Out Of This World Home Services

Formerly DS Plumbing
Plumbing
20 Bexley Place, Unit 110 Ottawa ON K2H 8V8
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Plumbing
Out Of This World Home Services
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

91%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Best of 2020 winner 5 timesBest of 2020winner 5 times

Reviews for Out Of This World Home Services

Average customer rating:
9.3 10 (266 reviews)

Sort by

Carol in Ottawa
Carol in Ottawa
0 reviews Arnprior, ON
1/10

Outrageous quote

We were directed to this company from the Kinetico web site. We had a failing water softener and called them for service. They came to check out the unit after I agreed to pay an additional $70 on top of their service call (total $159 plus taxes) as we were living just outside of their normal zone. The technician showed up and confirmed that we had a leak by the water running down the outside of the unit (which is why the service call was made in the first place)and said that he would have to order parts. He was here for 15 minutes. Our kinetico system was still under warranty for parts. The repair estimate came back at $700. The job would be to unbolt the old unit and insert new unit, about an hours work. As the parts were covered under warranty, this means the labour charge represented $550 per hour! When asked if the quote was correct and that the parts were covered under warranty, they confirmed that. I don’t know any business that charges $550 per hour for this type of work. I do not recommend this company.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I’m sorry that your experience with our company wasn’t a positive one for you. We strive to provide an excellent customer experience at fair prices, but sometimes customers and businesses see things differently, and that’s to be expected from time to time.

I do respect your opinion, and if I were in your shoes, I might be disappointed as well. However, from my perspective, I feel I need to stand behind my team on the service and quotation they provided.

In doing my due diligence in reviewing your online complaint, I spoke with your technician, Marc, the office team, and listened to the recording of your phone call. I found my CSR to be friendly and empathetic to your situation. Even though you were located 40 minutes (one-way) from the furthest edge of our service area, she did not want to leave you without a solution. Because you did not want to deal with the original installer, and we were the only other dealer in the region, we agreed to make an exception at an additional charge.

Looking at it from your point of view, I can see how it may seem that this is a quick fix. But in reality, travel for the 2 required visits would be nearly 2 ½ hours more than a call within our service zone. Service work and the diagnostic would equate to 1½ - 2 hours. I can also confirm that Marc spent a considerable amount of time in the office dealing with the manufacturer to source parts and submitting the required documents to have the parts covered by warranty, with the shipping at our expense. As a business, we need to consider all of these things when putting together pricing.

That all being said we don’t want to leave anyone dissatisfied, and I am comfortable in honouring our 100% satisfaction guarantee policy, and refund the amount you paid. I regret that you did not reach out to us directly with your concerns, so that we could have resolved this more personally, and provided the refund sooner.

Again, I am disappointed you did not go forward with our service to repair. While not what we like seeing, we do appreciate your review, as all feedback is valuable in helping us improve our business.

We hope that you are able to have your water softener issue sorted, and wish you the best of luck.

Dave Smythe

Emma W in Victoria
Emma W in Victoria
0 reviews Victoria, BC
10/10

Amazing repair of toilet + sink and bathtub unclogging!

I had an amazing experience with this company. Really professional booking system and friendly voice on the phone, plus email confirmation. I even got a text informing me when the plumber was on his way, a short biography, and a headshot so I would know who he was and when he would arrive. He was really friendly, professional, and gave great advice; we had everything fixed in less than two hours. The only downside was that it was expensive :)

Was this review helpful?
Shawn
Shawn
2 reviews Ottawa, ON
4/10

Fixed one thing but caused a leak

Called and they handled my appointment booking with professionalism and were very friendly. Booked me the same day as they had a last minute cancellation. Tech showed up promptly and fixed one issue with our regulator in the shower however after leaving I took a shower and water started leaking into our kitchen.

I messaged and he got back to me. Came back a few days later to look at it. Couldn't figure out what is causing the leak he said and recommended a full shower/bath replacement and they offered us 35 % back but still haven't received the partial refund. He said he couldn't see the connections for fixing it . We got a second opinion and the second plumber has fixed it in 3 hours. See the pictures the second plumber company could easily access things. Going to contact about a full refund minus the service call fee.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Consistently great

Fast and consistently great. Reliable. Our go to company.
We were able to get an appointment quickly and they fixed our problem fast. Don't look elsewhere! We highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much - we really appreciate your recommendation! We are grateful to be your 'go-to' company.

Matt in Nepean
Matt in Nepean
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Exterior tap replacement.

Excellent service from Out of this World plumbing. Courteous, professional and proficient. I wouldn’t call any one else. Great front desk staff and communication. The text with a location tracker is a nice touch.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Matt, thank you so much for the kind review. It's great to hear that you had a positive experience and it means so much to us that you wouldn't call anyone else! Thank you for choosing Out of This World Plumbing :)

GUS in Ottawa
GUS in Ottawa
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Kitchen sink drain repair

Representative was two hours late and I was not notified but when he did arrive, he was congenial, gave upfront estimates and tidied up upon completion. Will use again if needed.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Gus, thank you for the review! I really apologize that we did not let you know that we were running behind - that was an oversight on our part. Happy to hear though that you head a good experience with the plumber once he arrived. Thank you for choosing our company.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Ceiling stains

Excellent service and very reassuring. Appreciated the attention to detail, clear summation of impressions formed and recommendations as to what further steps to take (and how long they could be delayed!)

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for choosing OOTW- and for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad we could help!

B. A. Sampson from Ottawa
B. A. Sampson from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Running toilet

I've used Out of this World several times in the last year or so. Always professional, clean and very pleasant. They have been successful in addressing all my plumbing issues.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for choosing us again! Glad we have been able to address your issues. Thank you for the review :)

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Rebuild faucet

These guys are the best! Professional integrity, reliable, and great expertise! My faucet would not shut off. They came and fixed it in record time and after I paid, we realized it was still under warranty. Full refund! I highly recommend this company!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

So glad we could help! Thank you so much for the review!

stephanie in Orleans
stephanie in Orleans
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Fantastic service

Great service from start to finish! Leaking indoor shut off valve in an awkward place in my finished basement required some demolition. Sarah (the plumber) did an excellent job, explained everything and left the area clean and tidy. Sarah was very professional and polite. Very impressive service!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Great to here you had a great experience with Sarah, and our company! We know there are a lot of other companies out there, and we really appreciate you choosing us. Thanks so much for the review Stephanie :)

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Out Of This World Home Services

*Formerly DS Plumbing*

Out of This World Home Services is a family owned company offering award winning residential plumbing and water treatment and drain cleaning services to the Ottawa and surrounding area. We look forward to offering HVAC, electrical, and other home services in the near future.

We believe in offering our clients more than just plumbing services; we deliver peace of mind. We proudly offer:
-Quality workmanship backed by our 100% satisfaction guarantee
-Technician ID’s emailed prior to arrival
-100% Satisfaction Guarantee
-2 year warranty on parts & labour
-Complimentary home plumbing check-up with each service
No job is too small- feel free to call DS Plumbing anytime!

CATEGORIES
Plumbing and Water Filtration & Purification
PRODUCTS
In addition to plumbing services, DS Plumbing is also a certified Kinetico water systems dealer. We offer complimentary in-home water testing and consultations; contact our office to book your free appointment!
SERVICES
-Drain cleaning -Faucet installation and repair -Dishwasher installation -Water softeners and other water treatment products & services -Leak locating and repair. -Toilet repairs and installation -Sinks, tubs and showers -Backwater Valves -Sink & vanity installation -Water meter installations. -Natural gas and propane installation service and repair -Bathroom renovations
BRANDS
Certified Kinetico Dealer. Can service & supply: Gerber, American Standard, Toto, Luxart, Moen Woodford, Navien, Rheem + more.
SPECIALITIES
Residential Plumbing & Water Treatment
WEBSITE
http://www.dsplumbing.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2004
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
20
RETURN POLICY
100% Satisfaction Guarantee
PAYMENT METHOD
Visa, MasterCard, Cheque, Cash, E-transfer
LICENSES
Plumbing, Wells, Backflow prevention, Gas
MEMBERSHIPS
Better Business Bureau, Ottawa Board of Trade
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
2 year warranty on all DSP supplied parts & fixtures as well as 2 year guarantee on most labour
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.