Schomberg Sheet Metal

Heating & Air Conditioning
17045 Hwy 27 Schomberg ON L0G 1T0
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

86%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Schomberg Sheet Metal

Average customer rating:
9 10 (40 reviews)

Sort by

Fireplace
Fireplace
0 reviews Schomberg, ON
10/10

Knowledgeable and affordable

I was very pleased with the service I received to my gas fireplace. The serviceman, Danny, was very knowledgeable in answering my questions. He was very meticulous when working making sure the area was contained.

He made my fireplace look brand new. I am very happy knowing I can rely on a company that will stand by me when I need them. Thank you for making my experience comforting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Pat in Toronto
Pat in Toronto
1 review Schomberg, ON
0/10

Billing/Collection Issue

I do not recommend Schomberg Sheet metal. We had them do our spring and winter maintenance over the last few years and a month after the winter cleanup(2020) our furnace was acting up. (New in 2016 I believe) It would shut off spuriously and not restart for sometimes hours. After calling Schomberg Sheet metal they sent the same guy 4-5 times to try and fix it but nothing he did would work. Finally they sent another guy (seemed to be a boss) believe his name was Paul and he quickly diagnosed the problem as a bracket arm was loose and wasn’t making a good connection. First of all why did it take 5 visits to figure this out when they were there 2 times in the last 6 months for routine maintenance/cleanup? We received a bill for $186 on one of the earlier visits and I showed Paul as he was leaving and he said “No, don’t pay that I’m going to take care of it” and he took a picture of the bill. Fast forward 7 months later and we get a bill in the mail from Schomberg Sheet metal with a collection notice stamp on it saying we owe that money as the parts were covered but not the labour… Completely unacceptable business practice to tell your customers don’t worry about it then send a bill 7 months later with a collection notice stamp on it. I asked for Paul to call me to discuss and never received a call from him. Will NEVER use them again and suggest you think twice about using them.

After reading some of the reviews on here, Google and the BBB I’m not surprised with the outcome, as the owner responded to another comment saying “she just wanted to complain not have to pay”, that’s not the case. You tell me not to pay the bill, take a picture of it and tell me not to worry about then send me a collection notice 7 MONTHS later..... then the receptionist tells me that Paul never said that. Anyways enjoy the $186, must really need it to come knocking 7 months later

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Patrick Tonelli,

We called you on Thursday & Friday regarding your invoice @ 416-677-8650 to discuss your invoice for the one repair, however, we have been unable to contact you. If that is not the best number to reach you, please email or call us back.

Regarding your review, we wanted to clarify.

-The system was installed in the fall of 2016. There is no maintenance for your system on record. You were never invoiced for maintenance. The first time your system required attention was in February 2020.

-February 3, 2020, you called us for a no heat situation. The technician found the thermostat displaying a B4 error code, related to overcurrent caused by a plugged filter. The technician removed the filter and reset the system. You told the technician you would look after replacing the filter. Total charge $110 + HST

-April 23, 2020, you called us for a no heat situation. The thermostat displaying the error code was a failure to ignite. The technician found a hairline crack in the igniter which the technician thought was the issue. Furnace left operating at this time until we could get a new igniter. No charge for this vist.

-May 8, 2020. The technician replaced the igniter, however, found intermittent ignition which he believed was the reason why the ignore failed. The technician was getting intermittent voltage to the ignitor. On closer inspection, burners also were displaying heavy corrosion due to no maintenance in 4 years (propane system require annual cleaning of burners). Recommended replacing the control board & burners.

May 19, 2020. The technician replaced the control board and burners. Total invoice $165 + HST

June 13, 2020. You called us back for no heat. We found the thermostat had a black screen. We found that the battery tab was broken for the battery in the thermostat. You stated that you may have broken the tabs when you tried to replace the battery. We replaced the thermostat. No charge for diagnostic or to replace the thermostat.

To summarize, your system did not have any maintenance performed in more than 4 years. You had 3 unrelated no heat calls. The first call related to lack of maintenance, the second call almost 90 days later related to lack of maintenance, a third call was for you accidentally damaging the thermostat. You were charged 1 diagnostic, 1 repair (1.5 hr), and nothing for parts including the communicating thermostat. Total charge $175 + HST.

If you would like to discuss please feel free to contact us

debbie
debbie
1 review Newmarket, ON
10/10

Furnace installation

My experience with Schomberg Sheet Metal was great from start to finish. I had met with a few different HVAC companies, and did not feel comfortable with their products or service. When Tom the sales person from Schomberg came to my home, he looked over my old furnace, made an assessment, and sat down with me to go over my options. He recommended a furnace that was most suitable for my home, needs and budget. Tom was thorough, professional and genuinely helpful. The technicians Chris and Anthony who came in to install the furnace less than a week later, arrived at the scheduled time; they were professional, hard working and friendly. They gave me some tips on maintenance of the furnace and answered all my questions. The day after the installation, one of the parts needed adjusting, and the office contacted me right away to make arrangements for a technician to come back to my home. They came the very same day and took care of it. I am very happy with the Daikin furnace and the service Schomberg SM provided. I would without a doubt use Schomberg SM again for my HVAC needs and would highly recommend them. Thank you

Was this review helpful?
Stannard’s
Stannard’s
0 reviews Caledon, ON
10/10

A/C Service

I have used this company over the last several years for yearly maintenance on A/C and furnace. I would highly recommend this company. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Danny (Technician) is very determined and thorough in his work. He took the time to explain things and in the end fixed our problem and we were very happy.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
0 reviews Schomberg, ON
10/10

Furnace/Air conditioner replacement

We have known the owners and their staff due to living in a small town. They are very concious of budgets and offering the best products to suit your needs. The installers are very professional, do good work and explain how things work and what to expect. We would highly recommend this company to anyone.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews , ON
10/10

New Air Conditioner

Great service and friendly staff. They quoted quickly and showed up when they said they would. Very happy with the air conditioning.

Was this review helpful?
Jozsef Nyiri in Bolton
Jozsef Nyiri in Bolton
3 reviews Kettleby, ON
10/10

Furnace and air conditioners replacement

I have dealt with this company twice in less than a year. Last winter my furnace broke down. Their independent sales person come to my house the day after I called him. He gave us all the options . They installed the new furnace 2 days later. We new our air condition is in bad shape to and needs to be changed. A month ago I called them again same procedures.
The same two guys installed both unit. They were professionals. They left the place clean and took both my older units away.
Thank you guys.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
0 reviews East Gwillimbury, ON
10/10

Air conditioner and furnace

The equipment was installed in a timely manner exactly as quoted.The installers were very efficient and cordially.The. Sales person was very knowledgeable and courteous to my needs.The installers did not leave behind any refuse and were very business like.Your sales guy Tom was really great and I would recommend this company to all my friends and associates.I am a very happy camper

Was this review helpful?
Erin
Erin
1 review Loretto, ON
10/10

Furnace - new humidifier

Our sales Rep Tom is very responsive and friendly.
We used Schomberg Sheet Metal three years ago when we needed our furnace replaced. We made the decision to do the A/C at the same time
So when we decided we wanted a new Humidifier, we didn't shop around, we called Schomberg. We knew the quality and price would be great.
Installation Always prompt and on time. Very personable and never any mess.
From start to finish we would have no issue using them again or recommending them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Erin
Glad your system is working well and thanks again for choosing SSM.

TOM

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Schomberg Sheet Metal

Our Mission at Schomberg Sheet Metal is to improve the quality of life for our customers, employees, suppliers and communities through our passion for serving others. For over 30 years our family owned and operated company has continued to provide exceptional levels of service to Greater Toronto and South Simcoe ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Heating & Air Conditioning pros in Bradford West Gwillimbury?