Verdun Windows And Doors

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
104 rue Clement RR 1 Vars ON K0A 3H0
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

94%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2020 winner 7 timesBest of 2020winner 7 times

Reviews for Verdun Windows And Doors

Average customer rating:
9.5 10 (1050 reviews)

Sort by

Allison in Toronto
Allison in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

windows

I'm sooo happy I hired Verdun to do my windows. From the moment the sales person Alex came to our home and the 2 very hard workers came to install the experience was excellent.
The installers didn't even stop for lunch. They worked from 7:30am to 3:30 non stop. They were knowledgeable and boy were they strong!
Thank you very much I will highly recommend you to everyone.
It was special today because my husband is a veteran he served in Afghanistan in 2005. Our new windows is a good remembrance on Remembrance Day.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Great news
Thank you for the kind review
Wishing you a great week
Alec

OttawaHomeowner
OttawaHomeowner
1 review Ottawa, ON
1/10

Go with a company who cares

Regretting purchase. Expected a professional experience but was very disappointed. Should've went with another company.

Sale rep was friendly and reassured our experience. Rep who came to take measurements came 3 hours early with no announcement but was friendly. Was then scheduled for 2 days for the windows to be installed.

After the first day, we had some concerns so emailed the sales rep with our concerns and talked to the installer on the second day. There were nicks and cuts to our walls and ceiling, cracked trim, a nail sticking out, gaps in the trim, screws left on the roof, and small debris in the carpet. The installer assured us that it would all be checked when he completed the job and anything we were unsatisfied with would be fixed. Due to an issue with the order the installer was scheduled to come back for a 3rd day. We were informed by the installer which day he would be back, no call from the sale rep to address our concerns or the scheduling office to confirm the day.

We were left with no trim on the main floor windows for more than a week until the installer came back for the final install. The two man team rushed to reinstall a 11 windows and left a mess on the main floor when they left. The cracked trim was explained as normal and puttied over, dust and debris was left on the main floor, screws were left on the roof. Pictures were taken of the nicks and cuts to our walls and ceilings and we were told they would be added to the file. A small crack in a pane was noted and said it would be reported.

Our kitchen faucet was left with a leak and when speaking to a installer about it, said he didn't think he caused it and it was an old faucet but would take responsibility for it and drop off a new faucet the next morning and we would have to install it ourselves. Next morning came and nothing from the company or the installer. We called the office around noon to inquire what was happening with our faucet and asked if we knew how to install a faucet to which we said no. The office said they would contact the installer. The office contacted us and told us the installer would drop off a faucet. The installer dropped off a faucet after a couple of hours.

We called the office a few days later to inquire about the cracked pane and have an appointment set up for someone to come take a look at that as well as the nicks and cuts to the walls and ceilings. We have also realized some of crank windows have problems opening or don't open at all so we will ask for that to be looked at too as well as an ill fitting screen.

Highly disappointed with the experience. The rep who made the sale has not contacted us. We were not contacted by anyone to address our concerns though we have tried to reach out to the main office and the installer said he would add notes and pictures to our file.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We do apologize for the undesirable experience
I understand that the service department is presently undertaking the required services

Best regards
Alec

Peter Dyck
Peter Dyck
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
0/10

We're Done with Verdun

We chose to order a new bay window and door from Verdun because we had been a past customer and believed it was a company we could trust. However, we were incredibly disappointed in their lack of accuracy, efficiency and customer service.

We signed a contract for the bay window and door on February 11, 2020. The salesperson measured the window and door and Verdun sent a measurement specialist to take another measurement after the COVID shutdown. Installation was scheduled for July 21st, much longer than anticipated, however understandable due to the current pandemic and the company being shut down for a number of weeks. However, this first installation proved to be problematic as the initial measurements for the window were wrong and there was a problem with the door. Verdun’s men installed the window even though it was too small. Had we known what problems awaited us, we would have asked them not to install the window and to return our deposit.

Verdun sent another specialist to measure the window and scheduled a second installation for September 18. This time, the installers were able to install the door, but Verdun did not send a lock set, even though we had ordered it and it was included in the contract. We had to rush out and purchase a lock set ourselves so it could be installed. The window, however, was too small and the installers did not even bother taking it off the truck.

The third installation was scheduled for November 2, but once again the measurements were incorrect and the window was not compatible with the space. At this point we were beyond frustrated, and with colder weather on the horizon, we were concerned with the lack of proper insulation and the effects that it would have.

Finally, on the fourth attempt, the window was installed on November 10, nine months after we placed the order and five months after the initial installation appointment. In some of our repeated emails and phone calls with Verdun, their office staff and management were rude and insulting. The installers, however, were gracious and apologetic.

It would have been nice to be offered a discount after waiting nine months for our window, having multiple failed installations and missing hardware in addition to lack of communication and poor customer service. However, that is not the case. We have never dealt with a company with such incompetence, whose lack of apology for poor customer service is astounding. When we read negative reviews on Verdun, we get the impression that we should be delighted that a long-standing issue has finally been resolved. We are not delighted with Verdun. We are absolutely disillusioned at their lack of concern for the customer. We wholeheartedly DO NOT RECOMMEND this company for your home renovations.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good morning
We realize the overall experience was not as desired
I am happy to hear you and Josi are communicating regarding the experience
Alec

Gforcetec
Gforcetec
1 review Gatineau,
10/10

Windows & Doors Replacement

Verdun delivered and installed my doors and windows on 5 Nov. A team player three (3) of highly qualified technicians proceeded to the installation and completed the work in a timely and courteous manner. They thouroughly clean the surroundings after the team leader took the time to brief us on the functioning of the new assets and asked if we had concerns we wanted to address before their departure. We were very pleased with the overall experience. Thank You Verdun for a job well done

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words
Wishing you a great week
Regards
Alec

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Châteauguay,
10/10

Windows and a patio door

I looked at 3-4 windows company and decided to go with Verdun. The salesperson (Alexandre) was so helpful and patient. We also went to visit the company site; it was reassuring to see the professionalism and openness of the staff.

The installation of the windows and patio door was done on two different days by two different teams (led by Emmanuel and Serge). They were both courteous, professional and did an amazing job rapidly. They answered all the questions we had.

Finally, changing windows and doors is a big decision, and a costly one. What tipped the scale in favour of Verdun, other than the human and professional approach was the 25 year no bull warranty. I am still intrigued by the fact that everything is covered for the 25 year, no prorata, but just hope never to have to use it.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Wonderful
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing us
Wishing you a great evening
Alec

M. F.
M. F.
2 reviews Rideau Ferry, ON
6/10

Patio Door Installation

We had a new patio door installed. Door looks great and was installed extremely well. Installers were professional and knowledge. I am however disappointed with the lack of attention to small details. The exterior piece had a small dent and unfortunately to replace the piece, we would need to re-do the entire door. Would have been really nice for them to select a piece that was dent free. Also the patio door was scratched. There are small scratches on the frame of the door (not super noticeable but I can definitely see them). And the door was left with hand prints I can't seem to get off. Door framed was dirty. Not left the way I would expect when I've paid so much. I do however love the door itself. Looks great and was installed really well just wish these smaller details weren't missed. Slightly disappointed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good evening
Please reach out to o our service department
We will gladly review the deficiencies
Thank you

Good day
Simply following up with you in regards to the service required on the patio door.
Would you kindly be in touch with our service department at 613 443-2694
Thank you

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
6/10

Poor service

I hired Verdun to replace 6 of my windows. After I signed the contract, I had a question about whether my trims can be replaced or not. The sales person didn’t respond to my inquiry. The day that the crew came in to replace my windows, they realized one window was the wrong size, and had to be reordered. Then they broke another window in the process of installation. Later I realized one of the screens was missing. Nobody offered any apology for the inconvenience. Then they booked me in for fixing the broken window and replacing the other window 10 days later. They were late for the appointment. So I called the office and was told that they are stuck in another job and I was rebooked for a few days later. This time two crew came in and completed the job. I am now hoping that at least the quality of the windows are good.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good day
We sincerely apologize for the hiccups
Please note that Josi our customer care specialist would gladly review the complete process
We do appreciate your patience and understanding
Best regards
Alec

George in Toronto
George in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

New windows and sliding patio door

Verdun Windows did an extremely fine job of installing 13 windows and sliding patio doors. The installers, sales people and office staff were very professional and great to deal with. The new windows have freshened up the appearance of our 30 year old home. I would not hesitate in recommending Verdun Windows and they are a local Canadian manufacturer.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words
Please enjoy the products for years to come
Alec

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Great product and service

Verdun replaced a number of our upstairs windows; did a great job. Last year they replaced most of our downstairs windows; same. Maybe you can get cheaper work done but not better value: proof of that is the windows here that were replaced 18 years ago just before we bought this house.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Amazing, thank you for sharing this with us
I will pass along to the entire group
Best
Alec

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Doors Installation

The installation was professionally conducted. The installers were top notch, efficient, courteous and professional. They explained well the requirement necessary to operate the doors safely. The workmanship is excellent. The product is great.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Great news
Thank you for the great feedback
Wishing you a wonderful day
Alec

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Verdun Windows And Doors

Our History

Verdun Windows and Doors has been proudly serving the Ottawa-Carleton region since 1982. Before the doors opened, we laid out 4 key core principles to our business that we constantly recommit ourselves to:
- Integrity our reputation is based on it. We have a genuine appreciation for your business and patronage.
- Honesty in everything we do. This is the only way to build trust with our customers.
- Efficiency in every aspect of our business. From manufacturing, to sales, to installation, to the follow up post sale.
- Accuracy whether we’re pricing a job out for you, or measuring on an installation, accuracy ensures that no surprises come up inconveniently.

Where We Are Today and Our Future - 38 years later and growing…
200 employees
42,000 square foot one-of-a-kind manufacturing facility in Ottawa
The largest installation team in the Ottawa-Carleton region for residential window replacements and new installations
National industry leading organization
Our future doesn’t include just being content with our industry-leading reputation. Part of our success has been a constant re-commitment to the principles which have brought us to where we are today. When you give us the opportunity to earn your business, we take that trust very seriously and appreciate it — the same way we did over 38 years ago.
Vinyl windows, replacement windows, new windows, casement windows, double slider windows, double hung windows, fixed windows, custom windows, awning windows. Patio doors, front doors, side doors, back doors, Window, door and patio door installation. Siding installation. Custom window installation, Front door, side door, patio door, casement, double slider, double hung, fixed, bay window, half moon, custom sizes, colors, trellis & glazing.

CATEGORIES
Windows & Doors Installation & Service
PRODUCTS
RevoCell windows, PVC windows, replacement windows, new windows, casement windows, double slider windows, double hung windows, fixed windows, custom windows, awning windows. Patio doors, front doors, side doors, back doors.
SERVICES
Window, door and patio door installation. Siding installation. Custom window installation.
BRANDS
We manufacture our own windows which go by the name of Nordik Windows. We also carry Standard & Decko patio doors and Fenntech steel entry doors.
STYLES
Front door, side door, patio door, casement, double slider, double hung, fixed, bay window, half moon, custom sizes, colours, trellis & glazing.
SPECIALITIES
We specialize in window and door installation. Ottawa's only one stop shop; we sell, we manufacture, we install and we service!
WEBSITE
https://verdunwindows.com/?utm_source=homestars
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1982
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
200
RETURN POLICY
None
PAYMENT METHOD
Visa, Mastercard, Cheque, SNAP Financial
MEMBERSHIPS
BBB, Energy Star, Intertek
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
As of June 1st 2020, 25 year full warranty on all our products. Labour, Service, Parts, Hardware. Free to transfer.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.