C&D Contracting

Carpenters
Whitby ON L1N 1Z8
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Carpenters
C&D Contracting
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

85%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for C&D Contracting

Average customer rating:
9.1 10 (14 reviews)

Sort by

Gord
Gord
1 review Ajax, ON
8/10

Backyard Fence

I have a long review so please read it in its entirety. We are happy with the work done by Josh and his crew. Our neighbour hired C&D to do a complete make over of their backyard. This one job became 4 jobs, because their two fences needed replacing. This affected 3 other backyard fences, including the neighbour behind me. He wanted the 34 year old fence that divides our backyards replaced, and we agreed. The 4 jobs required 18 post holes in total to be dug. I knew this would be difficult because I dug one hole by hand in 2018. This soil is the worst I’ve ever dealt with, full of construction debris. I warned Josh in advance. They brought in a Bobcat with 48” auger. It took probably two full days, maybe 3, to dig all the holes. Josh said it’s the hardest ground they’ve ever seen. Long story short, the entire job took almost 5 weeks, and the owner of the primary jobsite (the yard make over) was not happy about it. She is now slandering C&D about the job, and in my opinion, she is offside. These young men worked very hard on some very hot days. Instead of sitting at home, doing nothing, or drinking or smoking pot, or collecting CERB from the Federal Gov’t., these guys worked their collective butts off to get this job done. And in my opinion, they did a great job. The lady from the primary jobsite stopped work before they finished the pergola, side walkway and fence between the homes. She has hired another company to finish the job, and the fencing isn’t complete and the workers are gone. Maybe they were “fired” too??? Don’t know. Anyways, if Homestars agrees to post her review, take a look at the photos and you be the judge. I am happy with the work done, and so is my neighbour who lives behind me. Photos taken Oct.20, 2020

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for the feedback Gord. Customers like yourself make what we do worth doing. hopefully we can work together on another project in the near future! Cheers.

Daniel in Toronto
Daniel in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Retaining walls, interlock walkway and steps.

Josh and his guys came and did an amazing job. Any additions I wanted Josh wasn't hesitant to go above and beyond. I couldn't be happier with the finish product i would recommend c+d contracting. For any home renovation needs. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

it was a pleasure working with you Daniel! I hope.tjat we get to work with you and your family again in the near future ! cheers.

Private User
Private User
1 review Ajax, ON
10/10

Interlock patio and steps

Josh and his crew did a beautiful job for me. They were on time and worked very hard in creating this beautiful walkway and steps. They cleaned up every night before they left and finished when promised.
I would recommend them highly. Will be contacting them for future jobs inside my home

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the positive feedback. We at C&D Contracting pride ourselves on work ethic, cleanliness and ability to get the job done within a client's timeline and budget. I hope we get to work with you again in the future !

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Interlock driveway Whitby

Joshua and his team were a pleasure to work with. I hired them to replace my old asphalt driveway with this beautiful new interlock. Joshua was very forthcoming about the material selection with myself and my husband and made us feel very comfortable if we had any suggestions different to his initial suggestions. They were fast, efficient and would 10/10 recommend C&D Contracting to anyone!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

we are so happy that we made your vision come a reality. This is definitely one of my favorite finished products of the 2020 season. The C&D Contracting team is looking forward to working with you again in the future!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Collingwood, ON
10/10

interlock walkway

I hired Joshua & his team to do an interlock walkway for me a few weeks ago at my house in ajax & I was blown away with the service. Incredibly respectful & accomodating crew. I will definitwly be hiring this team for more work in the future & recomending them to everyone I know!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the positive feedback. its clients like you that make it all possible for C&D Contracting to keep providing a great service at an affordable cost. cheers !

ChiChi
ChiChi
6 reviews Whitby, ON
0/10

Siding repair

Updating my review to say that I still have not received ANY refund from Josh..
I accepted to collect 80% of my deposit which is what was stated in the contract. I still do not have it. I also offered to return the plywood he dropped in my garage to any location he specifies!!
Contrary to his updated response, he has not reached out to me or offered to refund any part of the deposit I paid..

I have also reached out to HomeStars to complain about this Contractor.

I still stand by my initial review of this company - Josh is unreliable and dishonest and I do not recommend him for any job.
If he cannot be trusted with $600 I cannot imagine what he will do with a large dollar contract.

***************************************************************************
Josh responded to my HomeStars request to repair my window sidings. He came over, provided an estimate, asked for a 40% down payment, and said he would come 2 days later to start the job.
He didn't show up or reach out to say he wouldn't. I called and sent messages which he did not respond to. After a few days, he finally responded, said he had been busy and would come the next weekend.
This happened 3 more times!
By the fourth no show, I told Josh I was not happy with his work ethic and would like to cancel.
Josh initially refused to refund my $639 deposit.
He then came back and said I would need to pay a 20% cancellation fee, despite the fact the he never showed up do to the job!
After days of back and forth messages, Josh offered to refund only $250. His argument was that the difference was the cost of 2 pieces of plywood, and his fuel and effort for coming to estimate the job!
I have still not received any refund from him...
I have had a very frustrating experience in my dealings with Josh and do not recommend him for any job. In my opinion he is unreliable and dishonest.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear ChiChi,
I am sincerely upset as to how things turned out since we at C&D Contracting always wish to deliver our best to homeowners irrespective of the scale of the job. To follow up on the stated accusations, we did ask for the advance in order to purchase the required materials for this job along with labor costs for our employees as well. Further, I did apologize for not being able to come for one of the appointments since I had a family emergency and the rest of the 3 visits were to gather paint samples and other information required to complete the job as you agreed to as well. Previously and as of today as well we did and do intend on doing the job for you but you have decided to not answer any of my calls and the material is still available to do so as well which is only and only for your particular siding job, of no other use to us. We offered a refund as well minus the costs of these very materials which did not seem fit to you and decided to write this slandering review based on false accusations about my company. We are still willing to get the job done provided you let us and hopefully put this behind us.
Thank you.

Laura Moldovan from North York
Laura Moldovan from North York
3 reviews Ajax, ON
10/10

Pergola and cover

I hired C&D to fix my deck pergola and cover and build a stone platform for my shed - Josh and his team come and did an amazing job, I could not be happier. The construction is sturdy and beautiful.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much Laura! happy we fixed up that problem for you and i hope we get to work with you again in the future !

Andrea D.
Andrea D.
0 reviews Oshawa, ON
10/10

Multi-Room Renos

Multiple Areas in my home needed touch ups, fixes and painting including replacing my front step and fixing my fence to prepare my home for sale.
Josh and Jacob were professional and very efficient at getting work done. The trim work and painting was excellent and completed fast.
They always kept me informed and made recommendations within my budget. I would highly recommend C

Was this review helpful?
oscarnavas in Toronto
oscarnavas in Toronto
2 reviews Ajax, ON
10/10

Leak in basement ceiling found and fixed!

C&D Did a great job in identifying the source of the leak, he listened and went the extra length in making sure that the issue was identified without a doubt where it was coming from. He also worked after hours which reduced the project time. Recomend him 100%

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you oscar for the hospitality and the trust! look forward to working with you on future projects !

Rajesh in Toronto
Rajesh in Toronto
0 reviews Bowmanville, ON
10/10

Replace a damaged piece of wall

We met josh he explained everything from start to finish about the repair, how he going to do it. It was good working with C and D for doing there job. He was good from start to finish and cleaned up before he leave
I would recommend C & D for my project again

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much Rajesh. it was great working with you and helping you with your project we hope to work with you again soon !

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about C&D Contracting

COVID 19 Update - We are open for business and here to answer your calls, emails and schedule FaceTime, Whats App or Zoom meetings as needed. To ensure the health and safety of our employees and homeowners we are taking all the precautions as directed by the Province of Ontario.

***

Welcome to C & D Contracting. We're a team of professionals with expertise in Residential and Commercial Renovations; drywall, framing, interlock, flooring installation, tiling, kitchens, basements, minor HVAC projects, painting, cabinet installation, staircases, railings, decks, and fences. Contact us today to schedule your appointment.

***

We are on Instagram as well: https://www.instagram.com/thecndgroup/?hl=en

CATEGORIES
Carpenters and General Contractors
WEBSITE
https://www.facebook.com/cdcontractingservice/
PAYMENT METHOD
Visa, Mastercard, Cheque, Cash, and E Transfer
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
$200
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.