J&J Insulation Inc.

Insulation
71 Edgewood Crescent Port Perry ON L9L 1B6
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars
Insulation
J&J Insulation Inc.
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

85%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for J&J Insulation Inc.

Average customer rating:
8.9 10 (26 reviews)

Sort by

Brennan
Brennan
0 reviews Sunderland, ON
10/10

A Job Well Done

After flooding our tiny house, we needed all of the insulation in the floor replaced. This company was quick to get back to me and they came out and provided a free quote shortly after. Everyone I communicated with in this company was friendly and they have competitive pricing. They got the job done quickly, and the result looks great. I feel comfortable knowing that this company did our spray foam so that we may be well insulated this winter. Thank you!!!

Approximate cost of services:
$1,500.00
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you for the business , we appreciate it very much . Wishing you a very warm winter .

Private User
Private User
0 reviews Newcastle, ON
10/10

Whole house spray foam insulation

Great job performed by wonderful guys.
Very precise and efficient. Also did a great job with cleanup.
Excellent to deal with overall.
I am extremely happy with the service and the work completed.

Approximate cost of services:
$30,000.00
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

All the best with the rest of your project . Thank you for the kind words .

Andrew in Toronto
Andrew in Toronto
4 reviews Pickering, ON
10/10

Excellent

Salesperson was great.

Service guys were quick, efficient and told me exactly what issues they encoutered, thankfully nothing they were not used to seeing daily!

Would use them again in a heartbeat

Approximate cost of services:
$2,000.00
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

It was our pleasure assisting you on your project Andrew . Thank you for taking the time to provide a review . We appreciate it . All the best .

Kristina in Woodbridge
Kristina in Woodbridge
1 review Vaughan, ON
10/10

Garage Ceiling Spray Foam

John was the only contractor that physically came out to view what was needed. Even though I had a small space requiring insulation, he coordinated a time that allowed him to fairly price my job. This was much appreciated! His team was quick, clean, polite and took the time to explain everything to me.

Approximate cost of services:
$700.00
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you very much for the pleasant review we appreciate your business very much .

Whitby Warrior
Whitby Warrior
3 reviews Whitby, ON
10/10

Basement Insulation

Spoke to the owner John, and explained the scope of the role: I had just needed to finish insulating the basement bottom half of the inside-walls to satisfy the Energy Audit. He was great, banged out a fair price, and within 4 days sent two detail-oriented guys to complete the work. They moved the washer dryer back into place and did a very good job in about an hour. Overall very happy: fair price for solid work. Would use them again.

Approximate cost of services:
$700.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you very much for the business and kind feedback. We appreciate it very much .

Lynn
Lynn
0 reviews Kawartha Lakes, ON
10/10

insulate crawlspace

We were very happy working with this company. On the day the work was to be done, there was a massive snow storm but they worked with us to rebook for a few days later. We were not quite satisfied with a small area of the work. They came out promptly to investigate and fixed it to our satisfaction. It was so refreshing to work with a company that cared about having a very happy customer!

Approximate cost of services:
$2,300.00
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you so much for your review. It was our pleasure to make sure you were completely happy.
At J & J we pride ourselves on making sure every customer is happy with the services we provided.

Gerry in Toronto
Gerry in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Price increases not advised in advance

Beware Unadvised price increases by J&J Insulation Inc

In September 2021 based upon accurate measurements and photos J&J Insulation, in Port Perry Ontario, provided a quote range dependent upon 3 or 6 inches of sprayed insulation under our sunroom.
Installation dates given for October and then November were cancelled just prior to agreed times.
Finally, the work was finished on December 13, 2021
After the work was completed, we were presented with a verbal bill that was significantly higher that the largest of the two quotes provided in September. Worked out to a 25% increase.
When we questioned this increase the response was:
1. The September quote was only a “ballpark”
2. Our costs have increased 50% since September
3. Quote did not include a fuel surcharge or labour costs

No accounting has been provided 6 days later as to the number of inches sprayed.
From our perspective a price increase should have been advised prior to sending a crew to do the work allowing us the option to accept or decline same.
Additionally, when the original quote was provided there was no indication it was a “ballpark” nor that it did not include a fuel surcharge or labour costs.
Had they undertaken the work in mid October as originally advised price increases may have been avoided.
While the team that did the work were professional and courteous the communications and failure to advise of price increases and additional fees by the owner is not what we expect from a reputable company and potential clients should be aware of these practices. Given the above we would not recommend the company to anyone.

Approximate cost of services:
$1.00
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hello Gerry,
Thank you for your response. While I understand this is your account of the situation, I do feel inclined to provide further information so future customers may have a more well rounded understanding of the multiple factors at play during our time of hire. The information given in any over the phone or email conversation, whereby our company has not personally seen the work to be done is always to be considered a rough estimate, or “ballpark” as stated in your review. At any customers request, our company is willing and able to view a job beforehand and provide a written estimate complete with inclusive cost breakdown, terms and conditions of our work. Even still an estimate is by definition an approximate calculation of cost and is subject to change. We are disappointed to have our costs increased, and pass that increase onto our customers as well. However, such are the times we are in as supply and demand for products are skewed. In many industries these imbalances lead to both delays and added cost, as in your case. We have been transparent on all our media outlets, posting the letters from our suppliers as it relates to these cost increases. With complete understanding of how this may affect yourself, I personally took some of the burden off your cost and only added a 25% increase and absorbed the rest. In addition, your attempts to circumvent paying tax by using cash is unfortunately not an option we are willing to endorse at this time. Of note, payment of any kind was not ready at time of job completion and our employees would not follow you to the bank, on paid company time in a company vehicle. As I understand it this was an issue for you as well. A correction to your statement, fuel surcharges and labour costs were not added in addition to your quote, nor is that a standard practice of ours. Those costs are built in at the time of estimate / final billing. I am happy to hear of our courteous and communicative team, and I hope this thorough response may shed more light on the situation. We are not in the business of cheating our clients, we have a pristine reputation both locally and away, and we make great efforts to reach such customer approval ratings.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Oshawa, ON
10/10

Crawl Space Insulation

John and his team had to insulate a crawl space for us. His team completed the job done in an efficient and timely manner. Cost was reasonable. Would recommend again.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,800.00
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you for your business . It was a pleasure working with you on your project .

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

attic insulation + referral

John's team delivered what was expected - good enough experience to warrant referring to others. Regrettably one of the homes I referred J&J to has had an awful experience + seemingly no accountability taken by John. I like supporting local and believe companies reputations speak for themselves. Unfortunate to hear J&J aren't as customer-centric as they initially come across to be.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,000.00
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hi Anonymous customer ,

I'm very sorry that you had a bad experience. At J&J Insulation inc we take these types of interactions very seriously. By not directing us to which job this might have been or leaving a name regretfully we can't further take action to right your wrongs . But if you would like to discuss your issues personally please call me directly @905-260-6203

Brian in Toronto
Brian in Toronto
5 reviews Markham, ON
9/10

Attic and basement wall insulation

We had an energy audit done, pointing out deficiencies in the attic insulation and un-insulated basement exterior walls.
The initial consultation from J&J was very thorough, explaining the the nuances of the job both for the attic and basement.
We settled on blown fiberglass for topping up the attic insulation, including protecting the venting. In the basement, the lower third of the basement walls were just bare concrete. For the exterior facing walls, we went with a fiberglass wrap which comes with its own vapour barrier.
The fiberglass was chosen in both situations because the latest version of fiberglass is non-itchy and doesn't provoke a reaction... and it is relatively dust-free compared to blown cellulose.
The guys did a macro-job of cleaning, removing large pieces... however they could have done a better job of micro-cleaning with a vacuum cleaner or such... my wife and I had to do our own vacuuming and swiffering in all the rooms they worked in.

Approximate cost of services:
$2,000.00
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank You for your kind words and business Brian . It is greatly appreciated . We will take that constructive feedback and try to achieve better cleanliness.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about J&J Insulation Inc.

Our team of experienced professionals are experts in what they do and know how to effectively apply their skills, workmanship and customer service excellence to assist you with your needs. Our knowledgeable staff is dependable, reliable and excel at offering personal service to all our customers.

Our company mission is to provide quality products and services at competitive rates. We are industry professionals and we are committed to listening to our customers to address your needs. We do it right the first time – we guarantee it.

We contribute our continued growth over the years to the quality of our workmanship, our selection of services and affordable rates. We take pride in the solid customer relationships we have built; our longevity in the industry is testament to our commitment to our customers.

CATEGORIES
Insulation
SERVICES
Blown Insulation DC 315 Thermal Barrier Fire Protection Open Cell Foam Closed Cell Foam Insulation Removal
SPECIALITIES
Retrofits, agriculture and new construction.
WEBSITE
http://www.jandjinsulationinc.com/
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
6
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.