasant and professional. A two man crew worked very hard to remove the old posts. Including one cement footing that was particularly challenging, but they worked to get it removed. The new fence posts look great and where they re-attached the fence sections; i think they are better secured then they were before. Constantly checking level. You can see these guys care about the quality of their work. When the fence fully needs to be replaced, i already know who i will be calling - Oak Home Services for sure!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You Stephen!

10/10

Very responsive. Professional. Quality work - really makes sure that your new dead bolt is working. Tested multiple keys after rekeying for us to match the front door lock. Radoslav really spent the time to test and make sure everything was working perfectly. Pricing seemed very fair. Will definitely hire again! Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review Stephen!
It was pleasure for me to help you out!
Radoslav

10/10

Davey Drywall was very easy to work with and does excellent work. Using the HomeStars site we connected, exchanged messages and settled on pricing and timing. Davey Drywall was very responsive and always professional. The work was done over a few days. When complete, it looked great and the area was left very clean. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks very much for the great review Stephen !

10/10

Front door was weathered and needed to be stripped down and restrained. Mario did an amazing job of making the door look like new! Demiri definitely wants the customer to be happy with the end result. Highly recommended. Will use them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Stephen, thank you for taking the time to write us a review about restoring your door. We'll look forward to work with you again in the future. Thanks again for you business, Valon!

10/10

Valentin is EXCELLENT to work with. Very professional. Ensures that the work is tested (no leaks) and does a thorough inspection before the installation. He made sure that before installing a replacement toilet that all existing elements were in solid working order. He is honest and will not charge you for things you don't need. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Contacted Three Little Pigs Masonry and sent pictures of damaged front steps and a A/C concrete pad i wanted rebuilt. Stones on front steps were loose and masonry joints were crumbling. Promptly received quote and work started within two weeks. Workmanship was very good but most impressive is how important it is to them that you are satisfied with the work. Can't recommend them enough!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Stephen very much for your review.

9/10

Had purchased a new TV, AV Receiver etc and needed lots of wires pulled and everything setup and configured for use. David was great to deal with right from the first contact all the way through to following up after the job to answer questions. Very attentive to detail. Wish i had used him for my original setup 6 years ago which ended up being a bit of a hack job with all the extra holes drilled to pull wires. You can't go wrong working with David - honest and attentive to detail.

Was this review helpful?
0/10

I had used Drainworks before and work performed was satisfactory. This time will be the last time i use them! We had found a leak in the house and a Drainwork's plumber was sent to investigate. Things started out okay and walls were being opened to investigate. Problems started when it became apparent the plumber had no methodical approach to finding the leak and was just going from theory to theory to theory with no logical flow. I basically started spending all my time with him trying to guide his logic and i am not a plumber but often I had the better ideas. After 4 hours and 3 holes in the walls on two floors of the house the plumber still hadn't figured it out and frankly was now completely confused as to what to do next. I suggested he just leave it and i would monitor. I should also mention that one of his theories was just plan illogical and as he explained it to me and i stated it made no sense he agreed with me that it didn't. So i decide to call Drainworks and complain about the person sent. They just stood by him and explained that since i signed off on the work they would absolutely do nothing for me. Any company can offer a credit and they absolutely would not. They stood by this plumber no matter how silly his theories were. They didn't care. Bottom line is if you use these guys - refuse to sign anything. They do not stand by their people or work. Will never use them again. UPDATE BASED ON DRAINWORKS RESPONSE: Your plumber was at my house for 4.5 hours not 5. He offered to charge for only 4 as he did not find the issue. In fact he was a very nice man and i have no issue with him personally. I do have issue with his ability to troubleshoot a leak. So yes, I did have him continue as anyone would with a leak...you want it found and fixed! I tried helping him find it since he seemed to have no good plan to find it. I wanted it found and fixed and spent a lot of my time helping him figure out what to do next. I was just hoping to get to the source of the issue. I gave up when it become apparent that he had no idea what further to do. I assumed he was skilled enough that if he found it, he could fix it. Here is the real test of the skill of the people you send. And i explained this to you on the phone and you found it acceptable. He shows me that the water is on the pipe where it is actually a vent and no water flows through. His theory is that the water is getting blocked from flowing down so is backing up into what should be the dry part of the pipe and then leaking out of some cracked part. Only problem is that if this were true then the sinks would also backup or drain slowly. Which they definitely weren't doing. This was brought to his attention BY ME. I am not a licensed plumber but could easily understand this theory of his made no sense. He agreed when i challenged him. As we discussed on the phone i understand that you feel this is acceptable and you stand by your plumber. If this is the quality of troubleshooting you stand by then fine, as i said, i will NEVER use your company again. If you offered to properly discount the work realizing the plumber wasted time with silly theories and was not capable of a proper methodical approach to finding the leak that anyone would expect then that is how you want to represent your company. Fine. Your choice. People considering you should know.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Stephen. Feedback is always appreciated, and we welcome this opportunity to respond. When you called our office you indicated that there was a mysterious leak, which you had not been able to locate the source of, even after opening some drywall yourself. Our offer was to send a plumber to your home to continue investigating, hour by hour, with no guarantee that the source of the mysterious leak would be located, nor how much time would be required to complete said investigation; you agreed to book this appointment. The plumber was at your home for 5 hours (as evidenced by our G.P.S tracking system and records), and before beginning each hour, looked to you for authorization, to be transparent about the charges you were incurring, and repeatedly you voiced your authorization for him to continue. You made no claims to the plumber, while he was onsite, that you were unhappy with his services; in fact your actions point in the opposite direction. Logically, it doesn’t make sense that someone who is unhappy with services being rendered would continue to proceed with them. You had the power to end the investigation at any time, and at multiple times throughout the service, but you did not. Your request for a credit is puzzling because we followed through exactly as we said we would when the call was booked, with no guarantees, and we proceeded, with your approval, for only as long as you requested. You made the choice to purchase 5 hours of service, only 4 of which you were charged for, and those services cannot be returned. We find it baffling, that if you were so unimpressed with our plumber and what you deemed to be his lack of skill and direction, why you would keep him working at your home. If that was how you felt, why not end the assessment after 15 minutes? After 1 hour? After 2 hours? We keep our customer fully informed, every step of the way, because DrainWorks strives to provide top notch customer that is transparent with no surprises

2/10

Preference was to delete this review but it appears there is no option to do so. First two projects was very happy. Third project i had some concerns about the pricing and Charlie and Anna just ignored my concerns and justified themselves. It appears that charging a customer for materials and then taking what is remaining is an acceptable business practice to Mr Rescue. Also i recommend if you consider using them go into this knowing there is a 4 hour minimum. It may not be stated and if your job takes 2 hours they will happily charge you for 4 and leave the site without offering to see if they can do anything else since you have paid for an additional 2 hours. Too bad since Charlie is very nice and his actual work is good. Just make sure you understand their business practices and i hope you have no questions or concerns at the end because i doubt they will try to address them.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Stephen
you obviously know I have a hourly minimum as
it was applied also on your second repair.

I clearly told you the minimum rate fee applies
as for material taken away, we bought ten feet of electrical
wire and the remaing 2 feet was taken away in order not
to throw it in your garbage.

I stand behind my work and customers 100 percent and it is evident
reviews and customer satisfaction, if something I touched is wrong, I will fix it free.

you are more than welcome to contact any one of my clients

you are upset because I would not allow a discount in pricing
because you felt that I should only be compensated for my actual
time spent on the job, not for the quality of work ... I went and bought the needed material for you , no delivery fee , no increase in cost.

your 2 rating is untruthful and malicious as for the first two
repairs I gave you fantastic service and now I deserve a 2 because
you were not prepared to pay a minimum charge which you fully knew and were
advised by me.

Stephen , enjoy your lights , the new fence I built for you and the lovely mirror I hung in your daughters room.

2/10

Rod, rebuilt our front steps and did an extension on to the back patio. Generally work was okay but he does not stand by his guarantee. I identified mortar work that cracked back in the Spring. He spent all summer promising to come by "within the coming week or so" and then just stopped responding to my emails altogether. He does not stand by his work so would definitely NOT recommend.

Was this review helpful?
1/10

Originally quoted as a 6-8 week project it took almost 12 months before they fully completed the job. Workmanship is poor - I have had to do minor repairs on several aspects of the work they did. Communication was terrible. Several times I had to call them after long periods with no one showing up at the job. I had heard lots of good things about them so not sure what happened but our experience was not a good one at all! UPDATE BASED ON COMPANY RESPONSE: ------------------------------- This is an addition to the previous story that Belvedere responded to. For the record both the stucco on the garage front and the spackling on the driveway curbs cracked during the first winter and Belvedere did not repair anything. The stucco cracking was quite severe and was an eye sore at the front of the house. MANY of the interlocking stones used for the stairs up to the house had to be re-glued. The doorway from the garage into the house was not hung level and therefore you need to play with it to get it to lock. If this is their idea of quality workmanship then i think my rating is justified. They did put pictures on their website which they took right after it was complete, it shows the near dead sod they put down as part of that job. Quality to the last detail for sure. Why not go back and take pictures now so people can see the cracked stucco and cracked spackling on the curbs? Note: in their response back to my original comments even they acknowledge that i had to keep calling them for updates. Whether it was the city or not our supposed project manager never called us or gave us any indication of what was going on. We had to keep calling them. As no one would show up for days or even weeks without explanation. As you can see many others are happy with Belvedere's work i only caution to let them do simple jobs, this one in my opinion was way over their head and the workmanship was definitely POOR. My biggest surprise was that they did nothing to rectify the situation and NEVER offered to fix things that were already breaking before the job was fully complete. FINAL COMMENTS: I don't understand why Belvedere is still responding to a 4 year old review. They note that someone who was unhappy wouldn't pay in full. That is correct - we didn't and stated we wouldn't based on the quality of the work. Belvedere just walked away at that point. They also state that our review is still negative even though we sold the house - what does that even mean? We should feel better about the work because we moved? Then they go on to try to discredit the review because we also rated another contractor badly. Well maybe i am at fault for not praising those who have done good work - that is a fair comment. But when i note that another contractor told us something would be fixed in the spring, kept delaying all summer and then stopped responding in the fall and your comment is that this contractor is busy and a good person. Really, you stand by this behaviour. Interesting. I will respond no further. This review is 4 years old. You have many positive responses, why continue to worry about it?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

“To Whom It May Concern, I just noticed this negative rating as I was going on the web. We had to deal with many departments of the Building Department City of Toronto, because of structural issues and added permits. The project required more than one department of the City. The time delay was not in our control. We would receive calls from the homeowner asking us about the progress. The best we could do during this time was to tell the owner we are waiting for the City. The project involved not only an architect but also an engineer. The final outcome of the work was so well done, that we show it on our web-site under exterior renovations. The complaints regarding cracks etc. were rectified. We are sorry the job took so long, but as I quoted before, this was not in our control. We were held up waiting for the go ahead from the building department. SECOND RESPONSE BY BELVEDERE when the work was totally completed we were paid the balance owing. We are of the understanding that clients who are critical of a contractors work do not usually pay the whole balance until they are satisfied. This work was done over four years ago and the owner sold the house and now lives elsewhere. The response from the client about Belvedere written currently is still negative, and I repeat they have not lived in the house in question for a few years. I was going through our reviews and came upon a current negative review they have written about another contractor who can't make them happy in their new home. The contractor performed outside masonry work as we had. THEY GAVE THE CONTRACTOR a 1.0 rating, same as they gave us. We know of this contractor and they are very busy and have a great reputation. Yours Truly Eric Giordano (Owner)”