R.e.martin plumbing and heating

Bathroom Renovation
New Westminster BC V3L 5K9
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Bathroom Renovation
R.e.martin plumbing and heating
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

73%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for R.e.martin plumbing and heating

Average customer rating:
7.7 10 (15 reviews)

Sort by

Girish
Girish
0 reviews New Westminster, BC
5/10

Ryan followed up back

The guy Sachin came to fix the problem . Hopefully my problem gets fixed.
Ryan called me back for an update . This time he was courteous enough to ask for the update.

Was this review helpful?
Dora in Vancouver
Dora in Vancouver
2 reviews Burnaby, BC
0/10

Repipe Polybutylene

Ryan–owner & plumber of R.E Martin plumbing provided quote for us to replace polybutylene with PEX pipe for our basement suite (~1000sqft). Quoted us $4,700 for the repipe basement suite including $118 city permit fee, install new tub faucet with shower head and tub spout, replace PRV, includes 1-year workmanship – note that ALL DRYWALL has been removed by us. When asked if there is any possibility of a discount, Ryan proposed cash job $4000 with a handshake workmanship warranty but there would be no invoice, stating that his goal is to be our plumber for years to come. It turned out it was the worst trades experience we have ever had up to date. After having our plumbing work inspected by 3 red seal plumbers after the fact, we learned that this company used the cheapest plumbing products (eg. Pipes & fittings) and did inferior quality work. Ryan is not upfront that he sends his apprentice to do the work. I personally would not hire this company ever again, nor recommend this company to my worst enemy. See photos for your reference.
1. The first city inspection failed due to multiple issues:
a. Use 90’s where required when connection to poly B so transition joints bare no stress from pex piping
b. Ensure piping in walls have clips every min 31’
c. Ensure pipes going through studs bare no stress from bends, use fitting where required
d. Complete piping to tub divertor
e. Ensure hot and cold pipes are separated
2. Two red seal professionals that were onsite to assess the plumbing work (been in the field for 15 and 30 years) said it was not quality work, the work that was done appeared to be “just winging it”. After I brought up the quality concerns with Ryan, he quickly tried to discredit the other professionals’ opinions, and express that “this is plumbing” and that he “sees this all the time”. I requested that Ryan himself address the plumbing deficiencies pointed out by the city, Ryan did not follow through, his apprentice continued to do the remainder work.
3. When I asked Ryan if he could fix the quality issues, he states that their quote was lower than others and quality was not to be expected for the price I was paying.
4. When we pointed out some additional flaws he made the following statements to defend himself:
a. Issue: Low PSI in the house after work was done
i. Ryan: He cannot increase the PSI above 50 for legal reasons and to fix the low PSI, after inspection, he will increase the PSI, without considering the rest of the house still has poly B, hence subjecting our system to unnecessary pressure
b. Issue: Multiple areas where the hot and cold pipes were touching, he wrapped in tin foil and leftover insulation that was taken from our wall.
i. Ryan: This is how things are done in construction.
c. Issue: Stress on the pipes in multiple areas of his work as he did not use 90-degree connectors is some areas.
i. Ryan: He could find many plumbers that would agree that his work is normal in the field
d. Issue: Everything above which lead to the re-piping to be done as a 1:1 change. No consideration was made to change the design or improve the unauthorized plumbing work that was previously done
i. Ryan: Plumbing Code has not changed since the old pipe was installed. (For reference, the polybutylene was installed in the 90s without city permit by the previous owners of the house).
e. Issue: Newly installed Hot and Cold PEX piping were mismatching colors is certain areas.
i. Ryan: Piping is all the same color and colors do not matter.
5. After some investigation, research and approaching multiple professionals for their opinions, these concerning items were revealed regarding the issues in point 4:
-Called the City to inquire about this legality and they said nothing like this exists in the city we live in
-Multiple professionals said they have never seen such poor quality plumbing work like this in the 15 to 30 years they have been working in the industry
-Multiple professionals said that extra pressure on the pipes is not good for the pipes and will lead to additional wear on the fittings and pipes

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Flush and furious in Port Coquitlam
Flush and furious in Port Coquitlam
3 reviews Port Coquitlam, BC
0/10

Delays and over billing

Long delays, surprise billing, work left unfinished, mess left behind. Too bad as was really hoping it would work out. Recommend you read reviews on Yelp. Not good reviews. Partner does good floors and carpentry but outcome still not good since he did not finish, left a whole section of basement floor with the old vinyl, just thought he could hide it behind washing machine, paid for a whole floor, not part of a floor. In the end job was rushed, you can see gaps in flooring. Plus recommend you check out his website, some more info there. Oh yeah, threatened to lien our house if we did not pay the surprise 'padded' bill, the same day he sent it. Had Ryan and Colin finished the job, cleaned up the mess and stuck to the quote, might have given an ok review. Still a lot of misses, big chunk of ceiling not drywalled, door frame damaged and not repaired, pretty sure plumbing for sink should go behind the wall! Not talking about some bits of undermount showing, I mean actual pipe!
Saying they will lien our house the same day we get a bill for thousands of dollars more than quoted price, the same day, if we do not pay was not pleasant. No one wants to hear "pay or else" especially after we had paid everything up until then.

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
Alla in Lake Country
Alla in Lake Country
1 review Surrey, BC
10/10

Bathroom renovation

We have seen many contractors interested in our project: small bath room renovation, and decided to hire R.e. plumbing and heating. Their estimate was very reasonable and they did a great job installing new bathtub, toilet, vanity and faucets. It was a great pleasure to do business with Ryan: he is very knowledgeable and highly professional. All the work was done to our great satisfaction and on schedule. We will definitely call Ryan for any new projects we might decide to do in the future.

Alla&Igor

Was this review helpful?
Eric
Eric
0 reviews Port Coquitlam, BC
10/10

Very Satisfied Customer

On a recommendation I called Ryan about a serious bathtub hot water leak my tenant was experiencing. Ryan knew in short order the probable cause and agreed to show up the next morning. He was right on time, worked professionally and my tenant was very pleased with the results. Ryan was very personable and charged a fair price. Ryan will be my "go to" plumber in the future. Ryan also took the time to answer some questions about my boiler, hot water tank, and natural gas BBQ.

Was this review helpful?
Toni
Toni
3 reviews Burnaby, BC
10/10

Repair radiators not working

When I called Ryan, he was able to schedule me in right away. He came on time, and has an engaging and optimistic personality. He knew right away after he checked my radiators what was wrong. He explained to me what the problem was, how he was going to solve it and went ahead and did it. He is experienced in his trade and an efficient worker. I highly recommend Ryan to all my friends for any plumbing and heating job that they might require.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I'm glad I was able to make the repair quickly and thank you again for the coffee and cookies

Serina
Serina
0 reviews North Vancouver, BC
10/10

Replace leaky shut off valve and seized hex bolt to water line to toilet

Excellent service, same day, cheaper then other quotes. Underpriced for what I received! They do both plumbing and heating too! Have their own key to water main too! I tried to replace the water line to toilet and I seized hex bolt and shut off valve started to leak! Couldn’t sleep so I messaged a plumber from Homestars that replied back next day but he was not available however Matt replied to my request, Ryan the expert came and fixed the leaks even put in a new shut off valve and inspected my furnace! Thank God! Strongly recommend them...now you know who to call

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you very kindly we try to take pride in our punctuality and pricing around the holidays

Samad in Toronto
Samad in Toronto
0 reviews New Westminster, BC
10/10

Clogged bathtub

Hired these gentlemen to fix a clogged bathtub in a rental property I own, they were amazing. They showed up on time, were very professional and took the time to inspect my kitchen faucet as well which they ended up fixing in addition to the bathtub! 100% will hire them again for any of my future plumbing needs!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
0 reviews Richmond, BC
10/10

Plumbing

Efficient , great price and reliable Thank you Ryan for being a great help in answering all our questions and making it easier to decide on which garburator to use... if you need a plumber Ryan is your guy!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the great review !

Jeff
Jeff
1 review Port Coquitlam, BC
1/10

Poor Quality, Incomplete Job

Hired to install a bathroom exhaust. The light switch wasn't cut out properly and they left a gaping hole in my wall for the electrical wire. Damage was also left on the ceiling as they cut into the wall too high. See images.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hey Jeff thanks for the great review, considering we did the job for $400 less than your previous estimate from another company, I also went over the quote in detail with you before ever touching a wall, you agreed on our price of $650 and I explained to you that this was normally a $1000 job, we settled at $600, after being belittled by you.

I also explained to you prior that the drywall repair was not included in this price. It took 2 of my guys and a licensed electrician to crawl around in your attic to complete this difficult and time consuming job. This was paid for out of my pocket in order to maintain a relationship with you. Either way I'm sorry you are still not happy with the install.

Take care.
Matt

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Bathroom Renovation pros in New Westminster?