Reviews

0/10

Updates: 1. It took 7 months for the Ministry to complete the investigation; 2. I sent follow up inquiry to Alpha Seal as per owner's feedback, but no response when to get the remaining $500 deposit as of Oct. 2. ========================================== I signed a floor tile renovation contract with Alpha Seal Construction on Jan. 30, 2014. After the owner took $900 deposit, no one showed up to complete the work. As of today, I only received $400 refund. After going through the Ontario Ministry of Government and Consumer Services appealing process, I still didn't hear any response. Please consult the official Consumer Beware List posted on the Ministry's website before signing any contract with Alpha Seal. http://www.consumerbeware.mgs.gov.on.ca/catsct/detailinfo.do?i=0&page=1 Ottawa

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Follow up: October 04, 2014

We have refunded deposit to Angela in January. We were never notified that Angela was contacting consumer beware list. Angela we understand that you may be upset that we could not do your 24" tiles and that you had to find someone else to do this work as we could not do it for agreed price. Originally it was suppost to be 12" tile. We have happily sent you your deposit back in January. We have heard nothing from The ministry in regards to this. We do not understand why you feel the need to run our company into the ground. We have resolved this with you and will NOT be sending anymore money as you are not entitled to anything else. Please refrain from posting false information on this site. Any further action or false information will be dealt with by litigation.

In response to Angela's comments above:

We have returned your deposit via email money transfer back in January of 2014. You changed your mind on flooring..upgrading to a 24" tile. The cost of installation is more in which you were not willing to pay.We are sorry we could not do business with you. We tried to send another contractor to help you out but you refused. In terms of consumer beware list we were never contacted. However we are looking into this now and hope to have this settled as soon as possible. We have never taken a deposit and not shown up to a job. In terms of returning deposits you are the only client we needed to with. We noticed in previous reviews you posted that you had alot of difficulty finding a contractor to get work done for flooring due to the huge undertaking and the difficulty to install the specialized tile you decided to go with. We feel we have done everything possible to keep you happy and we once again apologize we could not complete this job for you. We are not sure as to why you are now in September of 2014 posting a negative review about us. We have thought that this issue has been addressed back in January. Feel free to contact us if you have questions we could answer or if there is something you feel we may have missed. We will be happy to take your call and put this matter to rest.

Kind Regards,
Mike


First Review

8/10

After learning the furnace pipes were out-of-date from a house inspector, I called up The Energy Center. Their three service technicians came to our house within two weeks and replaced all the pipes to meet the latest standards. One Chinese technician even worked over the weekend to have everything completed before leaving us behind. Excellent job!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Excellent and vast choices of ceramic tiles. Its prices and choices beat any other tile retailers (at least 5) that I visited. Anyone who's looking for tiles, please check out this store. Angela

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Tony did a great job on my kitchen floor. He removed the old ceramic tiles and replaced with the new ones with 24x24 inches. Many contractors declined to work on the large size tiles because of the level of complexity; but Tony completed the job on time and within budget. Very responsible and humble guy! I highly recommend his service to anyone who looks for contractor to do flooring work.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Before we put our house on the market, we didn't know we had issues with our electric panel. Until the house inspector showed us the double wired breakers on the pictures, we realized the existing panel needs some updates so as to meet the latest electrical codes. The first electrician who came to our house to do estimation advised that we need to change the large panel as there is no physical space available to accommodate a small panel. Changing the large panel means we not only need to pay for the more expensive panel, but also to get the ESA and Hydro Ottawa permits to shut off the power for one day to do the work. This would require approximately one month waiting period, which is not an ideal solution when the house is still on the market. After my husband invited Bryan to visit our house, Bryan suggested to move the close by HRVC pipe for a few inches so a pony panel can be installed besides the large panel. As soon as we accepted the quote, James and his two assistants came to our house the following day to make the project happen. After the big job was over, they didn't mind spending some extra time to change the bathroom light whose transformer was broken. Though fixing a light is a small job, it shows the crew truly cared about customers' needs and happiness. In short, our first experience with Ring Electric was excellent! The whole project ran seamless, the staff were courteous and professional, and the advice and work were outstanding! Thank you Bryan, James and your crew for your excellency! Angela and David

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Angela and David, it was a pleasure to help you out with the sale of your house and give you some alternatives to save some money. I hope the sale goes smoothly and we can be of assistance with the new house.
Bryan Verhulp, CEO Ring Electric