Action Furnace Inc

Heating & Air Conditioning
4086 Ogden Road SE Calgary AB T2G 4P7
Write a Review
Write a Review

Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

86%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Best of 2020 winnerBest of 2020winner

Reviews for Action Furnace Inc

Average customer rating:
8.6 10 (290 reviews)

Sort by

Daniela A. in Calgary
Daniela A. in Calgary
1 review CALGARY, AB
0/10

Furnace Cleaning from Furnace Action

Action Furnace charged me $143 for a furnace and vents cleaning, when market rates go from $80 to $130 for such service. Furnace chcek-up was superficial. Use another company, Action Furnace is overpriced!!!

Approximate cost of services:
$143.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!
Action Furnace Inc
Fixed Right or it's Free
https://actionfurnace.ca/
Calgary 403-288-4004
Edmonton 780-970-2777

Kin in Calgary
Kin in Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Replace heating furnace

This is a completely painless transition to replace my furnace. The guys haul out my old furnace from basement to their truck without making any scratch on the wall or stairs. They clean up the place after they finished the installation of new furnace. A job well done.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,177.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!
Action Furnace Inc
Fixed Right or it's Free
https://actionfurnace.ca/
Calgary 403-288-4004
Edmonton 780-970-2777

Ben Grossberndt in Calgary
Ben Grossberndt in Calgary
2 reviews CALGARY, AB

First Review

10/10

Furnace service and installation

We had Action Furnace in to perform a service on our older furnace. They noticed the Heat Exchanger was beginning to crack and could become a serious issue within a short period of time. They refunded our service call when we decided to purchase a new high efficiency furnace and were extremely helpfu and knowledgeable throughout the sales and installation process. They even assisted us to apply for government rebates.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,700.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!
Action Furnace Inc
Fixed Right or it's Free
https://actionfurnace.ca/
Calgary 403-288-4004
Edmonton 780-970-2777

Jacqueline Doherty in Calgary
Jacqueline Doherty in Calgary
4 reviews CALGARY, AB
10/10

Complete HVAC system

Action Furnace were courteous, prompt and finished a large job on time. Any issues we had were dealt with in a timely manner, and when we had a problem a couple of winters later, the person that attended made sure the necessary part was located and installed even though he had to custom-alter it to make it work. The weather was freezing, and he didn't want us to not have a working furnace. Really impressed and would recommend.

Approximate cost of services:
$12,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!
Action Furnace Inc
Fixed Right or it's Free
https://actionfurnace.ca/
Calgary 403-288-4004
Edmonton 780-970-2777

tye in Calgary
tye in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
1/10

Furnace install, and duct work

I went with action furnacebecause they told me how much better than everyone else they were, how they cleaned up very well and had very experienced installers. They cost more than the other quotes I recieved but I wanted a good install so I decided to bite the bullet and go with them. Never again.

Where to begin. First the the guys that came to quote the job are not the ones who installed the furnace, nor did they tell the guys coming in what they were doing. I had to sit in my house FOR 3 DAYS and babysit the installers after spending numerous hours with the quoters explaining what they were doing.

Secondly, they knocked out multiple studs in a LOAD BEARING WALL. I'm no specialist, I'm but a mere engineer, and they told me, "its fine". No its not fine, it's not to code and it compromised the structural integrity of my house. I had to have the owner come out to show him how bad it was before they sent out their "fixer" to fix the botched installes. He then used my tools, becuase he lacked the requiered ones, to install the replacement boards. They would have just left my house missing a large chunck of a load bearing wall if I hadn't refused to pay them. They waited for me to leave for a hout before the installers knocked out the studs.

Next they left not one, but 2 LIVE electrical outlets dangling. These were on studs they knocked out above. They did not reattach them to anything, just left them dangling by the live electrical wires. One of the boxes was wide open EXPOSING LIVE ELECTRICAL WIRES, directly above a light switch. One of their installers actually zapped himself with the exposed box, you think that would have been a clue to fix it.....but no that is giving them too much credit.

Finally, they left shards of tin, sharp screws, chuncks of wood, empty coffee cups, all over my basement. They did not tarp anything, they left a ton of dangerous garbage all over the place. This was 4 months ago and I'm still find splinters in my carpet. When they drilled a hole for the inlet air in the house they sprayed concrete slurry all over half my basement.

The owner of the company came out and he seemed satisfied with the way they left my house. It wasn't until after I refused to pay that he was willing to fix it.

I would highly recommend saving yourself the headache and take your business else where.

Also it's been 4 months and I still haven't recieved my rebates.

Approximate cost of services:
$6,500.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback.

Action Furnace Inc
Fixed Right or it's Free
https://actionfurnace.ca/
Calgary 403-288-4004
Edmonton 780-970-2777

GF in Edmonton
GF in Edmonton
4 reviews EDMONTON, AB
10/10

Humidifier installed (attached to furnace)

The service person sent by Action Furnace was polite and worked quickly. He was careful not to track dirt into the house and was good about not leaving doors open (we have dogs and need to control where they go in the house.) He was installing a furnace-mounted humidifier and we are happy with both the humidifier and his work.

We also used Action Furnace last year when our furnace broke down on a very cold winter night. They arrived within a few hours and did a good repair job for a reasonable price.

Approximate cost of services:
$500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!
Action Furnace Inc
Fixed Right or it's Free
https://actionfurnace.ca/
Calgary 403-288-4004
Edmonton 780-970-2777

Fab Bince in Sherwood park
Fab Bince in Sherwood park
9 reviews SHERWOOD PARK, AB
10/10

Follow up on 2 furnace install

Calgary Manager was horrible for 2 calls. Edmonton-Caitling was helpful & problemsolving. Had service call-found 3 *room temp drop everywhere. Awesome Tech solved issue by setting furnace fan from low to high & suggested added return ventiliation. One person can not hold a good company down. Furnaces & A\C should be working better now. Thanks!!!

Approximate cost of services:
$11.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!
Action Furnace Inc
Fixed Right or it's Free
https://actionfurnace.ca/
Calgary 403-288-4004
Edmonton 780-970-2777

Gregg Upshaw in Calgary
Gregg Upshaw in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
9/10

New High Efficiancy Furnace and Water Heater

I hired Action Furnace to do the Install. They were prompt and efficient and performed the work on the date promised. One detail was neglected and with one easy phone call it was rectified. The installers were polite and get this, they cleaned up after themselves. A quality that is hard to find these days. I highly recommend this company.

Approximate cost of services:
$6,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!
Action Furnace Inc
Fixed Right or it's Free
https://actionfurnace.ca/
Calgary 403-288-4004
Edmonton 780-970-2777

Randy in Edmonton
Randy in Edmonton
2 reviews EDMONTON, AB

First Review

8/10

2 furnaces and AC

Great service and the installers were polite and knowledgeable. My only concern was we got a quote for the furnace and then decided to add on an air conditioner based on a deal they were offering. All of a sudden the price of the furnace went up. We were told they were putting in a more expensive model that did the same thing but that was the deal with the air conditioner. Really the sale price on the AC was not honest. After the installation I would have rather not picked up cigarette butts from my driveway but that was not a big deal. We were told they would be contacting us on a deal to get our ducts cleaned but so far we have not heard anything. I would deal with them again.

Approximate cost of services:
$11,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!
Action Furnace Inc
Fixed Right or it's Free
https://actionfurnace.ca/
Calgary 403-288-4004
Edmonton 780-970-2777

Ursula in Calgary
Ursula in Calgary
6 reviews Calgary, AB
9/10

New Furnace and hot water tank

Absolutely no complaints. The furnace and hot water tank was installed quickly and although the house is old and they had to reroute some of the pipes and venting pipes to comply with the bylaws in effect now the job was done well and professionally.

Approximate cost of services:
$5,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!
Action Furnace Inc
Fixed Right or it's Free
https://actionfurnace.ca/
Calgary 403-288-4004
Edmonton 780-970-2777

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Action Furnace Inc

Home of the Fixed Right Or It's Free Guarantee! Action Furnace has been proudly serving Albertans for 40 years. When you're looking for a furnace sales and repair company, we hope you'll remember Action Furnace. We post specials frequently so visit our website and then give us a call for discounts, contests, and free service giveaways. So whether you're buying a furnace, air conditioner, indoor air quality system, water heater, or humidifier we're there to help you and our work and prices are guaranteed to be the best.

CATEGORIES
Heating & Air Conditioning
PRODUCTS
High Efficiency Furnaces, Central Air Conditioning, Hot Water Tanks, Direct Vent Tanks, Tankless Hot Water Systems, Humidifiers, Water Softeners, Indoor Air Quality, Advanced Filtration Systems
SERVICES
Furnace & Air Conditioning Repair, Duct Cleaning, Scheduled Furnace Tune-ups
BRANDS
Amana, Goodman, American Standard, Bryant, Rheem/Ruud, York, Comfortec
WEBSITE
http://www.actionfurnace.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1978
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
180
RETURN POLICY
Satisfaction Guaranteed
PAYMENT METHOD
Visa, MasterCard, Cash, Cheque, Low Interest Financing
MEMBERSHIPS
Better Business Bureau
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
12 years parts and labour warranty on all installed heating and cooling systems.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.