J&J Insulation Inc.

Insulation
71 Edgewood Crescent Port Perry ON L9L 1B6
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars
Insulation
J&J Insulation Inc.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

81%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for J&J Insulation Inc.

Average customer rating:
8.6 10 (20 reviews)

Sort by

Gerry in Toronto
Gerry in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Price increases not advised in advance

Beware Unadvised price increases by J&J Insulation Inc

In September 2021 based upon accurate measurements and photos J&J Insulation, in Port Perry Ontario, provided a quote range dependent upon 3 or 6 inches of sprayed insulation under our sunroom.
Installation dates given for October and then November were cancelled just prior to agreed times.
Finally, the work was finished on December 13, 2021
After the work was completed, we were presented with a verbal bill that was significantly higher that the largest of the two quotes provided in September. Worked out to a 25% increase.
When we questioned this increase the response was:
1. The September quote was only a “ballpark”
2. Our costs have increased 50% since September
3. Quote did not include a fuel surcharge or labour costs

No accounting has been provided 6 days later as to the number of inches sprayed.
From our perspective a price increase should have been advised prior to sending a crew to do the work allowing us the option to accept or decline same.
Additionally, when the original quote was provided there was no indication it was a “ballpark” nor that it did not include a fuel surcharge or labour costs.
Had they undertaken the work in mid October as originally advised price increases may have been avoided.
While the team that did the work were professional and courteous the communications and failure to advise of price increases and additional fees by the owner is not what we expect from a reputable company and potential clients should be aware of these practices. Given the above we would not recommend the company to anyone.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Gerry,
Thank you for your response. While I understand this is your account of the situation, I do feel inclined to provide further information so future customers may have a more well rounded understanding of the multiple factors at play during our time of hire. The information given in any over the phone or email conversation, whereby our company has not personally seen the work to be done is always to be considered a rough estimate, or “ballpark” as stated in your review. At any customers request, our company is willing and able to view a job beforehand and provide a written estimate complete with inclusive cost breakdown, terms and conditions of our work. Even still an estimate is by definition an approximate calculation of cost and is subject to change. We are disappointed to have our costs increased, and pass that increase onto our customers as well. However, such are the times we are in as supply and demand for products are skewed. In many industries these imbalances lead to both delays and added cost, as in your case. We have been transparent on all our media outlets, posting the letters from our suppliers as it relates to these cost increases. With complete understanding of how this may affect yourself, I personally took some of the burden off your cost and only added a 25% increase and absorbed the rest. In addition, your attempts to circumvent paying tax by using cash is unfortunately not an option we are willing to endorse at this time. Of note, payment of any kind was not ready at time of job completion and our employees would not follow you to the bank, on paid company time in a company vehicle. As I understand it this was an issue for you as well. A correction to your statement, fuel surcharges and labour costs were not added in addition to your quote, nor is that a standard practice of ours. Those costs are built in at the time of estimate / final billing. I am happy to hear of our courteous and communicative team, and I hope this thorough response may shed more light on the situation. We are not in the business of cheating our clients, we have a pristine reputation both locally and away, and we make great efforts to reach such customer approval ratings.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Oshawa, ON
10/10

Crawl Space Insulation

John and his team had to insulate a crawl space for us. His team completed the job done in an efficient and timely manner. Cost was reasonable. Would recommend again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your business . It was a pleasure working with you on your project .

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

attic insulation + referral

John's team delivered what was expected - good enough experience to warrant referring to others. Regrettably one of the homes I referred J&J to has had an awful experience + seemingly no accountability taken by John. I like supporting local and believe companies reputations speak for themselves. Unfortunate to hear J&J aren't as customer-centric as they initially come across to be.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Anonymous customer ,

I'm very sorry that you had a bad experience. At J&J Insulation inc we take these types of interactions very seriously. By not directing us to which job this might have been or leaving a name regretfully we can't further take action to right your wrongs . But if you would like to discuss your issues personally please call me directly @905-260-6203

Brian in Toronto
Brian in Toronto
5 reviews Markham, ON
9/10

Attic and basement wall insulation

We had an energy audit done, pointing out deficiencies in the attic insulation and un-insulated basement exterior walls.
The initial consultation from J&J was very thorough, explaining the the nuances of the job both for the attic and basement.
We settled on blown fiberglass for topping up the attic insulation, including protecting the venting. In the basement, the lower third of the basement walls were just bare concrete. For the exterior facing walls, we went with a fiberglass wrap which comes with its own vapour barrier.
The fiberglass was chosen in both situations because the latest version of fiberglass is non-itchy and doesn't provoke a reaction... and it is relatively dust-free compared to blown cellulose.
The guys did a macro-job of cleaning, removing large pieces... however they could have done a better job of micro-cleaning with a vacuum cleaner or such... my wife and I had to do our own vacuuming and swiffering in all the rooms they worked in.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You for your kind words and business Brian . It is greatly appreciated . We will take that constructive feedback and try to achieve better cleanliness.

Private User
Private User
0 reviews Pickering, ON
10/10

Insulation in our attic

The guys were very professional. Because of COVID 19, they came in with masks on and proceeded to tape plastic down to protect our furniture, hardwood floors, stairs and railings and then went straight to work to remove the insulation in our attic. Before they left, they cleaned up everything. A couple of days later, they came to replace the insulation and they covered everything again with plastic. Before they started blowing in the insulation, they added extra vents and reinforced some of the beams that were a little loose without us asking. After they finished replacing the insulation, they cleaned up everything again. I was very impressed and I would highly recommend using J&J insulation to everyone that I can.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I'm so glad you guys were impressed . I want to wish you all the best in your future plans and hope all hoes well .
Thank you again for your business and your kind review .

Private User
Private User
1 review Port Perry, ON
10/10

Insulating my Bunkie

The crew where very friendly and professional…. They left the Bunkie very clean…. Please tell them - Thank You for me!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for everything . It was a pleasure working with you on your project .

Bevelyn Felix from Courtice
Bevelyn Felix from Courtice
2 reviews Hampton, ON
10/10

Insulation

I can’t thank J&J insulation enough for the amazing job they did. The guys were fantastic, very respectful and they answered all of my questions without hesitation. When I contacted John about a few concerns the inspector had, he showed up the next day to take a look and sent his guys back to remedy the problem. Great service!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The pleasure was all of ours . Your entire family is extremely pleasant to work with . Thank you . We know building a home can be a very stressful time . I'm glad we could help you with your project and put your mind at ease .

Catherine in Toronto
Catherine in Toronto
1 review Whitby, ON
9/10

Garage Insulation

We called John for a quote and he came right away. He was friendly and professional. Our project was delayed due to an unforseen circumstance but when the insulation crew came they too were friendly and efficient. They left no mess and the garage looks great. So happy with the job!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for your understanding for our delay . The truck has been repaired and we were able to complete your project . Good luck with the rest of your renovation .
Thank you for your business Catherine

Eric W
Eric W
2 reviews Toronto, ON
9/10

Attic Insulation Top Up - Good overall experience

Needed to top up our attic insulation, met with John. He very prompt / professional and helped explain the whole process. Quote was slightly higher than competition but he matched price so went with him.

His team came today to do it. They were nice, clean and did a good job. The only thing holding it back from 10/10 was part of the plan was to add attic ventilation which they were unable to do because of the layout, something I would have thought they would know during the initial inspection / quoting.

Beyond that I was pleased with the service and would not have issue recommending them to someone else.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review and kind words . All the best to your family and we appreciate your business .

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

Insulation

I had spray foam from J&J insulation only to find the job not done properly years later when the walls were opened up for a new renovation. Found many holes in the spray foam done by installer. Now I understand why kitchen was still cold after they applied foam. Disappointing since they didn’t fill the appropriate areas and it cost me much more to fix their crappy workmanship.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I'm very sorry to hear about your experience with J&J Insulation inc. it's always our practice to walk through with the customer or building official prior to packing up to make sure we achieve satisfaction of all parties involved . At J&J Insulation inc we offer a number of different warranty programs and always stand behind our installs . Upon your discovery of problematic areas during your recent renovation we gladly would have rectified any areas of question promptly . But I can't help if we don't receive notice or if you don't leave a name with your review .

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about J&J Insulation Inc.

Our team of experienced professionals are experts in what they do and know how to effectively apply their skills, workmanship and customer service excellence to assist you with your needs. Our knowledgeable staff is dependable, reliable and excel at offering personal service to all our customers.

Our company mission is to provide quality products and services at competitive rates. We are industry professionals and we are committed to listening to our customers to address your needs. We do it right the first time – we guarantee it.

We contribute our continued growth over the years to the quality of our workmanship, our selection of services and affordable rates. We take pride in the solid customer relationships we have built; our longevity in the industry is testament to our commitment to our customers.

CATEGORIES
Insulation
SERVICES
Blown Insulation DC 315 Thermal Barrier Fire Protection Open Cell Foam Closed Cell Foam Insulation Removal
SPECIALITIES
Retrofits, agriculture and new construction.
WEBSITE
http://www.jandjinsulationinc.com/
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
6
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.