Hammond Home Services by Enercare

Formerly Hammond Plumbing & Heating Inc
Plumbing
625 Wabanaki Drive Kitchener ON N2C 2G3
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Plumbing
Hammond Home Services by Enercare
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

58%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Hammond Home Services by Enercare

Average customer rating:
6.7 10 (30 reviews)

Sort by

Bose
Bose
0 reviews Kitchener, ON
10/10

Shut of valves for bathroom

We needed shut off valves installed under our bathroom sink before the countertop arrived on the same day. Jill came in, and did an amazing job in great time. We are quite pleased with her work.

Approximate cost of services:
$120.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for sharing that you were pleased with your recent service call!

Hot water
Hot water
0 reviews Kitchener, ON
4/10

Not a nice experience

Bad bill of goods. No service follow ups. Left with scorching hot water and no heat in over a week with no service while my family with 4 small children left freezing cold !. No response until you call and call asking again and again. Not recommending this company for all kinds of other mistakes/reasons.

Approximate cost of services:
$12,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We apologize for your initial experience and are glad we have worked with you for a resolution of your issue.

Flush you money down the toilet
Flush you money down the toilet
1 review , ON
2/10

Well

Take your money and flush in down the toilet with Hammond. May be okay for simple fixes such as installing a faucet or hooking up a washer but I would still not use them. Overcharging for labour and hours as they send 2 "plumbers" to do a one plumber job. We had a dug well and came home on the Tues afternoon to no water. Hammond was suppose to show up in the AM next day and showed up at 2:30 and left a short time later to go to another job. All in all it took a total of 10 days to finish the job. They would show up do a little bit and leave to either get a part or go to another job. The only time we needed 2 plumbers was when they went down the well to check the foot valve but most often sent 2 plumbers which we were charged for. After changing the foot valve t they then said it wa s the pump and we had to get a new pump. They of course took the old pump . So foot valve and pump replaced on the following Tues we checked the pump on Wed and found it was leaking. So it then took somebody to come back the Thurs and Friday and someone after hours on the Friday to finally fix the leak. So having all this done and they are suppose to know about wells it was determined by a Well Initiatives that the dug well was drying up and we had to get a new well drilled after only 2 months of what Hammond did.. The pump that we purchased from Hammond was pretty much brand new only having been used for less than 2 months and they wouldn't take it back and give us a credit on our bill. If I sound bitter I sure am. We are not made of money and this is just a money making scheme..

Approximate cost of services:
$3,990.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We sincerely apologize you feel that we have not provided the best service possible. Please contact us at CustomerService@ServiceExperts.com with the full name on the account, your address, and a phone number where we can reach you. We would like to work with you to make sure your issue is resolved.

Rolf in Cambridge
Rolf in Cambridge
1 review Kitchener, ON
1/10

Misleading

My water heater became defective, still under 2+ years warranty. I told the technician and gave him copies of the evidence. His response: 'the boss has to decide' who said it was out of warranty - without checking my customer file or the manufacturer. I had confirmed the warranty with the manufacturer (John Woods) on the website and by phone, and told the tech to get and install the replacement. I called the office woman with my confirmation, which she disputed. Later the heater was installed 'under warranty', without a word as the office clearly had determined this to be so.
Two problems: #1 'the boss' rejected my warranty assertion out of hand.
Problem #2, I used Hammonds 'Seniors Discount' policy on labour', before, as I am a senior . I enquired and was told installation labour charges do not qualify.
Ethics?, Trustworthy?, Policy Consistency? . Customer care? All that went out of the window when Hammond's family business was sold to a large corporate operation a few years go. The tech did his job, management failed doing theirs.

Approximate cost of services:
$565.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We regret that you have concerns and would like to gather more information in order to provide resolution. Please contact us at CustomerService@ServiceExperts.com with your full name on the account, address and phone number and we will follow up with you.

Debbie
Debbie
1 review Kitchener, ON
10/10

Service

We had a water softner, that was no longer working, removed, laundry tub taps replaced and water shutoff valve replaced. The work was done by Matt Jones and Tyrell Wolf and they did an excellent job right down to the clean-up!

Approximate cost of services:
$500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for being a loyal customer and sharing your positive experience!

Anonymous
Anonymous
0 reviews Cambridge, ON
10/10

Replaced KItchen sink drain & water shut off valves.

Serviceman Rob checked problem and explained what repairs were needed to be done. He then retrieved the parts required from the van and completed the job in a quick, professional manner and cleaned up afterwards. I was satified with his work.

Approximate cost of services:
$250.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to mention your satisfaction with our services!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Kitchener, ON
0/10

Defective used material sold and installed as new

We hired this company to install a water heater. Which broke down many times. We then called another company for a second opinion, and we were told the water heater was 9 years old.
FJ

Approximate cost of services:
$1,500.00
Was this review helpful?
0/10

Overcharging

Hired Hammond to drain lines in basement for a Reno. Was told it would take half a day, be labour intensive, and cost $1400.00. Sounded a little high, but was told they would drop the price if it was an easy job. 2 plumbers were here for an hour and 15 minuets and they dropped the price by $100. Very disappointed in this service and will not be contacting them for any work in future.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,300.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello. We regret that you have concerns and would like to gather more information. Please contact us at CustomerService@ServiceExperts.com with your full name on the account, address and phone number and we will follow up with you.

Qian in Newmarket
Qian in Newmarket
1 review Kitchener, ON
0/10

Overcharging, not showing up and threaten to send customer to collection agency!

If you want to get overcharged double the hours than were originally agreed upon, wait for their service man to show up 5 hours later because somebody forgot to make notes on the scheduled service agreed upon over the phone or whatever the reason, but later on find out that they didn't know they were supposed to come, and then in the very end of it all get threatened to get sent to the collection agency because you don't agree to the amount they are charging you, this is the place to go. Long story short:
1. I decided to give this company a try due to their good online review, it turned out to be the complete opposite. After explaining what needs to be done, I was quoted for two hours of labour plus parts. My husband later called again to speak with another man who can tell how long the work should take and we agreed to it. And I made it clear that if they could not do the removal within an hour and the reconnect within an hour that we would not use them.
2. The job was for our tenant, so I wasn't there. I ordered a new quartz countertop and sink. The plumber needed to remove the sink and the countertop (as was agreed upon) before the installation and come back after to hook everything back up. The plumber suggested that we wait for two days to let the countertop settle. So the next service was scheduled for Friday morning before 12:00 p.m.
3. Then I got a text from my tenant at around 3:30 pm on Friday saying that no one showed up yet. She was not very happy because she couldn't use their drinking water and she needed to leave the house. I called the plumbing company. THERE WAS NO RECORD OR NOTE mentioning that they were supposed to come on Friday morning. Now they couldn't make it because it was too late, and we had to wait for Monday! There was no way my tenant would wait for Monday without a sink and drinking water. I insisted that they finish the job by the end of the day, and they agreed that they would get the job done. They eventually did make it, around
4. Weeks later, I got a invoice of $565.34!!!! The labour charge equaled to 4.5 hours! Apparently they sent two plumbers instead of one to remove the sink and countertop (we were charged for the second plumber as well), they apparently also charge TRAVEL TIME and because they had to finish the 2nd service late in the day, they charged me overtime while it was fully their fault for not showing up! My husband has been doing kitchen service for over 12 years, removing many bigger countertops by himself, and he is not a big guy. And according to Hammond Plumbing, they ALWAYS send two plumbers if there is a countertop to be removed, which no one mentioned in the beginning while we were talking to them!
5. So we phoned our tenant to ask how many hours they spent. Our tenant said that both services were under an hour. We phoned Hammond Plumbing right after and they said they would look into the recorded phone conversations, which they always record for training purposes and in these sorts of cases.
6. After they reviewed the recording, Samantha(?) called me back saying that they can give us a DISCOUNT, and now I only need to pay three hours of labour: One hour for the first service and two hours for the 2nd service. We still found it hard to believe because we did the same reno at our house two years ago, at that time we had three sinks that needed a plumbing job. The plumber didn't take 2 hours to finish three sinks plus installing three faucets.
7. So we went to their office to try and talk to Samantha, after a while she didn't want to talk anymore (conversation was going nowhere), doesn't suggest that we talk to the owner because the result would be the same but still says that she'll pass on the message, meanwhile making threats about sending us to the collection agency! Althought we made around 5-7 phone calls, only 3 have been recorded and the rest have been conveniently lost.

What a good business to be in. Just bait your customer with a low quote, overcharge them later, and if they don't agree, threathen to send them to the collection agency!

Approximate cost of services:
$565.34
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello.
We apologize for your experience and would like to look into your situation. Please contact us at CustomerService@ServiceExperts.com with your full name on the account, address and phone number and we will follow up with you.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Kitchener, ON
10/10

Toilet and kitchen Faucet

Jake arrived on time, replaced a toilet that wasn't flushing properly and changed a faucet in the kitchen sink. He was efficient, pleasant, knew what he was doing, explained why he was doing it, and cleaned up after himself! I would certainly recommend him and Hammond's to anyone needing plumbing services.

Approximate cost of services:
$700.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello! Thank you for this great review and recommendation!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Hammond Home Services by Enercare

Hammond Plumbing and Heating
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Plumbing pros in Kitchener?