Clean My Space

House & Apartment Cleaning
720 Bathurst St Toronto ON J4Y 0K7
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

90%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2019 winner 2 timesBest of 2019winner 2 times

Reviews for Clean My Space

Average customer rating:
9 10 (176 reviews)

Sort by

Nancy from Toronto
Nancy from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Monthly 2 bedroom condo cleaning

Clean My Space always does a terrific clean. The service is convenient for me and totally reliable. In particular, this month, Earline and Mirriam did a fabulous job. My place is clean and shiny. Thank you!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Nancy,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am sure Earline and Mirriam will really appreciate you recognizing their hard work!

Karen in Toronto
Karen in Toronto
4 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Bi-weekly cleaning service

I consistently arrive to a sparkling clean home. Both the cleaning staff and admin staff are professional and warm - very client focused. I would not hesitate to recommend Clean My Space.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much, Karen! Your kind review means the world to us! -Melissa

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

House cleaning

I recently had Miguel and Thea of Clean My Space perform a much-needed cleaning of my home. They arrived promptly, stuck to the maximum number of hours I set in advance with the company's representative and — most importantly — did a thorough job getting my home looking its best. I was very pleased by Clean My Space's professionalism and the ease of booking with Zainab. I have already asked them back for a return visit next month.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind words and I am glad that you were happy with Miguel and Thea's work!

The Clean My Space Team

Adrian in Hamilton
Adrian in Hamilton
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Moving to new home

We were moving to a new home and we hired Clean My Space to clean our empty apartment. Miguel and Patricia did a great job. Everything was sparkling afterwards and we never had anything to worry about!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the review Adrian and I am sure Patricia and Miguel will really appreciate this!

The Clean My Space Team

Jackie in Old Toronto
Jackie in Old Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Why didn't I do this sooner

I don't know why I didn't give in and hire a cleaning service sooner. I found them on google, just searching around around for cleaning services and I was very impressed with what I found. Have Questions? - they have a great customer service line in which I spoke to Zeinab and she is phenomenal, helped me every step of the way. Need supplies? - they have a product catalog which allows you to order the products so your cleaners can come in and have the supplies needed, you just have to provide the equipment and they are great prices! GREAT and CLEAN products as well which is an absolute bonus! Victoria and Miguel arrived 10 minutes to the arrival time (I personally love that they were early), I was in and out of the condo but, they asked me to show them where everything was and off they went! They were polite, professional and did an INCREDIBLE job in the 3 hours we had allotted. They give you this heads up prior to your first appointment but since there are two cleaners, you pay more the first time. It is a competitive price and pretty average (if not lower) than what I have compared to other sites but it gets much cheaper the second time. It is a deep clean on the first round and I was so grateful and impressed at what they were able to do! I already have my next appointment booked! Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jackie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a thoughtful and wonderful review! We really appreciate your feedback, and I am sure Miguel and Olivictoria do as well! It is always great for them to know how happy they made their clients, and great for us in the office to hear about how happy you were with the results, and how satisfying our customer service has been for you!

We look forward to seeing you next week at your next appointment!

Kind regards,

Tina V.

Susan in Old Toronto
Susan in Old Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Major Decluttering Project

Both Michaela and Jasmine were excellent workers. They were professional, pleasant and diligent in their efforts. They were unable to finish the job in the time allowed but that was not their fault as they were dealing with a monumental cleaning task. In addition Jasmine had indicated at the beginning of the day that she thought they might go over time given what they were faced with. They cleaned walls, and because of our impending move, areas that had not been cleaned in years.

I was happy with both of these ladies and the work done and would definitely recommend your service.

Was this review helpful?
Valerie
Valerie
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Office Cleaning

Clean My Space is a wonderful service. I have been using this company for my bi-weekly office cleaning for over one year. Virginia is wonderful and brings a lovely touch to each and every cleaning.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Valerie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! It means a lot to us in the office, and even more to Virginia, who consistently takes great pride in providing detail-oriented work at each of her services.

We truly appreciate your loyalty and look forward to continuing to work with you!

Kind regards,

Tina V.

Anthony from Hawksdale Landscaping
Anthony from Hawksdale Landscaping
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Condo Cleaning

Very responsible company, great owner and staff, long term business, I would like to become an investor, no doubt they are going to do well for many many years!!! Highly recommended. Great experiences with Jasmine and always great customer service from Zainab

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks, Anthony! I really appreciate your kind words and support. I know Zainab and Jasmine appreciate your feedback, too. It's always a delight working for clients like you. -Melissa

Natasha Brunski - Toronto
Natasha Brunski - Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
1/10

Cleaners that don't clean too well

I hired Clean My Space to do a pre-move in clean. Three cleaners were there for 4 hours. Not sure what they did aside from some light wiping as the house wasn't thoroughly clean. When we looked to see how things were cleaned after the service we found the floors still so dirty that my feet were dirty after walking through the house. There was gunk left in the fridge and around the sinks. There was gunk stuck on the door handles and in the dishwasher. There was even an old napkin left in the kitchen cupboards so they must not have even been opened. Easy things that should have been done. While the washrooms looked clean at first, we later found caked on crud under the faucets that came off on our fingers, so while they did a surface wipe they obviously didn't do a proper clean.

When I followed up to complain about the service I was told that while I ordered a move in clean, because we had painted 3 rooms and the kitchen cupboards before the service, they considered it a post renovation clean. I was told that because I hadn't booked a post-reno clean or told them about my plans to paint when I booked my service, it was my fault expectations weren't met, not theirs. I don't know who would consider some light painting a renovation, but none of their cleaners brought this up at any point during the visit to explain the parameters had changed and what I should expect. The company also said they hadn't cleaned some things because paint was still sticky on the kitchen cabinets, which it wasn't, as verified later by my painter. And even if it was, how does sticky cabinet paint in one area prevent you from cleaning the sink, the fridge, the floor or the doorknob in another area? The company also said they didn't clean thoroughly because I hadn't provided the right cleaning supplies but I bought and provided every item on the list they gave me. The company also said that some of the gunk I found and sent pictures of was permanent stain and they shouldn't be expected to remove it, but I was able to clean everything I sent photos of off myself, with the same supplies I provided. Poor excuses for a poorly done job.

After a week of back and forth with the company (during which time I recleaned the entire house myself since I was in the middle of a move and it needed to be done), and after the company talked to my painter to verify the paint they said was sticky was indeed dry, they finally offered me a $200 refund on my $500 cleaning service. From what I understand this works out to the company's profit after they pay the cleaners who came to the house. I appreciate that finally they tried to make it right but the only true way to make this right would be to go back in time to clean properly during the visit. More than the money it's my time that can't be returned.

Bottom line: if you want anything more than a surface clean hire someone else.

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Natasha,

We are sorry to hear your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We strive to always make things right for our clients, always doing our best to come to a quick resolution that leaves our clients happy in spite of whatever on-site issues that may have occurred.

When we initially were contacted regarding your initial clean, we were not given a true depiction of the house, leaving our staff with more tasks to complete in the allotted time frame. As I mentioned as well, the staff were advised on-site by a member of your household to not clean certain items and areas.

While our staff tried their hardest to satisfy the needs of this home, you were unsatisfied and as a result, we offered you a refund for our services.

You mentioned that you were happy with the resolution, so we are at a loss of words here as to why you felt the need to post such a negative review.

Nevertheless, we do sincerely apologize that your experience with us was not what you expected and wish you the absolute best of luck in finding a service provider that can meet your requirements.

Sincerely,
The Clean My Space Team

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
6/10

Good for general cleaning. Sub-par for Post Renovation

Firstly I'll say that Clean My Space has excellent people working in communications/customer service in their office. They are very responsive and willing to listen and communicate.

We had 3 people come in for a post-renovation clean and unfortunately A LOT of spots were missed or not touched at all. I was overall pretty satisfied with the general clean they did upstairs, but the post-renovation part of the cleaning left a lot to be desired.

Having said that - the reps at Clean My Space discounted my clean by two hours. I know they did what they could considering they don't normally discount, but at the end of the day I still ended up paying a LOT of money for what I considered to be a mediocre job.

I would recommend them for regular housecleaning but not post-renovation cleaning.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We honestly appreciate receiving it, as it can only help us improve!

That being said, we are sorry you felt the need to post a simply average review two weeks after your service was completed, and after you had indicated you were happy with the resolution, and understood the limitations we faced during your service.

The major issue at your service was that the kitchen cupboards needing to be cleaned from post-renovation dust were quite high, and our staff couldn’t reach everything even when standing on the stepladder we sent. For safety reasons, they are not allowed to use anything higher, nor are they allowed to stand on furniture or countertops to reach these areas, as they were asked to do, and refused to do, since they do have the right to refuse to do something unsafe. Our staff voluntarily pointed this area out to you, and told you they simply could not reach while they were still on-site, and you stated that was okay, but called us later to complain about this.

Furthermore, our client service policy is made available to all clients at the time of booking, and therefore was of course made available to you at the time you booked; it clearly lists all limitations or service restrictions we have in place to ensure the safety of our staff, including not standing on anything other than a stepladder to reach high places.

We take the health and safety of our staff very seriously, and have these restrictions in place for their protection. We never ask them to overlook these things, and expect that our clients review all the information given to them at the time they book, so that we can avoid issues such as this on the day of the service.

Your only other complaint about the service was that you were asked by one of the staff to perform a walkthrough of the space at the end, which you felt was awkward. This is in place to ensure the client’s satisfaction, as our staff are trained to do this and have absolutely no problem touching something up if the client is less than satisfied with how it looks.

At the end of the day, we want all our clients to be happy with the results, which is why we ask the clients to look things over and feel free to let the staff know if there is something they want done differently that would make them even happier. We are sorry you felt this was too awkward for you to do, but your satisfaction was the goal, and we want our staff to ask clients for feedback and a walkthrough for this simple reason.

We did offer you a free touch-up service for the next day, but you refused this, stating that you took care of the issue yourself, but were still unhappy, at which point we did offer you a discount, in spite of the fact that this is against our policies, as a touch-up service is what we offer because we do stand by our work and our staff when they can’t complete something for safety reasons.

We wish you the best of luck in the future in finding a service provider better suited to your requirements.

Sincerely,

The Clean My Space Team

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Clean My Space

Our upscale cleaning services offer the best in care for any space. All of our offerings stay true to our four business pillars: Quality Workmanship, Reliable Service, Consistent Performance and Honest Reporting. Our cleanings shine brighter than any other, and if your space requires an added touch, all you need to do is ask.

We hire and train Cleaning Specialists with the utmost integrity who love what they do, creating a trusting experience for our clients and staff alike. We charge a fair rate for the amount of detail we undertake – *this isn’t a basic maid service*. We take the time to make your space feel just right.

Whether it is your home, rental property, building, shop or office, Clean My Space is the answer to your cleaning needs.

If anyone knows cleaning, it's Clean My Space's president and resident cleaning expert, Melissa Maker. See her work on YouTube.com/cleanmyspace, The Social, The Rachael Ray Show, The Today Show, Real Simple Magazine, Martha Stewart Living, Parents Magazine and more. Learn more about our company and it's fascinating history, here https://cleanmyspace.ca/about-cms/.

We carry non-toxic cleaning products and our very favorite cleaning tools. We love to help advise our clients on acquiring the essential cleaning products and tools for a cleaner, healthier home!

CATEGORIES
House & Apartment Cleaning
PRODUCTS
Pink Solution, ATTITUDE, Scotch-Brite, Vileda, Arm and Hammer, etc. We prefer all-natural cleaning products but it won't preclude clients from using our service if that does not suit their preferences.
SERVICES
Thorough cleans, weekly, bi-weekly, monthly and occasional visits, laundry and ironing, executive/VIP cleaning, celebrity and high-profile clientele, short-term rentals, corporate condos, tenant turnover cleanings, post reno cleanings, move in/move out cleanings, real estate agent programs, landlord programs, property manager programs, gift cards, sales centre cleanings, just ask what we can do for you!
SPECIALITIES
Detailed cleanings (one time and regular) Move in and move out cleanings Post-renovation cleanings Office cleanings Housekeeping services
WEBSITE
http://www.cleanmyspace.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2006
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
25
PAYMENT METHOD
Credit Cards (Mastercard/Visa/Amex). Interac payment.
MEMBERSHIPS
Better Business Bureau, ARCSI, BILD
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
3 hours of service
BONDED
Yes
PROJECT RATE
Call for an estimate!
WARRANTY TERMS
24 hour guarantee on our work - more details available in our Client Service Policy
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.