Appliance Haus

Kitchen & Bathroom - Cabinets & Design
Richmond Hill ON L4S 1M1
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars  >  Closet & Storage Solutions in Richmondhill  >  Appliance Haus  >  Closet - A YEAR OF HISTORY
11 reviews Vaughan, ON


In January 2014 we ordered a big four-doors closet and paid FULL AMOUNT - $7,000 on the day of purchase.

Till now, January 2015, the closet we got exists in our bedroom with two doors instead of four, as showed on attached photo.
Appliance Hause made us sign a contract, in which were mentioned our obligations with consequences of violating them and terms of delivery as obligations from the store. When I asked what happens if we don't receive the closet when promised, saleswomen Oksana told that she cannot add such thing to the contract.

All the furniture they sell comes by sea from Europe. Unfortunately, the closet wasn't in the shipment it was supposed to be in. We weren't told why.

I sold our old closets close to the promised date (I couldn't imagine that the store would be untruthful about the terms) and we lived without a closet at all for TWO MONTHS because next ship sailed without it too.
That was a hell, since the closet was supposed to contain all our clothes and all of them were in boxes on the floor.

Finally, we got a closet without two doors, since they were broken.

Since then the store kept telling us that the two missing doors will arrive with every shipment, which occurs once in 1-1,5 months.

I cannot recall the exact number, but it must be at least eight times we were told that the doors arrived broken again or the reason was unclear.

The last time we were told to wait till the beginning of December. When I wrote on the 28th of December that we want to return the closet and get our money back, I was told to wait till the beginning of January!!!

CAN YOU BELIEVE IN THAT? I wouldn't, if I hadn't had these promises in my mailbox and this closet in my bedroom.

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Kate,

We sincerely regret and would like to apologize for the unfortunate situation with the closet order. All information was forwarded to manufacturing and transportation companies to make sure it will not happen again in the future.

However we would like to clarify some details about your order.
Agreement was signed on Jan 27, 2014.
As per agreement the Standard Manufacturing and Lead Time of goods is 10 weeks not including holidays upon order confirmation by manufacturing. Order was confirmed by manufacturer on Feb 7/2014. We have 3 statutory holidays in Ontario – Feb 17, Apr 18 and 21. That gives us approximate delivery date Apr 24/2014.
Delivery was completed on May 2, which was, and we apologize, an 8 day delay, unlike the 2 month delay that was mentioned in your feedback.
2 doors out of 4 came broken due to oversees transportation problem and unfortunately Appliance Haus does not have power over such circumstances.
We understood your frustration and that is why a FULL REFUND WAS OFFERED to your husband at that time. He asked for some time to make a decision, and called back having decided to keep the closet and wait for the doors' replacement to arrive because you were satisfied with quality of product and installation.
Doors could not be sent by air due to size restrictions and the lead time was the same – around 10 weeks.
Doors came broken again, which was a shock for us because it has NEVER happened to us before.

We could not find an explanation and could not offer anything else except apologies and full refund. Full refund was not requested at that time.

Our company is closed from Dec 25, 2014 till Jan 4, 2015 including, so full refund could not be given at that time and that is why you were asked to call us on Jan 5, 2015.

Doors arrived on Dec 23, 2014 and due to company holidays we are not able to install the doors until after Jan 4, 2015.

We would like to offer you again a FULL REFUND and if you decide to accept it, please contact us on Monday Jan 5/2014 to discuss all details.

I would like to apologize again on behalf of Appliance Haus for all the inconvenience that the experience may have caused you and your family.

Kind regards,
Project coordinator