Insta Insulation

GTA 416-368-8810 ON Brantford 751-2522
Write a Review
Write a Review
Insta Insulation
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Best of 2014 winner 4 timesBest of 2014winner 4 times

Reviews for Insta Insulation

Average customer rating:
9.7 10 (571 reviews)

Sort by

Ruben Pabayo from Burlington
Ruben Pabayo from Burlington
2 reviews Burlington, ON

Attic Insulation

I had insulation replaced last February by Insta-Insulation and the workers really performed a good job. There was no problem in the summer and I can really feel the difference. As the cold weather approaches, I notice a black spot is appearing in the front door ceiling. Apparently, the insulation on that section of the attic is disappearing. I phoned Insta-Insulation right away and sent someone to check it.

Thanks Joe and Trevor for fixing the problem.

I will for sure recommend Insta-Insulation to friends and relatives.

Ruben Pabayo

Was this review helpful?
Steve from Toronto
Steve from Toronto
7 reviews Mississauga, ON

Attic insulation

Went with insta based on a previous good experience several years ago. Seems like they are not the same company they used to be. 40% downpayment is required before you get to schedule in the job. Once they have your money, expected to be jerked around by their scheduling and admin team. Long story short, the job was not done at the promised time - mangled my whole families plan for that day and i couldnt even be there to ok the job which had incomplete items that were never completed. Pretty awful experience and i continued to get jerked around by the admin after the workers left the jobsite. Read the other recent reviews before you decide.

Was this review helpful?
Archie in Calgary
Archie in Calgary
4 reviews Calgary, AB

Oakville Remove & Replace attic insulation

They came as scheduled, discussed the job scope with me both prior and on site, did a great job clearing out the builders grade crap insulation, I left the reinstall for a couple days to do other work and guess what! They came back on time to install the new stuff. They didn't make a mess even.

Thumbs up Insta-Insulation

Thumbs up

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Archie!
I want to thank you for response on Homestars! Hope that your move went well and that we were able to do your job on time and that the crew did an excellent job.
I also told Trevor MacPhee about your review.
Aldona Bartulis

John C
John C
3 reviews Mississauga, ON

Blown insulation, rafter baffles , clean soffits

Just a heads up for any contractors or home owners looking to have insulation done. I used insta insulation on a mainfloor project I did a year ago. They completed half the scope of work and called twice a month for final payment without finishing. So that went on for a year and finally CJ came out to take a look at what’s left and promised me the world of what had to be done to finish/fix the hack job they did. Long story short CJ called me today to say that they are not coming to finish the job because it’s not worth it to them and I should contact another company to finish the job ....... if I didn’t go into the attic to check they’re work they would have got a final payment and only finished half the job! Beware of them and inspect work done by any business

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Herman in Mississauga
Herman in Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON

Attic Insulation did not qualify Energy Audit

Insta-Insulation came with friendly staff and whom of which definitely knew their stuff! They came around to check primarily the attic insulation that we had intended the quote for and when our Insta-Insulation consultant looked, he was confident we had a R20 value and that he would recommend us to do up to R50. For many reasons of why you would do an attic insulation (ie. keeping the house warm, lower the costs of both winter and summer time, keeping the mice away) I was already convinced.

What happened after when I received audit's photo and recommendations, they said my house was at a R28 and that it was not recommended to upgrade as per audit requirements therefore I was not able to qualify for it. This became a he-says-she-says argument between the consultant saying that my R value "looks like a R20" and the audit report saying it wasn't.

In short, I was misled and misguided in following through with the attic insulation because it was to qualify for audit - not because out of external reasons that were provided otherwise that made sense to do an attic upgrade for all other purposes beyond audit. However, because the money invested toward audit spending for this year was prioritized, I can't help but to think that deception tactics were deployed to secure the business and consider job done.

Overall the insulation company workers approximated a full day job but only took 30 minutes ... surprisingly fast for a very inaccurate estimate of time required and it is not that I could've seen how much they've blown into the attic either. Still awaiting for audit results but at the end of the day, it seems like I wasn't able to qualify for this anyways.

Long story short, I felt misguided and mislead by the representatives in doing the attic insulation to qualify for audit versus the selling point of saving costs and mice deterrent.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews La Salette, ON

Basement walls and crawl space foamed

Job well done - crawl space not a pleasant area to get into but they got it done - missed one area under the stairwell and will have to get them back to finish it - should not be a problem - second time l have used these people and they are good at what they do.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Happy Customer in La Salette! We'll be sure to get that missed spot looked after for you and thanks so much for bringing it to our attention so that we can make things right for you! We couldn't be more pleased to hear that overall we've been able to meet your expectations and there's no greater compliment than your repeat business! Thank you for putting your trust in our team and we're confident that you'll be pleased with the improved comfort you'll experience from choosing to insulate your crawl space. Wishing you all the best for the new year ahead! Sincerely, Crystal - Customer Care

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Cambridge, ON

attic insulation

Guys did a great job, and cleaned everything up. The cost was reasonable. We did the follow-up energy audit and surpassed the target improvement goal. This is the second time I have used these folks and have no complaints. All good.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Happy Customer in Cambridge! Your fantastic feedback is greatly appreciated, as is your repeat business! We're so pleased to hear how well your attic insulation investment performed during your energy audit! Thank you for choosing Insta-Insulation and for sharing your positive experience. Your complete satisfaction is always our primary goal and it's wonderful to know that we have measured up twice! Enjoy the rest of the winter in cozy comfort! Sincerely, Crystal - Customer Care

Aj in Brantford
Aj in Brantford
1 review Brantford, ON

Removeal and replacement of insullation

The day the job was scheduled for, insta-insulation arrived on time, but we weren't informed that we needed to remove the clothes from the closets where the attic access is. After we emptied, we were told the truck wasn't working so they couldn't do it. It was a week before they came back to empty and replace the insulation. We came home to a giant mess after the insulation was replaced. The house was coated in it as well as the drive way and porch.

Was this review helpful?
Ken  from Hamilton
Ken from Hamilton
7 reviews Hamilton, ON

Attic insulation

We have a side split house that needed both attics updated with more insulation. We picked insta insulation based on the reviews here. The guys that came were pleasant and efficient, taking less time than I was told it would take. However it could have been a better experience.
The house was getting a full of insulation dust everywhere. I pointed this out and was told don’t worry as they still had to vacuum and clean up. They should have taped off the small hallway to prevent the spread of dust. Cleanup was pathetic with only a quick vacuum of limited area. Dust and insulation on floors chairs etc left as is. They also did not bother to slide the screen back in the window they used to bring the hose in. They left the back gate propped open instead of closing it.
This company demands 40% payment up front. When the guys asked us to pay, it was for the full amount. Happens all the time they said and not their problem. Had to phone the office myself to get it cleared up. Excuse from billing staff was their system couldn’t handle the deposit??? Very unprofessional in my opinion.
Because of these complaints, the do not deserve a better review.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Ken,

It was a pleasure speaking with you this week to better understand and address the concerns that you brought forward here in your review. We certainly appreciate your candid feedback and my only wish is that we could have had the opportunity to address these challenges with your experience sooner. I was very disappointed to learn that our install team did not deliver as expected with their cleanup, or in assisting you with resolving your challenge with payment. We certainly take ownership for the fact that we need to set our crew members up for success in properly working with customers to handle challenges as they arise, and your experience indicates that we have some work to do with our ongoing training. There is no excuse for excuses - we all need to work together to deliver on our customer promise to perform the project right the first time.

On behalf of the whole team at Insta-Insulation, we want to be certain that you know we appreciate your business and we apologize that we did not deliver the 5-star performance that you have read about on Homestars, and that you deserve. I hope that you feel our conversation resolved your concerns to the best of our ability, after the fact. It is very important to us that we leave things on as positive a note as possible.

Ken, thank you again for taking the time to speak with me and for bringing your concerns forward. Understanding where we mess up is the only way we learn how to get better. We do remain confident that you made an excellent decision to invest in properly insulating your home and we hope you and your family enjoy the ongoing benefits you're sure to experience from your newly insulated attic.

Sincerely, Crystal - Customer Care

Ed K.
Ed K.
5 reviews Toronto, ON

Insulation spray foaming

Insta-insulation was retained to complete the spray foaming of parts of my home in the first week of March, 2018. My first issue with them is that they failed to alert us to the likelihood that any items in close proximity to the areas to be spray foamed would get foam residue on them. We specifically asked what we needed to do to prepare the area and were never told to remove or cover anything we did not want to be damaged. As a result, our front door, walls, table, and mirror in the foyer all had spray foam residue. In the basement, the floor, luggage, kitchen odds and ends, shelving etc. were also covered in spray foam residue. Insta-insulation did send someone by to remove the over spray but it was not completely removed and we continued to find items that had the residue. More importantly, for a company that specializes in spray foaming, you would think that alerting customers of proper preparation of the area would be standard practice. My chief complaint though was their poor handling of the rebate submission process. Their selling pitch included the fact that they handle the rebate submission from beginning to end. I reached out numerous times in May, June, July and August about the status of my rebate and received responses including “you was in the system just waiting for the payment” / “ they have been sending out the cheques for 3 weeks you should get yours soon” / “I have had 72 payouts so your cheque should arrive soon”. Not once did I receive any tangible evidence that they truly knew the status of my rebate nor did they provide me with any information around my submission or even the entity they requested the rebate from. It took a conversation with my neighbour (who had the same work done by Insa-insulation the day following mine) for me to find out rebates were requested from GreenON and a phone number I could call (none of this information was ever provided to me by Insta-insuation). I called GreenON and found out that Insta-insulation had provided an incorrect email address for me which had stalled my rebate submission process and that nothing had been done since it had been submitted months ago. Not once did Insta-insulation contact GreenON to inquire about my particular rebate. Had they done so, they would have discovered that is was a lack of response to an incorrect email address (provided by Insta-insulation) that had stalled my rebate process. It took a 5 min. call from me to resolve the issue. I am quite certain that had I not intervened, Insta-insulation would still be claiming that my rebate cheque was arriving any day… I contacted Insta-insulation to discuss the issue on Aug. 15th and I am still awaiting a call back almost 2 months later. Their customer service was poor especially once they received the final payment for their services. Their duty of care seemed to end once they were paid in full. I will not use Insta-insulation again and would not recommend them to others. I’m quite certain Insta-insulation will respond to this review politely indicating that they did everything they could and should do, and that their customer service manager never received my message but the reality is that they did not do what they promised they would do and should have done. Extremely disappointed and would caution anyone from using Insta-insulation.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Ed,

First, I would like to say thank you for choosing Insta-Insulation for your spray foam project. Second, I would like to say thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback on your experience with our people, products, and process. As much as it is certainly disheartening to learn that we have disappointed a customer, and especially in more than one area of service, we strive to view all negative feedback as an opportunity to positively improve our future performance. Clearly, we are unable to go back and erase the damage, but we certainly try to handle challenges head-on with the aim of working with you to resolve issues as fully and quickly as possible. We appreciate learning that, despite your unhappiness, both of the issues you have brought forward here have been resolved.

To address your displeasure with the spray foam work performed, it is certainly our practice for our sales advisors, scheduler, and install crew to provide each customer with information on how to prepare their home for the insulation work, prior to the start of the project. I cannot explain why we failed to communicate this to you, but I do apologize, on behalf of the whole team, that you did not have the information you needed to prepare for our work. I can appreciate how upsetting it would be to discover the foam overspray on so many of your valuable possessions. Although the team member we sent to remove the overspray certainly tried his best to restore things back to their original condition, and provide some compensation in the form of a gift card, I know that you must still feel your personal items will never be the same. I would like to extend our sincere apologies for not clearly communicating the importance of shielding your belongings from the spray.

With regards to your experience with the handling of the GreenON rebate, there is no excuse for the inadequate responses you received with your follow up inquiries about the status of your refund. Although, I’m quite confident that the clerical error with your email address was just that – an unfortunate error – it does not excuse the fact that we were unable to give you an accurate update. You deserved a much better response and firm answer and I am sorry that did not happen. We share your unpleasant experience with the GreenON process and we can only strive to be more prepared to anticipate and proactively manage the many challenges that will undoubtedly remain a part of future programs, should we choose to participate again.

Ed, I can easily understand how you would not be anxious to recommend our company to others based on your personal experience, outlined above. I can personally relate to the fact that regardless of any excellent track record a company may have, it becomes very personal when you’re the one that is the exception and not the rule, and we respect your position of dissatisfaction. It is certainly understandable and we do not enjoy having to live with it.

Being in business for more than 30 years, we have come to understand that despite best efforts to always be successful, sometimes you WIN and sometimes you LEARN. We don’t love it but we must accept it. Insta-Insulation remains a company who pride ourselves on integrity, and we plan to continue to do everything we possibly can to avoid the negative outcomes that inevitably will arise. We have learned much from your feedback and our experience in serving you, and for that we are grateful.

Sincerely, Crystal – Customer Care

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Insta Insulation

Insta-Insulation has been satisfying customers since 1991, delivering superior Insulation Removal Services, expert Spray Foam installations and installing Attic Insulation to new and existing homes in The Golden Horsehoe,and South Western Ontario.

As the official insulation contractor for Mike Holmes of Holmes Inspection, Love It or List It, Bryan Baeumler from Disaster DIY, Leave It To Bryan, and House of Bryan, Insta-Insulation is renowned for their commitment to service and care. We will work with you to ensure you receive the best and most complete insulation system to fit your needs.

Servicing all sectors and focusing on all residential,Insta-Insulation is your fully insured, one-stop-shop for all your insulation needs.

Ideal for any renovation or new builds, we provide spray foam and blown insulation, insulation removal services, attic and ventilation upgrades, weatherization and air sealing, and their famous INSTA-PANELS under concrete floor insulation- great for radiant floor heat applications.

Your home and business are your most important investments. Let Insta-Insulation help you get the most out of it.

For all the latest product and service information, as well as tips and promotions, check them out on our web site:

or :


Get pre-qualified for our payment programs by visiting us on online under Payment Options, deferred options and equal payments available on approved credit.

Insulation, Basement Renovation, Green Products & Services, and Mold Detection & Removal
Insulthane Extreme Spray Foam, Climatizer Cellulose, AD Type 7TB INSTA-PANELS- underslab floor insulation, All our spray foam and blown insulations we use are manufactured in Ontario Canada. We Support Canadians.
Spray Foam Insulation new and existing homes and businesses; 2lbs and half pound, two pound and 1/2 lbs Insulation Removal attics, Blown Insulation walls and attics, Fireproofing over foam or steel, Insulation Panels for under concrete. Many payment options to help get your home more efficient and comfortable, including; Visa/MC, cheque, Deferred Payments (OAC) and equal payments (OAC)
BASF Walltite Eco, Insulthane Extreme, Heat Lok Soya, Polar Foam Soya, Proline Plus, Icynene, Sealecton, Climatizer, INSTA-PANELS, radiant floor insulation, underslab insulation
Can combine a variety of insulation services to fit your home's insulation needs. We have various payment terms included cheque, Mastercard, Visa, deferred payment (go to website for details OAC) or equal payment options ( go to website OAC) OAC- on approved credit
Insta-Insulation is a major applicator of polyurethane spray-in-place foam insulation systems (Insulthane Extreme). They also specialize in the safe and quick removal of old insulation systems with minimal disruption to your home. Insta-Insulation also offers an affordable and portable insulation solution with their one-of-a-kind INSTA-PANELS.
Please call if you are not content with your insulation install. Ask for a Field Manager
Online Banking, Visa, Mastercard, cheque, Pre-Qualified Payment Plans Available, see website
Toronto License T37-4179899Certified Foam Master Company BASFMOE licensed
Canadian Home Builders' Association, Foam Master, Chamber of Commerce
5 yr product and installation warranty on all spray foam jobs
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.