Clera Windows + Doors

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
31 Pennsylvania Ave. Vaughan ON L4K 5V5
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

87%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2020 winner 13 timesBest of 2020winner 13 times

Reviews for Clera Windows + Doors

Average customer rating:
9.4 10 (2746 reviews)

Sort by

bettyrose62 in Toronto
bettyrose62 in Toronto
1 review Kingston, ON
10/10

Replacement of 2 basement windows

The work was done efficiently, by pleasant men, and completed as promised. We are very happy with the result and your good service form beginning to end.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Bettyrose,

Thank you for trusting us to be your source for top quality windows. Our goal at Clera Windows and Doors is that every customer is satisfied with our products and service.
Thank you again for your feedback and the 10-stars!
Best wishes!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Bowmanville, ON
10/10

Installed 14 large windows on 3 story building downtown bowmanville

I would highly recommend Clera windows for a residential or commercial window installation. Allan and his crew were professional, highly skilled and a delight to work with from the first meeting until the end of the project. This project involved coordination with the town hall, the rental of an scissor lift and the blocking off of the sidewalk. This was done without problems while at the same time coordinating with storefront businesses and residential tenants. I am very happy with the window installation and quality of the windows. Glad I chose Clera windows!!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Clera customer,

Thank you so much for the amazing review! We pride ourselves on our products and services, and we are delighted to see that Allan and his team went above and beyond their call of duty to ensure that there were no issues during installation with all storefront businesses and all residential tenants.

Once again, thank you for your business and your recommendation of our products and services.

Best wishes!

Ales from Mississauga
Ales from Mississauga
3 reviews Mississauga, ON
0/10

Defective front door for $5568 that has to be painted every 2 years

I wrote many emails urging Clera Windows + Doors over the 5 year period to fix their defective door. They kept repainting their door over and over again not resolving the issue which is that the paint does not stick to the material that the door is made out of.

Here is one of my email urging them the finally fix their product and their response calling me a "bad door owner" and that it is my fault .... PLEASE BE AWARE OF THIS COMPANY ...
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Good morning Raj,

We have purchased an outside front door from Clera Window and Doors that has been defective from the very start. We have been patient and accommodating while you to tried to resolve this ongoing issue. The simple fact is that the paint does not stick to the material that the door is made out of. You painted the door again and again never resolving the issue. To claim that I am a bad door owner and that I do not take care of the front door and blame me for your defective product is ludacrous. I assure you that I open and close the door just like everybody else and take care of it as everybody else does and do not abuse the door as you suggest. I am making this final attempt to have this issue resolved. I urge you to replace my defective front door. I should not have to repaint a front door 4 times in 5 years. There is a defect with the door.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is what they wrote back to me:

Good afternoon Ales,

Hope everyone is doing well in the family and staying safe and healthy.
I passed your information to our door manufacturing facility and they believe all chips are due to general usage of the door and how you have maintained your door. We have thousands of painted doors installed in GTA and we never have to go again and again to fix the same issue. They told you the same thing in 2018 and arranged a painter one last time to look after all chip in the door. Please see attached their response.

Also, our warranty on the paint is for 5 years and we have looked after all your paint issues with in 5 years. My advice to you is to hire a painter and have him touch up the areas in question. Due to pandemic, we are working with fewer people in the factory and we do not have anyone who can go and paint on site.

I understand your frustration and unable to help as we are also dealing with pandemic and trying to make everything work, just like everyone else.

Thanks and stay safe!!

Raj
Clera Windows & Doors
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Conclusion:
Clara Window and Door has great way to tell a customer to take a hike, when they sell you a defective product.

DO NOT BUY FROM THEM !!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Ales, Thank you very much for your feedback.Just to be clear that the door is not defective and the issue is with the chips in the paint due to day to day use. Also, you paid only $4460.00 for a custom 8 feet tall door with matching custom sidelight, painted exterior with cellular jamb and brickmold. We upgraded the trim around the glass to Aluminum when the issue was reported first at no charge to you. We have repainted the trim and fix the chips several times in last 5 years. In 2018 our production manager from door factory met you in person and advised that this is the last time we fix the issues at our cost as it was obvious to them that you have baby stroller and baby seat going in and out from the front door and they noticed obvious chips due to that. You have other products installed over the years in your house and there seems to be no issue with them. We were open to offer you a new door panel however not able to guarantee that it will not chip again as per users history. Your last correspondence to us is shown below which makes us believe that you like to go legal with this case. We wish you good luck and hope you and your family stay safe in these hard times and if you have any issue with any of the other products installed, please feel free to call us. Thankk you - Clera Admin

"We have purchased an outside front door from Clara Window and Doors that has been defective from the very start. We have been patient and accommodating while you to tried to resolve this ongoing issue. The simple fact is that the paint does not stick to the material that the door is made out of. You painted the door again and again never resolving the issue. To claim that I am a bad door owner and that I do not take care of the front door and blame me for your defective product is ludacrous. I assure you that I open and close the door just like everybody else and take care of it as everybody else does and do not abuse the door as you suggest. I am making this final attempt to have this issue resolved. I urge you to replace my defective front door. I should not have to repaint a front door 4 times in 5 years. There is a defect with the door.

Please respond to my email within 5 business days on how you are going to address this problem or I will be forced to seek legal action.

Thank you,

Ales

e.zurcher in Toronto
e.zurcher in Toronto
1 review Guelph, ON
10/10

Window replacement

The guy showed up on time, cleaned up properly and I am very satisfied with the work they did.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi E.Zurcher,

Thank you for the 10-star review!
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and the community. We're very happy to see just how exceptionally everything went. Looking forward to assisting you again.

Enjoy your new windows in good health!

2cents
2cents
0 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

New windows

Company is a nightmare! Booked 3.5 months ago for 5 new windows where they said it would be 6 weeks. They have passed the buck from one department to another, all stating they cant do anything. Be weary of what they say in the sales pitch too as they use subcontractors(or in our case Sub contractors of subcontractors) despite saying they don't. spoke with the sale manager, VP of sales, CS manager and install manager. they go by the small print on the back of the contract saying they have up to 15o days to install.
For you peace of mind, stay away!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Updated October 22nd- Dear Spencer Craine, we installed your windows on October 20th and hope you enjoy them for long time. We apologize for the delay and wish we could have installed them sooner. We would really appreciate if you could amend your rating based on our product and installation. Thanks-Clera admin. Original Response - October 21st - Dear Spencer Craine, Thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience and understand your frustration, however Clera has never neglected you as a customer. As we all know that we are in the midst of Pandemic and trying to do whatever we can with the limited resources. Your contract was signed on July 8th and processed on July 13th. You followed up with our customer service dept and Vice President and both told you that production is running behind due to Pandemic and provided you with actual status of your windows. Since you were calling our office relentlessly, as soon as your windows were ready, our local branch squeezed your initial installation on Thanksgiving day. Unfortunately, our installation manager didn't put down proper notes and Installer needed to buy more material to complete the work. Since all the stores were closed on Thanksgiving day, Installer decided to not start the job. All the installers are booked two to three weeks in advance and we are trying very hard to make arrangements with other customers and schedule your installation again. We hope you understand that there is shortage of workers and raw materials in our industry which has slowed down the manufacturing and installation process. Our office will be contacting you soon to book installation of your windows and hope everything will turn out to be good. Thanks- Clera admin

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Mississauga, ON
2/10

Door replacement

Ordered new replacement door. Door was damaged upon installation and took Clera over a year to fix, including 4 return visits before they agreed to replace the panel instead of trying to fix.

Salesrep was very amicable and the situation was clearly outside his control... too bad his head office didn't care about customer service as much as he did.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear valued customer,

We thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We sincerely regret this misfortunate incident and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Sometimes, unforeseen situations that are beyond our control can delay deliveries. In your case, it was very unfortunate that during installation the door was damaged, followed by the cold weather and the COVID-19 lockdown. As we are all aware COVID-19 has changed the way businesses across the world used to operate, resulting in product shortages, staff shortages along with manufacturing delays. Your sales manager, along with the head office and everyone involved with your project did their best to make sure that your door was delivered to your satisfaction. While waiting for your new door to arrive we provided you with a temporary door while trying to rectify the issue. As indicated in your review we had 4 return visits, which means you were never neglected and we were attending to your issue.

Enjoy your new door!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Vaughan, ON
10/10

Picture window

Service was outstanding and the sales girl was awesome. Unfortunately one window has to be replaced as when it was manufactured a piece of tape was left on and is now in the window. Sad but true

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Private User,

Thank you for your feedback and the 10-stars!

We are happy to hear that your experience with our company, especially with our sales representative and our installation team! We take pride in the quality of the products we produce, and I am very sorry to hear about the tape that was left in one of your windows. Please contact the branch manager of the location that you purchased the windows from and ask for the issue to be rectified asap. If I could be of any service please contact me also, Rita 905- 738-1870 x240.

Best wishes!

Sandy in Toronto
Sandy in Toronto
1 review Smiths Falls, ON
0/10

6 windows replaced

Terrible. No tarps etc were laid to cover counters, furniture, floors, rugs when old windows were removed. I had debris everywhere. Extremely unprofessional. Took fours days over 5 weeks to complete installation of 6 windows. Some trim inside and out had to be redone twice due to poor quality of work. On one Interior window used trim was applied which I now have to paint. Overall, extremely poor experience.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Sandy,

Thank you for your feedback, we apologize for your bad experience. As per our records, our branch manager already spoke with you and our technician looked after your issue right away. He also explained to you that we NEVER install used products in any of our installation jobs. We hope everything is fine now and if you still have any outstanding issues, please feel free to call our regional branch manager Jerry at 613-246-4245.

Enjoy your new windows!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Orillia, ON
6/10

Window Replacement

Good product, disappointing service. Missing a window, had smaller windows than anticipated installed, poor explanation.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Private User,

Thank you for posting a review, we're sorry to hear that the service was not of the quality you expected. It's great to hear that you are happy with your windows. If there is anything I can do to assist, please call me. Rita 905 738-1870 x 240.

Roger in Toronto
Roger in Toronto
0 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

A great windows & doors experience

From beginning to end, this has been a great experience. Sales manager Adam Kwasnicki, was attentive and always available to answer my questions. Al and Dennis, the Installers did a great job! I'm am very pleased and highly recommend Clera Windows and Doors for anyone who wants a worry free experience.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much Roger!

This is great to hear, I will make sure to pass on to Adam, Al & Dennis your positive experience. We are proud of our products and our employees, and they will be very happy to hear about this glowing review of their work.

Best wishes, and many thanks for your recommendation!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Clera Windows + Doors

Clera Windows + Doors by FM Industries has been manufacturing and installing windows and doors throughout all of Ontario since 1978. They add beauty and value to nearly 1000 homes every month and can easily service the entire province via one of their 37 sales and installation offices.

Clera Windows + Doors has been recognized as one of Canada’s Best 50 Privately Managed Companies and the City of Vaughan’s Company of the Year. Clera was recently awarded the Houzz service award for 2014 and is a proud recipient of the Homestars Best Award for 2012 and 2013. Add to these achievements a stellar A+ Better Business Bureau rating and you’ll understand why Clera Windows + Doors is the best choice for new windows and doors for your home.

We manufacture. We install. You save.

Toronto, East York, Stratford, Goderich, Oshawa, Essex County, Pembroke, Ottawa East, Ottawa West, Kitchener, Orangeville, Welland, Barrie, Newmarket, Peterborough, Belleville, Cobourg, Kingston, Brantford, Guelph, Oakville, Mississauga, Kanata, Brockville, Woodstock, London, Cornwall, Burlington, Hamilton

CATEGORIES
Windows & Doors Installation & Service
PRODUCTS
windows and doors, vinyl windows, replacement windows, new windows, casement windows, double hung windows, awning windows, slider windows, fixed windows, replacement windows and doors, new windows and doors,
SERVICES
windows and doors installation, replacement windows installation, new windows installation, brick to brick installation, retrofit installation, custom windows installation, custom colour windows and doors installation
BRANDS
Clera Windows & doors,
STYLES
Casement windows, Fixed Windows, Awning Windows, Double Hung, Single Hung, Double Slider, single slider, bay window, bow window, shaped windows, custom windows, Entry door, Patio Door, Garden Doors, Single Door, Double Door, Sidelites, Transoms, Side Doors, Back doors
SPECIALITIES
Windows and doors installation, selling direct to consumers, no middleman, no hassle, straight talk, honest approach
WEBSITE
http://www.clerawindows.com/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1978
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
125
RETURN POLICY
None
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheques, Visa, Mastercard, Financing upon approval
MEMBERSHIPS
CSA, IGMAC, ENERGY STAR, BBB, SAWDAC
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Non Prorated Lifetime Warranty.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.