City Wide Group Inc

Waterproofing
25 Hollinger Rd. Toronto ON M4B 3N4
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Waterproofing
City Wide Group Inc
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

95%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2019 winner 8 timesBest of 2019winner 8 times

Reviews for City Wide Group Inc

Average customer rating:
9.6 10 (322 reviews)

Sort by

10/10

Honest and responsive

Alex responses to my request for a quote quickly. He was very professional and helpful! Alex was able to identify that in fact we did not have a leaky foundation problem and that the problem was related to our door sill. I’m still telling people how refreshing it was to deal with a company that is as genuine as it is useful. THANK YOU ALEX! 100% recommend this company to anyone in need of basement waterproofing advice.

Was this review helpful?
Eric in Caledon
Eric in Caledon
1 review Caledon, ON
10/10

External Waterproofing

Had the whole back and side of my house externally waterproofed by citywide. They gave me a great price and they made these frustrating repairs really easy for me.

Also Alex the project manager was always on call to fix any issues or questions I had. I highly recommend going with city wide!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
gary in Brampton
gary in Brampton
0 reviews Brampton, ON
8/10

Outside Waterproofing

These guys worked hard and efficiently and were courteous. Clean up was also good. Because of long waiting period due to the work load after very severe winter conditions, (understandable) we didn't get put into cue. When I called, Alex the manager was very apologetic and offered no excuses. The work was then promptly completed. Satisfied, Recommend but because of that can't give a 10.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review Gary! We apologize it took longer than promised to start your job, we will review how this happened and improve moving forward.

Basement Leak in Lincoln
Basement Leak in Lincoln
0 reviews Lincoln, ON
4/10

Basement Leak

The summer of 2017 I had a basement leak. I received a quote and date within in a very reasonable amount of time. The leak appeared to be fixed after the job was completed. Within a short time after, I noticed that there was dampness in the same spot in my basement, exactly where it originated. I contacted the company twice to ask them to book a time with me and come look at it. No response. I came home one day and someone had put a clear coding of some sort on a small to medium size crack on the outside of the house close the foundation. Okay??? I emailed again, asking for an appt. as the leak is not fixed and to tell them about this clear coding that appeared on my house. No response. I gave up for a bit, as I was so upset. Tried again to contact them the following summer of 2018 by email and phone, no response. I am now wanting to put carpet down, and I can't because of this issue. I was advised this was a life time warranty and if there were any problems, they would fix it, no matter what. I have recently just this past April 2019 contacted them again by email, and I called the company directly. A very nice receptionist answered the phone, apologized for everything, not her fault, and she would have someone call me by the end of the week. Again, no response. I have never been one to write a negative comment or review like this, but you can only imagine how beyond upset and disappointed I am. I will not give up on this, as I am entitled to have the job that I paid for done right. I hope that I will now hear from someone very soon. Unfortunately if I don't, I will have to escalate this in a different direction.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and experience. We do not know who you are you which address you may be referring to as we have no complaints in Lincoln, ON registered in our system. If you are a customer of ours we strongly suggest you call the office and let us know how we can help. You can ask for one of the owners, Chris or Harry.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Exterior waterproofing

We had water leak in our basement and hired The City Wide Group Inc to do the exterior waterproofing. The crew led by Alex was very friendly and professional. They listened to my concerns and completed the work as what had been explained to me during the first visit. They have done an excellent job in my case and are thus highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review about the exterior waterproofing work we have done at your house. We from The City Wide Group really appreciate it.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Exterior waterproofing in 2 spots.

Initially when Alex came he gave detailed information on how the work was to be done and the different materials that were to be used. When the weather was feasible the crew came and did the job quickly and efficiently and cleaned up.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review about the exterior waterproofing. We from The City Wide Group really appreciate it.

yz in East York
yz in East York
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Basement waterproofing

We looked at many reviews and had several waterproofing companies come out before choosing City Wide to waterproof our basement. WORSE DECISION EVER. The job was delayed about 2 months from promised start date. Finally started last Fall and we are still not done. Weather was part of the reason but the job is not well done and communication with City Wide has been extremely frustrating. Our contact, Casey, who seemed responsive before we signed the contract, became very difficult to reach. We have left multiple text messages, calls often without response. For example, crew was supposed to come out today to 'finish' the job that was started last October (City Wide called last week to confirm this after many calls on our part to try to get job finished) and no one has shown up yet. Responsive from City Wide is they do not know and need to contact Casey. Cannot reach Casey by phone and text message not returned. Work was done poorly, for example, screws are falling off the wall (see pictures). Also due to soil piled onto fence it needed to be replaced (which was done by City Wide). Very disappointed in the experience and we did our homework to try to find the best company but clearly made the wrong choice. If we can get a refund we would and it was an expensive job! Would not recommend City Wide to anyone!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We do not have any complaints recorded in our system in East York within the last 5 years. If you are a customer of ours, please reach out to the office and we would be happy to help you. You can ask for one of the owners Chris or Harry.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Oshawa, ON
10/10

A 1 The best!

Efficient, courteous and fast. What more can I say? A1 workmanship! Several of my neighbours have asked for their name and contact info. I would have them back any time!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind review!

Great Crew in Scarborough
Great Crew in Scarborough
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

A great Crew of hard workers

I had a crew consisting of site supervisor Mario and crew Joseph Steve and kamel. They came to my house on Thursday June 6th did the job and left everything back the way it was. Very friendly and professional. I would highly recommend this crew. Thank you for fixing my problem and leaving the area clean.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review about the waterproofing job we have done for you. We from The City Wide Group really appreciate it.

Robie
Robie
10 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Leakage from window well solved

Great company to deal with.
Very professional company. Alex was very quick to give us a quick detailed estimate that thoroughly laid out how the repair would be done. He was easy to get a hold of and as promised the work was done as per schedule. The excavation and repairs were done as per spec. in less than 2 days by very competent Vojtech and his assistant leaving the work site clean. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this company.
Thanks
Bob

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Bob,
Thank you for your review about the waterproofing job we have done for you. We from The City Wide Group really appreciate it.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about City Wide Group Inc

City Wide Group is your first choice for waterproofing and underpinning service in Toronto & the GTA. We have been in business since 1961, building a reputation in this community for timely, quality work always done right the first time.

Family owned and operated, our team of waterproofing and underpinning specialists is unmatched when it comes to client satisfaction. Our unwavering dedication to outstanding service has earned City Wide Group the prestigious Consumer’s Choice Award for 23 consecutive years.

For comprehensive waterproofing and underpinning solutions that protect your home, your equity and your peace of mind, choose City Wide Group.

Our expert advice and timely, dependable service are backed by an accurate quotation and guaranteed satisfaction, whatever your needs. We can permanently prevent wet basements, seal foundation cracks – inside and out, install weeping tiles, install drains inside or out and lower your basement.

Safeguard your family’s health, your most cherished possessions and your property’s value- contact City Wide Group.

CATEGORIES
Waterproofing, Drain Services, Concrete Contractors, Foundations, and Masonry & Bricklaying
PRODUCTS
Blueskin WP200 Delta MS
SERVICES
Waterproofing, Exterior & Interior Waterproofing, basement waterproofing, wet basement, leaky basement, window well, Underpinning, Concrete, Masonry, Drains, Plumbing, Back Water Valves, waterproofing contractors Plumbing, Drains, , basement waterproofing, wet basement, leaky basement, foundation crack, window well, foundation crack repair, weeping tile installation, waterproofing contractors
BRANDS
Bakor Blueskin WP200. Corsella Dorken - Delta MS drainage membrane (dimpled). Back Water Valves
SPECIALITIES
Exterior & Interior Waterproofing, Weeping tile, Underpinning, Basement lowering, drains
WEBSITE
http://www.citywidegroup.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1961
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque, Cash, All major Credit Cards
LICENSES
Metro Lic. # B-8393
MEMBERSHIPS
23 Time Consumers Choice Award WinnerBBB
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
LIFETIME Transferable Warranty
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.