Reviews

10/10

One of the walls bordering our carport was in a long-term slow collapse and needed to be replaced; they were probably over 30 years old. Doug offered a good and timely quote to match what we were looking for, and the team that did the work (tearing out the old wall, removing the stump of a small tree and another plans that had grown into and through the wooden slats of the wall, replacing the wall, etc.) in a very efficient and quick few hours. The work was well done and looks great.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for this Andrew - they really are a great crew

10/10

Master Drain was under contract to do some work next door and the contractor offered to do some similar work for us. This ended up being a replacement of lead pipe from our basement to the city property-line, the installation of a backwater valve in the basement, and a drain replacement. We took the contractor up on his offer, and for the most part were satisfied with the work and the manner in which it was done. However, a small number of things still needed to be attended to and there was never any follow up from the contractor. The contractor made it appear as if he were in charge of the work being done by Master Drain and once I let Master Drain know about the remaining issues to be attended to, they immediately responded. They really care about their work and I would recommend them to anyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Andrew thank you for helping us spreading good word about our work, it helping other people to find proper contractor for their jobs. Thank you

6/10

We have had a decidedly mixed experience with this company. We are more or less satisfied with the quality of their product and their work, but decidedly dissatisfied with the timing and pace. Back in June and July, we got a quote from 4-5 reputable window and door companies for the replacement of four windows, which included a bay window (and thus a significant amount of aluminum capping). It was important to us that the work be done before September, if at all possible. Eco Choice came in competitively at more or less the same as one other company, but Gabriel promised an August installation which the other company could not, so we decided to go with them and paid our deposit. He estimated that it would take 1 to 2 days to complete the installation. We did NOT get an August installation and it took more than 2 days. The measurement of our windows required to order them took place two weeks after promised. The installation did not begin until the middle of September, but rain meant they could not finish; they were not able to make it back for four days, and they were still not able to finish then, and the work was only completed just before the end of September. Almost immediately after this, we noticed that a couple of the casement windows were not closing correctly: one closed roughly, the other not at all. Gabriel wanted the original installer to try and fix them, but the installer only ended up coming about two weeks later and while he was able to improve the situation, he could not fix it. The installer said he would need to return with a second person to do it right. It took multiple calls and a no-show appointment for Gabriel to decide that the manufacturer should be called in to fix the windows (three weeks after reporting the original problem). The manufacturer did not contact me until a week after that (after more prompting on my part), only to tell me that their service time usually takes 4-5 weeks. A technician finally arrived and quickly fixed the problems only mid-to-late November. In other words, not only did the promised August installation not happen, but the windows were not properly functional until the end of November. Eco-Choice struck us as over-extended and under-staffed to meet their commitments. A company should not only be evaluated when things go right, but also how they respond when things go wrong (problems with the product) or not according to plan (weather delays, sick staff, “broken trucks” and “broken cell phones”). While Gabriel was for the most part responsive and unhappy with the situation, there was often nothing he could do; Eco-Choice apparently did not have the staff or wiggle-room in their schedule to deal with such problems in a timely manner. I would think twice about using them if you have a timeline you need to stick to.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback Andrew. Your project was an isolated situation, when several un-controllable situations like you mentioned happened all at once back in August and September. I do apologize and did not mean to disappoint you with the installation date. As per the service call, the Casement mechanism had to be replaced originally by the manufacturer but we still sent our installer to try and expedite the service call for you. This service call was minor, having saying that it should have been dealt faster by the service technician. This review should not reflect or tarnish the good name of our company. We tried our best to accommodate you. Gabriel.