Action Furnace Inc

Heating & Air Conditioning
4086 Ogden Road SE Calgary AB T2G 4P7
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

89%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2020 winnerBest of 2020winner

Reviews for Action Furnace Inc

Average customer rating:
8.5 10 (206 reviews)

Sort by

LM in Calgary
LM in Calgary
3 reviews Calgary, AB

First Review

10/10

Hot Water Tank Replacement

I discovered my hot water tank was leaking from the top right before I left for work. I found Action Furnace through Google. The receptionist said a tech would come out in the afternoon and reassured me that my basement wouldn't flood in the meantime. The tech arrived exactly at the time specified, and he was very professional, polite, and friendly and even offered me some advice regarding my furnace. The entire job took approximately 2 hours. I would definitely recommend Action Furnace and will call them in the future for furnace maintenance.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!
Action Furnace Inc
Fixed Right or it's Free
https://actionfurnace.ca/
Calgary 403-288-4004
Edmonton 780-970-2777

andreia in Edmonton
andreia in Edmonton
4 reviews Edmonton, AB
1/10

furnace and hot water tank

they were not true to what they were selling. they were not quick to respond. the venting was not the same as the pictures and the gas bills went up and the basement was colder then before. boooo

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good Day Andreia,

We believe that we have found out who you are and want to work with you to solve your concerns. A message was left on your home phone number, March 29, 2011. Please call the office so we can take a closer look at your file.

Kind Regards
Kari Pittet, Office Manager

Action Furnace Inc
Fixed Right or it's Free
https://actionfurnace.ca/
Calgary 403-288-4004
Edmonton 780-970-2777

jess matthies in Calgary
jess matthies in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
8/10

Put in a high efficency furnace

Worked very well around my schedule, were prompt, polite, and clean. They were on budget and did great work as expected.
I would call them again and do recommend them!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!
Action Furnace Inc
Fixed Right or it's Free
https://actionfurnace.ca/
Calgary 403-288-4004
Edmonton 780-970-2777

Matt in Calgary
Matt in Calgary
2 reviews CALGARY, AB
7/10

furnace and water heater installation

I had Action Furnace install a high efficiency furnace and water heater in my recently purchased house.

The cost was reasonable and the workers were professional and efficient.

Between the eco energy rebate and the (much) lower electricity/gas bills, I figure I will have paid for the new equipment in approximately 4 years.

**EDIT**

I just had my furnace cleaned by Keith MY Furnace Guy. He noticed that the furnace installers from Action Furnace did not properly install the box that holds the filter. As a consequence, air has been completely bypassing my filter since installation. Keith found the problem and fixed it for me.

I've lowered my rating from 10/10 to 7/10. This error occurred because the installers were rushing to finish my job and move on to the next one. My family has been breathing unfiltered air (through renovations) for 3 years because they weren't willing to take an extra 10 minutes to install the furnace properly.

Review has 1 previous version
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!
Action Furnace Inc
Fixed Right or it's Free
https://actionfurnace.ca/
Calgary 403-288-4004
Edmonton 780-970-2777

stella undershute in Calgary
stella undershute in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

fix furnace

Furnace quit,called action ,when the man came he told me the cost would be $137. he installed wrong size and it burnt out,had to call him back 2 times ,he then said it was the thermostat and tried to sell me a $30 thermo for 139.00 when I questioned the price he said what will you pay for it I am 75yrs old and needed heat so i paid him $60 This farce started at 1.00pm and ended at 8.00pm

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Stella, Thank you for your comments. I've carefully reviewed your file, and noted that this repair occured on August 31, 2010, at which time our technician installed a transformer for you, not a thermostat. He was on site at your home from 1:00 pm to 4:08 pm. If you have any concerns regarding this repair, please feel free to call me directly at 403-288-4004.

Thank you.

Action Furnace Inc
Fixed Right or it's Free
https://actionfurnace.ca/
Calgary 403-288-4004
Edmonton 780-970-2777

Richard & Sonia - Woodbine
Richard & Sonia - Woodbine
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Air Conditioning

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

My wife and I decided to add air conditioning to our home, after we had a new furnace installed a few years back by a different contractor. The installers were very polite, and left the work area very clean. They even fixed the furnace venting that the last contractor had left un-glued!

Action Furnace was not our cheapest bid, but they did an excellent job. After a few bad experiences with companies in this industry, I guess it's true, you get what you pay for.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!
Action Furnace Inc
Fixed Right or it's Free
https://actionfurnace.ca/
Calgary 403-288-4004
Edmonton 780-970-2777

GrantWoodbine
GrantWoodbine
1 review Calgary, AB
3/10

Hot water heater and furnace repair

The guy from A-1 Action came to inspect our furnace and hot water heater. The problems were that heat was no evenly distributed throughout the house. The bedroom and bathroom being way too warm, whereas the living room and our daughter's room,, her being only 20 months old, was far colder than needed to be.
Also, our hot water heater has been only giving us very limited hot water. Barely enough for a bath at any given time.
He didn't work on anything at all. Told us to cover vents in rooms that were too hot, and that in doing this he told us that heat would distribute to other rooms upon doing so.
We've tried doing so, and the problem still exists. As well, he did look at the water heater, but no work was done on it, and he has never returned to do so.
All of the issues still exist. Myself and my family are very dissatisfied with ier services.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Grant,
As the sales manager of Action Furnace I am dissapointed to hear that you were not satisfied with our services. Addressing heat distribution problems in a home is certainly challenging, and solutions can range from re-directing heat by closing vents to replacement of the heating system and the addition of heat runs and return air vents. That being said, clearly we did not meet your expectations when we failed to communicate all of your options to you. I would be more than happy to discuss solutions, as well as refund your investment, as we guarantee our work and your satisfaction. Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns, as we always welcome feedback to improve our service.
Action Furnace Inc
Fixed Right or it's Free
https://actionfurnace.ca/
Calgary 403-288-4004
Edmonton 780-970-2777

TP Rundle
TP Rundle
1 review Calgary, AB

First Review

4/10

Furnace Replacement/Duct Cleaning

Our furnace salesman was excellent...and that's about all that blew us away. The contract stated that they would not smoke or swear on our property...and they did both. They missed the fact that there would be a giant hole when they pulled the old furnace (you would think this was the first time they had done a replacement in a home from the 70's). After the installation it sounded like there was a jet engine in our basement that I was told was normal (it turns out that a cold air return was completely closed off and two different people couldn't figure this out?) They missed that there were two ducts that were knocked off during the installation. They didn't insulate my cold-air return so in Calgary...in minus 30 weather, my cold-air intake became covered in three inches of ice that melted and dripped constantly onto my $3000 washer-dryer pair.

The explanation for all of the incompetence? A since fired furnace installer...Well that's great but how are you going to fix this? They sent a new guy to leave chunks of insulation all over my house and two ducts were still left un-hinged...Let's just say I gave up and waited for my father-in-law to come for a visit!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear TMP I am following up with this review to ensure that all of you issues have been dealt with to your satisfaction. I am unable to look at your specific file as I do not have your complete name.

If there are any outstanding issues with this job, please contact our office and I will see that they are looked after.

Bruce Sittler
President
Action Furnace Inc
Fixed Right or it's Free
https://actionfurnace.ca/
Calgary 403-288-4004
Edmonton 780-970-2777

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Action Furnace Inc

Home of the Fixed Right Or It's Free Guarantee! Action Furnace has been proudly serving Albertans for 30 years. When you're looking for a furnace sales and repair company, we hope you'll remember Action Furnace. We post specials frequently so visit our website and then give us a call for discounts, contests, and free service giveaways. So whether you're buying a furnace, air conditioner, water heater, or humidifier we're there to help you and our work and prices are guaranteed to be the best.

CATEGORIES
Heating & Air Conditioning
PRODUCTS
High Efficiency Furnaces, Central Air Conditioning, Hot Water Tanks, Direct Vent Tanks, Tankless Hot Water Systems, Humidifiers, Water Softeners, Indoor Air Quality, Advanced Filtration Systems
SERVICES
24/7 Furnace & Air Conditioning Repair, Duct Cleaning, Scheduled Furnace Tune-ups
BRANDS
Amana, Goodman, American Standard, Bryant, Rheem/Ruud, York, Comfortec
WEBSITE
http://www.actionfurnace.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1978
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
100
RETURN POLICY
Satisfaction Guaranteed
PAYMENT METHOD
Visa, MasterCard, Cash, Cheque, Low Interest Financing
MEMBERSHIPS
Better Business Bureau
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
10 years parts and labour warranty on all installed heating and cooling systems.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.