A Better Way Plumbing Ltd.

Water Filtration & Purification
Calgary AB
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

94%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2019 winner 4 timesBest of 2019winner 4 times

Reviews for A Better Way Plumbing Ltd.

Average customer rating:
9.8 10 (183 reviews)

Sort by

Douglas  in Calgary
Douglas in Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Top quality and reliable work.

Jason is a reliable plumber who does top quality work and he’s one of the nicest guys you’ll ever meet. He’s been our go to guy for plumbing and heating since March 2014. I highly recommend ABW.

Was this review helpful?
Terry in Toronto
Terry in Toronto
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Plumbing sinks and garburator install

Jason contacted me right away, arranged a time, showed up when he said he would and got everything done. It was the easiest part of the project to get done, everything looks great and works great. Highly recommend him for any projects you have big or small.

Was this review helpful?
Mommiologist in Calgary
Mommiologist in Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Simple plumbing fixes

I have had them come in to fix leaky fixtures and plugged drains. They are always on time, super friendly and professional, get the problem fixed easily, and charges are reasonable. I'd recommend!

Was this review helpful?
Real Property Management ACE
Real Property Management ACE
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Stands Behind Products & Services

As the owner of a national Property Management franchise, I decided to contract A Better Way Plumbing for a client's significant renovation job; which involved a new furnace and water heater.

It was the first time we started working with A Better Way Plumbing; and a few months after installation, Calgary February weather kicks in -25 and the furnace keeps shutting off on its own. The home was in the final stages of the renovation, ready to be put on the market. My staff notify as soon as they realized the home was at high risk for pipes bursting.

I left James the General Manager at A Better Way Plumbing a few urgent messages, and despite being late Friday evening, he responds personally and sends out his plumber to assess the issue that late evening, and resolved over the weekend. James customer service and honour to his warranty is much appreciated.

Was this review helpful?
Curtis  from Calgary
Curtis from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
7/10

Installation of Tankless Water Heater

We had a tankless water heater installed in February of 2018 by ABWP. It was an emergency repair as we came home to an inch of rust-coloured water on the basement floor about 7 in the evening. I immediately got on the Homestars site to find a reputable plumber to install a new unit. Jason at ABWP was friendly and helpful with making the decision in this hour of need to upgrade from a tank to a tankless unit (significant rebate from the AB gov’t) and agreed to come at 8:00 AM the next morning. We found Jason and his employee to be gregarious and outgoing during the installation which communicated to us that they truly enjoyed what they did. The unit was installed by the end of day and has worked proficiently ever since. Jason did go the extra mile and replace a cartridge in the upstairs shower faucet free of charge and this was appreciated. Overall, the work of ABWP was done competently in regards to the installation of the tankless unit but I would caution anyone who contracts them to install a new furnace or tankless hot water tank and insist they show that they have pulled a work permit before commencing the installation or acquiring one immediately thereafter. This was not done in our case and it is absolutely necessary for a job like this as new gas lines had to be installed to accommodate a tankless unit that is always wall mounted. It took over a year for this to happen (City regulation is 6 months after installation) and I would have never known about this stipulation without the expertise of another contractor who inquired as to why there was no inspection tag on the unit. This started the process of contacting ABWP in November to thoroughly complete the installation process by having the final inspection completed. The unit did fail inspection the first time as the air intake pipe was not routed to the exterior as per City of Calgary codes but ABWP did come and make the necessary remediations to meet code and it subsequently passed inspection this past month.
In summary, you will enjoy the genial personality of Jason and his crew, have work done competently but there may be some oversight over aspects such as pulling required permits for the contracted work.

Review has 3 previous versions
Was this review helpful?
Sandy in Calgary
Sandy in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
8/10

Kitchen Sink Clog

I had a nasty clogged sink in my kitchen. I had tried a few different ways to get it unclogged. My Room mate opened the p trap to empty the sink, and broke the seal on the pipe. I finally gave up and called Jason! Best idea I have ever had! I used the get a quote option on here and he quoted me $200 + parts. Mitch came on time (early actually) and proceeded to repair the pipe. When done he poured some industrial drain cleaner down. Told us not to use the sink for 24 hrs. After that we were to fill the sink with cold water and then pull the plug. Well.... it didn't work. I called Jason back and they came out again. Snaked it this time and whoosh......it works!! Thanks guys for all your work! I appreciate it!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Sandy,
Thank you for the kind words. We really appreciate the business and for taking the time to let us know of your experience.
A Better Way Plumbing

Dave in Calgary
Dave in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
2/10

Replace Main Water Shutoff Valve

We called A Better Way Plumbing to replace our main water shutoff valve, which had a very slow drip (non-emergency call). After we arranged the date/time with the city to turn off water outside, A Better Way arrived and removed the existing valve, only to discover they didn't have the replacement valve in stock. We were informed the required part was being couriered from Edmonton and would arrive by 9am the following day. We did not receive any updates the following morning until we phoned to ask for a status update. We were informed that the part did not arrive on time and was now scheduled to arrive that afternoon. By 2pm, we had not received any updates so we phoned again and were informed that the part had arrived. By 4:30pm the day after starting the job, they were able to finish it.

Our family was without water for 24 hours. No status updates were initiated by A Better Way during those 24 hours. They were quick to blame their supplier for the issues/delays but they cannot pin the lack of communication on their supplier. Payment took 15 minutes as the Plumber was having difficulties with his payment machine, which included him having to call their admin for help. No discount was provided to reflect the inconvenience or lack of communication. We were told we would get a coupon for a future service. While we don’t intend on using A Better Way again, it’s important to point out that we have yet to receive the coupon (writing of this review is 3 weeks after the service was performed).

The new shutoff valve is working / performing well and the work area was left tidy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Dave,
We are sorry to hear about your experience with us. It was unfortunate that our suppliers did not have your replacement valve in-stock at the time of the house call. We apologize for the inconvenience. We do try to communicate as best as possible with the customer if there is going to be a delay. We will take your comments as a learning experience for us on how we can improve our customer service during situations like this.
Thank you
A Better Way Plumbing

Genny in Calgary
Genny in Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Great Plumber - call this company

We have used Jason (A Better Way Plumbing) for different problems we had - from adding a natural gas line for the BBQ, to fixing a leaky kitchen faucet, to a leaky shower and leaky toilet, replacing a water tank, etc. (It's an older house, so it's expected). His estimate are always spot on (no surprises down the road). He comes quickly and does great work without leaving a mess behind him. He is now our dedicated plumber. I highly recommend A Better Way Plumbing for professional services, yet friendly and personalized at the same time

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Genny,
Thank you for the great review. Jason takes a lot of pride in his work and business. Please refer us to all your friends.

A Better Way Plumbing

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Hot water tank inspection

Jason arrived right within the two hour window. We wanted to have the hot water tank inspected before leaving on vacation. He assured us everything was in order and did not charge us anything. We are so impressed with this company and especially Jason's very friendly and efficient service. We highly recommend this company and are so happy we found Jason and A Better Way Plumbing here on Homestars.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the review. Glad your hot water tank is working fine. We try to provide the best customer service experience as possible and do not like to overcharge our customers if no work is needed. Please refer us to all your family and friends in the future.
Thanks
A Better Way Plumbing

Happy i.
Happy i.
3 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Hot Water Tank Replacement

'A Better Way Plumbing' installed a new Bradford White hot water tank in the basement and removed the old tank. The Bradford White tank is a step above the water tanks installed by the Big Box companies and the install was a breeze with Mitch. I would use "A Better Way Plumbing" again for any plumbing or heating needs.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Happy,
Thanks for the review. I hope you are enjoying your new Water Heater.
We take pride in making sure our customers get the best product's available. Please refer us to anyone who needs any plumbing need's done in the future.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about A Better Way Plumbing Ltd.

A Better Way Plumbing Ltd. is a family owned and operated company founded by Jason Tomchishin in 2005. We are dedicated to providing the best possible customer service, going above and beyond to ensure customer satisfaction. We offer around the clock, 24 hour emergency plumbing services city wide in Calgary ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Water Filtration & Purification pros in Calgary?