Homes By Avi Inc.

Builders
245 Forge Road SE Calgary AB T2H 0S9
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Builders
Homes By Avi Inc.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

62%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Homes By Avi Inc.

Average customer rating:
6.3 10 (101 reviews)

Sort by

Sharon
Sharon
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Street town purchase

I recently purchased a Homes by Avi street town in Belmont in Calgary.
I am extremely pleased with my purchase. From the sales ladies to the construction crew.....the experience was amazing. They were all professional. The construction is perfect. My home is well built and done to what I wanted.

I highly recommend this company to build your dream home as I am very happy with my experience and the product.

Well done!

Was this review helpful?
KK in Calgary
KK in Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
4/10

Disappointed

Our review is long, but I encourage you to take the time and do the research and read others experiences. This way you have an idea of what to expect (or not to expect) and hopefully it can assist you in making the right decision on which builder is best for you.

When we purchased our home (one of the last couple of lots), the sales ladies were fantastic. They did whatever they could to close the deal with kindness and integrity. Once we purchased the home was when we started to see that we were just a “sale”.
When our home was built and we did the walk through the gentleman mentioned that the workmanship on the exterior was not very good. We had to get a lot of the major visible ones fixed. But the “fix” was not a replacement, but a cheap way of covering the poor workmanship.

One of the issues that was visible right away was our garage door. The paint was dull, cracking at the bottom and certain ares were discoloured. Because it was just over a year (which was past our warranty) it was our problem to fix. I called around to get some quotes and one company asked me if a certain home builder built our home. It was shocking and not shocking at the same time to be asked as this as this home builder has a lower review rating. In hindsight, we could have saved ourselves over 150K if we built with this other builder since we got ourselves the same quality and service.

One of our window casing were cracked and fortunately that was still under warranty. I asked the guy who came to fix the window his opinion about the cocking and siding of our house. He said he has seen better. He told me how I could fix or correct some of it. The siding, he said he remembered when he came while the house was being built that there was some areas that were bad. (area we had to get it fixed after our first walk through).

The patio steps in the back is not attached properly. It is lopsided and the wood is cracked. A thin non-pressurized board was used to keep the stairs together. One of the nails were broken and instead of it being fixed properly or replaced, it was drilled back in as is, still lopsided. This is another additional cost to us to fix as no ownership or accountability is taken from the builder who built it.

There are more than few other issues we have noticed. (Some of them were pointed out by our neighbours, which we are not sure if that is a good or bad thing). There were a lot of short cuts that were taken, maybe not necessarily wrong, but we will have to wait and see if there will be any issues. There are too many to list of the poor work that has been done, but to list some are: the stone work beside the garage, the parging, attachment of the soffit to the side of the house, the siding in the back that stopped halfway, and missing siding because they didn’t realize that we did not need a deck (as we got a concrete patio). The list goes on.

We do understand that there are no perfect home builders and mistakes are bound to happen. It is how they respond that makes the difference. What we are most disappointed with is the lack of concern, response, or ownership taken by AVI homes. Whether it is under warranty or not, if something was been done incorrectly or poorly, it should be fixed. This has all been communicated to AVI. I had to contact Alberta Home Warranty as well and unfortunately, any poor workmanship that does not have or may not cause structural issues, is the home owner’s responsibility. (We still do not fully understand the patio stairs as it can cause an accidental/injury).

We would understand if it was wear and tear, but these issues are not. When you invest and are paying over half a million dollars (or any amount for a home), it is upsetting that you are responsible to fix their mistakes. During and after our home was built, we would come by and bring them treats to say thank you as well thank you gifts at the end. We feel that our kindness was taken advantage of. Maybe we should have not been so nice and easy going, but rather picky and particular with every little thing.

After reading some of the other home owners reviews, we realize we are not the only ones experiencing disappointment. We trusted in the name AVI. It seems it has changed over the years and we wished we would have done more research before we decided on our home.
It’s sad that making or saving money is more important than having integrity, morals and good ethics.

Was this review helpful?
Iveta in Calgary
Iveta in Calgary
0 reviews Airdrie, AB
0/10

Disappointed by Warranty and Customer Service

We have had numerous problems with poor workmanship in our home and have had to keep hounding AVI to make repairs, after numerous phone calls and emails some of our concerns have been fixed, however the last issue did it. We took position July 2018!
1. Scratched flooring on main floor. When they came to fix the scratched pieces we realized that AVI installed completely wrong floor. It took them almost 8 months to get the correct flooring and install it correctly! So make sure people you check that you get what you paid for! All this work was done when we moved in with all our furniture here. You can just imagine what we went through.
2. A crack on the sidewalk that is not AVI problem, but apparently the Developer.
3. Gate got installed the way that we could not open it as there is a window well. Took them 2 months to fix the issue. Of course we could not use the gate.
4. Railing in front was installed wrong way - completely of and it took them almost a year to fix it as well the post on our porch. Installed completely off, nothing was align.
5. Bathroom fans stopped working after a year. The person who came to fix it told me that they told AVI not to use the brand. I guess, cheap is the way to go.
6. Duct vent coming off under the kitchen sink - so they glued it on the cabinet. Duct vent on the floor in the living room half way sticking out because they did not cut big enough hole for it and left it.
7. Microwave issue.
8. Faucet leaking in the kitchen. Yes it is fixed but after a year and half we got defected faucet?
9. Missing countertop behind stove! Yes, it got "fixed" but it is not 1 piece but instead I have now 3 pieces of counter tops! When they came to inspected first when I made complaint, they said it is OK the way it is. So I went to showhome and took picture and showed them that it should be installed the same way. Finally they fixed it.
10. Garage pad cracked and collapsed. As per the "expert", Don, it was in the 1 year warranty only. Guess what, when they came to do the 1 year warranty check up, they never went into my garage. So now I am just praying that they will still do something about it.
11. Latest - the bath tub in our spare bedroom leaked and made big damage on our ceiling and walls. I phoned emergency number for AVI which they been really good until the "expert", DON, came to our house and told me that the bathtub is cracked. And he said that they have to determined if it is still under warranty or not or if it is manufacture defect. GUESS WHAT? Without explaining us, contacting us they simple decided that it was not under warranty or manufacture defect.... but they came to fix the tub and ceiling, but apparently we are responsible for the walls because it is not under warranty. You could clearly see that the crack is the wrong way not as someone hit it with hummer!!!!!!! So, the "expert", Don, been really customer oriented and yelling at me here at my house how it is not his problem and that he is here only to bleached the ceiling. So my walls in the living room are blistered, bean is cracked as well all the paint along the fire place is cracked too.

I am hoping that before your buy house from Homes by Avi, you will read all those reviews. Go with different company and save money. Homes by Avi is not what used to be. They do not care how much money you spent, unless you are buying hire range house. We are first generation living in Canada and we had to sacrifice few things to be able to get this house. But as per the "expert" Don who cares. Warranty Coordinator, Jackie, will not even reply to our emails. or let us know what is next step. Who cares, they already got our money. I already had few people asking me how am I happy, and I will tell you the true, Not at All. And do not buy with AVI.
And all those warranties, they are a joke. If you need them to fix something you are just praying it is still under warranty!
Very disappointed ex-customers, Iveta and Jaro

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Kathleen in Edmonton
Kathleen in Edmonton
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
1/10

New Home

Home not completed 6 mos later. Were promised repeatedly it would be. Signed contracts say it would be. It was not. Nice home, but won't ever buy from them again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Our trades work hard and orderly to fulfill all work within our short seasons, however, they are at the mercy of our varying weather. As you know, landscaping and other seasonal work is just that, seasonal. At this time, seasonal work is still being completed and every effort will be made to complete yard work in 2019, with yours scheduled for this week, pending cooperative weather. If you wish to discuss further, you can contact our seasonal/construction manager at the number provided by Megan.

B. in Edmonton
B. in Edmonton
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
2/10

Shoddy work. Lacks integrity

Bought house from Homes by Avi in 2012. In 2019 I had to replace broken hood fan. When I started to disconnect the old fan I discovered this. The hood fan (had to be chosen from a limited number available from their centre) had a 7" duct. They put in a standard 6" exterior duct. Whoever put in the electrical box to supply the hood fan put in low and in the way so the exterior duct is too low and off to the right. There was no connecting duct. They built the sheet metal box in the picture encasing the two ducts and then boxed it in wood so until now I had no idea the ducts were mismatched and not connected with airtight seal the way it should be. The flap of the metal box was not cut by me. I discovered it taped in place when I removed encasing wooden box that hid everything from view. Since I only discovered this this year, all warrantees are expired. Shoddy work for a house that cost over $800 K CAD. I shudder to think what other disasters are hidden behind the walls.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi B., We can understand how you'd be disappointed the mismatched duct, however, we've been assured by our trades that an encased box when built right, which yours was, will be airtight and exhaust properly directing air out of the house. From the looks of your picture, the box was working as intended as there is no debris in the duct box and there was no issues with the exhaust fan. Our warranty department has reached out to discuss further and is available to continue the conversation regarding your concerns if you wish to reach out.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
0/10

Terrible house foundations, cracks everywhere within 2 years

Homes by Avi came and inspected the cracks in the house and refused to fix anything. very unsupportive. Cracks continue to appear everywhere in the house within the one year. My neighbours homes are having same issues which is also builtby homes by AVI.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Eric in Toronto
Eric in Toronto
2 reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Refuses to fix their mistakes, makes a woman bring out a ladder for their painter

Sell you premium home but act like they are going broke with warranty. Told me right in the face that "we are not going to tear all that up to fix this" while the conduit I paid for is not even connected. Then went on to tell the technician do what he could making the hole in the wall as small as possible disregarding concerns from the technician himself. Then made my wife to bring out the ladder so they can paint over the mistake they didn't fix. "Well mine is dirty do you want mud all over your floor?" the guy said.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Our goal is to provide a consistently reliable product and superb aftercare service. Please follow the communication provided by our customer service team to resolve any outstanding issues you may have.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Poor customer service, work and denial to fix the issues.

I will not recommend this builder to anyone. We got our home possession in Feb 2018 and after 3 months follow up we notified builder issues we noted after move. Some of them resolved but for others they are willing to do the fix. i.e. walls on both sides of fridge not vertically align, tiles is master washroom not adjusted properly, garage door panels was sticking out and they hasn't fix it. They promised to do the grading work by end of June but completed at end of August. Deck stairs hasn't been put.

It's nightmare to deal with their office. They don't keep their promise. Very poor customer service.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

As a company, we pride ourselves on delivering quality products and great customer service to our homeowners, and we would like to address your grievance, where possible.
We strive to provide clarity and operate with transparency, so we would like to clear a few things up. As per grading schedules, the work is to begin in June – at times, weather and other external factors impact the timing. Rear stairs can only be put in after grading is complete, and yours are on site and will be installed next week. For the concern of your fridge wall, we’ve worked with Alberta New Home Warranty (ANHWP) and it is within their guidelines. Unfortunately, as the warranty manager has told you, the garage door panels are on back order, but we will replace them ASAP.
We abide by strict builder guidelines and undergo numerous inspections on each home we build to ensure the safety and integrity of your home. If you would like to have any of these issues reviewed by ANHWP, our warranty department can coordinate that with you – please contact us directly.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Homes By Avi Inc.

After more than three decades of building award winning new houses in Calgary, we can look back and say that we helped build homes and communities and made a significant contribution to the city. It is very rewarding to leave a lasting legacy and to still see happy homeowners after ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Builders pros in Calgary?