Reviews

0/10

I needed a small 40” bathroom cabinet for my kids’ bathroom. Andy oversaw our project, and I cannot find any positive moment along the way. A drawing (supposed to show design and dimensions) made by him was hardly readable. Not once I pointed at details different from what we agreed at the very beginning. After I realized the situation is that bad, I asked for a decent drawing with correct dimensions, but never got one. Then I made a drawing myself and asked Andy to confirm it, but never got a confirmation. Last time I called him (after he didn’t reply to my messages and I was worried the cabinet won’t be done correctly), he spoke to me in a very rude manner: "What, you have so much time to message and call, I'm working, have no time for this!" Following such disrespect and negligence, my husband called him and asked to cancel the order, while it had been not started yet. But Andy told he will do the cabinet in the best way. Before we came to pick up the cabinet, I thought we were supposed to just load it on our car, pay and leave. In the reality we waited 1,5 hours for: 1. Drilling holes for handles 2. Fixing deep scratches inside (they put some purple substance and I never checked whether they masked it with white coating later) 3. Cutting ½” from a kick panel to fit a space it was going into (before I twice corrected it’s dimensions and explicitly asked not to make it bigger!) 4. Completely redoing the same kick panel as it was shorter than we agreed (I also twice spoke with Andy about that and showed him this design in their showroom) 5. Fixing cabinet wall, which was torn up by one of four pins with nails , as a result of pulling/pushing the cabinet to exit (they told we will not see it, then nailed a piece of board there) – see the photo attached 6. Same thing happened later to another side of the same wall torn up by another pin when they kept pulling! – see the photo attached 7. I found a crack in a corner of the cabinet’s bottom part. We were willing to swallow long waiting, scratches, redoing parts, even the first damage following their negligence. But somewhere one must draw a line, right? Finally we got exhausted, late, and totally disappointed by quality of their workmanship. The crack was the last straw. We told we cannot accept this and asked for returning a deposit. After that Andy told us to come tomorrow and vanished. As a result of dealing with DJL Kitchens, we lost $200 deposit, 3 additional weeks without vanity in kids’ washroom and got an extremely negative experience. I told Andy that if he returns deposit, we forget this nightmare without writing a review, but obviously $200 is more valuable than a reputation.

Approximate cost of services:
$500.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

We used this company services twice and each time they were on time, explained us everything and did a professional work. Six years ago we moved to our house and they cleaned a lot of dust from vents, providing us pictures. The second time we called them recently, they told that there was almost no dust in our ventilation system. They have a powerful equipment. The price was as we agreed. Highly recommend them.

Approximate cost of services:
$270.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

We heeded to replace our old water heater tank and were choosing between tank and tankless options. Ben gave us full explanation about heaters and answered all our questions. He arrived on time and did a very professional job. Gave us some advice regarding other issues at home. Ben is a very responsible and nice person. Will definitely hire him in case we need another job done. Thanks!

Approximate cost of services:
$2,900.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you, Kate!

0/10

We hired this company in May 2016 for our small front yard. Max seemed to be a reliable and professional, but none of this happened. I asked to put a step between two columns, but didn't know that it won't be symmetrical relatively to the path. The final picture appeared horrible (photo attached). Max didn't mention to me that the step won't be in the middle of the path, and I didn't have an experience to realize that. In addition the interlock was paved very unprofessional. When they left I took the second glance at it and noticed that interlock didn't have any pattern, as it suppose to. There are three sizes of stones and they should be mixed to form a nice pattern. As can be seen on the photo, the stones are put chaotically. Moreover, there are long slots(two of nine rows), that deny the idea of interlocking. The last thing is a curve, that is not smooth, but angled. On our contract the edge should be rounded. While they worked I was taking care of my sick small kid having very high fewer. So I couldn't concentrate on what they were doing. Also after I saw the step on the side of the path I was shocked and couldn't see other flaws. Max promised to move the step in September 2016 when he would have free time. When I called in September, he didn't recognize me and said that he will come. But after he figured out who am I, he stopped answering my calls. Only after I made a number of calls, texted and left him a voicemail, he called me back. I asked also to fix interlock pattern and the step. Max said that he is still busy and in May made a promise to come IF he had time, and not WHEN. His manner of speaking was very rude. I have a contract with a desired path picture, recorded conversation, call log(with calls duration and time) and texts. So, you can "enjoy" the pictures of our interlock, very "professional work made by Eagle Interlocking and Landscaping, as we do everyday in real.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,400.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

We had a roof from builder that that was falling apart and should be replaced. Robert explained us in details what should be done according to standards and gave us a reasonable price. He and his crew are good professionals and great guys. Would highly recommend them.Thanks!

Approximate cost of services:
$6,000.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Sorry for such a late response. We are truly appreciative for your kind words. It was a pleasure working with you.

Robert Landry

0/10

In January 2014 we ordered a big four-doors closet and paid FULL AMOUNT - $7,000 on the day of purchase. Till now, January 2015, the closet we got exists in our bedroom with two doors instead of four, as showed on attached photo. Appliance Hause made us sign a contract, in which were mentioned our obligations with consequences of violating them and terms of delivery as obligations from the store. When I asked what happens if we don't receive the closet when promised, saleswomen Oksana told that she cannot add such thing to the contract. All the furniture they sell comes by sea from Europe. Unfortunately, the closet wasn't in the shipment it was supposed to be in. We weren't told why. I sold our old closets close to the promised date (I couldn't imagine that the store would be untruthful about the terms) and we lived without a closet at all for TWO MONTHS because next ship sailed without it too. That was a hell, since the closet was supposed to contain all our clothes and all of them were in boxes on the floor. Finally, we got a closet without two doors, since they were broken. Since then the store kept telling us that the two missing doors will arrive with every shipment, which occurs once in 1-1,5 months. I cannot recall the exact number, but it must be at least eight times we were told that the doors arrived broken again or the reason was unclear. The last time we were told to wait till the beginning of December. When I wrote on the 28th of December that we want to return the closet and get our money back, I was told to wait till the beginning of January!!! CAN YOU BELIEVE IN THAT? I wouldn't, if I hadn't had these promises in my mailbox and this closet in my bedroom.

Approximate cost of services:
$7,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Kate,

We sincerely regret and would like to apologize for the unfortunate situation with the closet order. All information was forwarded to manufacturing and transportation companies to make sure it will not happen again in the future.

However we would like to clarify some details about your order.
Agreement was signed on Jan 27, 2014.
As per agreement the Standard Manufacturing and Lead Time of goods is 10 weeks not including holidays upon order confirmation by manufacturing. Order was confirmed by manufacturer on Feb 7/2014. We have 3 statutory holidays in Ontario – Feb 17, Apr 18 and 21. That gives us approximate delivery date Apr 24/2014.
Delivery was completed on May 2, which was, and we apologize, an 8 day delay, unlike the 2 month delay that was mentioned in your feedback.
2 doors out of 4 came broken due to oversees transportation problem and unfortunately Appliance Haus does not have power over such circumstances.
We understood your frustration and that is why a FULL REFUND WAS OFFERED to your husband at that time. He asked for some time to make a decision, and called back having decided to keep the closet and wait for the doors' replacement to arrive because you were satisfied with quality of product and installation.
Doors could not be sent by air due to size restrictions and the lead time was the same – around 10 weeks.
Doors came broken again, which was a shock for us because it has NEVER happened to us before.

We could not find an explanation and could not offer anything else except apologies and full refund. Full refund was not requested at that time.

Our company is closed from Dec 25, 2014 till Jan 4, 2015 including, so full refund could not be given at that time and that is why you were asked to call us on Jan 5, 2015.

Doors arrived on Dec 23, 2014 and due to company holidays we are not able to install the doors until after Jan 4, 2015.

We would like to offer you again a FULL REFUND and if you decide to accept it, please contact us on Monday Jan 5/2014 to discuss all details.

I would like to apologize again on behalf of Appliance Haus for all the inconvenience that the experience may have caused you and your family.

Kind regards,
Project coordinator

10/10

I browsed a lot of companies before I choose MiG Moving. They had good reviews on forum. We were very pleased to work with them. They arrived on time, worked fast and all items remained in same condition. Also they helped us to disassemble and then assemble some furniture. Their price is very reasonable and they do excellent work. Very recommended.

Approximate cost of services:
$500.00
Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

I needed to inspect a house that I wanted to buy. The inspector was very professional, he found and explained to us many pros/cons of the house. He answered all our questions, gave advises and was very helpful. Inspector said we can call or email him our future questions. It was a pleasure to work with him. Very recommended.

Approximate cost of services:
$280.00
Was this review helpful?
10/10

We were very satisfied with this experience. We purchased 3 vouchers and each time got well cleaned apartment. Ladies came on time and were professional and pleasant. What I especially liked is that they provide all cleaning supplies. Besides it was a team of two and they finished in 1.5 instead of 3 hrs, that's very convenient. This company is one of the best we tried. Totally recommend.

Approximate cost of services:
$35.00
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?

First Review

0/10

The deal was for 4 hours, that is too much for our apartment. So I thought to use 1 hour for the cupboard and the refrigerator shelves. But the lady said she doesn't clean the inside surfaces and she will do us a favour! I said we don't need any favour, she'd better stick to their policy. She started to explain that it takes a lot of time, even after I told her that she had an hour for a couple of shelves and didn't have to do all of them. Finally she did that, but left a wet mop in the vegetables section. She left dirt under furniture, and after my comment cleaned it badly. She tried to use as much single-use mops as she could. We have a roll of mops, that can be used several times, but she didn't bother to wash any of them even once and wasted half of a big roll. In addition, she left all these mops (except the one left in fridge) together with pretty expensive mops for dust, that were used for floors I suppose, in a plastic bag under a kitchen sink behind a garbage bin. I was very lucky to find them on the same day, otherwise the odor would be rotten. She left 40-50 min earlier. I had to clean the floors after she left. Bottom line: No idea how to clean at all!

Approximate cost of services:
$29.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
0/10

That's was the worst experience I've ever had. I bought 2 vouchers and was so stupid to use them both. Two different ladies left the apartment dirty and I had to clean right after them. The first one was very rude, was late for an hour. She couldn't find the way from subway to our place. We tried to assist her on phone, but 7 min walk she made in an hour. Both ladies left dirt under furniture - bed and sofas. Both wanted to clean with single-use cleaning mops only. Sorry, we have it, but don't use much. The first lady tried to teach me what I should use and was very rude. She said she doesn't work with those stupid vouchers(!) and highly insisted on tips. The second said that she is not supposed to squeeze the mops! She refused to vacuum, but didn't bother to gather dirt, just moved it from one place to another. She stored a bag with dust near baby's toys and I had to clean them after her. These are just a few details from that experience... Wow, how can it be called _CLEANING_SERVICE_?

Approximate cost of services:
$29.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?