Out Of This World Home Services

Formerly DS Plumbing
Plumbing
20 Bexley Place, Unit 110 Ottawa ON K2H 8V8
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Plumbing
Out Of This World Home Services
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

91%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2020 winner 5 timesBest of 2020winner 5 times

Reviews for Out Of This World Home Services

Average customer rating:
9.3 10 (274 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Fixed kitchen sink

Called to fix leaking piping under the sink and what seemed to be a clogged drain pipe. The office was very helpful and courteous. They had someone come the next day (!!!!), and texted me when he was on the way. They even included a bio. Trevor was great; friendly and professional, and was careful to take COVID precautions. I appreciated that he offered a range of options at different price points and verified with me before proceeding. Two hours later and everything works like a charm. Thank you! I will recommend.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Plumber to the rescue!

The hot water connection under my kitchen sink suddenly gave way, leading to a Niagara Falls-like deluge from the kitchen and into the basement. Out of this World’s Chris was here within 1.5 hours of my initial call, and quickly got to work. Within an hour, the problem was fixed, he had thrown in a complimentary check of all other sources of water, and was gone. All done with efficiency, good humour, and professionalism.

Was this review helpful?
Grant in Ottawa
Grant in Ottawa
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Various jobs

BOTTOM LINE: SHOP AROUND.

Unfortunately, I went with this company for a couple plumbing jobs based on the outstanding reviews on here. What did I learn about this company:
- Highest prices around.
- Say they will contact someone to see if they can find parts but the minute they leave, they disappear.
- Charge full price even when they cannot resolve the issue and are out in 10 minutes.
- Errors on estimates and invoices (or forget to send any at all).
- Not the best responsiveness
- Will do the bare minimum

Nice people, their vehicles are shiny? That's about it. I wont be using them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Grant,

I am sorry you didn’t have a positive experience with our company. I understand you contacted our office recently to have a quote for a water heater from 2018 updated, and were disappointed to hear the cost had gone up since then. Unfortunately, price increases are inevitable, as the prices from suppliers are raised from time to time as well. As for the concerns you raise in this review: Because the last time we saw you was over 2 years ago, I it's difficult to address your experience with our team now. I’m truly sorry if our customer service policies were not carried out at the time, and I wish we could have addressed them for you then. Thank you for your feedback, and I wish you all the best with your water heater installation.

kms in Ottawa
kms in Ottawa
2 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Shower repair

I've used Out of this World plumbing for years (they've rebranded since I started using them!) and they've always gone the extra mile. They're always clean, efficient, professional, friendly, and just simply excellent.

I sing their praises to anyone who will listen!

Was this review helpful?
Gerry
Gerry
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Fixing a water leak in the kitchen

Gary is awesome to work with. He is very polite and customer oriented. He went all the way to check other possible causes of the water leak. He gives recommendations which I find helpful.

I would hire him again.

Was this review helpful?
D
D
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Toilet Replacement - with new buddy Craig

Craig was out of this world - kind, caring, knowledgeable and able to manage to work efficiently and effectively while participating in our families busy life (3 boys, girlfriend, friendly neighbor) he found a way to connect with us all, while sell us a replacement toilet and supplying my neighbor with bio-bacteria for the year. A gold star employee, person and father. D

Was this review helpful?
Bob N
Bob N
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
9/10

Fast Service Good Performance

I called at 9 AM on a Thursday for a plumber to come to my house in Kanata and fix a running bathtub tap / faucet, which would not shut off. The receptionist (Nieve?) was most helpful and sympathetic to my situation. Plumber Gary arrived 2 hrs later. Job required a new tap handle, but as he did not have one with him, Gary proceeded to nearby Home Depot to get one. New handle installed, job complete. Gary was professional, friendly and polite throughout. Price of $282 (including 10% senior's discount) seems a little high, but the service was excellent and impressively quick -- under 3 hrs from phone call to job completion!

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Waterloo, ON
10/10

Great service

Very efficicient booking and communication about arrival. Arrived on time with no waiting. Polite guys who did a great job and left everything clean. Thanks very much for every thing.

Was this review helpful?
Carol in Ottawa
Carol in Ottawa
0 reviews Arnprior, ON
1/10

Outrageous quote

We were directed to this company from the Kinetico web site. We had a failing water softener and called them for service. They came to check out the unit after I agreed to pay an additional $70 on top of their service call (total $159 plus taxes) as we were living just outside of their normal zone. The technician showed up and confirmed that we had a leak by the water running down the outside of the unit (which is why the service call was made in the first place)and said that he would have to order parts. He was here for 15 minutes. Our kinetico system was still under warranty for parts. The repair estimate came back at $700. The job would be to unbolt the old unit and insert new unit, about an hours work. As the parts were covered under warranty, this means the labour charge represented $550 per hour! When asked if the quote was correct and that the parts were covered under warranty, they confirmed that. I don’t know any business that charges $550 per hour for this type of work. I do not recommend this company.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I’m sorry that your experience with our company wasn’t a positive one for you. We strive to provide an excellent customer experience at fair prices, but sometimes customers and businesses see things differently, and that’s to be expected from time to time.

I do respect your opinion, and if I were in your shoes, I might be disappointed as well. However, from my perspective, I feel I need to stand behind my team on the service and quotation they provided.

In doing my due diligence in reviewing your online complaint, I spoke with your technician, Marc, the office team, and listened to the recording of your phone call. I found my CSR to be friendly and empathetic to your situation. Even though you were located 40 minutes (one-way) from the furthest edge of our service area, she did not want to leave you without a solution. Because you did not want to deal with the original installer, and we were the only other dealer in the region, we agreed to make an exception at an additional charge.

Looking at it from your point of view, I can see how it may seem that this is a quick fix. But in reality, travel for the 2 required visits would be nearly 2 ½ hours more than a call within our service zone. Service work and the diagnostic would equate to 1½ - 2 hours. I can also confirm that Marc spent a considerable amount of time in the office dealing with the manufacturer to source parts and submitting the required documents to have the parts covered by warranty, with the shipping at our expense. As a business, we need to consider all of these things when putting together pricing.

That all being said we don’t want to leave anyone dissatisfied, and I am comfortable in honouring our 100% satisfaction guarantee policy, and refund the amount you paid. I regret that you did not reach out to us directly with your concerns, so that we could have resolved this more personally, and provided the refund sooner.

Again, I am disappointed you did not go forward with our service to repair. While not what we like seeing, we do appreciate your review, as all feedback is valuable in helping us improve our business.

We hope that you are able to have your water softener issue sorted, and wish you the best of luck.

Dave Smythe

Emma W in Victoria
Emma W in Victoria
0 reviews Victoria, BC
10/10

Amazing repair of toilet + sink and bathtub unclogging!

I had an amazing experience with this company. Really professional booking system and friendly voice on the phone, plus email confirmation. I even got a text informing me when the plumber was on his way, a short biography, and a headshot so I would know who he was and when he would arrive. He was really friendly, professional, and gave great advice; we had everything fixed in less than two hours. The only downside was that it was expensive :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Out Of This World Home Services

*Formerly DS Plumbing*

Out of This World Home Services is a family owned company offering award winning residential plumbing and water treatment and drain cleaning services to the Ottawa and surrounding area. We look forward to offering HVAC, electrical, and other home services in the near future.

We believe in offering our clients more than just plumbing services; we deliver peace of mind. We proudly offer:
-Quality workmanship backed by our 100% satisfaction guarantee
-Technician ID’s emailed prior to arrival
-100% Satisfaction Guarantee
-2 year warranty on parts & labour
-Complimentary home plumbing check-up with each service
No job is too small- feel free to call DS Plumbing anytime!

CATEGORIES
Plumbing and Water Filtration & Purification
PRODUCTS
In addition to plumbing services, DS Plumbing is also a certified Kinetico water systems dealer. We offer complimentary in-home water testing and consultations; contact our office to book your free appointment!
SERVICES
-Drain cleaning -Faucet installation and repair -Dishwasher installation -Water softeners and other water treatment products & services -Leak locating and repair. -Toilet repairs and installation -Sinks, tubs and showers -Backwater Valves -Sink & vanity installation -Water meter installations. -Natural gas and propane installation service and repair -Bathroom renovations
BRANDS
Certified Kinetico Dealer. Can service & supply: Gerber, American Standard, Toto, Luxart, Moen Woodford, Navien, Rheem + more.
SPECIALITIES
Residential Plumbing & Water Treatment
WEBSITE
http://www.dsplumbing.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2004
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
20
RETURN POLICY
100% Satisfaction Guarantee
PAYMENT METHOD
Visa, MasterCard, Cheque, Cash, E-transfer
LICENSES
Plumbing, Wells, Backflow prevention, Gas
MEMBERSHIPS
Better Business Bureau, Ottawa Board of Trade
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
2 year warranty on all DSP supplied parts & fixtures as well as 2 year guarantee on most labour
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.